Windham chalet rental - House and garage with nice cozy setting.
House and garage with nice cozy setting.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Windham Chalet Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms + loft, 1 bath, sleeps 8 in beds

***** Check out our great rates for 2013 - 2014 ***** ($275/nt ~ $1750/wk ~ $3800/mo standard winter rate).

****If you're a skier, rider, snow-shoer, hiker, or just an outdoors type nature loving person, then look no further, we are in the middle of Ski and Hiking Country! We also have access to the VAST trails!****

Our very well kept, comfortable and accommodating chalet style home has what you'll need to enjoy your stay. Enjoy the collection of ski memorabilia, from old skis and poles, to original signage and trail maps in the very large living room with magnificent fireplace. Our home has been renovated from top to bottom with warm antique furnishings from surrounding VT areas.

Whether spring, summer, fall or winter, there's no better way to enjoy it than relaxing in the fresh Vermont Country air and watching the ever changing beautiful landscape. Our Beautiful Chalet-style home is close to 4 major ski areas including Magic, Bromley, Stratton and Okemo Mountains. They are also great for mountain biking and hiking. Also close by is Tator Hill Country Club a Championship 18 hole golf course and beautiful Lowell Lake with a 3.5 mile walking trail that surronds the lake.

****This is the place to escape from the hustle and bustle of everyday life and get back in touch with nature at its best. Children and adults can explore the true beauty of the outdoors in a safe and inviting environment.****

Hiking, skiing, and kayaking are minutes from your doorstep. Pets love it here too...

A true home-away-from-home, you'll enjoy coming back to year after year.

More Details
Hide Details

My wife Jen and I are from Western, MA. We were married at the 'Chapel of the Snows' on Stratton Mountain. We have 2 dogs that love to go to VT for the fresh air as well. We are avid skiers and golfers that still enjoy coming to Stratton Mountian year after year. Thanks for taking a look at our vacation home, and hope to see you in the future. Jeff & Jen Puffer

Jeff Puffer purchased this chalet in 2005

We bought our house while honeymooning at Stratton Mountain in Feb. 2005. We fell in love with the area after years of coming here skiing. We decided to buy in this area due to the easy drive from Western, MA and surrounding areas. The area has so much to offer and I feel it's one of the most beautiful places in Vermont, with it's quaint towns and quailty of life. We spent several months updating and furnishing our home with antiques from homes in South Central, VT. We wanted our guests to feel as comfortable as we do when staying. We hope you'll have the chance to stay and enjoy this beautiful state.

You'll enjoy just being able to relax and taking in benefits of just being here. Whether it's sitting in front of the fire, playing cards with family and friends, making a puzzle with the children, reading, making snowmen, exploring, etc., you'll know you can do it in a safe environment. As with many homes in VT, we try to accomodate everyone and I'm sure you'll find your stay in VT most enjoyable.

18 Reviews of Property 169869 in Windham, Vermont

Puffer's Downhill Lodge - Magic, Stratton, Bromley, & Okemo
average rating of 4.928571 based on 18 reviews
business
Puffer's Downhill Lodge - Magic, Stratton, Bromley, & Okemo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169869
Windham Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
So. Hadley, MA
5

Guestbook Comment

Your house is so beautiful and it's in a perfect spot. It's nice to find a place where the owners take pride in making their home feel so we...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2007
  • Stayed: Apr 2007
Your house is so beautiful and it's in a perfect spot. It's nice to find a place where the owners take pride in making their home feel so welcoming. It's close to all the places we like to ski. We will be back again next year!! Thanks so much for sharing your home and making our vacation unforgetable.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Puffer's Downhill Lodge - Magic, Stratton, Bromley, & Okemo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169869
Windham Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
5

Wonderful summer escape

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
While the other reviews were from those who enjoyed the property in the winter, we had a fabulous summer escape with our family. The property was cozy and had all the amenities as described and there were more. The Puffers encouraged us to use their canoe which we did on the beautiful Lowell Lake. We forgot our fishing equipment and were offered to use their quality fishing equipment. What was perhaps most impressive was when we had an issue with the water and within hours, the Puffers showed up to take care of it. They were kind warn and very helpful. We look forward to future escapes at this cozy property.
Owner's Response: Mark,
Glad you and your wonderful family were able to enjoy your stay, I apologize again for the hot water issue but am glad I was able to correct it in a timely manner. This will be a learing for us on the new on-demand hot water system. Hope the fishing was good and look forward to seeing you again...

