Huntington Beach cottage rental - Cottage 1 front view
Cottage 1 front view
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
 

Huntington Beach Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 1 full bathroom, sleeps 6

Awesome...Location, Location, Location!

Please visit our website (found below) for online reservations.

Delightful, comfortable and beautifully remodeled with vacation rentals in mind. The Beach Cottage located in the heart of lively downtown Huntington Beach. The cottage is literally steps away from the sand, boardwalk, pier, and dozens of restaurants, pubs, and boutique shops. You will be enjoying your stay 1 block from Famous Huntington Beach, its Pier, and boardwalk. Not only is it known as 'Surf City USA,' but it is also considered one of the safest cities in the US. The Cottage is located 1 block from Main Street with dozens of restaurants, pubs, boutique shops, and nightlife.

The cottage is a single detached family home situated in the heart of downtown Huntington Beach. The cottage has been restored and remodeled numerous times, with the latest full remodel in late 2007/2008 with your vacation, family, and comfort in mind. The historic nature of the homes means that our job is never done, and we are continuously striving to improve the home with you in mind. We hope that you will enjoy the homes’ original charms and quirks, as well as the comforts of having a home away from home.

The cottage includes a full kitchen, living room and dining room as well as a small patio with patio furniture and gas grill barbecue. Wireless high speed internet access is available.

Beach Cottage 1 is a two bedroom, one bath, single family home with onsite laundry room, backyard, back patio and detached two car garage. An additional parking spot is available, parallel to the garage. The cottage was remodeled with new paint, new flooring, and new furniture in late 2007/2008. Both bedrooms and living room include flat screen television with cable channels. The first bedroom contains a queen size bed and the second bedroom contains two twin size beds, which upon request may be connected to 'create a King size bed. Living room also contains full size sofa sleeper, which sleeps two. Small pets are allowed (under 25 lbs) only with prior notice and approval.

Please visit our website (found below) for online reservations.

Keywords: Cottage

More Details
Hide Details

The Huntington Beach cottages just recently changed ownership in July, 2012. The new manager (and owner), Shirley Hsueh, has been living in Huntington Beach since 1978.

We take great pride in our vacation rental and strive to provide our guests with a comfortable and enjoyable stay. The previous owners were committed to creating a home away from home and we are dedicated to do the same.

Delia Osorio purchased this cottage in 2012

This cottages was built in 1907 and have witnessed over one hundred years of Huntington Beach's rich history — from it's early inception as an oil-boom city to today's resort and tourist destination.

You will notice this cottage do not have closets because houses from the early 1900s were built without closets since people were using armories. As you'll soon see if you stay in this cottage, our frequent renovations and updates keep the cottage modern without losing any of its original charm.

Recently we just add a outdoor cold/hot shower to wash off sand from the beach.

We are continuously looking for ways to improve the quality of this unit for your comfort and would love to get your feedback by leaving your comments on either our guestbook or in the review section at Homeaway website. With your help, we can maintain the quality of our unit. We're always happy to hear from you!

When you arrive, the cottage will be clean and linens will be provided, bath, beach and kitchen towels are included. Each cottage includes three flat screen televisions with cable and Wi-Fi. A television is located in the living room, as well as in each bedroom.

The kitchen is stocked with the basic kitchen appliances and necessities including a stove, oven, refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, toaster, and blender. Cookware, dinnerware, and utensils are also provided. In addition, a gas grill barbecue is provided in the patio, along with patio furniture for each cottage. Each cottage is also equipped with its own laundry room; washer and dryer on site.

This cottage also includes an assortment of beach items, including beach cruisers (2), boogie boards, children’s beach toys, chairs, and an umbrella.

As a courtesy, a hair dryer, shampoo, conditioner, soap, hand soap, dish washing soap and paper products are also provided. Laundry detergent is not provided.

Amenities Include:

- Wireless high speed internet access available.

