Pacific Grove house rental - Beautiful fenced in yard with plenty of outdoor seating.
Beautiful fenced in yard with plenty of outdoor seating.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Pacific Grove House Rental Photos and Description
House, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 2-4)

This historic cottage-outside and Metropolitan-inside beach house is a wonderfully appointed getaway. This house is within walking distance to the beach and to the famous 'Lovers Point' beach. The Monterey Bay Aquarium is just blocks away. If you enjoy wine tasting this is a good location as well. Carmel is a 10 minute drive. Carmel valley is a 20 minute drive.

Inside the house, you will hear seals and sea lions and of course lots of birds. There is a Monarch butterfly grove a bike ride away.

If you can never get enough of outdoor living spaces or sitting areas -- the house offers that too. Plenty of seating, lighting and heat.

Keywords: House, walk, downtown

22 Reviews of Property 109491 in Pacific Grove, California

Historic Stylish Metropolitan Beach House Two Blocks to Beach
average rating of 5.0 based on 22 reviews
business
Historic Stylish Metropolitan Beach House Two Blocks to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p109491vbi
415-518-0001
Pacific Grove Central Coast California
Napa, CA
5

This is the Best Place in Town

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
My husband & I go to PG about 5 times per year. We owned luxury B&B's in the Napa Valley for 10 years. We are extremely selective and expect and like the finer amenitites when it comes to lodging. We booked this at the last minute and was not sure if it would meet our expectations. To our surprise, this was by far one of the best places we have stayed at. Fine linens and towels, Full well equiped kitchen and beautiful furniture. The cottage is set on a beautiful quite street. a very charming street about 2 blocks from the beach.

We have stayed at the best hotels in PG and Monterey as well as Carmel. This surpassed all of them. Very relaxing.

The pictures and description do not do this cottage justice. I just can't say enough about how great this place is.

Try it you'll love it!!!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Historic Stylish Metropolitan Beach House Two Blocks to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p109491vbi
415-518-0001
Pacific Grove Central Coast California
5

Simplicity says it all! Our Home away from Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This cottage was everything and more. My husband and I spent 3 nights of our 30th Wedding Anniversary here, it was perfect. This was our first experience renting a vacation house, we were a little skeptical at first but the Property Owner, Tish made everything so easy for us that we were able to enjoy the cottage to the fullest. The listing of the description of the cottage along with all the amenities described are to the tee. No matter what direction you walk from the cottage, you have the beach, churches, beautiful gift shops and some of the best eateries all within a short distance. The gourmet kitchen was everything a Chef could ask for. The property was very clean and beautifully decorated. I would recommend this property to a friend or relative. We're working on our next visit to PG in October and hope to stay here again. My husband and I enjoyed renting movies from Red Box, while making usage of the many seating areas within the cottage. Love the bay Window, great place to read a book first thing in the morning. We always enjoy 17 Mile Drive and Spanish Bay, it's a piece of heaven. This truly is a great way to spend quality time with your family and friends. Tish, we can't thank you enough for your honesty in describing your beautiful cottage and the ease in which you made it happen, down to the contract and the quick return of our deposit. Always the Gonzales Familia
Owner's Response: Really happy your stay was so enjoyable and you got to de-stress in beautiful PG. Hope the cottage will be a part of your anniversary tradition.
business
Historic Stylish Metropolitan Beach House Two Blocks to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p109491vbi
415-518-0001
Pacific Grove Central Coast California
5

Brilliant place to stay - would happily move here!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Our family had such a great time staying here that we would happily move in if it was possible.

When you first arrive here, just the look and feel of the house outside is so charming and inviting and when you first walk in the front door you feel immediately relaxed and at home. The house is a lot more spacious than what the photos show and everything is so clean and immaculate. Our 14 month old toddler and plenty of room to run around inside the house, and in the front garden.

This is the perfect place to explore the Monterey peninsula. The house is less than 2 blocks from the shore and we had a lovely walk in the morning along the shoreline to the aquarium. Pacific Grove is a much nicer and less touristy than Monterey itself and there was a great farmer's market during one of the evenings of our stay. There is a Safeway and Trader Joe's a short drive away.

The owner, Tish, was a pleasure to deal with. This was our first time using VRBO and Tish made the whole booking process very easy. Communication was excellent and our deposit was promptly returned after our stay.

We can't recommend this place highly enough. Our only regret is that we could only stay for 2 nights. Thank you, Tish, for a wonderful stay!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed yourselves.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Historic Stylish Metropolitan Beach House Two Blocks to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p109491vbi
415-518-0001
Pacific Grove Central Coast California
5

Wonderful cottage!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
My daughter and I had a lovely,relaxing stay at this wonderful spacious cottage that's a home away from home, perfect for a get away in the charming town of Pacific Grove. The house is clean and nicely furnished, very comfortable, with everything you need. Lots of attention to detail. It is very roomy. The kitchen is a "foodie's" dream, just gorgeous! The location can't be beat, walk right up to town with easy access to wonderful restaurants, shops. Walk right out your front door to a lovely breeze and view of the ocean, just a short walk down to the beach.
All in all a gem. We did enjoy a little Giants baseball on the flat screen t.v., but mostly did a lot of reading in the comfy chairs!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Historic Stylish Metropolitan Beach House Two Blocks to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p109491vbi
415-518-0001
Pacific Grove Central Coast California
Rocklin, Ca. 95765
5

