Rincon cottage rental - The Love Shack
The Love Shack
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Rincon Cottage Rental Photos and Description
One bedroom One Bath sleeps one happy couple

Located on a bluff it is the last house on a dead end street with a private path across one acre down to the beach. The Love Shack is a special hide away house with beautiful sunrise and sunset views. You are so close to everything yet feel away from it all.

Dennis came on a surf trip to Rincon in the late 70's and then brought me to visit in 1980. We decided to make it home and had a garage sale packed up and didn't look back. We have three rental properties in Rincon and a Sushi/Pool Bar.

We have raised our daughter here and now we have a 12 year old surfer grandson!

15 Reviews of Property 167557 in Rincon, Puerto Rico

'The Love Shack' your hiding spot in Rincon
average rating of 4.8 based on 15 reviews
business
'The Love Shack' your hiding spot in Rincon
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p167557
+1787 823-8135
Rincon Puerto Rico
5

Love Shack - Baby, Love Shack!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Everything was wonderful and as described! Spectacular views and breezes! A short walk down a driveway to the most beautiful beach on the planet. Just an overall wondrous experience in an exotic, beautiful place. Thanks Carol!
business
'The Love Shack' your hiding spot in Rincon
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p167557
+1787 823-8135
Rincon Puerto Rico
Washington, DC
5

Wonderful spot!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
My boyfriend and I are just back from a week in Rincon and are very happy with our choice of lodging. The location is ideal: very close to Pools and Sandy Beaches, but far enough away so the nightlife noise in those areas isn't an issue. The cabin was clean enough, and well-stocked with just about everything we needed, including a washer in an out-building. We enjoyed our meals on the large wrap-around porch, and left the big double-doors open most of the time to allow the breeze and the sound of the surf in. We had three friends over for a cookout on the porch one night and didn't feel crowded. The beach below the cabin is gorgeous, and we spent quiet mornings there gathering beach glass, and swimming when the water was calm. Our hosts were accessible when needed, but not in our way. Our only cautionary note is that the path to the beach is very steep and, while we negotiated it without trouble in sturdy shoes, I would not recommend it to those who have trouble walking.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
'The Love Shack' your hiding spot in Rincon
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p167557
+1787 823-8135
Rincon Puerto Rico
NYC
5

Didn't want to leave!

Didn't want to leave!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
My boyfriend and I stayed here and were looking for a quiet, relaxing place to get away for a week. Well, I think we found pretty much the perfect place!

The huge deck was great to sit out and catch some sun & relax to the sound of the waves and birds. The walk down to the beach is steep but I still managed it in flip flops! The apartment was so quaint and had everything we needed.

We visited the bar & sushi restaurant. Chill, relax and watch a movie on their huge projector screen right by the pool and eat the most delicious sushi I have had in ages!

We will definitely be coming back - soon I hope. Thanks for a perfect stay Dennis & Carol!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
'The Love Shack' your hiding spot in Rincon
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p167557
+1787 823-8135
Rincon Puerto Rico
Santa Cruz, California
4

Living the good life at the Love Shack!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
After reading several excellent reviews about the Love Shack, my wife and I decided to stay there while visiting Rincón. We found the place to be exactly what we were looking for: cozy, quaint, and private. We wanted to stay in a location where we could cook our own meals and have centralized access to all of the things you'd want to do in Rincón.

While all was in good condition, the studio could benefit from some "spring cleaning". We had to pre-wash every dish and utensil before cooking with or eating off it and there were dust bunnies galore in the corners and on top of the bathroom walls.

That said, Dennis (the owner) was extremely helpful and a gracious host to boot -- he let us borrow some beach toys which saved us a sizable chunk of money. He and Carol were both super cool.