- When you arrive, the house will be clean and linens will be provided

- Bath and Beach towels are included

- Kitchen Appliances, Cookware, Dinnerware, and Utensils provided

- Laundry Facilities (Washer and Dryer) on site

- 3 Flat Screen Televisions with cable service

- Gas barbecue grill in backyard

- Patio Furniture

- 2 Body boards, 1 surfboard

- Children's beach toys

- Beach chairs, Beach umbrella, Beach bag

- 2 bikes (beach cruisers)

- Parking spaces are provided

- Fitness Center (24 Hour Fitness, half a block away)

27 Reviews of Property 169374 in Huntington Beach, California

Beach Cottage #1, Steps from Sand, Shops & Nightlife
average rating of 5.0 based on 27 reviews
business
Beach Cottage #1, Steps from Sand, Shops & Nightlife
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169374
+1 951 847-6512
Huntington Beach Orange County
Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
5

Perfect location and great rental for traveling with a dog

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We are a 55-plus couple and stayed in Cottage 1 in mid-March for 8 nights with our dog. This was our first time staying in this cottage and certainly will be the first of many future visits. The enclosed back yard with grass made it a perfect fit for traveling with a dog. The location was fantastic, with a walk to the water's edge less than 5 minutes. We took daily walks on the strand. Also, the pier was right there and Main Street only two blocks away with numerous choices of restaurants and a CVS another block away. Despite it being so close to the main hub of activity, most of the time it was pretty quiet. When we arrived the house was immaculately clean. The TVs in every room were great and we appreciated having a DVR and being able to record our shows to watch later. A heater/cooling system with a remote worked very well to keep the temperature comfortable at all times. The garage and garage door opener in the back was a real plus, making it convenient to keep our car parked safely out of sight. Although we didn't make use of them during this trip, there is a washer and dryer inside, an outdoor shower in the backyard and several bikes and beach chairs in the garage. We also found a nice park to take our dog to, just six blocks down on 3rd St. We have already booked our next trip to stay in the cottage again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beach Cottage #1, Steps from Sand, Shops & Nightlife
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169374
+1 951 847-6512
Huntington Beach Orange County
Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
5

Perfect location and great rental for traveling wi

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We are a 55-plus couple and stayed in Cottage 1 in mid-March for 8 nights with our dog. This was our first time staying in this cottage and certainly will be the first of many future visits. The enclosed back yard with grass made it a perfect fit for traveling with a dog. The location was fantastic, with a walk to the water's edge less than 5 minutes. We took daily walks on the strand. Also, the pier was right there and Main Street only two blocks away with numerous choices of restaurants and a CVS another block away. Despite it being so close to the main hub of activity, most of the time it was pretty quiet. When we arrived the house was immaculately clean. The TVs in every room were great and we appreciated having a DVR and being able to record our shows to watch later. A heater/cooling system with a remote worked very well to keep the temperature comfortable at all times. The garage and garage door opener in the back was a real plus, making it convenient to keep our car parked safely out of sight. Although we didn't make use of them during this trip, there is a washer and dryer inside, an outdoor shower in the backyard and several bikes and beach chairs in the garage. We also found a nice park to take our dog to, just six blocks down on 3rd St. We have already booked our next trip to stay in the cottage again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beach Cottage #1, Steps from Sand, Shops & Nightlife
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169374
+1 951 847-6512
Huntington Beach Orange County
5

Great house - amazing location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This house was perfect for our family of four. The location is fantastic. Just blocks from a huge beach with great waves. One block from cute shops and great restaurants. The beds were very comfortable - we slept great. It was so close to everything, yet was quiet at night. Very safe for walking around. Really easy drive to grocery stores. Really enjoy our stay and would highly recommend this house to everyone.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beach Cottage #1, Steps from Sand, Shops & Nightlife
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169374
+1 951 847-6512
Huntington Beach Orange County
5

The best little rental home in Huntington Beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This cottage is a gem with all the amenities you could possibly desire. I especially appreciated the secure backyard where I felt comfortable leaving my dog on occasion. We felt very safe in the cottage, leaving all the windows open and the doors when home. You can tell at once a home that is well cared for by the condition you receive it in and this home was clean, welcoming, and I have all ready recommended this property to many of my friends. We love the downtown life (which is a 2 minute walk from the cottage) with all of the activities; volleyball tournaments, farmers markets, restaurants, shopping, etc. We love the beach and there is no better doggie beach than the one in HB. So thank you for sharing your awesome home.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beach Cottage #1, Steps from Sand, Shops & Nightlife
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169374
+1 951 847-6512
Huntington Beach Orange County
Fontana, CA
5

PERFECT

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This is the perfect little get away. It has everything you need and you can walk to everything. Street fair on Tuesday night was an added bonus! Very sad to have to leave!! We will be back next year for sure!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beach Cottage #1, Steps from Sand, Shops & Nightlife
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169374
+1 951 847-6512
Huntington Beach Orange County
Henderson, Nevada
5

