Bellaire / Shanty Creek townhome rental - To cross country ski or snow shoe in this area is an awesome experience.
To cross country ski or snow shoe in this area is an awesome experience.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Bellaire / Shanty Creek Townhome Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, sleeps 6+

Recreation is abundant, as we are located in Schuss Mountain village of Shanty Creek, a major resort in the heart of northern Michigan four season fun. We are very close to many lakes, rivers, golf courses, pools trails and other recreational fun.

The 1400 square foot townhouse has three bedrooms, and a small loft. There are two full bathrooms, a living room and full kitchen/dining area. There's cable tv in the main room and all three bedrooms. there is also wireless internet in the townhouse.

In addition, this townhouse is also close to a chain of lakes and rivers, and boating, swimming, fishing or canoeing.

Trails: The townhouse is steps away from miles and miles of beautiful trails for walking, biking, and cross country skiing. We have two adult size bikes and helmets available for guests, and there are bikes for rent at the resort. Horseback riding is in the area.

Restaurants and Groceries: Glen's is a large full service grocery and drug store a few miles away. We have a restaurant guide available at the townhouse. The resort has several restaurants of all types, and the towns of Bellaire and Mancelona are both 5-10 miles away with a good variety of restaurants.

Out the door: gorgeous fall colors / spring morel mushrooms / Frisbee golf / large field

Nearby parks / tennis

Family indoor games

Spa and fitness cent

Pools, Golf, Lakes and River : Pools: A beautiful outdoor summer pool is located steps away from the townhouse front door.Schuss Village has an indoor pool as well as an outdoor pool, which is open in the winter. There is nothing like swimming outdoors in the snow!! These two pools are 1/4 mile walk, 1/2 mile drive or shuttle.

Golf courses: The townhouse is just off the back deck of the second hole of Schuss Mountain Golf Course. There are 4 golf courses on the resort and many others in the area.

Lakes and rivers: The townhouse is very close to a gorgeous chain of lakes, including Lake Bellaire. This connects to Torch Lake and other lakes. The nearby rivers are absolutely awesome!

Boat launch: Lake Bellaire has a boat launch and small beach off Fisherman's Paradise

Boat rentals

Canoeing/kayaking/tubing family (Manistee or Jordan River)

Canoeing/kayaking advanced (Jordan River)

Charter fishing

Grass River Natural Area

Swimming beaches are within 5 miles

Winter Sports : Winter sports at Shanty Creek: major snow hits this area each winter, which makes winter sports extra special!

Downhill skiing is ½ mile car or shuttle ride to Schuss Village. You can also cut through the woods and get right on the slopes. There are 49 runs of all levels, and many snowboarding runs as well.

Cross country skiing is steps away from townhouse, and trails go throughout the resort. You can ski right out the back yard, or take a shuttle to Summit Village and ski mostly downhill back to the townhouse.

Tubing, snowshoeing, horse drawn sleighs, etc. are also available as winter sports.

Snowmobiling:M-88 has a snowmobile trail for many miles, and there are many other places in the area to snowmobile. Snowmobiles are not allowed on the resort trails.

Family indoor and outdoor games

Spa and fitness center/ shops / movie theatre / cable TV / high speed Internet

More Details
Hide Details

We purchased this home as a getaway and eventually hope to retire to this small town.

Donna, who runs the rental business, is a journalist and gardener. Dennis works in the building department at the University of Michigan. Steven and Ellie were teenagers when we purchased the place and are now adults living in Michigan.

Donna Krieg purchased this townhome in 2006

We loved the setup of this townhouse, with the upstairs 2 BR and bath being separate for teens or extended family.

The area offers the beauty of northern Michigan forests, lakes, rivers and trails while still being close to all of the resort and town amenities.

The setup of the condo inside and out is perfect for families and others. We also have one of the only townhouses with a side picture window that looks out into the forest.

The wooded setting is peaceful, but still close to the resort center. The summer pool is steps away and other pools are available year round. The number of lakes and rivers in the area is great!

