Volcano house rental - Covered walkway out to private bath house
Covered walkway out to private bath house
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay nights
 

Volcano House Rental Photos and Description
2 bedroom,1 1/2 bath, sleeps 6 max

As you walk down our secluded fern lined path, enjoy the sounds of the rainforest that surrounds you. Our tucked away cottage is family owned and operated. We have preserved the beautiful natural landscaping and take personal pride in making sure you have a wonderful stay.The cottage sits alone on a half acre of lush forest and truly is a hideaway. Fern Tree Hideaway is only 2 minutes from the Volcano Village and 4 minutes from the national park. Decorated with all original art, our cottage is very cheery and for those who really want to feel 'miles' away from everything. Fern Tree Hideaway has been in our family many years. We love nature, art, music and travel and hope this is reflected in our cottage!

Decorated with original art by local artists and filled with charm and warmth, we know your every need will be met. Enjoy cooking in our spacious, fully equipped Bistro style kitchen, or order in and go straight for the jacuzzi bathtub in its own private bathhouse. Watch a movie while cuddled up in the comfortable living room. Enjoy a peaceful nights sleep in our super cozy beds. In the morning awake to the sounds of the local birds as they play in the surrounding fern forest. Have your coffee on one of our three ‘lanais’ (decks) while you decide on which adventure to do for the day.

Our cottage lends itself to anyone looking for a truly peaceful, relaxing getaway. Whether its finishing that novel, sketching, playing guitar in the morning sun, enjoying the sounds of the forest with a glass of wine, or simply doing nothing, our cottage is definitely for you!

We are located only one mile from Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, the world famous heritage site. In about three minutes you can be enjoying one of our many charming restaurants, shops or art galleries. Volcano has so many beautiful hikes to choose from along with exploring lava tubes or catching a round of golf.

The Old Town of Hilo with its Historic bay front and glorious parks and waterfalls is a short thirty minute drive North of Volcano. Thirty minutes in the opposite direction heading South of Volcano is one of the Big Island of Hawaii's best beaches, Punalu'u Black sand beach. It is known for green sea turtles and incomparable beauty.

There is no where else you will find a community as charming and creative as Volcano Village. There is a feeling here like none other. It is filled with a mix of musicians, artists, writers and much more. A great way to see and feel the aloha spirit of Volcano Village is by mingling with the locals themselves at the local farmers market held every Sunday morning. Be sure not to miss Volcano Winery and golf course, only 5 minutes away. And of course you have to check out Volcanoes National Park.

More Details
Hide Details

Our family has lived in Hawaii for over 19 years.We love the Ocean(We own a kayak company in Kona on the East side) and we love traveling.Currently we all live in the Puna district and are enjoying our small family farm.Currently we have chickens,pigs ,South down baby doll sheep ,cats, dogs and much more to come.

When the weather is good we love tending to our vegetable gardens or painting 'plein air'.

Volcano has got to be one of the most beautiful places in the world.Our family used to live in Kailua Kona and loved coming to Volcano to escape the heat.So eventually we decided to buy a family home that we could use for weekends and such.We did not use it as often as we should have so decided to share it with everyone and make it a vacation rental.

When staying at our house we love having a big family dinner.The kitchen has plenty of room for prepping and the bar top is perfect for visiting while guest drink wine.During the Summer months we eat outside and during the winter we eat in the dining room and follow dinner with a good hand of cards and then maybe a movie.

A special treat is filling the bathhouse with candles and enjoying a long hot soak at the end of an activity filled day.

With so many windows looking out into the forest we always see plenty of rare Hawaiian birds.

29 Reviews of Property 169810 in Volcano, Hawaii

Spring Special starting @ $110/nt FERN TREE HIDEAWAY!!!
average rating of 4.9545455 based on 29 reviews
business
Spring Special starting @ $110/nt FERN TREE HIDEAWAY!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169810
+1 808 896-1669
Volcano Puna District
Mesa, AZ, USA
5

The Perfect Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
I came to the Big Island to celebrate a friend's birthday. We wanted to do it up big but not have a big price tag on our trip. This cottage was the perfect combination of affordability and luxury. I loved the seclusion and privacy that this cabin afforded. From every window all you could see was lush beautiful jungle. The interior of the cabin was more than accommodating and we wanted for nothing. The location of the cottage was perfect for sightseeing at Hawaii's Volcano National Park. We were able to do so much on our trip and this cottage was the perfect base camp for all of our adventures. If we ever come back to the Big Island we will definitely be staying here.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spring Special starting @ $110/nt FERN TREE HIDEAWAY!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169810
+1 808 896-1669
Volcano Puna District
5

A delightful place to stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Our family spent five nights at Fern Tree Hideaway and enjoyed it completely. Walking down the path upon arrival, when the house comes into view you know you will have a delightful stay. And walking to the bath house and hearing rain drops dancing on the covered walkway -- you know you're not in Kansas anymore! The house is exactly as presented in word and picture. Kristen is great to work with, and the flowers in every room are a welcoming touch. An added bonus is star gazing at night. They're so close you feel like you could reach up and touch them.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spring Special starting @ $110/nt FERN TREE HIDEAWAY!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169810
+1 808 896-1669
Volcano Puna District
Upstate New York, USA
5

Excellent Communication with Owner

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
I just wanted to put in a vote of confidence for the owner Kristen. She was incredibly kind and flexible and seems very trustworthy which I've found is hard to get a feel for when booking vacation rentals. If this hideaway looks like it meets your needs I wouldn't hesitate reaching out to Kristen with any questions--she is fabulous! Mahalo Kristen!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spring Special starting @ $110/nt FERN TREE HIDEAWAY!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169810
+1 808 896-1669
Volcano Puna District
Southern California
5

A Perfect Setting!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This home is absolutely perfect if you are looking for a quiet, far from crowds, hide-a-way. If you love the sounds of a "thousand" birds, then this is the place for you. The way the house sits on the property puts you, literally, in the middle of a fern jungle. Every window has an incredible view of the fern forest that surrounds the house. Totally AWESOME!

