Monteverde house rental - TreeTop House vacation home in Monteverde
TreeTop House vacation home in Monteverde
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps14
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Monteverde House Rental Photos and Description
5 bedrooms, 2 1/2 bathrooms, sleeps 2-14 on different levels

Get your private vacation home in the tree tops in Monteverde's Cloud Forest instead of a hotel. The artistic charming house is located off the main road to the rain forest of Monteverde between the reserve of Monteverde and the village of Sta. Elena - Monteverde sitting in the canopies.

One private 2 bedroom apartment has its own kitchenette, bathroom, private entrance. Large windows let you feel you are living between the trees, TV, Phone and WiFi for your equipment, alarm system.

The Forest apartment has a big living area, bathroom, 2 double beds and a big terrace in the TreeTops.

Each apartment can add more bedrooms as required.

All levels have separate entrances and are inner-connected with the canopy stairs.

Big parking area, garden area, trail in the forest, look over canopy and waterfall, recreation areas.

Hot showers. More information on monteverde-costarica dot com.

Location: The artistic house is settled in the Cloud Forest. Walking distance to restaurants, coffee shops and Grocery store 2 to 10 min. Walking distance to private schools and language schools 15 min.

Pick up to Canopy tours at the driveway to the house. Taxi service comes to the TreeTop House, local bus service in the main street about 2 min. walk.

Tourist attractions: Canopy Adventure Tours, Selvatura, Skytrek, etc, Monteverde Reserve and Sta. Elena reserve, Butterfly Garden, Night Tours, Coffee Tours, taxi-boat-taxi to Arenal, famous for Horseback Riding Tours.

As for the tour reservation you are doing ahead, we can book locally, so it is easier for you, especially for pick up coordination with the different tour operators and transportation operators.

Transportation: We will book your transportation and coordination to the house - private, collective or taxi-boat-taxi - to and from any direction in Costa Rica at standard prices.

This makes it very easy for you to get to the TreeTop House, no confusion and coordination work on your side necessary. We work only with reliable wel-known companies, that pick up and drop off at the TreeTop House.

More Details
Hide Details

14 Reviews of Property 170000 in Monteverde, Costa Rica

TreeTop House - Charming Artistic in the Canopy of Monteverde's Cloud Forest
average rating of 4.642857 based on 14 reviews
business
TreeTop House - Charming Artistic in the Canopy of Monteverde's Cloud Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p170000
+506 2 645-6894
Monteverde Puntarenas
Winterthur, Schweiz
5

The magic of your vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 18, 2007
  • Stayed: Dec 2007
This house settled in the Cloud Forest is a romantic and quiet artistic house sitting in the tree tops. Still it is close to all activities in Monteverde. We can highly recommend this new service in Monteverde, better than any hotel to stay.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 15/15
business
TreeTop House - Charming Artistic in the Canopy of Monteverde's Cloud Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p170000
+506 2 645-6894
Monteverde Puntarenas
4

Tree House lives up to name

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
The Tree House really lives up to its name. It is buried in the cloud forest and is very private. Sabine and Greg met us in the town Santa Helena and showed us the way. The names are a little confusing as Monteverde is really the region and Santa Helena the town.
Tree House is located ideally for the forest and forest trails. There are also some good restaurants within easy walking distance. Visit Stella's bakery and coffee shop to see the birds. They have Bird tables where there are a constant stream of birds visiting. Stella's son Toby is a park ranger and took us on forest walk. He was excellent and showed us numerous birds we would never have seen alone including the magnificent Quetzal. In one morning we looked out over the Pacific followed by the Caribbean.
The Tree House is very original but fairly basic. We were in the top section, there are two floors below. It was roomy for the two of us. It had two double beds but it is probably best for a family if more than two stay there. It has all the basic necessities. However, we did find the lack of hot water except in the shower an inconvenience. Also there are no curtains – although there is no one overlooking, it is a little disconcerting if you are looking for privacy. It is probably best suited to adventurous families who enjoy camping.
We went riding with Sabine's Stables and can recommend the experience. My wife had never ridden before but felt secure on the horse and with the guide.
business
TreeTop House - Charming Artistic in the Canopy of Monteverde's Cloud Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p170000
+506 2 645-6894
Monteverde Puntarenas
5

