Bakersville cabin rental - Little Bird Cabin
Little Bird Cabin
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights
 

Bakersville Cabin Rental Photos and Description
1 bedroom (queen), Loft for kids

BirdTown Guest Houses does not discriminate for ANY reason.

Secluded mountain cabin at 3800 ft in a hollow on 60 acres surrounded by the Pisgah Natl Forest. It's cool here when it's roasting in the Piedmont.

Things to do without getting in your car: hike to the mountain top, climb on big-as-a-house rock formations, challenging road cycling. Fish for trout in the pond, play with the ducks, pick blueberries, listen to song birds & owls.

Sit by the creek & read. Relax on the deck with a glass of wine & watch the sun set over the mountains. Look for deer and wild turkeys. Take a professionally guided photography tour.

10-15 minutes away: gallery hop, catch trout in downtown Bakersville , go rafting, buy gourmet goat cheeses at The Gateway Market.

20-30 minutes away: drive the Blue Ridge Parkway, go gem mining, hike the Appalachian Trail, go fly fishing with Rivers Edge Outfitters, visit Penland Gallery & take a tour of Penland School of Craft, visit TRAC Gallery, & artist studios, go golfing.

What you can’t do: easily connect to work and other people you need a vacation from.

More Details
Hide Details

I am a professional photographer with a studio in Bakersville, I primarily photograph art for the large artist community here, I also do portrait work. I share my 60 acres with my wife Allison. I'm also an avid bicyclist (5000 miles in 2013).

Mary Vogel purchased this cabin in 2005

I live on my 60 acres (in the front). We placed our cabin out of sight and sound with the intent to use it for family ( I have 10 sibs).

In the mean time we thought it would be a great vacation rental as well. This has proven to be true due to the fun and pleasure of meeting people from all over the world.

The Appalachian Mountains are unsurpassed in their beauty, peace and quiet. This area is home to the Penland School of Crafts, and world renowned artists, challenging road cycling and The Blue Ridge Parkway.

First I'll describe my land: 60 acres surrounded by mountain and forest, very green in the summer, snow in the winter. There are 2 creeks that pass directly next to the cabin and a small waterfall outside the bedroom window. The view from the deck is pure rolling green landscape with a small pond (very meditative). The hiking trails start nearby on my property and snake through the mountains for miles. Bicyclists bring their road bikes for the challenge and beauty and some come to ride in the 'Roan Moan' century and metric century. Some folks just stay and hang out, never leaving once they get here. The driving routes are gorgeous, the Appalachian Trail is nearby as well as Blue Ridge Parkway.

Did I mention farm to table chef owned restaurant and a microbrewery: Knife and Fork, Dry County Pizza respectively.

51 Reviews of Property 169292 in Bakersville, North Carolina

Little Bird Cabin (price includes taxes) - 60acres,pond,fish,ducks,hiking, views
average rating of 4.8627453 based on 51 reviews
business
Little Bird Cabin (price includes taxes) - 60acres,pond,fish,ducks,hiking, views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169292
828 467 2094
Bakersville High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Pennsylvania
5

Bellissima!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
As a sometimes travel writer, I've covered countless miles over the past two decades, and Little Bird Cabin is unquestionably among the most memorable places in which I've stayed.

Whether you're seeking solitude, romance, or rejuvenating time with your family, you're likely to find what you're seeking in this lovely, well-cared for cabin alongside Soapstone Creek. Mary and Alli's thoughtful touches and artistic sensibilities grace the clean and cozy cabin. And though checking to see that you've all that you need, their graciousness and the cabin's setting provide privacy too.

My husband (then-boyfriend) and I awakened to spectacular views of mist rising over blue mountains, and we were lulled to sleep by the creek's gentle murmur. We're hoping to return someday to Little Bird Cabin, and in the meantime are sustained -- in more ways than can herein be described -- by memories of its magic and unparalleled sense of place.