The house feels like "home" the minute you step inside - so warm and inviting. The owners are a delight to work with - they were so helpful while we were making our reservation. We enjoyed our time in this home. Thanks for making this house available for visitors. Mahalo
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spring Special starting @ $110/nt FERN TREE HIDEAWAY!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169810
+1 808 896-1669
Volcano Puna District
Columbus, Ohio
5

Secluded and Beautiful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We have stayed in many vacation rentals over the years, and this was by far the best. The house was beautiful - tastefully decorated, cozy, comfortable, and set in a rain forest. The property is well maintained and the kitchen well-stocked for those who wish to cook. There is a lovely and fairly extensive library in the upstairs hallway, and a great collection of games. Not once did we hear any road noise or even the neighbors...just the sounds of the rain forest, including on our first morning, the cry of one of the area's endangered hawks. The kids thought they were living in a "giant tree house" so they were very happy too.

Only a few minutes from Volcano National Park, this place was a wonderful "base camp" for many of our hiking activities, and there is easy access to Hilo as well. Takes a little longer to get to other parts of the island, but it is all easily accessible.
Owner's Response: Thankyou so much! I am so happy your family had such a good time. we would love for you to come stay again.
Much Aloha,
Kristen and family
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spring Special starting @ $110/nt FERN TREE HIDEAWAY!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169810
+1 808 896-1669
Volcano Puna District
Laurel, MT, USA
5

Wow!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
I can't say enough about this place. My wife and I stayed here June 6 and 7, 2012. Wow! Kristen really went out of her way to make our stay superb. She supplied us with fresh coffee beans and a grinder. Fresh fruit. Drinking water, spices, etc. The deck with the barbeque is huge. The bathhouse is fun. Total and I mean total privacy. The place is totally engulfed by the ferntree rain forest. Mostly rained at night and sunny during the day. She really has this place decorated with style. Also, she just put in Wifi. We were about a five minute drive from the Kilauea crater. One morning at 4 am, we hopped out of bed, drove up to the crater and observed the beautiful red glow from the lava below. I highly recommend this place. You can't beat it for the price.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thankyou so much! We really appreciate your kind comments.WE do hope you come back again next year.I'll be sure to still have have fresh coffee and flowers for you ;-)
Aloha,
Kristen
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Spring Special starting @ $110/nt FERN TREE HIDEAWAY!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169810
+1 808 896-1669
Volcano Puna District
Salt Lake City
5

Lovely trip to a Rain Forest

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
My family and I arrived at this lovely little bungalow on a VERY wet day, and we were so grateful to have a warm, homey, comfy place to enjoy. You can spend hours just watching the birds and the rain from the comfort of beds (super comfortable!) or the couch in the living room. The house was fully prepared for us, and full of lots of little extras. Thanks Kristen!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: HI Guys!
Thankyou so much for taking the time to write us such a nice review. The weather was so chilly and rainy when you were here and I'm so happy the house was a cozy haven for you to enjoy. Please come back and stay with us again.
ALoha and Mahalo!!
Kristen
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spring Special starting @ $110/nt FERN TREE HIDEAWAY!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169810
+1 808 896-1669
Volcano Puna District
Berlin,Md.,USA
5

October stay at the Hideaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
We spent two nights in Kristen & Family's house that were just as spectacular as our first stay two years ago. We still say WOW ! The house is beautiful , tidy , and well appointed. Comfortable beds , fresh fruit , and all the charm you can imagine ! The pics just don't do it justice !! Woodsy & Mary Carol J-W
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spring Special starting @ $110/nt FERN TREE HIDEAWAY!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169810
+1 808 896-1669
Volcano Puna District
Seattle, WA
5

Wow, Wow, Wow!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
I couldn't believe my eyes when I first arrived and walked along the jungle path from my car to the cottage. Incredible! The jungle literally envelopes the cottage. The property is almost completely covered with jungle foliage, except for the carport, jungle path and where the cottage/bathhouse are. The fern trees surrounding the cottage were very large and beautiful to look at. You could walk out on the upstairs deck in the morning and see the top of the fern tree canopy, and look out any window to see nothing but jungle.

The interior had a very classy rustic charm, and was clean and nicely decorated. Very cosy. I especially liked the railings made of twisted varnished twisted wood. We were provided fresh fruit and 5 gallons of drinking water. The kitchen had everything we needed.

The bath house, which is separate from the cottage, was a very unique experience. It has a couple of windows, however, the owners have added window covers, which was good choice for those of us who don't like feeling exposed while bathing. For others, it provides the opportunity to feel like you are bathing/showering in a jungle by simply pulling them aside.

Finally, making arrangements with Kristen was very easy and straightforward. She is very friendly and answered all of my questions. The payment process went over without a hitch.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spring Special starting @ $110/nt FERN TREE HIDEAWAY!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169810
+1 808 896-1669
Volcano Puna District
Paso Robles
5

Charming and Cozy in the Forest

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
We just wanted to thank you again for our wonderful stay at your lovely home.Everywhere we looked the house was filled with details that showed us how much you really care.This being our second time at your home we did notice a few new things which is always fun.(We loved the new sunset painting and the one in the blue room!)
Still one of our very favorite things is bird watching.From your living room we were able to see an "Apapene,Amakihi,Akepa and Iiwi.What a treat to be so immersed in nature yet a few minutes from town.So hold our spot next year.We will be back!
The Kurtz Fam
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1