Unique Costa Rican Experience!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Our party of six (four adults and two teens) spent three wonderful nights in the one-of-a-kind TreeTop House and enjoyed every minute of our time there. We were able to rent the entire house, with the exception of an apartment hidden away at the very bottom of the hill we discovered on our last day. You do have to use exterior steps to go from one level of the house to the other, but we quickly became accustomed to this. The house is very private and the grounds are lovely with pieces of sculpture and artwork here and there. We saw the armadillo, and one of my daughters saw a howler monkey just outside the house. The pictures are accurate but don't, in my opinion, really do the place justice! We were a bit worried about the noise from the wind, but found that this did not bother us in the least, and a few of us are light sleepers. Some of the beds are a bit creaky and you do hear some noise from other floors, but this was a minor inconvenience.
The very best and most special thing about the TreeTop House are the owners, Sabine and Guy. Sabine was very helpful and answered all our questions via email prior to arrival. Guy met us at the large and well-stocked Super Compro grocery the day we arrived. He helped us find various things in the store and then led us to the house, pointing out restaurants, the pharmacy and doctor (one of our daughters was ill), and shared other useful bits of information along the way. He helped us get settled in and then, after finding out how we wanted to spend our time, went home, and arranged a zip-line tour (Hubby and kids LOVED it, I'm just glad I did it and won't have to again!), a coffee plantation tour (Fascinating), and a hanging bridges tour for us. I had booked a guided tour of the biological reserve ahead of time. He dropped our schedule back off for us that evening!. Guy also grows and roasts his own coffee, and we were able to purchase some to bring home with us. They both stopped in again the next day to replace two light bulbs in the kitchen, and we were happy to learn from Sabine that there is a place in town where you can drop off your laundry. She and Guy really were helpful in every way and know so much about the area.
We had lunch at Stella's Bakery one day, ice cream at the Cheese Factory, and TWO divine dinners at Tramonti, all of which are within walking distance of the house, although we did have a car.
In summary, this is a specia land recommended place to stay in Monteverde.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
TreeTop House - Charming Artistic in the Canopy of Monteverde's Cloud Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p170000
+506 2 645-6894
Monteverde Puntarenas
Miami Beach, FL
5

Fabulous Treehouse!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
The treetop house was charming! Monteverde was an awesome town with great activities - the zip lining tours are amazing there! The cloud forests stunning and sitting on the balcony of the treehouse and seeing the clouds roll in and out is amazing! The treehouse is very comfortable and really feels like you are part of the forest. You can hear the stream down below and just soak in the sounds of nature. The treehouse is such a unique structure with great architectural details, it really was like a grown up treehouse! The owner was very helpful with all questions and recommendations. We had a wonderful time there and I recommend Monteverde and this unique treehouse as a required stop for those exploring Costa Rica.

Thank you Sabine and Tara!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
TreeTop House - Charming Artistic in the Canopy of Monteverde's Cloud Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p170000
+506 2 645-6894
Monteverde Puntarenas
Chino Hills,California, USA
5

great escape.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
We had an incredible 2 night stay at the tree top studio (with kitchenette)! The tree house appealed to us especially our kids, ages 8 and 11, because walking around the house, with its balconies, spiral stairs and quirky and charming corners was an adventure in itself. We were fortunate to have the entire house to ourselves (luckily no other renters at that time), which made it great and private retreat. The Selvatura canopy/zipline and suspended bridge tour were absolutely the adventure of a lifetime! 13 cable platforms, with one of the cables almost a mile long, and a tarzan/bungee treat to boot. People were in awe with my kids raw nerves and guts to do it. Tt was a bit scary at night because it was sooo windy, you could hear the wind and trees pounding at the house. But overall, the kitchen was well equipped, beds comfortable and cozy, and most importantly, we had a land line phone for our use. We would definitely recommend the house and Sabine's kind hospitality.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
TreeTop House - Charming Artistic in the Canopy of Monteverde's Cloud Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p170000
+506 2 645-6894
Monteverde Puntarenas
Los Angeles, CA
5

A Charming and Lovely Hideaway in Monteverde!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2009
  • Stayed: Mar 2009
This was the first trip to Costa Rica for my best friend and I and Monteverde was the second stop out of four cities. We stayed in hotels the other three places so this was an exciting change for us to stay in our own little home. We stayed in the Forest Level (bottom level) apartment and it looked exactly like the pictures, clean and pristine, and we felt at home the second we walked in. The beds were comfortable, there was plenty of space, and the view of all the trees just outside the windows was fantastic! We did have a run-in with two scorpions, which gave us a bit of a scare, but this is Costa Rica, so, jumbled nerves aside (after capturing them and setting them free!), we were fine.

We did not have a car and I was a little worried that we were not walking distance to everything as the ad says. But we were! We walked EVERYWHERE. 5-15 minutes away from stores, restaurants, markets, etc, just as she said. (The walk from Santa Elena to the house is about a half hour with a very large hill at the beginning, FYI). We even walked the three kilometers to the Reserve (most of it is uphill, be warned). We felt very safe, even walking at night (though bring a flashlight!!!). Tramonti Italian Restaurante was our favorite restaurant down the street from the house. Stella's bakery was delicious too. We picked up cereal and milk from the store (a fridge is provided but no stove or anything to cook with which was fine with us) and ate our breakfast in the beautiful garden each morning.

From the very beginning, Sabine was extremely friendly and helpful. She booked our transportation from Arenal for us and I gave her the name of the transportation company that i booked to take us to Mal Pais and she called them to make sure they knew how to get to the home to pick us up. (She even called to tell me that they got lost but assured me they were on their way!) She called to check in and make sure that we were okay and everything was going well and she answered our questions. She also provides a booklet of information all about the area, from restaurants to tour advice to phone numbers for taxi's. It was extremely helpful. (the Aventura canopy tour was fantastic!)