Bellissima. Simply bellissima!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Oh Maria, bella Maria, you made my socks roll up and down...Bella Vogelina (married? wow)
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Little Bird Cabin (price includes taxes) - 60acres,pond,fish,ducks,hiking, views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169292
828 467 2094
Bakersville High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
5

Outstanding location, cabin and hosts.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
It was a feel-good story book location with all comforts available in the cabin. Every single window sprung spectacular mountain views. It was peaceful and rejuvenating. Spent quality time with my teenagers and created memories they'll never forget. Hands down, I HIGHLY recommend this place for quiet time. I'm going back in the spring with a few of my girlfriends to enjoy a bike ride.
business
Little Bird Cabin (price includes taxes) - 60acres,pond,fish,ducks,hiking, views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169292
828 467 2094
Bakersville High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
5

Just what we were looking for!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Wow! This is exactly what my husband and I needed for our weekend getaway!

When we arrived, the cabin was just as pictured on the website. It was CLEAN. Immaculate even. There is a comfy loveseat with a toasty throw, and a well-appointed kitchen. The bed was so comfortable I had to ask Mary what kind it was. The bathroom was (again), CLEAN. You can walk down to the pond & check out the ducks (seriously, my favorite), go on a hike, or just enjoy the picturesque view.

Mary was so friendly, she advised us on some places of interest and recommended some restaurants that would cater to my vegetarian diet. The instruction book left on the entertainment center is equally helpful. We really appreciated her flexibility in accommodating our check in & check out needs.

I highly recommend this if you are looking for a private couples' getaway.
Owner's Response: AND you're an awesome photographer. I very much enjoyed meeting you and your husband. Come back in the summer when it's really green.
business
Little Bird Cabin (price includes taxes) - 60acres,pond,fish,ducks,hiking, views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169292
828 467 2094
Bakersville High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
5

We are DEFINITELY coming back in the spring!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This is a gorgeous property right outside of a charming little town. With nature trails, a pond (for fishing), and amazing views right on site, we only left the property once during our 4 day stay. We caught lots of trout, watched the ducks, hiked and relaxed while looking over the mountains. We were very impressed by the quality of the cabin and the attention to detail inside the cabin was great. Every amenity we could think of was there. We didn't need ANYTHING! The owners are extremely generous and kind and we can't wait to come back!
Owner's Response: Wow, what a beautiful, well thought out letter...I realy do wish you'd come back! Thank you...
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Little Bird Cabin (price includes taxes) - 60acres,pond,fish,ducks,hiking, views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169292
828 467 2094
Bakersville High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Fort Myers, Florida
5

Great Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
"Little Bird" was just perfect in every way. The cabin was very clean, cozy and well organized. The property was beautiful. We had a wonderful time in Bird Town. Mary and Alli are superb hosts. Highly recommend this property to anyone who is as picky as we are. D&D
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Wow, thanks so much...We both very much enjoyed meeting you....
business
Little Bird Cabin (price includes taxes) - 60acres,pond,fish,ducks,hiking, views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169292
828 467 2094
Bakersville High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
5

simply beautiful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
What an amazing property! We had such a wonderful, relaxing stay. Mary's & Ali's creativity, hard work and attention to detail show in just about every facet of the cabin & land. The only thing that could have made our stay better is if we booked for more than 2 nights, which is a definite next time we come.

Highlights included the pond full of large trout, hiking the AT at Carvers Gap, the awesome movie selection and great wine & conversation with our gracious host.

Jason & Lesley
Owner's Response: AND the lovely company as we shared a bottle of wine (not required, but very much appreciated). Thank you!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Little Bird Cabin (price includes taxes) - 60acres,pond,fish,ducks,hiking, views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169292
828 467 2094
Bakersville High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
5

Quiet Comfort

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our visit to Birdtown Cabin was magical in every sense. Tucked away in the mountains, surrounded by trees, birds and a gentle stream, the little cabin is a refuge from the "real" world. The property is beautifully maintained, the cabin clean and comfortable, and the owner a delight! We will definitely be returning to Birdtown Cabin, thank you Mary!!

