Woodstock house rental - The "V.I.P" tent for those who want some shade.
The "V.I.P" tent for those who want some shade.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Woodstock House Rental Photos and Description
4 bedrooms, 3 full baths including a master bath w/big tub; house sleeps 6

Rainbow Lodge is nestled in the woods; so quiet you can hear the water in the Esopus Trout Stream across the street. This is a country home; not a hotel, so don't expect sterile decor or central air. We like to leave a small carbon foot print, and believe in fresh air. We hope you also enjoy the cool mountain breezes at night; no matter how hot it is in the day, it's always perfect for a good restorative sleep.

Ideal for couples, artists, writers, and families. The huge backyard is perfect for playing any type of sport. Trailheads are nearby, or wander around our 7 acres to the stream. Pick apples from our apple tree or forage for mushrooms. We live amongst deer, wild birds, bears and mice, and we all try to get along.

You can go fly fishing in the famous Esopus. It's a short walk to the Zen Mountain Monastery,which has open sat-sen on Sundays.

After a swim in the huge private pool, relax in the sunny master suite with skylights to observe the stars. Soak in the XL jacuzzi and slip into the King sized bed. Slip out onto the adjoining deck for a late night cup of tea.

The large sunny LR has cable tv/DVD. The cooks kitchen with sunny dining area seats eight, and is great for entertaining, or just cozying up in front of the wood burning stove. There are two private bedrooms downstairs each w/ a pvt. bthrm.

More Details
Hide Details

We fell in love with Rainbow Lodge when we first saw it. Our family escaped from NYC and lived there full time; enjoying the quiet and slow pace of life. While we now live back in the city, having this retreat allows us to take a breath every once in a while. We are casual folks, who spend more time outdoors than in; and enjoy living in harmony with our environment. We only want like minded guests who understand why we don't use poison to kill mice (we don't want to poison the eagles etc.) and that country nights are better with the windows open. If you're looking for hotel sterility, this is not for you.

Rainbow Lodge opened as a working hunting and fishing lodge after WWII. Because it has had the largest in ground pool (for decades) firefighters used to practice rescues in it! The guest house you see from the front porch was claimed from the Esopus Reservoir. It is a healing place; with many loving stories over the years. We hope you find yours.

12 Reviews of Property 167684 in Woodstock, New York

Spacious Country Home W HUGE Heated In ground Pool. Woof!
average rating of 4.0833335 based on 12 reviews
business
Spacious Country Home W HUGE Heated In ground Pool. Woof!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p167684
+1 917 364-6297
Woodstock Catskills
5

Wonderful house for a long weekend!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
My wife and two other couples stayed here for a long weekend. The hosts were very accomodating and the house was very comfortable and cozy. We had a wonderful time and will definitely come again!
business
Spacious Country Home W HUGE Heated In ground Pool. Woof!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p167684
+1 917 364-6297
Woodstock Catskills
United States
5

Lovely spread, great pool, gorgeous trees

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had a great time here. It is a fantastic place, with a great physical layout for people who like to swim, lounge in the sun or play sports (Frisbee, football, soccer, baseball--there is LOTS of lawn space to play).
The kitchen is well stocked. the master bedroom fantastic. The only thing needing improvement was the lighting in the living room and in the bedroom with the queen size mattress (no lamps or outlets.)
Otherwise perfect.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Spacious Country Home W HUGE Heated In ground Pool. Woof!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p167684
+1 917 364-6297
Woodstock Catskills
New York, New York
4

Perfect place for a relaxing week in the country

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Whatever issues the previous reviewer had, they were evidently addressed before we arrived because we had a very enjoyable week at the house. I have stayed in cabins and this is not a cabin, it is a nice house with everything we needed for a great stay. There is even air conditioning, but we didn't use it once because the night air is so cool - it was great to sleep with windows open and nothing but the sounds of cicadas and burbling Esopus nearby. We chose to stay at the house most of the time, grilling our meals on the deck and enjoying the pool, but there are a lot of things to do in the summer in this area. I did go to Emerson Spa one day for an awesome deep tissue massage (not more than 5-7 minutes drive from the house - go out 212 make a right on 28 and you are there in a few minutes). And we did go over to Woodstock to have a look around. But the weather was so beautiful that we just spent most of our week reading and hanging out at the pool. The kids enjoyed the TV and wifi, so this was an option when they were tired of swimming or sitting outside. Everyone got to spend their time as they liked, which made it a very relaxing week. Must: go to Phoenicia for a meal at Brio's pizza, definitely some of the best pizza I have ever had (check out the Aunt Mary's Friday night pizza). Brio's is a standout in an area that doesn't seem to feature a ton of great restaurants. But with the grill and kitchen, that was not an issue at all for us. As other reviewers have noted, use the Boiceville IGA on 28 for groceries - the Phoenicia market is pretty nasty and gross. Great fruit stand on 28 right near 212 that is open 24/7 and they do not just have produce, but also baked goods, dairy and meat products, even condiments. (Think it's called Hanover farm stand).

