Southwest Harbor cottage rental - Central House Cottage
Central House Cottage
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Southwest Harbor Cottage Rental Photos and Description
1 bedroom 1 bath.

The new cottage at Central House is situated across the street from the harbor.

Amenities include all modern stainless steel high end kitchen appliances. The cottage is 2 stories with outdoor decks on both floors, and a private patio for dining or relaxing. A LED TV with cable and Wi-fi internet are included, and built in speakers for sound on both floors. The bathroom upstairs has a custom glass and rain forest sandstone shower. There is also a front loading washer and dryer, and a full sized gas grill for your convenience.

The cottage is one block from restaurants and shops. Acadia National Park is 2 miles away. Hiking, kayaking, swimming, biking, golfing, fishing, whale watching and more are all available on the island.

8 Reviews of Property 165969 in Southwest Harbor, Maine

New Year Round Luxury Cottage Tucked Away In Town
average rating of 5.0 based on 8 reviews
business
New Year Round Luxury Cottage Tucked Away In Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p165969
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Peaceful Haven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
What a fantastic cottage! Tucked back in quiet Southwest Harbor, my wife and I found the perfect place to base ourselves for future visits to Acadia. Pictures don't tell the whole story. This little home is as neat as a pin with every single amenity that you could possibly need. Fully applianced, all utensils, gas grill, pots/pans.... everything you need to prepare meals at home, or partake in some great dining at the area restaurants that are just a sort stroll away. The cottage was also a great place to return to after a long day of some top-notch hiking in Arcadia. The king size bed was so cozy and the bedroom (which is accessed by a cool spiral staircase) is really spacious with it's own balcony to sit and enjoy a bottle of vino or a cup of joe. The owners, John and Barbara, were very accomodating but not intrusive. In fact, we would've loved to have met them so we can give our personal thanks. But there will be a next time, I'm sure! Places to see........ definitely hiking. See as much of Acadia as possible.... Bee Hive Trail, Cadillac Mtn and Precipice Trail if open... John and Barbara provide a list of trails to explore and restaurants to dine at and much more info... and at the end of the day, take a short ride to Bass Harbor to Capt Nemo's to have a cold one and schmooze with the locals. Such great fun and a great stay. We'll definitely return!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
New Year Round Luxury Cottage Tucked Away In Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p165969
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

What a wonderful enchanting house and garden!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
When you drive down the driveway for the first time, you will see an adorable
doll-house like cottage and you just can't believe how pretty it is!
There are flowers everywhere and very nice rock gardens. At first you think the cottage is small but once you open the front door you will see how wrong your first impression was! The house is well decorated, spotless and has modern appliances.
The bedroom and bathroom are upstairs. The bathroom is very nice and spotless and the bedroom has high ceilings and there is no need for AC.
For me, one of the nicest parts of staying here was going out to the back patio early in the morning to draw in my sketchbook. The back patio area is private and very cozy. I know that we will return soon. We absolutely loved staying in this house!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
New Year Round Luxury Cottage Tucked Away In Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p165969
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Relaxing Time in SW Harbor

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
My wife and I were very pleased with the cottage! It's the perfect size for two people. The kitchen is well stocked, and the bedroom is awesome. Within walking distance to a few food markets, restaurants and bars. About 15 minutes from Bar Harbor.

The owner was very good about keeping in contact in the time leading up to our trip as well.
business
New Year Round Luxury Cottage Tucked Away In Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p165969
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Lebanon, NH
5

perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
We loved staying at this beautiful spot in Southwest Harbor! The 'other' side of the island is the place to go for fabulous food and a small town feel. The park venues are all very close by.
This home is extremely clean, comfortable and well appointed. It makes other rentals pale in comparison.
The town is right down the street (market, restaurants, shops). This location is great for a stroll and is so close to the ocean. We wished we could have stayed longer. Our dog loved it too!
Barbara was so nice to us and very helpful too.
Thank you!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
New Year Round Luxury Cottage Tucked Away In Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p165969
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Haddam, CT
5