Anne & Farley
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure meeting you and Farley and a real pleasure photographing your daughters wedding...
Thanks so much!
business
Little Bird Cabin (price includes taxes) - 60acres,pond,fish,ducks,hiking, views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169292
828 467 2094
Bakersville High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
5

Lovely, charming, sweet. The perfect getaway place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
I will be perfectly honest. When my boyfriend first introduced me to this place and claimed "it has 40 stellar reviews!"I was very skeptical. I thought the reviews were probably monitored or fake as they often are on many websites. After reviewing several places and looking at the reviews once again, we decided to give it a try, it definitely looked like a sweet and cozy place from the pictures.

I was honestly truly impressed with this place. There is a reason it has so many five star reviews and I am no different. I honestly give this place a full five stars. I loved it. It was exactly what we were looking for. If you're looking for the Hilton or marble floors, here isn't right for you. But it is a sweet, cozy, charming environment. Mary keeps it up to date incredibly well: it had all the amenities we needed, the bed was heaven (seriously, this is probably one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in, thanks to some magical mattress cover Mary added. It had instructions and maps laid out for us of all the activities in the surrounding environment. There are hundreds of movies to watch on a big screen tv on a comfortable sofa. The cabin itself is isolated, no one can see in your windows and you have an enormous amount of beautiful privacy. Mary's house is one or two minutes walking distance away in case you need anything. She is an incredible host, both extremely friendly yet very respectful of your privacy. For couples, friends, or family looking for a low-key and private place to get away from 'it all', this is absolutely perfect. An enormous plus: there is a big window right at the food of the bed, so you are literally waking up to the blue ridge mountains. The loft above the kitchen was also adorable and I loved it. Star, star, star, star, STAR! :)
Owner's Response: Wow, I'm humbled and grateful...STAR, STAR, STAR, STAR, STAR!!!!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Little Bird Cabin (price includes taxes) - 60acres,pond,fish,ducks,hiking, views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169292
828 467 2094
Bakersville High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
5

Truly lovely

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Birdtown. What a charming location, great host, excellent property and amenities. We were traveling with our 8 YO son, and while we did leave to go on hikes elsewhere, we found plenty to keep us entertained just on the property itself. Pond, woods, mountain streams, incredible film collection - all made for a rich, relaxing Memorial Day weekend. We can't wait to go back.
Owner's Response: Wow, glad we could provide all of your funesses, especially Nate (very entertaining little feller). We'll see you again soon, thinking about traveling to Raleigh..
business
Little Bird Cabin (price includes taxes) - 60acres,pond,fish,ducks,hiking, views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169292
828 467 2094
Bakersville High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
5

Memory Eternal

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This place is beautiful, scenic, and majestic. Myself and the love of my life came in here with out doubts, but beyond all reasonable doubt, we departed most with some of our most beautiful memories.

From the bed room window, you can see the peak of the mountain in all of its majesty. Imagine opening your eyes at sunrise while laying in bed, and the first thing you see is this giant golden ball rising above the mountain, while clouds float like webs around it. Mary has done tremendously well to preempt the needs of her guest. You will not go into that cabin lacking anything. She has an endless list of quality movies, and this cabin is absolutely clean and complete with modern amenities.

You will enjoy the pristine nature of this place.The sound of the waterfall by the bedroom window is like music to the ears. As you listen to this sound, the soft bed wraps your body in its plush and warm embrace. The price of this cabin does not equal the value of the experience. There were many times i took a walk, and felt like i was in a scene of the Avatar movie. That is priceless. Mary is one of the best persons anyone will ever meet. She is personable, and a wonderful sense of humor. Please take this spot, and give your vacation experience an edge.
Helpful votes: 1/1