First off let me state what was good about this cabin. The inside of the Cabin has been maintained very well. The furniture, the antique items, etc. The loft in the cabin is awesome, as well as the decor of the place. Now the bad. Since I am the first person reviewing this property for 2013, my findings will hold more weight than a review from a year or 2 or 3 ago that are on this website. The outside of the Cabin is NOT maintained, PERIOD!! Me and my girlfriend pulled up, you have to enter the cabin through the porch. The porch has a screen. That screen is draped with spider webs, debris, and dead insects. Not on it, on it and in it. Meaning, it has been there for a significant amount of time. The fire pit does NOT look like the pictures. I'm sure it did at some point. But now, the bricks are deteriorated, and the landscape has not been maintained. The hammock they show you in the picture is no longer there. In the bedroom there are doors that open up to an outside patio. This patio is completely dirty and not maintain. Over ran by spiders and anything else that wish to setup a colony there. We did not go out there nor clean it as some other guest has done. That is not our job. They charge a cleaning fee. They should clean that. You CANNOT use the washer to clean your clothes. It's there, but you’re not allowed to use it. The gas barbecue grill was DIRTY! They do not clean it and prepare it for new guess. I had to clean the grill top and grill grates myself, as I am not going to cook on a dirty grill. Also, some burners on the grill do not work! Grill needs to be replaced. The most despicable part, there is a HUGE "stink bug" infestation at the Cabin. My girlfriend and I killed more bugs in two days then terminix. Stink bugs specifically. The cabin is full of them. Don't know how or where they're getting in at, but it's pretty darn awful. Could not walk around with your shoes off, because you might step on one somewhere. Here's the Kicker: I paid for 6/17 through 6/19, departing on 6/20. The evening of 6/18 I got sick. And the morning of 6/19, I was considerably ill. So much my girlfriend took me to the ER and I was diagnosed with Acute Bronchitis, treated and released home with antibiotics, steroids, inhaler, etc. So we never stayed there 6/19. I called and tried to get a refund for that day. Was told they don't give refunds. I do not recommend this property. And I am left questioning the integrity of the owners.
Owner's Response: We were sorry to learn that you had a disappointing experience during your stay at our cabin. Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns.
We are sorry you became ill and were unable to stay through the period you contracted to rent the cabin. Unfortunately, we were unaware that you needed to leave the property one day early and were not notified of your leaving until several days AFTER your contracted departure date making it impossible for us to re-rent the cabin.
This cabin is located in the woods. This natural setting, although beautiful, does include insects. We have outdoor lights on the porches to provide lighting for late arrivals. This lighting does attract insects including spiders. Since a spider takes only 30 minutes to spin a web, we can knock down spider webs in the morning and by that evening there are more. The same is true for stink bugs during certain times of the year. We regularly have the cabin treated for insects but in this natural environment we cannot eliminate ALL insects.
The fire pit is only a year old, and still looks the same as when we built it the only difference is the bricks are now charred from use as one would expect to find in any fire pit. Please refer to current pictures of the fire pit and the updated landscaping, brick steps and pathway which were added last month.
We do apologize that the housekeeping staff overlooked the cleaning of the grill. The grill is less than one year old and we were unaware of any issues with the burner. We installed the grill last year when we upgraded the porch area by adding the new slate wall, the granite countertops and stainless steel cabinets.
The hammock is still at the cabin and is still usable. We’re sorry you didn’t notice it inside by the front door. We keep the hammock indoors safe from inclement weather, spiders and pollen..
As stated in our advertising, laundry facilities are not available at the cabin due to our on-site septic system. The washing machine is for emergency use or weekly rentals only. Guests staying for only a few nights do not usually require use of the washing machine.
We take all guest comments seriously and appreciate the opportunity to respond. We realize that unfortunately emergencies do occur and we try very hard to accommodate our guest’s needs, but we cannot correct items we are unaware of or refund money after the fact.
Helpful votes: 6/6
Did you find this review helpful?