Not thrilling, actually a bit disappointing
We rented both houses at this property, the Ranch and the Chalet...staying with two other families on the property.
The pluses: Stargazing was spectacular, the light from the houses is a little irritating but the super clear skies allow for viewing shooting stars and Satellites! The fire pits are fun for winding down and sharing stories and maybe a beer or glass of wine. We brought bocci, canjam, ladder golf and had a blast. We took a day trip to Middlebury VT - fabulous....
The negatives: - not much to do in the area other than Canoe, Kayak and boat - other than our day trip. CAUTION: We brought our 24 foot Crownline and damaged the skeg transiting the bottleneck into the properties dock, even staying in the channel. Raise your motor more than half coming in! The owners do not supply propane for the grills which are barely usable. Be prepared to make a drive to fill them up. The gas lines at the Ranch were melted and unusable. Thank goodness we had the Chalet to cook at. The last thing that wasn't clear until we were actually there is that this is not on the water - it's across the street. Quite a walk if you are bringing stuff to the dock or sit by the water. We all agree we'd probably stay closer to mid lake or the south end if we did it again.
Owner's Response: We can't please them all !!
Two homes that sleeps 24 together at a fantastic rate of $5000. How can you go wrong? Renting homes closer to Lake George Village will cost you about $8000 for 2 homes similar to the two homes rented by this guest.
Homes are lakefront, shares 8 acres of property and goes from Baldwin Road to water edge.
The homes were strategically place in the center of the land so that the homeowners can take advantage of the panoramic view of the lake,Mt. Defiance and the sun. Yes it is about 300 feet away from the water, but this is mentioned in our ad. Some people would like to roll out of bed into the lake...but having a home close to the water edge causes mold and water rot among other problems. One of the biggest dismay with renting closer to Lake George Village is the size of the homes and property. They are very small.
Lights can be turn off or down if you want to star gaze.
The homes come with a 67 feet dock, lot of flat land for kids to play without neighbors being on top of you. Very private. If you enjoy the hustle, loud noise and heavy traffic that comes with renting closer to the village them these homes are not for you. Homes are located on the north end of Lake George in the historic Town of Ticonderoga. This is a very seclusive bay with a NO WAKE of 5 mph. If you live on the lake and have kids, you will appreciate this boating rule by the Lake George Park Commission. You don't want to be fishing, swimming or kayaking and have someone run you over with their boat. Then again, if you are just visiting our very clean pristine lake just for fun, you can stay closer to town.
Navigating the water of Lake George can be a bit tricky, especially coming into the bay. Yes you have to raise your engine...which an experience boater will know to do just that. There are over 50 homes in the bay area with much larger boats and they do it every day.
What he failed to mention is the fact that these homes are clean, with all amenities. Computer with fax, printer, internet access. Wi-Fi service. 55" flat screen TV with all movie channels. Local and long distant phone service, fully stock kitchen. Cotton monogram linens and towels and yes propane for the grills. Cooking for 24 people will use more than one tank of gas. There is a Super Wal-Mart about less than 4 minutes away from our homes. We aim to please our clients and offer discount on returning clients, but no matter what you offer, some will still whine.
Helpful votes: 2/2
Did you find this review helpful?