Are there bugs outside? Yes. Is cell phone service spotty or non-existent? Yes. This house is in the mountains. If bugs and cell service are dealbreakers for you, then you should go to the beach instead. But if you like the woods and mountains, this is a great place to spend time.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Spacious Country Home W HUGE Heated In ground Pool. Woof!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p167684
+1 917 364-6297
Woodstock Catskills
Hawthorne, NJ
1

Really wanted to love this place :(

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
First, let me say that I really enjoyed dealing with the owner prior to renting, and appreciated his prompt replies to all of my questions. We really wanted to love this place. As a previous poster stated -this is not a house in the Hamptons, and I didn't expect one, but we didn't expect the run down condition of the home either. We did make the best of it, and did our best to enjoy ourselves, but I have to be honest, we were really shocked upon arrival. I had to convince my husband and sons to stay! Looking back on the reviews, I now see that they are few and far between, and I should have taken that as a sign. We have rented homes and condos through this website and others like it - in other areas of the US - Tennessee, Boston, Orlando, San Diego, CA, Myrtle Beach, SC - we even rented an apartment in Barcelona, Spain through the Internet too - all with WONDERFUL results, and amazing experiences. All of the others were just as they were described and shown. (The inside of this home did photograph well as shown on the website but reality is another story.) Those other rentals cost just as much or even less than this one, and were immaculate, some were ocean front and even designer decorated. This was more of a rundown, "almost" cabin in the woods that felt like the owners vacated it in a hurry and left all their "stuff" there - so we could rent it for the week. If we had known the actual condition of the home, we would not have rented it. While the location is great, the ability to bring our dog, and swim with her in the pool were the only positives. If they are paying a cleaning company, the owner is getting ripped off. The floors were dirty, the dining room table had to be cleaned with 5 Clorox wipes until it wasn't black any more. The furnishing are old, worn and stained. I have cobwebs in my home, but the ones in this house have been there for a while and are collecting friends. I would be embarrassed to rent this home to anyone in that condition. I have posted a complete review with pictures on my blog – click on my profile for the link and look for the VACATION Label on the left. I really do not want to cause the owner any harm with this review, but I don't want anyone else to be disappointed like we were. It needs to be cleaned, painted, and updated, then they will have a GEM of a rental - right now it is a diamond still very much in the rough and needs lots of polish and TLC.
business
Spacious Country Home W HUGE Heated In ground Pool. Woof!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p167684
+1 917 364-6297
Woodstock Catskills
New York, New York
4

Incredible house

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
The House - the upsides: A TON of indoor and outdoor space for a family of four; great toys for the kids (ages 6 and 4); the pool, of course; the music room w/guitars, drums, keyboard; Downsides: kitchen didn't have the ideal utensils, pots, etc, but was totally doable; sliding door won't lock (not that security is an issue, but still...); broadband access, which is good - makes up for the spotty landline service and the complete lack of cell service (verizon or att)

The Area - Phoenicia is three miles up the road: Get ice cream at Big Mama's instead of the ice cream shop; go to Tinkers for tube rental, or just to have fun at the river's edge (we spent an hour doing that; kids loved it)

Hiking - Diamond Notch Waterfall is a .7M hike that you can turn into a 5M hike (if you don't have a complaining 4 yr old). Take 28 to 42 to Sprucetown Road (take it to the very end).

Eating - Great farm stand on the corner of 28 and 212; IGA in Boiceville is the closest real supermarket (don't use the one in Phoenicia); Peekamoose (about 15M up 28) is supposed to be a great, kid-friendly restaurant, but we didn't go.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Spacious Country Home W HUGE Heated In ground Pool. Woof!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p167684
+1 917 364-6297
Woodstock Catskills
NYC
5

Had a great month!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
My family and I really enjoyed staying in this house. Geoff is right next door and very helpful if you need anything. For instance, we needed a new gas tank for the grill and he brought it right away.

I think anyone who did not like renting this house was expecting a Hamptons house. This is a rustic country place, with an IDEAL location and a great yard. It is exactly what we wanted and we would definitely go back.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Spacious Country Home W HUGE Heated In ground Pool. Woof!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p167684
+1 917 364-6297
Woodstock Catskills
NYC
5

Had a great month!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
My family and I really enjoyed staying in this house. Geoff is right next door and very helpful if you need anything. For instance, we needed a new gas tank for the grill and he brought it right away.