A perfect treehouse cottage!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
My husband and I stayed here while "rehabing" our future in-town home. This cottage is clean and warm with a comfortable bed that I sunk my weary bones into each night after a delightful hot shower to wash away the grime of rehab. I felt like I was entering the Keebler elves' private cookie tree house each night as I climbed up the spiral staircase to the awesome glass tiled shower and pine-ceiling bedroom. The golden yellow maple leaves that filled the bedroom windows fell off while we were there, raining down on the small private garden outside the kitchen. We enjoyed home-cooked meals with ingredients from Sawyer's Market and take-out from Chow Maine, all within walking distance. (Chow Maine even offers delicious gluten-free options, try the Pad thai!) Thank-you to Barbara, the owner, and to Paula Dunbar, our Realtor for a perfect place to stay!!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
New Year Round Luxury Cottage Tucked Away In Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p165969
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Baltimore, MD
5

Upscale accomodations in a great location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
The cottage was beautifully maintained with high end fixtures and amenities. We loved the abundant sumlight, concrete floors and artistic tile in the shower. It was the perfect size for my husband and I as we explored Mt. Desert Island. Although there were several great restaurants within walking distance, (Red Sky, Sips) my favorite dining experience was bringing home food from Beal's Lobster Pound and eating it at the bar in the cottage! Not knowing anything about the island, we were pleased to discover that our house was very centrally located, Acadia, Bar Harbor, the Sea Wall...all were within a few minute drive. Working with Barbara was wonderful, she even sent tourist information to my home prior to our vacation! We would definately recommend the cottage to friends and family and hope to return ourselves one day!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
New Year Round Luxury Cottage Tucked Away In Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p165969
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Lancaster, PA
5

Cozy, gorgeous cottage for two.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
My husband and I spent a week in this two person cottage centrally located in Southwest Harbor, Maine. Just a few short blocks to several quaint shops and fabulous restaurants. The cottage is decorated beautifully with every amenity one could want - including radiant, heated floors. We loved the newly updated kitchen and exquisite shower with 3 shower heads! This is the nicest rental property we have stayed at and the owners, Barbara and John, could not have been more helpful. They have thought of every details to make you feel well taken care of.

We hope to return to this beautiful cottage in Downeast Maine. Only a few miles from amazing hiking trails, Acadia National Park and Schoodic Penisula.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
New Year Round Luxury Cottage Tucked Away In Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p165969
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Durham, NC
5

beautiful cozy cottage, perfect location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
My husband, our doggie and I stayed in this beautiful little cottage for almost a week -- we've become huge fans of rental-by-owner venues when traveling with our dog, and this rates as one of the best appointed we have stayed in to date. The kitchen is fully equipped with very nice cookware, dish soap, dish towels and all the things that you need but don't really want to haul all the way from home. The bath and bed linens are very high quality - no poly blend here :) And the shower is amazing. The property is very well cared for in and out, and the pictures truly don't relay the full extent of this property's charm.

We used this as a home base to explore the rest of Mt Desert Island and Acadia - it was about a 20 minute drive into the heart of Acadia, although you could access less traveled parts of the park in about 7 minutes. Within *easy* (1-2 blocks) walking distance: tasty restaurants, grocery & wine stores, bakery, and an incredibly helpful bike store. Shade-tree lined neighborhood streets (with sidewalks!) surround the property, making early morning walks a pleasure.

The completely fenced in back patio area was one of our favorite things about the property - it has a charming flagstone path from the side of the house around back where it enlarges into a patio. Beautiful trees shade the area - we enjoyed an amazing dinner where we grilled local fish on the outdoor gas grill, then sat outside at the table, enjoying the evening. Our dog was a huge fan, too - we kept the side door open so that he could go in and out while we were there. He loved sleeping in the sunshine on the flagstone patio.

Only two things that we didn't anticipate - the internet server was having problems while we were there, but the owners let us know about it up front, and were looking into having it repaired. And, our doggie was very unsure about the open spiral staircase (just fyi for other pet travelers).

The owners went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and relay information about high-yield activities and restaurants in the area. We would love to come back again, and highly recommend this property!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6