Barryville chalet rental - 2013 and Spring has arrived at the Zen Love Nest!
2013 and Spring has arrived at the Zen Love Nest!
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Barryville Chalet Rental Photos and Description
Exclusive Chalet, 2 Bedrooms + Sunroom, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 2-4)

Exclusive, Couples Getaway ***** 5 star property

Escape the city to this secluded couples hideaway - with cool mountain / river views. A cozy home, shady trees, great views, and ideal for a couple seeking a vacation spot just 2 hrs from Manhattan.

Great for spring or summer, extras include a chef's kitchen, a hot tub under the stars, yoga and exercise/stretch room, a professional massage room and much more.

Exotic and elegant 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, our chalet is on four (4) acres, overlooking the Delaware River. It is very private, well taken care of and surrounded by natural field stone walls. It is Intimate and secluded, with local activities that include antiquing, fishing (stocked trout farm nearby) and hiking.

The chalet has an Asian feel, with luxury appointments, oak floors, carpets and art from around the world - India, Morocco, and China. Come experience the romance and serenity of this wonderful home. Enjoy your morning coffee on our deck with your loved one while watching the sun rise from behind the mountains.

Keywords: Chalet, Secluded Cabin, Love Nest, Hideaway, Couples Retreat, Lover's getaway

More Details
Hide Details

We've travelled around the world and found our little love nest in the Catskill mountains. We are thrilled to have the opportunity to share it with others.

Keith Fiveson purchased this chalet in 1997

Every detail was mindfully and carefully planned for, with the house built with Canadian Cedar, artwork from around the world. This house is fully stocked and cared for, as our our guests.

It's very private, has magnificent views, is easy to take care of, has a great hot-tub and is a great place for a couples getaway :)

28 Reviews of Property 166121 in Barryville, New York

Zen Love Nest - River Mountain Retreat
average rating of 4.964286 based on 28 reviews
business
Zen Love Nest - River Mountain Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p166121vbi
(917) 952-9662 (New York, USA)
Barryville Catskills
5

Loved the Zen Love Nest

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My wife and I stayed here over Memorial Day weekend, and it was beyond wonderful. It was a cool weekend with intermittent rain, and the chill in the air made sitting in the hot tub perched among the trees all the more enjoyable.

The weather occasionally made exploring the area less appealing, which gave us the excuse we needed to barely leave the house. The TV is stocked with cable and movie streaming services. The kitchen is great, more spacious than the photo on the listing would indicate, though we did most of our cooking on the grill. The bed in the main bedroom is comfortable, as is the couch. The Fivesons have decorated the place very nicely. Some rentals can feel like they were decorated in 1980 and left to collect dust since then. Not this place. Very cozy and tastefully decorated with bright light throughout.

We'll definitely be going back. Recommended for romantic weekends, or just as a place to hide away and recharge.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Wow! Bob, thank you so much for your wonderful review. We really liked having you up at the Love Nest and do indeed hope to see you both again!!!
business
Zen Love Nest - River Mountain Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p166121vbi
(917) 952-9662 (New York, USA)
Barryville Catskills
New York Area
5

Loved the Views and the Hot Tub was Perfect All weekend.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Our stay was amazing and so much more than we ever expected. The house was beautiful and had everything we needed. We honestly did not leave the house from Thursday at 8pm until we left Sunday afternoon, lol. It was exactly what we both needed, quiet and cozy. We both work a lot so this weekend was exactly what we needed! The fire place and music, oh we loved it!

We absolutely loved the views and the hot tub was perfect all weekend. Thank you again, we appreciate it very much.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Christina - we do our best to make you feel like there IS no other place to go! :) - glad you enjoyed it. Come back again!!!
business
Zen Love Nest - River Mountain Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p166121vbi
(917) 952-9662 (New York, USA)
Barryville Catskills
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
My wife and I spent a wonderful weekend at the "love nest" last year. The woods nearby offered some trails to explore, and in the surrounding area we found some great shops and food.

The hero of the trip was definitely the house though. Everything we could possibly need for a perfect weekend was there. The hot tub, massage table, Netflix. The overall vibe is very relaxing. We highly recommend a stay at the Love Nest.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
business
Zen Love Nest - River Mountain Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p166121vbi
(917) 952-9662 (New York, USA)
Barryville Catskills
Poughkeepsie,NY
5

Loved the Love Nest!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We wanted to get away for a long weekend to celebrate or 24 wedding anniversary. I am so happy we chose the "Love Nest". A beautiful home sitting high up in the Catskill mountains! Peaceful and private with all the kitchen amenities to make romantic meals.Relaxing in the hot tub under the stars was incredible! We were surrounded by nature with the beautiful Delaware river just across the bottom of the hill! The owners were very helpful and made the whole process of renting a breeze. I recommend this property to anyone looking to disconnect from the hustle and bustle of our busy lives. We recommend tubing on the Delaware river.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
business
Zen Love Nest - River Mountain Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p166121vbi
(917) 952-9662 (New York, USA)
Barryville Catskills
Brooklyn, NY
5