19 Reviews of Property 168843 in Bellaire / Shanty Creek, Michigan

Affordable Shanty Creek townhouse
average rating of 4.888889 based on 19 reviews
business
Affordable Shanty Creek townhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p168843
248 766-6519
Bellaire / Shanty Creek Northern Michigan
5

great

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
great
business
Affordable Shanty Creek townhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p168843
248 766-6519
Bellaire / Shanty Creek Northern Michigan
5

AWESOME

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
AWESOME PLACE TO SKI...NICE FAMILY SET UP. WE WILL BE BACK
business
Affordable Shanty Creek townhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p168843
248 766-6519
Bellaire / Shanty Creek Northern Michigan
5

northern Michigan at its best

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We loved this place...it's everything up north should be: surrounded by woods, in a resort, clean, simple, close to lots of fun stuff. Hiking trails and pools are great though the outdoor pool closed by Labor Day.
business
Affordable Shanty Creek townhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p168843
248 766-6519
Bellaire / Shanty Creek Northern Michigan
5

Great Vacation and Location!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We had such a great time at this Shanty Creek Resort Townhouse. The location couldn't be better. The condo was clean, organized, well maintained. It had all the luxuries of home! It had every game to play, sports equiptment to use and lots of extra bedding. This home is PERFECT for families with young kids...they especially love using the loft as a fort. We can't wait to book for next year!!!
Dawn and Jay
Highland, MI
Owner's Response: Thanks! Glad you had fun! We always appreciate people who appreciate our paradise!!
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Affordable Shanty Creek townhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p168843
248 766-6519
Bellaire / Shanty Creek Northern Michigan
5

Great weekend!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Came up to spend the weekend with some friends for the second year in a row. It is beautifully quiet and relaxing place that still has plenty to do! We explored the woods, visited downtown Bellaire, swam in the pool, drove to the Sleeping Bear Dunes, and had many other fun adventures. The weekend ended too soon.
business
Affordable Shanty Creek townhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p168843
248 766-6519
Bellaire / Shanty Creek Northern Michigan
5

peaceful and fun place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 28, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
I came to de-stress. This setting more than satisfied my needs. The serene woods with its walking paths and wildlife, was both calming and invigorating.

I appreciated the natural setting, the options for entertainment both within and without, and the proximity to town. I was able to enjoy my own meals in, and also find great places in the nearby town for meals and shopping.

The weather was great and a perfect kick off to my summer!

I have had a most enjoyable, relaxing stay.
business
Affordable Shanty Creek townhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p168843
248 766-6519
Bellaire / Shanty Creek Northern Michigan
5

Shanty fun

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
Great fun and great convenience. Would return for another trip.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Affordable Shanty Creek townhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p168843
248 766-6519
Bellaire / Shanty Creek Northern Michigan
4

Shanty Creek Fun

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
We had a great time and appreciate the snow that was ordered for our arrival! Great spot. Close enough to get back to the Townhouse on skiis, board or in the car. Comfy beds too!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Affordable Shanty Creek townhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p168843
248 766-6519
Bellaire / Shanty Creek Northern Michigan
5

we had fun

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Myself and 4 of my friends and family enjoyed your unit, and we were all very comfortable and didn't feel cramped.

Your unit was very nice (I really liked having a dryer) and we tried to leave it as clean as it was when we arrived.

Sunday we spent the entire afternoon at the Sudendorf pool. It didn't matter that it rained on us for a while because we were having so much fun!

Monday we rented a boat and spent the entire day on the Torch Lake sandbar. Most of us had been there before, but several hadn't. It doesn't matter how many times I see it, I can never believe how beautiful the lake is. We brought some of your frisbees and the volleyball with us and had an absolute blast!

Tuesday we tried to tube down the Jordan River @ the Swiss Hideaway, but scattered thunderstorms scared us off. Had an excellent dinner at Lulu's that night, though.

Thank you for being so accommodating!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Affordable Shanty Creek townhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p168843
248 766-6519
Bellaire / Shanty Creek Northern Michigan
Commerce, MI
5

this place is great

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 29, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
I love this townhouse, and have now been here several times. For me, there are lots of good things: In the summer, there is the great pool; in the winter there is the awesome skiing; in the fall are wonderful colors, and in the spring are the morel mushrooms. Even in the rain, the place is comfortable with a fireplace and lots to do. I will be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1