Manuel Antonio villa rental - Typical Day at Casa Tranquila's Pools
Typical Day at Casa Tranquila's Pools
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps10
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
 

Manuel Antonio Villa Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms - 4 Bathrooms - Sleeps 10

Trip Advisor, renown for its unbiased guidance for global travelers, chooses only the most prestigious villas for its 'Top Vacation Rental' trophy. Casa Tranquila is proud to win this most highly-regarded honor for the last five consecutive years!

So, whether it is your first adventure in Costa Rica or a return visit, we are looking forward to welcoming you to our Award-Winning Service, World Class Comforts and Natural Beauty of Casa Tranquila.

Throughout the time Casa Tranquila is your tropical home, our goal is to surpass your every expectation. Our luxury interiors, pristine pools, model concierge service, and astonishing views set the tone for an unforgettable get-away in one of the most exotic and affordable vacation destinations in the world.

You may decide to enjoy a peaceful and private experience while at Casa Tranquila's pools, decks and hammocks . . . or choose a more exhilarating Costa Rica, thus taking advantage of our hands-on planning services of customizing your excursions and adventures. With either: your preference is our pleasure.

Beaches & Bluffs; Excursions & Excitement; Rest & Recreation . . . all at your fingertips.

Complete your inquiry here & now, then leave the rest in our experienced hands!

You're invited to read on for more specific information about Casa Tranquila, including receiving a gift of essential information about your international vacation.

Until we meet…Pura Vida

Donald Corvette, Owner

& Sombra, Our 4-Legged Emissary

MORE SPECIFICS

Driving up our short bumpy road, you’re thinking “surely we took a wrong turn somewhere”. As you start to believe you’re at the Earth’s end, you arrive at Casa Tranquila’s gate, and you smile knowing that: without doubt, you have made the right choice for your home in Costa Rica. And, just maybe, you HAVE reached the End Of The Earth: where Sea, Sky and Rainforest magically merge as One on your Horizon.

Passing through her gates you realize that The Pacific will be your garden while you are here. Everyone quickly reaches for cameras to capture This Perfect View in the first moments. . . forgetting you will have many more days to enjoy it. After 10 minutes of photos and High-Five’s, you remember to look behind you actually to see Casa Tranquila herself.

And while no villa can compare with what Mother Nature has just showed you, Casa Tranquila is Her worthy competitor.

STYLE

Casa Tranquila’s 2013 modernization, conceived by famed Costa Rican architect, Jose Antonio Pinto, cleverly blends indoors with out-. Every window is a door. Every floor, a balcony. Sometimes even Casa Tranquila’s family of monkeys doesn't know the difference. With its three distinct (and distinctive) living sections, Guests have the relaxed sense of independence . . .while remaining together. She is like no other villa.

INTERIORS

Soft color; Gentle breeze; Open space; Cozy bedding; Vaulted ceiling; Chic floor; Bali imagery; Marble baths; Teakwood doors; Polished cabinetry; Distinctive art; Unique ornaments; Modern conveniences. Casa Tranquila is a World-Class design.

LOCATION

Manuel Antonio is NOT a beach town. It is a mountain town near the sea. Casa Tranquila (and other select villas) is located “above” the beach. (That’s why you will have those stellar views). Reasonably, too, your cool temperatures, disco-free nights, fine restaurants, and safe streets are all away from the beach area. Fortunately though, the seashore only a five-minute shuttle (taxi or car) ride from Casa Tranquila. You won’t even have time to open your sun-screen bottle before your feet are in the sand. And when you return home to Casa Tranquila’s pools, you may wonder why you ever left in the first place.

WILDLIFE

Monkeys on the balconies, toucans on the roof, iguanas having coffee by the pool, sloths playing bridge in the trees . . . our animals come to you at Casa Tranquila. Of course you will love the National Park Beaches, but you really won’t need any park to see Costa Rica's wildlife: just look out your door.

