Houston cabin rental - Awesome Log Home In A GREAT Location To Visit All Of Alaska.
Awesome Log Home In A GREAT Location To Visit All Of Alaska.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Houston Cabin Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms 1 Full Bathroom Sleeps 6

New log home located in Houston Alaska on 2 acres of land. Houston Alaska is 45 miles north of Anchorage in the Matsu Valley area. Nearby towns include: Houston, Wasilla, Big Lake, Palmer, Anchorage and Willow Alaska. This home is centrally located to all the major sightseeing areas of Alaska such as: Anchorage, Talkeetna, Mt. Mckinley, Wasilla, Hatchers Pass, Independence Mine, Big Lake, Girdwood, and easy access to all major highways in Alaska.

This log home has it all for a comfortable and luxurious vacation. Fully equipped kitchen and living room with satellite TV, DVD and plasma television set. You also have your own personal television set in the master bedroom. No need to go to the laundromat as you have access to the washer and dryer 24/7. Why stay in a hotel room when you can stay in your home away from home!!!!!!!!

If you want to stay near it all this is where you need to stay!!!!!

COME TO ALASKA AND HAVE THE TIME OF YOUR LIFE: There is so much to do and see in Alaska that you will need to allocate your time wisely to get the most out of your vacation. To help plan your daily activities you will find an Alaskan Mile Marker Book giving you easy directions and details about the many attractions and destinations Alaska has to offer. If there is anything I can do to help make your stay the best ever.....please don't hesitate to ask.

GREAT FISHING IS JUST MINUTES AWAY: There are hundreds of streams, rivers and lakes located just minutes from your location. The home is equipped with fishing poles. tackle gear, and wade boots for your fishing pleasure. Please remember if you plan on fishing while in Alaska you must obtain a fishing license. You can obtain this license at various places near your stay such as: Walmart, Target. or Bait Shops. You can even obtain one via the internet prior to your departure. If your trip to Alaska is for a fishing adventure...... look no further as this is an ideal location.

NEED HELP PLANNING YOUR ALASKA VACATION...JUST ASK: I will be more than happy to give you advice on planning your Alaska dream vacation. First time visitors may find it overwhelming to get information on all that Alaska has to offer. I had my home built in Houston Alaska because of it's proximity to all the major sightseeing attractions in Alaska. People who stay in Anchorage Alaska will have to travel much longer distances to Alaska attractions than people who stay in Houston Alaska. Remember....Alaska is huge so traveling will take up quite a bit of your time and location is key!!!!!!!!!!

More Details
Hide Details

Please allow me to introduce myself....My name is Dennis Gorrebeeck and I own this vacation home. My parents are from Alaska and my brother was born in Anchorage. My father was stationed in Anchorage in the early 60's with the US Air Force. My parents and brother experienced the massive earthquake in Anchorage and lost their home. Growing up my parents would always show me pictures of Alaska and how beautiful the area is. I was intrigued with Alaska and knew that someday I would experience it for myself and that time came in 2001. I quickly fell in love with Alaska and began to travel there every single year. I purchased 2 acres of land and had this log home built in 2006. This home is my dream and I know you will love it as much as I do.

Dennis Gorrebeeck purchased this cabin in 2006

I purchased in this area of Alaska because it is centrally located to the very best Alaska has to offer. Skiing, fishing, mountain climbing, snow machining, Mt. McKinley, Hatcher's Pass, glaciers, Anchorage, Wasilla, and of course the most beautiful mountains in the world. I chose this location to build my dream home because the area is so beautiful and it is the perfect location to really experience everything Alaska has to offer.

My home is the absolute BEST and I would love to share it with you. You will not be disappointed!!!!!!!! My home offers a cozy feeling the moment you step inside. This home is decorated with the finest furnishings and linens for a very comfortable and relaxing stay. Unlike other properties where you have to pay a fortune for these amenities, my home offers all of this and more at a very reasonable rate.