Overall our stay was quite enjoyable. Would I recommend the Love Shack to my friends or return for a future stay? Most definitely!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
'The Love Shack' your hiding spot in Rincon
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p167557
+1787 823-8135
Rincon Puerto Rico
5

Wonderful place! So Private!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, the Love Shack!! No place is more relaxing than the gigantic deck that makes you feel like you are in the trees beside the ocean. Perfect place for a romantic vacation or alone. I have stayed several times and on my last visit I noticed a number of improvements like a new stove and nicer towels. I have also stayed at some of their other properties and always enjoyed myself. I always make sure to go to The Pool Bar to eat sushi it is always great.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'The Love Shack' your hiding spot in Rincon
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p167557
+1787 823-8135
Rincon Puerto Rico
Asheville
5

just right

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
After searching countless hours for just the right spot, I settled on this one. How could I have passed up on the 'love shack' anyway right? To my wife and my pleasant surprise, we totally succeeded by booking here. Immediately upon arrival, we decided this was a place to return to. The accomodations were spacious, clean, comfortable and convenient to the main property. The views seemed to be panoriamic. The sounds calming. We were also lucky enough to enjoy a couple of dinners at the sushi bar, one of the mrs.'s favorite types of foods, and she gave the sushi two thumbs up. I enjoyed the chicken and rice bowl skewers and the coconut shrimp along with a mojito or two. If you are looking to relax at a beach on the west coast of the island, your search should end right here. It seemed like we encountered several different beaches along the trail that starts at Pools, each beach equipped with it's own personality...and it was such an easy 'hike'. During our five days, we litterally ended up taking 885 pictures....not sure how many were of the amazing sunsets from the sun deck at the beach, but let's say we will never forget that view. We also enjoyed the short 3,4, 5 minute drive into the heart of Rinocon and to where most of the other spots I looked at were, confirming the best choice to be pools beach love shack. Dennis and Carol were very nice and laid back, they also assisted me in a couple of personal mishaps (leaving license in N.C and leaving rental car keys in the ocean). Our only regret was not finding time to take Dennis up on the offer to take the paddle boards one morning....we must have been too busy taking pictures while lounging in the hammocks on the wrap around deck. Almost forgot, my wife has described our stay as a stay in a tree house with A/C, a kitchen, a comfy couch, a very nice bathroom and an occasional trip to a pool/sushi/bar.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
'The Love Shack' your hiding spot in Rincon
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p167557
+1787 823-8135
Rincon Puerto Rico
Brooklyn, NY
5

The perfect getaway.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
We are a young couple living in Brooklyn, NY. We wanted a week away from the city, to escape the winter blues and our busy schedules. The Love Shack was more than we could have imagined.
Let's start with the property. It's up on a bluff, sitting above the owner's home (unreal) and the mostly private beach. There are few neighbors, who we hardly saw, making for wonderfully secluded feel without being totally cut off from everything. The walk to the beach is short, like 2-3 minutes, but also steep! The path to the beach is actually Carol and Denis' driveway. You pass their home and pick up a short grass path and you're there. The deck sits above the sand on an embankment, where you can relax on the beach chairs that are provided and enjoy the sweeping view of the sea. The sunsets are spectacular. (A note to the surfers out there; Domes is a 5-10 min. walk from that spot!)
Now for the house. What a charmer! It's a quant cottage with a terrific wrap around deck. I'll yield to the previous reviews, as they are chalk full of accurate descriptions of the amenities. We cooked two meals a day, often BBQing on the deck then to the hammocks for a siesta. So damn good.
The bar at Pool's Beach Bar was a cool little place to relax. There were certainly quite a folks from NY and NJ, which is a mixed bag. We didn't spend much time there because we really yearned for a true vacation and rubbing elbows with dudes from Long Island, in our minds, felt too close to home. The sushi was top notch. There are also a few other bars along the road, and we had a fun little bar crawl one night.
All in all, The Love Shack was delightful. We will be back next year, for sure.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
'The Love Shack' your hiding spot in Rincon
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p167557
+1787 823-8135
Rincon Puerto Rico
San Antonio
5

Can't wait to go back!

Can't wait to go back!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
I don't know that we could have picked a better place on the entire island. If you love to relax while on vacation, this is the place for you.