SWIM

A pool is just a pool; until you come to Casa Tranquila. Cresent-shaped, our large crystal-clear pool has a uniform four-foot depth throughout. And for the younger, shorter, or less buoyant swimmers, a second shallow lounging pool connects, complete with a convenient underwater bench and resting place for cocktails. Newsflash for your upcoming Tropical tan: remember that Manual Antonio is a forest with very tall trees. Ergo, most pools get little sun. Casa Tranquila’s pools and decks, however are sunny all day . . .unless you opt to raise the convenient umbrella. Cushioned lounge chairs, pool floats and air jets make you want to stay all day.

KITCHENS

An architect who’s also a master in culinary arts is handy when he creates his kitchens. Jose was insistent that Casa Tranquila’s kitchen was designed for simplicity and function. If you choose villas because you prepare (at least some of) your own meals, read no further . . . your search is over. Of course there’s all the anticipated, high-end, modern, stainless appliances, but it’s the “unexpected” particulars that would have even made Julia Childs proud. For the Chef: everything from a full block of (SHARP) carvers down to a simple garlic peeler. For the Hostess: everything from martini glasses to colorful linen cocktail napkins. Every drawer and cabinet is full of kitchen necessities. So even if you’re just a morning “egg-scrambler”, you won’t miss a beat in Casa Tranquila’s kitchen. The dining table is six steps away and the breakfast counter: right behind you

THE COTTAGE

If you don’t choose to add The Cottage option now, you’ll surely reconsider after you arrive at Casa Tranquila. A dining deck over the pool, a bath that’s practically in the jungle, and an open-air living area make The Cottage a “must-have” extra even if your group is small. For more than six Guests, The Cottage is required for its convertible sleeping space. The sofa transforms into a full bed (with feather top) for extra Guests. And after years of asserting that “folks don’t come to Costa Rica to watch TV”, Casa Tranquila finally yielded and added a large-screen HDTV . . . with Netflix, even. While every other suite has its smaller TV, we are certain you’ll appreciate our new “Giant on the wall”. The Cottage is totally separate from the rest of Casa Tranquila, so it’s the perfect retreat for special Family members who prefer more independence.

SERVICE

Vacation villas in Costa Rica are typically run by rental agencies. But at Casa Tranquila, the owner himself does everything for you: plans, manages, hosts and even welcomes you at her gate when you arrive. Donald is perhaps Casa Tranquila’s most valued distinction from all other villas. Prior to your arrival, through email and/or telephone, he tailors all your wishes: transportation, restaurant reservations, tour and excursion bookings. Once you are here, living only three minutes away, he is available 24 hours a day to implement your plan. And if your plan is “to have no plan”, he is happy simply to hang your hammock, deliver your sunscreen and towels, and let you relax. You’ll be confident to be cared for “By the Owner”, himself.

YOUR GIFT

Donald has created a presentation of “Insider Tips” about traveling to Costa Rica. It includes essential material about: exchanging currency, using your cell phone, drinking the water and paying the Costa Rican departure tax. These pieces of valuable information have been compiled after years assisting his Guests as they organize their vacations. With no obligation, this “peace of mind” is yours for the asking. Send your Inquiry now to receive it.

So, until we meet at Casa Tranquila, we wish you Pura Vida: The “Pure Life” of Costa Rica.

More Details
Hide Details

I moved to Costa Rica and began Casa Tranquila in April 2006. After years as a National Executive with prestige fashion corporations (Yves Saint Laurent, Chanel, Oscar de la Renta), it was time to begin a new stage in my life, at 50, that did not include the challenges of corporate work. Yet I still wanted to integrate my 20 years' experience within the luxury industry into my new chapter.

Also, many real estate opportunities in Palm Beach, Florida provided my insight for remodeling normal houses into beautiful homes. I simply “translated” that awareness into Spanish, and transformed Casa Tranquila into a Tropical Villa that provides both comfort and luxury, simultaneously.

I found this combination of fashion and real estate created the ideal blend for designing Casa Tranquila.

