Corfe Castle cottage rental - Front of cottage
Front of cottage
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Corfe Castle Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Self catering rental, sleeps 4 adults plus 2 children, has internet access.

The cottage is set in half an acre of pretty gardens, beside a quiet lane, backing onto downland and with good views over rolling countryside. We understand that the property was built in the 17th century, but on a far older site. (The hamlet has an entry in the Domesday book and there is rumoured to be a Saxon hearth under the sitting room floor). Originally built as two cottages and a stable, it retains many of its original features, such as stone walls, exposed beams, two inglenook fireplaces and a bread oven. The cottage is particularly attractive for families with children old enough to enjoy the two small children's bedrooms that are reached through a narrow 'secret' passage in the back of an inglenook fireplace. The garden is a series of sheltered grass terraces, set with mature trees and shrubs, visited at night by badgers, owls and deer, plus a patio area with barbecue. Rental price includes linen, towels, electricity and gas, firewood, TV, internet and a welcome hamper

13 Reviews of Property 16678 in Corfe Castle, United Kingdom

Enchanting 17th century listed stone cottage, 3 miles from the sea
average rating of 5.0 based on 13 reviews
business
Enchanting 17th century listed stone cottage, 3 miles from the sea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p16678
+44 02077220265
Corfe Castle Purbeck
5

Homely cottage in beautiful countryside

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 14, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
This was our first visit not only to Ricketts Farm, but also to this part of Dorset.

The stone cottage has been charmingly renovated and, although clearly from the outside very old, feels warm and homely inside. As described it has lots of exposed beams, but also has a well equipped kitchen, a good sounding ipod deck and some great photos and pictures on the walls.

It's a great base from which to explore the fascinating local countryside and World Heritage Jurassic Coastline. We enjoyed lots of sunny weather, great walks along the chalk ridge behind the house back to Corfe Castle and beyond, searching for fossils in the rocky bays and strolling along the long sandy beaches.

We'd love to come back!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Enchanting 17th century listed stone cottage, 3 miles from the sea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p16678
+44 02077220265
Corfe Castle Purbeck
5

Excellent, highly recommended

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
A lovely cosy cottage in a wonderful location. We have stayed here over the last 7 years and it has never let us down. First on honeymoon, then with 1 baby and now with another. I have not left any reviews before, however t his time I thought I might.
On arrival my wife was was" moving in " and burst in to tears. I asked her in a caring husbandly way " What's the matter darling ? " She replied " Its as beautiful as I remember, why did we ever stay anywhere else !"
I can't say any more than that !
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Enchanting 17th century listed stone cottage, 3 miles from the sea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p16678
+44 02077220265
Corfe Castle Purbeck
West Sussex
5

The Best Ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
This is the best cottage we have stayed in with many trips to Dorset. It is everything you hope for, and then more besides. The description does not do justice to the quality of the facilities, and the little touches of luxury. It is beautifully maintained and has everything you could possibly need. We did not eat out as it seemed a waste not to enjoy the cottage fully. You can also enjoy walking direct from the cottage, and come home and relax. Carol and Ashley, the housekeeper, could not have been more accommodating and helpful and we certainly aim to return!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Enchanting 17th century listed stone cottage, 3 miles from the sea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p16678
+44 02077220265
Corfe Castle Purbeck
Hertfordshire
5

Wonderful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
A truly fabulous cottage in a wonderful location!
Upon our arrival the cottage was spotlessly clean and the welcome hamper was just what was required after battling through bank holiday traffic. The cottage is extremely well equipped with wonderful attention to detail, such as the quality of the towels and bed linen, not to mention the under floor heating in the most amazing bathroom.
All of the rooms were very comfortable, well furnished and spacious.
The gardens and location were beautiful and peaceful, yet within easy reach of the numerous places of interest nearby and beautiful beaches at Studland.
I really would recommend the cottage, it is by far the best I have stayed in. My only concern is that once more people discover how wonderful it is, when I want to return it will be fully booked!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Enchanting 17th century listed stone cottage, 3 miles from the sea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p16678
+44 02077220265
Corfe Castle Purbeck
Brighton
5

Our favourite weekend retreat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
We have visited this lovely part of Dorset and stayed in Rickett's Farm six times and would never consider another self-catering option! Firstly, the setting is magical; reached along a narrow single track road close to Corfe Castle. The cottage is always immaculately presented with a delicious welcome hamper on arrival. You are surrounded by quality furnishings and linen and even Molton Brown products in the bathrooms! It's the type of place that when you take off your wellies, light the fire and open a bottle of wine, your usual life seems miles away! There is lots to do locally, with genuine local pubs, beaches crammed with fossils and walks of all lengths easily accessible. I cannot imagine anyone who enjoys rural England not being enchanted by Rickett's Farm and planning their next visit as they drive away!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Enchanting 17th century listed stone cottage, 3 miles from the sea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p16678
+44 02077220265
Corfe Castle Purbeck
London, England
5

Historic, beautiful cottage & countryside ...