Jeff & Jen Puffer
business
Puffer's Downhill Lodge - Magic, Stratton, Bromley, & Okemo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169869
Windham Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
United States
4

Convenient to Great Winter Activities

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Came up over MLK weekend with a group of friends an co-workers. The house was clean, well-stocked with kitchen supplies and accurately described by the photos. We really enjoyed using the fireplace in the large living room.

The house is very conveniently located to a number of winter activities - within reasonable driving distances of Stratton and Okemo, as well as Magic Mtn. and the Viking Nordic Center (for snowshoeing/x-country). The Puffers were also very helpful and easy to work with in planning our trip - Thanks Jeff!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Andrew,
Glad we were part of your time spent in Vermont. We try to make the house as comfortable as you would be expected. Hope to see you in the future.
The Puffers...
business
Puffer's Downhill Lodge - Magic, Stratton, Bromley, & Okemo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169869
Windham Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
Seneca Falls NY
5

Best vacation A+++

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
We were very happy with the rental. Everything we needed was there for us and the home was pleasant and comfortable. Jeff and Jen left excellent directions and we were very satisfied. We would definitely plan to visit vermont again and stay at Puffers Downhill. We skiied Okemo and Stratton as well as toured the area visiting Manchester, Weston and Chester. Thanks for a great vacation.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay Chuck, Hope to see you again soon.

The Puffers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Puffer's Downhill Lodge - Magic, Stratton, Bromley, & Okemo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169869
Windham Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
Palm Beach Gardens, FL
5

winter wonderland

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
My wife and two teenage kids had a great time over the christmas break; skiing at stratton was close enough, cabin was quiet...we did not have cell phone coverage (a nice break!), there is a landline if you need it. Clean, spacious, warm, good kitchen...what more could you ask for? Thanks Jeff and Jen
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Glad we could accommodate your family Kevin, Thanks for the review. Hope to see you in the near future.

The Puffers...
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Puffer's Downhill Lodge - Magic, Stratton, Bromley, & Okemo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169869
Windham Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
Natick, MA
5

great House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
Thank you so much for the use of your home. Easily accesable to both Stratton and Okemo. Plenty of room for the 7 adults that make up our family. Beds were extremely comfortable and all the ammenities of home. Will be sure to keep your information available for when we head to VT again. Thank you, Kathy
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Kathy, Hope to see you again soon. Enjoy! The Puffer...
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Puffer's Downhill Lodge - Magic, Stratton, Bromley, & Okemo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169869
Windham Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
Matt here again, this time we were able to spend a week, and as before this place in perfect close to everything. We did have one problem with the water heater pilot going out but Jeff & Jen (the owners) had the plumber here in a snap to take care of it. They are available when ever needed which I found out was only that one time. The house is very well maintained, with everything you could possibly need. We will be back again!

Matt
business
Puffer's Downhill Lodge - Magic, Stratton, Bromley, & Okemo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169869
Windham Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
We first want to thank you for your wonderful house, it was perfect for our group. We skied Stratton and Okemo on our 3 day weekend. We were able to spend some time in Manchester to hit the outlets which was nice for our shopping fix. Hope to be back soon!

Emily E.
business
Puffer's Downhill Lodge - Magic, Stratton, Bromley, & Okemo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169869
Windham Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
The house was perfect and in a great location, we skied Bromley and Stratton on a 2 day weekend. We will be back up on the 9th to enjoy great skiing and a great house again. Thanks for the fire wood...
Matt
business
Puffer's Downhill Lodge - Magic, Stratton, Bromley, & Okemo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169869
Windham Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
5

Great ski weekend!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
This cabin was perfect for a long ski weekend! It's located 15 minutes from Stratton Mountain. Lodge is nicely furnished and well maintained. We easily fit 7 people and did not feel crowded.
Highlights:
Wood burning fireplace in living room
Fully equipped kitchen (coffee maker, microwave, pots & pans, condiments)
Car port (fit large van, no problems)
Timely snow plow service
Dog friendly (dog zip line outside, private area)
Functioning Washer/Dryer
Landline (no cell/internet service from cabin, but available down the road)
Jen & Jeff Puffer were very easy to work with, reasonable and available if needed.
Grocery store nearby (within 10 minutes)
- Extra blankets available, the lodge does take a few hours to initially heat up but once warm, stays warm.
Thank you, Puffers - great weekend.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review Emily, Glad everything was as expected. Hope to see you in the comings years...

The Puffers...
Helpful votes: 1/1