Great place to stay!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
When we arrived, we were both very surprised how nice the cottage was. The kitchen, the living room and the bathrooms were incredible. There is a seperate pullout bedroom/bathroom incase there is extra people. Both bathrooms were also very nice. Bottom line the cottage is immaculate. As for the area, you can walk to the beach less than 2 blocks away. And nice restaurants within 3 blocks. The location of the cottage is also nice and quiet. When we visit Monterey again we will most definitely want to return to this cottage. It is well worth it. Thank you, pleasantly surprised.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Historic Stylish Metropolitan Beach House Two Blocks to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p109491vbi
415-518-0001
Pacific Grove Central Coast California
Pasadena
5

Perfect Blend of Old and New in a Perfect Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
The house is over 100 years old, and it has a Viking stove/oven in it. That sealed the deal for me. But wait. There’s more. It is also perfectly situated in Pacific Grove. It is two blocks from the ocean, about three blocks from the “bustling” business district of Pacific Grove, and a short walk to the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Importantly, it is about half-way between Lighthouse and Central Ave., two of the busier (by Pacific Grove standards) streets that run through Pacific Grove. And why is this so important? If you are a traffic noise hater (which I am), you don’t want to be too close to Central. The house is far enough away from Central that you don’t hear the traffic, and yet really close to all of the good stuff (the ocean, PG restaurants - go to Passionfish as many times as you can -, Happy Girl Kitchen, the aquarium, etc.). The house is also very , very clean, and very comfortable. We really felt at home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely review of the beach cottage. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and do hope you visit again. Kind regards.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Historic Stylish Metropolitan Beach House Two Blocks to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p109491vbi
415-518-0001
Pacific Grove Central Coast California
5

Wonderful stay in Pacific Grove

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Our family of 5 (2 adults, 13, 10, and 7 year old kids) really loved this cottage. It's charming, spacious, and beautifully decorated without being pretentious. With the washer/dryer and two bathrooms, we had all of the comforts of home. The kids didn't think pullout sofa was very comfortable, so they slept on the individual sofas, but with the window seat bed and two big sofas, there was plenty of room for all 3 kids. It was wonderful to be such a short walk from the coastal path, downtown Pacific Grove, and the Monterey Bay Aquarium. We didn't move our car after arriving, until the day we left. Pacific Grove is a neat little town, and we would have loved to have stayed longer and explored more. This was truly a perfect spot for our visit to Pacific Grove.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thrilled you and your family enjoyed the cottage and your stay in PG. It really is a magical place.
business
Historic Stylish Metropolitan Beach House Two Blocks to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p109491vbi
415-518-0001
Pacific Grove Central Coast California
Rocklin, CA
5

Perfect for our family!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
As a frequent business traveler, I'm accustomed to certain amenities and space. Traveling on vacation with my family (wife and 2 kids, 7 & 10) meant different needs, while still wanting to have the same comforts I've become accustomed to while on my own trips. This wonderful home turned out to be the perfect place for our family's 5 night stay in the Monterey Peninsula.

Cynthia's home on a very quiet, residential street just 2 blocks from the ocean gave us the perfect home base. Downtown Pacific Grove was an easy 3-4 block stroll past other beautifully maintained homes and enticing storefronts and eateries. The Aquarium was about a 15 minute walk, most of it along Ocean View. We couldn't think of a more perfect location!

As for the home, it simply "worked" for us. Although it truly is a one-bedroom home, the floorplan made the house feel and function more like a 2-3 bedroom. The large, private master bedroom with its own flat-screen TV is located in the rear of the house, very separate from the double-wide living room, a beautifully equipped kitchen, and a quiet 'home office' room. I call the living room "double-wide" because it's like two symmetrical living rooms in a space about 13' wide and 28' long (just an estimate). One side of the living room had a fabulous 40" flat screen with home theater and its own massive sofa and chair. The other side, a sofa-sleeper, large coffee table, and a wide window seat which also worked as a bed. Our kids made the living room their headquarters. Just beyond this spacious living room area is the kitchen, which then passed through to a bright, spacious dining room which served us well as our family game room (large table perfect for 4-person board games, puzzles, laptops, etc.). The opposite side of the kitchen led to the cozy home office.

What was special about this vacation rental was the perfect maintenance and furnishings of the home. No burnt out bulbs, all applicances (incl washer/dryer) worked perfectly, good hot shower water, internet worked well, no stuck windows, all locks and keys worked. As first time vacation home renters, we were fearing a well-meaning but overbearing and cloying hostess coming down every day to say "good morning" and bring home-baked bread, denying us of any privacy. But that was not the case at all. If you're looking for that "fluff", you may be happier in a more flowery, Victorian owned by the proverbial "sweet lady upstairs". For us, this home was perfect!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thrilled you and your family had a wonderful stay.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Historic Stylish Metropolitan Beach House Two Blocks to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p109491vbi
415-518-0001
Pacific Grove Central Coast California
Napa, CA
5

This has Become Our Home Away From Home!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 22, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
We can not say enough about this cottage and the owner. Just wonderful. We've keep coming back to this cottage. We will not stay anywhere else. We've stayed at this cottage at least 5 times. It is always in tip top shape. LOCATION-LOCATION;LOCATION can't get any better. Most rentals get worn down by use. But the owner makes sure that all is kept up. You would never know that this is a rental. It truly has become our home away from home. Thanks Cynthia for a job well done!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Historic Stylish Metropolitan Beach House Two Blocks to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p109491vbi
415-518-0001
Pacific Grove Central Coast California
Northern California
5

Wonderful place in Pacific Grove

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
This is a great house in a wonderful location in Pacific Grove. House is perfectly furnished, very stylish and comfortable. We walked every day along the beautiful coast trail which is a block and half from the front door. Many food options all walkable. Wonderful kitchen for eating in as well. Definite great find, highly recommended
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway