Kihei condo rental - Living room with ocean view
Living room with ocean view
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Kihei Condo Rental Photos and Description
1 bedroom, 1 bath, sleeps 4

Aloha... Let us invite you to our stylishly remodeled Kauhale Makai oceanfront condominium with 'top of the world' ocean and mountain view. With warm, tropical colored paints, cool floor tiles, and amenities such as a fully equipped kitchen, entertainment center, central air conditioning, and WIFI wireless Internet, our condo will make you feel right at home. The penthouse location of our condo allows for breathtaking, panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean and hills from the bedroom, living room, kitchen and lanai. Relax and sit in the lanai with a cool drink, and when in season, see frolicking whales. The condo is conveniently located; just a 20 minute drive from Kahului airport. Surrounded by Maui's great beaches, you only need to walk across our lush lawn to feel sand on your toes. It's within walking distance to supermarkets, restaurants, and a short drive away from Wailea's boutiques and high end shops. At the end of the day, enjoy the famous Hawaiian sunset. During October to April, you can even watch whales frolic (please feel free to use the binoculars that we have supplied in your condo).

In short our condo is HOME away from HOME.

More Details
Hide Details

I moved to United States in 1986, married my childhood friend and have 2 older children.

Hera Tunggal purchased this condo in 2006

There are a myriad of reasons why my husband and I chose to purchase a condo in Maui, but the basis of almost all those reasons would be our upbringing in a tropical country. The flora and fauna of Maui are reminiscent of a purer version of the island where we grew up, as do the local arts and crafts, while the cities and shopping centers of Maui offer the urban comforts that we have grown accustomed to. Also, Maui is home to many varieties of exotic, tropical fruits that aren’t found very easily on the mainland, such as breadfruit. Having grown up eating these fruits, getting to taste them again in Maui is like reliving a little slice of our childhoods. Our favorite thing about Maui, however, would probably be the temperate climate. Of all the places we’ve visited, Maui has the no-contest best weather. During the summer, it is comfortingly warm without being too humid or dry while during winter one would never need more than a light jacket. Finally, we decided to purchase our condo because we have realized that even beyond vacationing in Maui, we would enjoy living there after retiring. With all the island activities, such as snorkeling, kayaking, hula lessons, and even simply relaxing in the beach, there is no shortage of things to do; and the welcoming nature of the locals means that Maui already feels like home.

My husband and I live in the city, amid all its hustle and bustle, so while in Maui we love being able to relax at the condo while still having the opportunity to work from our laptops. The main difference is that we get to see the breathtaking views of the ocean, and if we’re lucky, maybe even whales in the wintertime. One can also go for walks in the evening to watch the sunset or simply enjoy it from the lanai. The condo and the surrounding complex have so much to offer, from the swimming pool to barbecue grills, to a complete and modern-looking kitchen in our condo, where one can enjoy preparing simple meals while watching the waves crash upon the shore.

49 Reviews of Property 166550 in Kihei, Hawaii

Luxury, tastefully and affordable top of the floor oceanfront condo
average rating of 4.87234 based on 49 reviews
business
Luxury, tastefully and affordable top of the floor oceanfront condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p166550
707-208-6416
Kihei Maui
Melbourne Beach, FL
5

Most caring landlord and great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2008
  • Stayed: Nov 2007
We rented this condo from 11/13/07 to 11/20/07. The care and concern for her tenants (us) was shown by Hera Tunggal even before we departed our home in Florida. Upon arrival, we were greeted by a basket of Hawiian "goodies". The apartment was clean and recently completely renovated. It truly felt as if we were in a home away from home. The swimming pool, bar-b-que area, and hot tub were all very nice to come back to after a day of sightseeing. The apartment is on the sixth floor with both ocean and mountain views. I would (and will) recommend renting this unit to our friend and look forward to staying here again ourselves in the not too distant future. I wish that all of our rentals were as beautiful as this one. Again, thank you Hera for being so thoughtful.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 11/12
business
Luxury, tastefully and affordable top of the floor oceanfront condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p166550
707-208-6416
Kihei Maui
5