I think anyone who did not like renting this house was expecting a Hamptons house. This is a rustic country place, with an IDEAL location and a great yard. It is exactly what we wanted and we would definitely go back.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spacious Country Home W HUGE Heated In ground Pool. Woof!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p167684
+1 917 364-6297
Woodstock Catskills
Park Slope
5

ALL THE PRIVACY AND QUIET THIS CITY FAMILY NEEDED

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
We loved Rainbow Lodge! Our kids played in the pool every day. We sat in the chaises and enjoyed the complete privacy provided by the vine covered gates. There were plenty of games for the rainy days, but every morning we'd walk around the property, and the kids would check out the stream and river. Tubing was closed that week. The house is clean, although some might not like seeing kids art work around, we do! There were plenty of art supplies for us to use too. It has a very comfortable and welcoming feel, nothing fancy, but made us feel like royalty! My husband and I enjoyed waking up in a King Sized Bed, which is about the size of our city apt:) What a retreat this was! We were outside exploring every day. We hated to leave. The kids loved Brio's in Phoenicia for the brick oven pizza. We liked grilling on the deck too. Thank you for a much needed break from it all!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Spacious Country Home W HUGE Heated In ground Pool. Woof!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p167684
+1 917 364-6297
Woodstock Catskills
New York City, NY
5

PEACEFUL RETREAT FOR THE FAMILY

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
My husband and I needed a quiet escape from NYC this past summer with our 2 preschool age sons and the Mt. Tremper house exceeded our expectations. It truly was the retreat we were hoping for and more. We only had a week in August 2009 at the house but we made it count. The pool was spectacular; so big, clean and perfectly serene. It was very private within the beautiful backyard. The house was quiet, comfortable, clean and welcoming with plenty of space for the boys to play or for us to relax after a day of swimming. It promotes a family feel, which immediately made us feel at home.

The kitchen was stocked with all the necessities and the first floor had a great supply of books, movies and fun games for the boys. We never turned the TV on but it was good to have if the boys ever got bored -they never did. We cooked on the outdoor grill and ate outside almost everyday for lunch and dinner and had our breakfast at the large table off the kitchen. The master bedroom was very tranquil and bright with a small deck facing the large back yard. The perfect place to unwind before retiring for the night.

Although we didn’t venture out too much the surrounding towns do have great shops (especially Phoenicia & Woodstock) and restaurants (our favorite, The Peekamoose, in Big Indian). There's a supermarket only 10 minutes away with wonderful local produce stands in between.

The internet was easy to connect to our laptops although cell phones are tricky in that area. There is a phone at the house which was helpful. The caretaker welcomed us shortly after our arrival letting us know that he was available if we needed anything.

We had a hard time leaving the Mt. Tremper house. We would love to repeat this experience next summer although next time we’d love to make it 2 weeks. The owner, Seth, was a pleasure to deal with which made the experience that much better. Our boys still talk about the pool at their “country house”.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Spacious Country Home W HUGE Heated In ground Pool. Woof!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p167684
+1 917 364-6297
Woodstock Catskills
East Sussex, UK
1

A real sense of abandonment....

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2008
This is unlike any vaction home I have stayed in previously; it feels more like a house abandoned by parents and kids alike. There is grubby family clutter everywhere which makes the place difficult to keep clean I guess.

The sofa arrangement in the lounge was heavily stained, the rugs had sticky black lumps on them (presumably chewing gun), a good percentage of the light fittings were without bulbs, the kitchen cupboards and refrigerator so full of discarded food there was no space for guests food, the walls either in need of a repaint or covered in kids crayon drawings, the utility area so filthy it couldnt have been cleaned for years, laundry (presumaby soiled) sitting in open topped laundry baskets, windows covered in spiders webs and dirt, the garden scattered with discarded inflatables and toys, the pool old and tired with a layer of green algae on the base, the garden furniture in a state of total disrepair. On top of this the kitchen and bathroom bins had not been emptied.

We spent the first day collecting the rubbish up, cleaning the windows, washing down dusty/sticky items, cleaning out the refrigerator etc and generally making the place a bit more habitable and then spent the rest of the ime trying to spend as much time as possible away from the place. We left the house a day early as it was not the place we wanted to be on the last day of our holiday. Having paid paid a considerable rental, plus ironically a $125 cleaning charge, we complained to the owner whose main response was to say you have to expect wear and tear.

This is not a fundamentally unpleasant house; it is in need of a thorough clean, redecoration and replacement of some furniture, but more than that it needs some tender loving care to make it suitable as a vacation home. Having spent part of my childhood in Woodstock and seen other vacation rentals in the vicinity I know that worn and torn is not the Woodstock norm!
Owner's Response: I am sorry this visitor had come at such an inopportune time. Obviously, we are so sorry for his experience, and have never let that happen again. We had rented it out long term to people who were living there, and had not had the opportunity to take care to prepare it. Admittedly, we were new to renting it out, and didn't know the ropes as professional vacation homers:) Now that we are used to renting (it's a rocky start!) the house is immaculate. There are no traces of previous renters, and things are spic and span! Of course, being that it is a country house, even if the spider webs are whisked away daily, they tend to return overnight. However, the kids drawings stay. We hope you will take us up on an offer to stay a weekend in the fall as our guest. Complimentary.
Helpful votes: 3/3