My Border Collies, Chelsea & Sombra, and I prefer a sense of home life, which does not require an abundance of travel. So we decided to create our haven in this pristine tropical location to encourage 'The World' to travel to us. Thus . . . we invite you to come experience Casa Tranquila as our Guests . . . certain that you will leave as our Friend.

Donald Corvette purchased this villa in 2006

When you visit Costa Rica, you will find that it is the magic of the people here that will make you want to stay. Costa Ricans have a love for life that I have never seen in my travels . . . and they have a lovely way of sharing that feeling with their guests.

72 Reviews of Property 168901 in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica

Dazzling Pacific Views: Winner, Trip Advisor's 'Top Vacation Rental': 2009-2014
average rating of 4.9852943 based on 72 reviews
business
Dazzling Pacific Views: Winner, Trip Advisor's 'Top Vacation Rental': 2009-2014
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p168901
828-356-6313
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
5

Wonderful vacation villa, great customer service

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My family's experience at Casa Tranquila was a very positive one. I would highly recommend this villa to everyone. The hospitality provided by Donald, Nathan and Jessica is outstanding. We found them to be courteous, knowledgeable and an invaluable resource.

The villa is modern, clean and well maintained. The kitchen is well stocked with everything you could possibly want, including spices. We appreciated the extras that were provided, that most places don't have - suntan lotion, bug spray, beach towels, beach bags, robes, room safes, etc. The ocean view is amazing and is a daily reminder of the beauty and serenity that surrounds this location. The pool was a great focal point for our family to relax in the afternoons. In the evenings, we appreciated the separate living areas so kids and adults could have their own space.

We didn't get a rental car and didn't miss having one. The villa is a mere 5 minute walk to the main road where one can catch a bus or find a few restaurants. Donald and Nathan made arrangements for all our daily excursions which is a wonderful service to provide. Every day we knew where, when, who and how much. Most of the excursions provided transportation for us, and those that didn't, arrangements were made by Donald and Nathan. They also made arrangements for our transportation from the San Jose airport and the driver was kind enough to stop to view the wildlife and the grocery store on the way in. We did jet skiing, snorkeling, spice gardens, ATV's, 10-in-1 adventure, butterfly gardens (don't miss it - a 10 minute walk from the villa), sunset cruise, mangrove kayaking, national park and deep sea fishing. Still didn't get to do everything we wanted! Should have stayed longer!

We made arrangements for Jessica to cook our dinners every evening and were so grateful we did! She's a great cook and each evening we looked forward to what her dinner would be (especially her homemade guacamole). She even cooked the fish we caught - an amazing cerviche. Her portions are large and plenty even for a party of 6 adults and 3 teenage boys. Staying in the villa was much more relaxing then attempting to take a large group out at night. If you do the sunset cruise, they do serve a dinner - felt guilty that evening we didn't finish Jessica's seafood lasagna.

Donald, Nathan and Jessica, thank you so much for a wonderful vacation! We're so glad you joined us for our Christmas gift exchange and look forward to coming back some day. Pura vida!
Owner's Response: Linda, Thank so much for sharing your family with us at Casa Tranquila. We had a great Christmas with you! It could not have been better. And we will all look forward to your return next year! Donald, Nathan, Jessica & "Sombra"
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Dazzling Pacific Views: Winner, Trip Advisor's 'Top Vacation Rental': 2009-2014
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p168901
828-356-6313
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
5

Outstanding Spring Break!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Our family of 5 (kids 12, 11 & 7) stayed at Casa Tranquila for spring break this year. We had a fabulous time! Donald, Nathan and staff do an incredible job ensuring your trip is everything you want it to be.
The house, with its amazing ocean view, worked out perfectly for our family. Very true to the pictures! There was plenty of space for the kids to play games downstairs (when they weren't swimming in the pool) and the adults enjoyed the view from the upstairs balcony & living room areas. We found the location to be perfect - lots of restaurants within walking distance.
What really made our vacation wonderful, though, was the attention that Donald and Nathan put into helping us plan our vacation. Nathan, the concierge, made all of the reservations for our activities. From booking our rental car to all of our adventure activities, we didn't have to worry about a thing! The tour operators they book with are fantastic - we couldn't have had more fun rafting, ziplining, sunset cruising or rappelling our way through Costa Rica!
In addition to the tour planning, we had the housekeeper Jessica cook two meals for us at the house. It was great to be able to relax in the house and not have to drag the tired kids out for dinner every night. The first night of our trip Jessica was unavailable, so Donald & Nathan secured a chef from a top rated local restaurant cook for us - delicious!
Our kids all developed swimmers' ear while on the trip, so we contacted Donald to see if there was a drugstore we could hit to pick up some ear drops. He quickly set up an appointment for us at a farmacia and even drove us to pick up some medicine! That help was invaluable!
What an incredible first visit to Costa Rica. We highly recommend Casa Tranquila!
Owner's Response: Thanks for that glowing feedback, Amanda. We love when our friends notice the attention to detail. You and Joe were so helpful along the way, that it made our planning your week very easy. You guys know you are always welcome at Casa Tranquila. I'm really happy Brandon, Connor and Mallory's ears are back to normal! Donald
business
Dazzling Pacific Views: Winner, Trip Advisor's 'Top Vacation Rental': 2009-2014
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p168901
828-356-6313
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

"Great views, great hosts, wonderful vacation with

"Great views, great hosts, wonderful vacation with
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We took our 3 adult kids and significant others to Manuel antonio for a wonderful family vacation for a week at the end of January. The weather was beautiful, the area was lush with lots of wildlife to enjoy. We all agreed that our favorite activity was the zip lining (and some of us were afraid of heights) that Donald and Nathan arranged for us. It was amazing! The guys who ran the place were friendly and extremely safety conscious, and the views from run to run were amazing! Don't miss that! We also enjoyed the sunset cruise and 4 wheeler ride, but be prepared to get very dirty from the dust on the roads. Each night we had cocktails somewhere, by the pool, on the beach, or at one of the many restaurants or bars with an amazing view. Our favorite for that was El avion (the airplane restaurant). The food there was good but our 2 favorite dinner spots were the small Italian restaurant on the main road (Nathan and Donald will know the name) and the small restaurant on Three Left Turns road going to the beach (and again I'm blank on the name but Nathan and Donald can help where I am blank). Amazing food especially at the last two! The staff at the Casa were very helpful and friendly and eager to please. Our kids all agreed that it was an amazing vacation!
business
Dazzling Pacific Views: Winner, Trip Advisor's 'Top Vacation Rental': 2009-2014
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p168901
828-356-6313
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
Lancaster
5

This was an excellent vacation rental!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Donald and Nathan took care of everything. They were wonderful to work with. They had excellent information for us to make our decisions on planning our vacation. We locked ourselves out 2x and they were there to meet us when we got back. One of my sons developed a rash and they escorted us downtown, introduced us to the pharmacist and she helped us with what we needed.
Costa Rica is a wonderful place to visit and staying at Casa Tranquila was our paradise away from home!
Owner's Response: Thanks, Brenda. While we love when our guests rave about Casa Tranquila's views, design and pools, I must say it's extra-special when you notice the effort we put into "being there" for you. We work hard on that. You guys are welcome back anytime you can get here. We loved having you and "The Guys" at Casa Tranquila. And we're always happy to make your "rash decisions" :) Donald
business
Dazzling Pacific Views: Winner, Trip Advisor's 'Top Vacation Rental': 2009-2014
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p168901
828-356-6313
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
5

Best Vacation Ever

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This was our first visit to Costa Rica and it surpassed all of our expectations! Casa Tranquila was amazing! The home was beautiful with all the amenities one could ask for. Jessica made sure it was cleaned to perfection each and every day! We loved sitting by the pool with the breath-taking view. We loved walking to town, and visiting the great local restaurants. Donald and Nathan were always available to suggest the very best of restaurants. The beach and National Park were beautiful. We couldn't have asked for more... We are already planning our trip back!
Owner's Response: WOW, Christi! Thank You. I know how much you and Tim and The Boys have traveled, so to hear Casa Tranquila gave you your "best vacation ever", is an amazing compliment. Your family was great, and I really appreciate your welcoming Nathan and me into it. We'll see you next year. Donald.
business
Dazzling Pacific Views: Winner, Trip Advisor's 'Top Vacation Rental': 2009-2014
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p168901
828-356-6313
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
4

Return to Paradise

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Since coming to Manuel Antonio for the past four years, this property is one of my favorites. The view is beautiful and the house is very inviting with a great staff and an owner who will help you relax and enjoy this great area. One can hike, water sports, sail, swing through the trees, or just kick back and enjoy the scenery. I would recommend this property to young families, empty nesters or older travelers who wish to visit Paradise.
Owner's Response: Thanks, Dianne, for the glowing recommendation! It was such a pleasure to have you, Jerrod, Heather and Little Bode as my guests. We'll look forward to having you again next year; just let us know when you're ready! Donald
business
Dazzling Pacific Views: Winner, Trip Advisor's 'Top Vacation Rental': 2009-2014
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p168901
828-356-6313
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
5

Great!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We had a great time on our trip - Casa Tranquila was a large part why. Large, comfortable, and well appointed, the home is a terrific place to stay while exploring all that Manuel Antonio has to offer.

Donald and Nathan were super helpful in organizing our trip and taking care of us while we were there. Jessica, the cook we hired through Donald, was fantastic!

Highly recommended.
Owner's Response: Thanks for the vote of confidence, Walt! You and your nine family members were ideal guests; it was great bringing in the New Year with you and the entire group. Thanks for all your kindness, and we'll look forward to having you for you 2015 vacation! Donald & Nathan
business
Dazzling Pacific Views: Winner, Trip Advisor's 'Top Vacation Rental': 2009-2014
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p168901
828-356-6313
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
Cave Creek, AZ
5

Wonderful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My husband and I and another couple stayed here just for a few days in November. We had a great, relaxing time! Donald's home is beautiful and very comfortable. He had great local recommendations for anything from food to activities. Would love to come back and spend a full week to take advantage of everything Manuel Antonio has to offer!
Owner's Response: Amy, You & Devon were the perfect guests. Please come back again next year for a longer visit! Thanks so much for the kind words! Donald & Nathan
business
Dazzling Pacific Views: Winner, Trip Advisor's 'Top Vacation Rental': 2009-2014
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p168901
828-356-6313
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

"A great time was had by all!"

"A great time was had by all!"
  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
The house was great and the staff wonderful. Donald was amazing and reached out to us before we got there with what we wanted to do and then he basically took control and made all of our reservations for dinners, surfing lessons, zip line tours, jet skiing etc! It made everything so easy for us and we were able to relax.
business
Dazzling Pacific Views: Winner, Trip Advisor's 'Top Vacation Rental': 2009-2014
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p168901
828-356-6313
Manuel Antonio Puntarenas
5

Extraordinarily Scenic Home & Wonderful Atmosphere

Extraordinarily Scenic Home & Wonderful Atmosphere
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This absolutely superb home definitely helps one find "Pura Vida" in Costa Rica!! Whether its from the windows, the pool patio, or the balconies, expansive and beautiful views of the Pacific, tropical rainforest, and islands of Manuel Antonio spread out before you. The interior is wonderfully designed with locally modern tropical themes and the living spaces and beautiful outdoors seem to meld as one. The home is conveniently located in Manuel Antonio, with access to great restaurants, beaches, and points-of-interest for a wide array of outdoor activities, animal sightseeing, and water sports. Finally, the staff is absolutely great and, at any indication of interest, will immediately help arrange activities with the best companies in the area for your time in Costa Rica. Donald has established this awesome place and his great thoughtfulness for all who visit clearly shows.
Owner's Response: Wow, Austin, Thanks so much for noticing. We try our best to attend to the details of your vacation, and we love when our guests are pleased. I hope you will both come see us again . . . for a really long visit next time. Donald