Excellent Maui beachfront place for 2

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Waking up hearing the surf and exotic birds is a welcome change from Midwest winter. This condo is very nicely updated and spotlessly clean. The furniture is comfortable and the bath & kitchen are very nicely updated. New appliances. Hard to fault this place. The location in Kihei is great, right off the main road. The parking space is visible from the balcony and the walk from the car to the elevator is short. Similarly the walk from the elevator to the condo is very short. Laundry is very close as well. This place is wheelchair accessible if you require, although the bathroom might be tight. All in all, I can think of no reason not to recommend this condo and if you are having a hard time making a decision we both felt that we got a very good value and we are very happy we chose this place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxury, tastefully and affordable top of the floor oceanfront condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p166550
707-208-6416
Kihei Maui
Peachland British Columbia Canada
5

We loved our visit in this lovely condo.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This was our first trip to Maui and we lucked out finding the perfect place to stay for the 2 weeks we were here. This condo is exactly like the pictures show only better. It is so clean and bright and we loved all the beautiful art and island touches like the bedside lamps. Hera had some gifts waiting for us when we got there and gave us an initial call to see if we needed anything . Very thoughtful, thank you Hera , we definitely enjoyed them. We had flown in very late January 29th 20014 so went to bed soon after arriving. When we awoke it was to a view of the ocean from the balcony door in the bedroom and the sound of the birds. How awesome that was to wake up to every morning. The bed was very comfy which can make or break any holiday so we were very happy with that .We did very little cooking but if we had done so everything was available. A lot of people used the bbq's outside and they were well maintained. Actually the entire grounds were beautiful, lush green grass, lovely pool and hot tub .We used the pool most days and the hot tub on occasion. It was always very clean as was the entire building and grounds. To get to the water you just walked across the back yard. We spent many days walking the beach and playing in the water. You can walk from this building to the right up the beach all the way to Ma'alaea [ you have to go around 1 building only] We would usually go only as far as the Kealia Pond sanctuary[ approx. 90 minutes round trip walking ]and saw a manta ray in the water and whales all the time . We also loved watching the sand crabs coming out of there holes on the beach [ throwing out unwanted dirt like little bulldozers] The water is always changing as well as activities so you would see snorkelers, swimmers, fishermen, kayakers, wind surfers, sail boaters, paddle boarders all in one day right in front of the condo and end up watching the beautiful sunsets before dark.
We did drive all over the island and enjoyed it all. The end of the day though we were always glad to come back home to the condo and it did feel very much our home. We made use of the cooler , the books on Maui, cds of the road to Hana, the beach towels, binoculars, that were in the condo. There is a cute hat I wore a lot as I had forgotten mine. There was snorkelling equipment and lawn chairs but we had brought our own as well as movies and books. The only bad part was leaving this relaxing paradise. We would not hesitate to book again with Hera and will recommend.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxury, tastefully and affordable top of the floor oceanfront condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p166550
707-208-6416
Kihei Maui
Lancashire, England
5

Just perfect for whale watching.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
The condo was excellent with great views from the lanai across the bay to Sugar Beach. We saw lots of whale action close to shore and access to the beach was just across the garden. The accommodation was perfect for two, with everything we could have needed to make the stay relaxing.

The location was great for getting around the island just 20 minutes from Lahaina and 15 to Kahalui.

The gift basket was a very nice touch and the welcome phone call from Hera to make sure everything was in order was thoughtful.

We have no hesitation in recommending this condo highly and would definitely stay here again.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxury, tastefully and affordable top of the floor oceanfront condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p166550
707-208-6416
Kihei Maui
4

My family stayed at Hera"s condo on Jan 7-21,

My family stayed at Hera"s condo on Jan 7-21,
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We stayed at in Hera's one bedroom condo and it turned out to be the perfect size for our family of 3. It was bright, spacious and nicely decorated making it feel like our home away from home. Hera was very friendly and helpful in whatever our needs were, and leaving us a welcome basket was a lovely touch. We will be definatly be staying again with Hera on our next trip to Maui. Jen, Dave , Jesse
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury, tastefully and affordable top of the floor oceanfront condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p166550
707-208-6416
Kihei Maui
Santa Monica
5