Lovely Get-away!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
House looks just like the pictures - it is a beautiful home surrounded by lots of trees and open space. Home is filled with lots of interesting pieces and artwork - seems primarily to be of a Buddha theme. Perfect place when you want to get away from everything and just be holed up in nature. In fact, one whole side of the main floor is windows - with no shades! - as there are no houses visible from within the home. My fiancee and I spent most of the weekend lounging around, both inside and on the deck outside, really enjoying. Of course, you don't have to do only that - there are water and other sorts of fun activities all around the area, not too far away by car. One other thing I really liked- the floors are spotlessly clean. The owners ask you to take your shoes off by the door, and some floors may not hold up to that policy. But the floors in this place do - 100%! Your cell phone may not get service here (mine didn't), but there is free WiFi and a landline. Also, the owners are really helpful and sweet, available for any questions!!, which is super important. Definitely recommend this as your next romantic or friends get-away! Some points that are important to note: 1) In the evening, in warm weather, make sure all the windows are shut tight! Otherwise the bugs are attracted to the light inside and come in through the screens. 2) Bring your own toothpaste!, the owners are nice enough to provide shampoo and soap and all the other supplies 3) I found the temperature in the home very comfortable, but for those of you who are extremely hot people, note that the main A/C is only in the living area, there are small fan type cooling units in the bedrooms; the A/C from the living space does partially reach the bedrooms as well.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Joey! So very glad that you both had a great time!! You've given me the incentive to get a supply of tooth paste for future renters! Thank you for the suggestion. You're welcome back any time!!

Best regards!
Keith
Zen Love Nester
business
Zen Love Nest - River Mountain Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p166121vbi
(917) 952-9662 (New York, USA)
Barryville Catskills
5

Great getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My husband and I spent a week at the Zen Love Nest. The house is very comfortable and clean. We especially enjoyed the beautiful view of the mountains and river from the deck. Spending every morning drinking coffee and reading on the deck was very peaceful. Stargazing at night from the hot tub was lots of fun. Keith was very responsive to all our needs and we really appreciated the gift basket. A lovely retreat in the country. We hope to return again. Maybe next time I will be as adventurous as my husband and go zip lining!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
business
Zen Love Nest - River Mountain Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p166121vbi
(917) 952-9662 (New York, USA)
Barryville Catskills
NYC
5

Beautiful mountain refuge

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My husband, six year old child, and I spent a relaxing week at this lovely house. We loved eating our meals looking out at the sky with the river always twinkling at us between the mountains. We were able to hike (and drive) right down to the river to swim and rent a raft for a gorgeous trip down the Delaware. It wasn't possible to keep track of all the hawks and eagles we saw soaring overhead. During the day, mother and baby deer came and snoozed in a shady spot near our house. At night we were serenaded by frogs. So we were able to be in nature and enjoy it deeply while we were also in a very comfortable, clean, and well-maintained house. Keith was very helpful and clear about the house and places of interest in the area. We also went to a the fantastic farmer's market in Callicoon (a 1/2 hour drive) to stock up on an amazing array of fresh from the farm fruit, vegetables, eggs,and flowers, as well as delicious baked goods and coffee. Not to mention meeting Amber the goat! We really hated to leave the love nest and we certainly hope to be back before too long.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So glad that you all enjoyed the nest. We look forward to having you back again!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Zen Love Nest - River Mountain Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p166121vbi
(917) 952-9662 (New York, USA)
Barryville Catskills
Philadelphia
5

Enjoyed relaxing and exploring from the Zen Love Nest

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We spent a week at the Zen Love Nest in late June. We truly enjoyed our time in this super-clean, bright and tastefully decorated home. The home has everything you would want for a weekend or a month and is scaled and decorated in an understated way that we found very fitting to our own lifestyle.

Barryville and the surrounding areas were interesting to explore and we spent a day on the river where we saw bald eagles swoop down in front of our kayaks. However, I wouldn't recommend cycling in the immediate area as it is very hilly and too busy for us on the main road. Instead, we put our bikes on the car and drove 40 minutes to Bethel Woods where the hills were more rolling. Riding past Yasgur's farm was also a treat!

Depending on your dietary preferences, you may want to plan on cooking in the home and bringing some of your own foods, as we had to spend more time than expected driving to the market. However, this was a small price to pay for the peace of mind we found at the Zen Love Nest.

Overall, 5 stars. We look forward to coming back sometime!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Great having you both at The Zen Love Nest! Glad that you navigated the terrain and wildlife too! We look forward to having you come back!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Zen Love Nest - River Mountain Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p166121vbi
(917) 952-9662 (New York, USA)
Barryville Catskills
New York, NY
5

perfect getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Came up for a long weekend with my boyfriend to escape the city. We spent the entire weekend on the deck, grilling, relaxing, using the hot tub, and enjoying the beautiful view. The house was wonderful and had every amenity we could ask for. We will definitely be returning!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Natalie -

We loved having you as our guest at Our Love Nest! We've had a lot of great times up there and I am glad you did too. Come back soon.

Best,
Keith
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Zen Love Nest - River Mountain Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p166121vbi
(917) 952-9662 (New York, USA)
Barryville Catskills
-
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
Second year in row for my wife and I at this home. Would have been the third time in a year if some other matters hadn't come up in the Fall. Always a great experience sitting in the hottub and watching the stars. Perfect place to clear the brain of the incessant mumbo jumbo that goes through it. Great Romantic Getaway!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Rick!!!

It's a pleasure to have you back with us again. So, so glad that you two like the Zen Love Nest and that we can share it with you.

And yes, the starts are one of my favorite things about the place.

All the best,
Keith
Helpful votes: 1/1