19 Reviews of Property 169091 in Houston, Alaska

Beautiful New Cheri Lake Log Home Centrally Located To All The Fun Activities!
average rating of 4.9473686 based on 19 reviews
business
Beautiful New Cheri Lake Log Home Centrally Located To All The Fun Activities!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169091
+1 813 420-8622
Houston Alaska
Dade City, Florida
5

Wow - what a great find!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2008
  • Stayed: Jun 2008
This home was well worth the short trip out of Anchorage. It gets you away from the busy city traffic but keeps you close enough to see all that Alaska has to offer. It is easy to find as well. It is very comfortable and clean with a home like feeling that most rentals do not offer. The area is quiet and peaceful. The home gives you a feeling of relaxation the minute you step into its wonderfully decorated rooms. After a long day trip to Denali, Seward or wherever you decide to go it is always a pleasure to arrive back home. Even though you feel that you are very remote from everything and everyone there is shopping and dining close by. Everything is convenient. Can't wait to stay here again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Bob and Madeline for your kind words about my home. I am thrilled that you had a GREAT time in Alaska!!!!!!!!!!! I know how excited you were before your trip and I am pleased that my home lived up to your expectations. If I can ever assist you with future stays.....please don't hesitate to contact me.
Helpful votes: 19/20
business
Beautiful New Cheri Lake Log Home Centrally Located To All The Fun Activities!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169091
+1 813 420-8622
Houston Alaska
5

Very nice cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The cabin was very nice. More amenities that we could've asked for. Pristine condition and kept clean. Easy to get to and find the things we needed. Nice washer/dryer allowed us to keep up with our laundry needs. Would highly recommend if considering renting this location.
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words about my home and your stay. I hope you can visit again in the near future.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful New Cheri Lake Log Home Centrally Located To All The Fun Activities!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169091
+1 813 420-8622
Houston Alaska
4

Great location to see this part of AK.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
A wonderful cabin nestled in the trees and with quick access to the highway for sightseeing. The amenities within the cabin are great and the owner was very responsive to a couple of hiccups we had due to previous renters. I would suggest seeing if the cleaning service or a neigbor would check the fridge and remove open food from previous renters.
business
Beautiful New Cheri Lake Log Home Centrally Located To All The Fun Activities!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169091
+1 813 420-8622
Houston Alaska
5

Great family vacation rental!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This home was a great find. Dennis was so helpful from the start and the rental process went very smoothly. His home is beautiful and very well equipped. The kids enjoyed the gaming system when it rained and spent a lot of time outside when the weather was good. The bedrooms are lush and super comfy. The kitchen has everything needed to cook up a great meal. The whole place was clean and well maintained. It is located just far enough outside of wasilla to be remote but still convenient. I would highly recommend this rental to anyone! We had a fantastic time!
Owner's Response: I am so glad to hear that you and your family had a great time in Alaska and at my home. I hope you can visit again.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful New Cheri Lake Log Home Centrally Located To All The Fun Activities!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169091
+1 813 420-8622
Houston Alaska
5

The Best Alaskan Vacation Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I would recommend this cabin if you are planning a trip to Alaska as it is the perfect place to stay. It truly was our home away from home. It looked really pretty on the Home Away web page but it was even more beautiful in person.
The owner, Dennis, provided excellent customer service. I had contacted Dennis numerous times before we left for our trip to Alaska to ask him questions about our stay in his cabin. He always cordially responded to my e-mails and I honestly felt like I was corresponding to a friend rather than a complete stranger.
Once we arrived at the cabin, we were thrilled that it had EXCEEDED our expectations. Not only was the property clean and well maintained...it was beautifully decorated to the finest detail. The beds are extremely comfortable with the softest down comforters. The kitchen has every appliance you could imagine and the cabinets are stocked not only with dishes, glassware, pots and pans but also spices and other items. The living room is beautiful with lovely furniture and accents throughout. I was fascinated looking at his Moose lamps and ceiling fan and all of his special decorations that make this cabin a real "GEM."
This house is about 10 minutes from Palmer where we shopped for our food. We especially liked the supermarkets Carr's and also Fred Mayer as they both had a nice selection of fresh vegetables, baked goods and meats. We even found souvenirs at reasonable prices at Carr's.
Our trip to Alaska was totally amazing as the days were filled with lots of sunshine and fun. But the best part was this cabin on Cheri Lake Road. If you are looking for the perfect place to rent while visiting the Mat- Su Valley...look no further as this is it!
Thank you Dennis for the "Best Alaskan Vacation Home."