Clean and Cozy with an Awesome View!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My daughter is a student at Uh Manoa and I wanted to show her Maui? I studied all of the home away locations for weeks and decided to stay on the water in Kihei. I enjoyed speaking with Hera because she is so kind and informative? We were greeted with a beautifully appointed condo, an awesome view and a welcome basket full of yummy Maui goodies!!! Thank you for letting us use the beach chairs and coolers. looking forward to coming back. The bed and sofas we're clean and comfortable. Very, very pretty condo! Mahalo, Michele and Fiona
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxury, tastefully and affordable top of the floor oceanfront condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p166550
707-208-6416
Kihei Maui
Santa Rosa
5

Lovely Home Away From Home in Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We absolutely loved our stay at Hera Tunggel's wonderful condo! My boyfrind and I stayed for a week in mid Oct.2013. Everything was just as described, yet even better than expected. We arrived to find our little getaway extremely clean and cozy. Hera has decorated with so much warmth and charm, which made us feel very comfortable.
We views from the lanai were gorgeous! Loved just sitting out there enjoying our morning coffee and taking in the mountains and the ocean.
The condo had everything that we needed to have a great time at the beach. Thanks Hera for stocking it so well. We were pleasantly surprised to even find snorkel equipment along with everything else. The kitchen had loads of pots and pans, dishes, utensils, etc. in case you want to cook. We didn't really cook much, although we did take advantage of the barbeque grills in the courtyard several times. The grounds were well kept and the staff at Kauhale Makai seemed nice and helpful.
Hera was wonderful throughout the entire process. She immediately got back to me with any questions that I had and was a pleasure to deal with. My boyfriend and I were impressed that she took so much care in making sure that our needs were met. We received a phone call from her when we arrived at the condo to make sure that we were happy! Great service from a sweet person!
The welcome basket was a really nice touch!
We enjoyed Coconuts for their awesome fish taco's just a short drive away.
We loved our stay in beautiful Maui and I would not hesitate for a second to stay at Hera's condo next time we visit.
Thank you Hera for helping to make our vacation so special!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Luxury, tastefully and affordable top of the floor oceanfront condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p166550
707-208-6416
Kihei Maui
5

Outstanding Place to Stay!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
My husband and I had a wonderful time in Maui, and much of our pleasure came from having such a fabulous place to stay. We were so impressed by the thought that had been given to details such as bed risers so that luggage could be tucked under the bed, beach towels, umbrellas and chairs, a kitchen with many pots, pans, utensils and appliances as well as a lovely and delicious welcome gift from the owner. The lanai is wonderful, with sliding glass doors from both the bedroom and living room. We would stay here again in a heartbeat and will certainly recommend it to our friends and family! We also found the location to be central for sightseeing.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxury, tastefully and affordable top of the floor oceanfront condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p166550
707-208-6416
Kihei Maui
3

Excellent. No disappointments.

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This condo is everything you see and more. Located at the top floor and with no building next door, it is extremely quiet, relaxing and has unstoppable views. The home is top class...even the kitchen cabinets are top of the line. It made everything absolutely incredibly delightful to cook and entertain friends and family and allow "locals" to enjoy the ocean view from the top. We visit the island twice a year since our "kids" live in Kihei, and have experimented with several units the past years so we have our own privacy. We highly recommend this unit. It is close enough to everything to be accessible to all the tourist attractions, or just to be close to grocery stores and family. Thank you for the one of the more comfortable and relaxing stays we have had. We will be back! :-)
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Luxury, tastefully and affordable top of the floor oceanfront condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p166550
707-208-6416
Kihei Maui
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

A nice place to stay on our vacation *****

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Angela and I want to thank you for the opportunity to rent your condo. We had a wonderful two weeks in Maui. It was very nice that the condo was furnished with so many things. The coffee filters were a life saver on the first morning! Also, it was very convenient to have dishes and cups etc... for when we cooked at the condo. We enjoyed the beautiful view very much. Also, thanks for checking in on us--we did get your message. Take care.

Jude G.