Perfect vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
My husband and I needed a much deserved vacation so we decided on Huntington Beach. This beach cottage was perfect close to the beach and the Main Street. We used everything provided surf board, boogie boards, beach cruisers we wanted for nothing. Our little yorkie enjoyed the yard and the fact the Huntington is such a dog friendly town. Our car never left the garage there was no need everything is walking or bike distance.
I cannot wait to return.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beach Cottage #1, Steps from Sand, Shops & Nightlife
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169374
+1 951 847-6512
Huntington Beach Orange County
Philadelphia
5

OMG! Fantastic in every way!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We stayed for 4 nights, coming "home" to celebrate a bday. Not only is the location awesome, 1 block from Main St, 1 block from Starbucks, 2 blocks to the beach & pier, but the entire cottage was so clean, comfortable, cozy, well stocked with everything you would need, Beach towels, hair dryer, plenty of plates, pot & pans, glasses, etc.
My favorite area of the cottage was the back yard! So much room for entertaining (there were even more chairs in the garage to add to the outside table!) The grill was great! All the grilling utensils were there.
My second favorite part of the cottage was the beach cruisers that are provided in the garage. We rode to Mothers almost every morning for breakfast, we rode the bike trail to The Wedge. What a great time!
I wish we lived in the cottage that's how nice the location and the cottage is!
When we go back to HB we will definitely rent the cottage again. Unless we move to the OC!
Thank you so much for everything!
business
Beach Cottage #1, Steps from Sand, Shops & Nightlife
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169374
+1 951 847-6512
Huntington Beach Orange County
Minneapolis, Minnesota
5

Sandy & Karen's Fabulous Trip to visit their Boys

Sandy & Karen's Fabulous Trip to visit their Boys
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We rented this cottage in order to visit our sons that live now in California. This little cottage, was nothing short of amazing! It was exceptionally clean, in such a perfect location, and had all the amenities that made our stay so enjoyable . We loved the bikes and coolers available to us, and the laundry room was just an added bonus! We really enjoyed the very private backyard with the grill and the outdoor shower was a hit with our boys when the mornings were busy with the ladies getting ready for the day in the inside bathroom. When we had a crisis on the trip (lost dog), Shirley, the owner, was immediate in her response and was as helpful as she could be, given the circumstances! I would never hesitate to recommend this cottage to anyone looking for a reasonable and comfortable place to stay in Huntington Beach! We will be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beach Cottage #1, Steps from Sand, Shops & Nightlife
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169374
+1 951 847-6512
Huntington Beach Orange County
Gilbert5, AZ
5

Awesome House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We love this house. Perfect location. We moved from California 8 yrs ago, and now return to stay over New Year's to see family and friends, and to enjoy Huntington Beach. Our kids are all teenagers and they love it too.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beach Cottage #1, Steps from Sand, Shops & Nightlife
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169374
+1 951 847-6512
Huntington Beach Orange County
Alberta, Canada
5

We didn't stay long enough

We didn't stay long enough
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
This was our first time at a vacation rental and it was a great experience. Be aware when you read the reviews here that the owners have to verify your stay and so unscrupulous owners could weed out bad reviews. That being said, there was nothing bad to say about this property. Everything from start to finish was handled very well, the pictures depict the property well, and if anything make it look a little smaller than it is.

The cottage was very clean and the kitchen very well equipped, the appliances were older but worked fine and there is no dishwasher (not a big deal for us). Having a washer and dryer in the unit was great and there was even a small safe. The beds were comfortable and there were lots of towels and beach towels. There were nice beach cruiser bikes, Joe Bahama chairs and a selection of boogie boards. The surf board was not in the best shape and not suitable for a beginner surfer. Having a garage was great however it was very tight to get our full size rental car in. There is an off street parking space as well. The property is also a very short walk to the beach and shopping and dining.

While this cottage was perfect for us, there are a few things to consider. It is pet friendly so if you have allergies this wouldn’t be the place for you even though it was impeccably clean. Also it is across the street from the main downtown parking garage so when the bar crowd goes home it gets noisy, one weekend night there was a fair bit of yelling coming from the garage.

If we return to Huntington Beach we will certainly stay here again.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Ken,
Thank you for spending time to leave us a review, really appreciated. Right after you check out, we upgraded our appliances with GE refrigerator and Maytag stove. We are the new property owner since July and we were booked solid this past summer, wish we could upgrade it sooner. I hope next time you will consider to stay with our other cottages. We are constantly striving to improve our services and cottages and looking forward to see you next time.

Sincerely, Shirley
Helpful votes: 4/4