Janet, John, Don, & Joy
Owner's Response: Thanks Janet for your kind words as it means so much to me. I am delighted that you and your family had a wonderful time in Alaska. I would certainly recommend you as guests to anyone and I hope you can visit Alaska again and again. My home will always be there for you and your family. Once again, thank you for your outstanding review!!!!!

Your Friend,

Dennis
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Beautiful New Cheri Lake Log Home Centrally Located To All The Fun Activities!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169091
+1 813 420-8622
Houston Alaska
5

A wonderful introduction to Alaska!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
My husband has always wanted to visit Alaska but cruises didn't seem to take us into the heart of it all. This cabin was the perfect alternative. A beautiful home, tucked away in the woods but close enough to neighbors and town that we felt isolated but safe. The central location made it possible for us to take excursions to Fairbanks, Denali, Whittier and Seward returning to home base for relaxing rests in between. The fully equipped kitchen allowed us to make one quick stop at the grocery store the first day that saved us hundreds of dollars in meals during our stay and still enjoy area cuisine including a five course dinner on a mountaintop in Girdwood. We would certainly go back again and can highly recommend this beautiful cabin to anyone interested really seeing Alaska.
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for this very nice review of my home. It is GREAT to hear that you had a wonderful time in Alaska. I hope you will come back again and again!!!!!
Your Friend,

Dennis
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Beautiful New Cheri Lake Log Home Centrally Located To All The Fun Activities!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169091
+1 813 420-8622
Houston Alaska
5

A vacation to remember!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
From the very beginning Dennis was the perfect renter. He helped us at every turn and showed us the best places to visit. We traveled to Denali Park and saw abundant wildlife close up. We visited several spots around Anchorage and ate in some great restaurants. The house is conveniently located to all the hotspots. The house had everything you could ask for and more. We lived in luxury with a small budget. I would highly recommend this house to anyone planning a trip to Alaska. We may go again as we didn't even scrape the surface on what Alaska has to offer.
Thanks again Dennis!
Owner's Response: Thank you Alan for your very nice review. It was a pleasure to help you and your family with your trip to Alaska. I hope your next trip can be a little longer so you can capture more of Alaska. I really appreciate how well you cleaned after your stay and you will always be welcomed anytime. I look forward to helping you again!!!!!!!!!!!!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful New Cheri Lake Log Home Centrally Located To All The Fun Activities!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169091
+1 813 420-8622
Houston Alaska
5

Making Memories

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We just returned from a month at this cabin. We had different family members join us at different times and enjoyed the well furnished kitchen and comfortable beds. It really is even nicer than the pictures portray. You can find it between mile markers 54 and 55 on the Parks Highway. Thanks, Dennis, for all the extras that you provided (tons of literature and movies and games). We have wonderful memories of our time in Alaska, with your help! The Grape Tap has wonderful food, if you want a really nice dinner. The Denali Restaurant is very reasonable and has plenty of good food.

Marv and Sandy
Minnesota
Owner's Response: I am thrilled that you and your family had a wonderful time in Alaska and that your vacation was full of memories. I hope you can make it back to Alaska!!!!!!!!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Beautiful New Cheri Lake Log Home Centrally Located To All The Fun Activities!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169091
+1 813 420-8622
Houston Alaska
5

Great get away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My family and I had a great time in Alaska. One reason was for the great accomadations we had. The cabin was very clean and well kept. It was centrally located to the things we wanted to do while in Alaska. Thank you so much to homeaway and to you for everything. We look forward to coming back.
Owner's Response: Thank you for the nice review and I am glad that you had a great time on your vacation. I look forward to helping you with your next trip to Alaska.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Beautiful New Cheri Lake Log Home Centrally Located To All The Fun Activities!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p169091
+1 813 420-8622
Houston Alaska
5

Pennsylvania

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This was our first time visiting Alaska and it was fantastic!The cabin was even more beautiful than the pictures! It was equipped with everything you would need and Dennis was so helpful to us. He answered any questions we had and made our trip so much easier! This was by far the best vacation we have ever been on and I would highly recommend this vacation cabin to everyone because you wouldn't have any regrets! Thank you again Dennis for being so helpful and making this a vacation of a lifetime!
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words and it certainly was a pleasure helping you with your vacation. It warms my heart to know that I could help you enjoy Alaska as much as I do!!!!!!
Helpful votes: 3/3