I did find the pictures of the place to be quite accurate, except for the cow, didn't see it. What the pictures can't really capture about this property is how open it feels. There are two sets of double doors that go out onto the deck that you can prop open and really enjoy the breeze and the sound of the waves. No need for a/c, but there is one just in case. The place has a nice little kitchen that I wish I would have gotten to use for more than just a bar. Despite the hill to the beach, we really enjoyed how private this stretch of beach is. It is positioned between 2 large rock formations that block access from the beaches on either side which are more frequently visited. It wasn't the best swimming beach we found, as the waves are large for the part of the year that we were there (March).

We had family staying at the owners other properties across the road near the sushi bar and pool. They seemed to enjoy their stay as well. I wasn't able to eat at the restaurant as much as I would have liked to, but judging by the amount of seasonal locals, it's a popular place to be. The little bakery up the hill from the house proved to be a great spot for breakfast in the neighborhood, probably lunch too. Don't miss it.

The area of Puerto Rico is one of the most laid back that I encountered on the entire island. Driving around the country you will notice stickers of road sign logos with the number of the main road of the town the person is from, along with whatever catch phrase the community has decided would best suit them. At least one local in Rincon claims that they were the first in the country to invent such a sticker. The main road that the locals seem to choose in Rincon is PR 413, catch phrase "The Road to Happiness". They may be right.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
'The Love Shack' your hiding spot in Rincon
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p167557
+1787 823-8135
Rincon Puerto Rico
West Virginia
4

Good getaway from the normal vacation...

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
Secluded little one room house in a quiet neighborhood. Owner's graciously accommodated our late, late arrival. We wanted a vacation away from it all, including other vacationers and this was the place. General area has diverse little beaches good for surfing, sunning, swimming and a few nearby shops/restaurants.

Pros:
House has a great Caribbean feel, large deck with hammocks, large tile shower, out building with washer and outdoor shower, can walk down a beachfront path to Dome's Beach, Rincon lighthouse, and Maria's beach.

Cons:
Neighboring houses are pretty close, Private path to beach is the property owner's STEEP driveway. Car tires squeal coming up the steep incline and using it as a path to the beach makes you feel like you're intruding a bit (especially at sunrise with all of the owner's dogs barking), house hadn't been cleaned in a while - had to go shopping for cleaning supplies and spent hours on it before we felt comfortable. Can't easily access the beaches north of the house because of a privacy fence along owner's property.

Overall

IF the house was cleaned prior to our arrival and the access to the beach didn't involve walking through the property owner's yard, I would give this place an EXCELLENT. Hopefully they'll take care of these items for future vacationers.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I'm really sorry that  we weren't notified that the cottage wasn't up to their standard of cleanliness. We would have sent housecleaning in and made sure it was done properly. No one should spend their precious hours of vacation cleaning. 
As you can see by the calendar the cottage is booked consistently and it is regularly cleaned between guest. 

The cottage is the last house on the road and has no neighbors on two sides. One house is across the road and the other is more than 30 ft away. 

The access to the beach is first down the drive that turns into a path. It passes along the border of one acre of property. 
Once there you will find a private yoga deck and a set of stairs that take you to the beach. 
On the beach you can walk to the north or south. While on the trail you can only walk south towards the lighthouse as our neighbors have a chain link fence blocking their property. 
It is never an intrusion when our guest make their way to the beach past our house which sits 50 ft from the path.  I'm so sorry they felt that way. 
My husband and I  have a few small friendly rescue dogs that do alert us to visitors.
Most of our guest wave hello on their way past or stop to borrow beach toys or paddle boards. 
We want everyone to feel welcome and enjoy their stay.  
 
   

Dennis & Carol
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
'The Love Shack' your hiding spot in Rincon
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p167557
+1787 823-8135
Rincon Puerto Rico
Maine
5

blissful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
My husband and I just spent a delightful week here in the most perfect climate that I have experienced anywhere in the world. Cottage met our needs perfectly, even though it is all one large room the large deck/porch makes it a huge space, and there is always choice of sun and shade. We never needed AC or fan, great breezes do the trick. Nice range of eating options locally, and midday rice and beans specials at local panaderias are super delicious. Snorkeling right off the beach at Steps was a high point. My one fear is that if we had stayed a second week we might have never gone home again!!
Helpful votes: 1/1