Historic, beautiful cottage & countryside ...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
If it is authentic english countryside living you are looking for ... you will have found it at Ricketts Farm Cottage. One feels as if they have stepped into another century but with all the lovely amenities of 2010! The house will keep you cozy with wood burning fire, but you can also turn on heated showers and large/jacuzzi type tubs. The town life can keep you busy and well fed but we had a hard time leaving the comforts of the Farm with its fully equipped kitchen, dining to seat as many as 12 and outdoor patios with outdoor fireplaces. You can't beat this place if you want to jump out of London for a long weekend or if you are coming from the states and want to have a "true" england retreat. We also brought our 3 almost 4 year old and she was thoroughly entertained with the town's train ride, castle and the cottages many trails. I highly recommend Ricketts Farm to anyone; romantic get-away, family retreat, couples weekend etc... etc...
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Enchanting 17th century listed stone cottage, 3 miles from the sea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p16678
+44 02077220265
Corfe Castle Purbeck
5

A truelly lovely old cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2005
We stayed here for 2 weeks in August 2005 and have to say that we all - especially the children loved staying here. They loved the hidden away rooms and the garden with the path out the back up onto the hills behind. For myself and my husband it was a quiet retreat and perfect for relaxing away from it all with the massive bath and amazingly comfy bed in the main bedroom. The kitchen is well equipped for every need and the lounge is cosy and inviting. The garden too is perfect for a family holiday. Being close enough to Swanage to stock up on groceries it is ideally situated although the narrow lanes took some getting used to!!!!. We spent great days on Studland beach and enjoyed days out to Poole, Longleat and Monkey World to name a few. Plenty to do in the area and a good base from which to explore with some excellent local pubs serving great food. The cottage is really magical and the children still ask to go back which hopefully we will soon. My only regret is that due to a family crisis we had to leave a day early and never got to say a proper goodbye or write in the guest book as i feel that we were somewhat rude after the fantastic hospitality we experienced. Hopefully we can make amends for that when we go back.
Thanks again for one of the best UK holidays we have ever had.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Enchanting 17th century listed stone cottage, 3 miles from the sea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p16678
+44 02077220265
Corfe Castle Purbeck
Switzerland
5

Tried and Tested

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 14, 2008
  • Stayed: Mar 2008
We have stayed at Ricketts Farm seven Times! What more can I say. Everything is very well looked after, and the area is one of the best to visit in Southern England
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Enchanting 17th century listed stone cottage, 3 miles from the sea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p16678
+44 02077220265
Corfe Castle Purbeck
Nova Scotia, Canada
5

Beyond our expectations!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2008
  • Stayed: Sep 2008
We were fortunate to have the opportunity to stay 4 weeks at this absolutely delightful place in the fall of 2008. It takes your breath away at first encounter, the pretty garden with the historic cottageā€™s stone walls and slate roof blending into the Purbeck Hills. Inside it is exceedingly comfortable, the appointments are very tasteful and thoughtful. The kitchen is terrific, and the big tub in the ensuite is the perfect place to recuperate after long walks that are everywhere to experience in the region. We have nothing but positive things to say about this Dorset gem and hope to go back again.
Deborah and John
Nova Scotia, Canada
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Enchanting 17th century listed stone cottage, 3 miles from the sea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p16678
+44 02077220265
Corfe Castle Purbeck
Haywards Heath, West Sussex.
5

Wow, what a little gem!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2008
  • Stayed: Feb 2007
Stayed here in 2007, would say it has been my best Uk stay so far!.
Beautiful cottage, loved all the period features, Kids loved the secret passage to their rooms! and I loved the kitchen decor too.
Well located, spotlessly clean, wonderful welcome basket.
Would recomend it to anyone, will be back one day!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/9