I am telling everyone I know who plans on visiting Monteverde to stay at the TreeTop House! It is charming and unique and Sabine makes you feel right at home! I miss it already!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 11/11
business
TreeTop House - Charming Artistic in the Canopy of Monteverde's Cloud Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p170000
+506 2 645-6894
Monteverde Puntarenas
chicago USA
4

Windy & Noisy but Lovely

Windy & Noisy but Lovely
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2009
  • Stayed: Jan 2009
The owner was very helpful & sweet. The house is great but configuration is confusing until you get there (again, owner is very responsive & can help work through this before arrival.) The house is conveniently located but still feels isolated (in a good way). The house & its surroundings are beautiful. There's also nice outdoor space to hang out in. Our party of 2 couples was in the room on the top floor & a room directly below. The top floor sounds quite creaky to people in the room below. The top floor has 2 beds (sleeps 4) but little privacy - 1 bed's out in the open & the other's tucked back in its own room but there's no door - just a sheer curtain.
I'd recommend this to a group of friends or a familyfamilies with older kids who aren't looking for privacy. The top floor by itself would be nice for a couple by themselves.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
TreeTop House - Charming Artistic in the Canopy of Monteverde's Cloud Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p170000
+506 2 645-6894
Monteverde Puntarenas
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
4

TreeTop House, Monteverde

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2009
  • Stayed: Jan 2009
Living in the tree top house was a bit like living in a cabin. It is a funky building. A little limited in cooking capacity. Sabine was there to show us around and was very good about staying in contact with us when we agreed to rent it online. She was right when she told us that the top bedroom was a bit noisy in the wind. The place was clean and presentable. Within 3 minutes walking distance of excellent restaurants, an interesting "bat tour" and a very good guided night walk. A long walk from down town Monteverde. If you're looking for a fun bit of adventure without a lot of luxury, this is a good, inexpensive place to stay.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
TreeTop House - Charming Artistic in the Canopy of Monteverde's Cloud Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p170000
+506 2 645-6894
Monteverde Puntarenas
Great Falls , Montana
5

Two Weeks at the TreeTop House - Marvelous

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2008
  • Stayed: Sep 2008
Sabine's TreeTop House is a unique hideaway in the clouds of Monteverde. Comfortable, conveniently located and very tranquil, this is the perfect personal accomodation for those looking to avoid hotels and live in a more home-like setting. Sabine's attention to design details makes this a fun and interesting place to stay.

Our two teenage children enjoyed seeing the monkeys and toucanets in the mornings. We all felt fortunate to have discovered The TreeTop House and its owner, Sabine.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
TreeTop House - Charming Artistic in the Canopy of Monteverde's Cloud Forest
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p170000
+506 2 645-6894
Monteverde Puntarenas
Gahanna, Ohio, USA
5

Tree Top House - Gorgeous, Great Location, Awesome

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2007
Our family travels to Costa Rica often and we usually end up in our favorite spot - Santa Elena in the Monteverde area.

The owner of Tree Top house was converting it from a world-renowned art gallery to guest lodging on our last visit, but we spent a substaintial amount of time during the mornings, afternons and evenings at Tree Top House on our last visit(it wasn't quite ready yet for overnights - but it is now).

Here are our observations: first, the location is wonderful - it's set back off the main road but only a very short walk to everything you could want - the village of Sta Elena, places to eat and shop, and the natural attractions the Cloud Forest Offers. We personally found it's easy to walk to everything - we just parked the car and wandered.

Second, the architecture of this place is breathtaking! When we first visited several years ago, it housed an art gallery (Galerie Extaxis) It hugs the side of a mountain and is multi-storied. Every apartment/studio offers outdoor areas that cannot be described as "balconies", but as extensions of your lodging area. You will never find anyplace like this.

While we were there, the owner was putting the finishing touches and outfitting each apartment/studio unit with everything you could want - including TVs and internet access (my husband and the teens were thrilled!!). I appreciate these, but just wanted to go horseback riding! Furniture and accessories are new, clean and well maintained. Kitchennettes and bathrooms are well equipped and provide couples or families with all the requirements. Our teenagers (ages 18 and 14) fell in love with the nooks and crannies - our daughter didn't want to leave her spot on one of the outdoor porches and our son liked the fact he could walk to get a pizza and leave us "oldies" sipping wine and listening to the sounds of the cloud forest at Tree Top.
Since there's a kitchennette, it's also handy for visitors to know there is a very nice full service grocery store in Sta Elena - you can stockup (get the coffee from Monteverde) or stop by the bakery in town.

While you're there, take one of the horseback rides. We always go to Smiling Horses - the horses are so well cared for and the 3 hour trip is perfect for us, but longer trips are offered. Also, try the zip-lines and butterfly gardens.


Enjoy your stay! this is a place not to be missed!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4