Would never rent here again
I stayed at Chick-a-dee Cottage in July 2011 for a week. The only positive was that the house was clean. The negatives were many: (1) Delores was unfriendly, both on the phone and via email before we arrived, and in person while we were there; (2) On the second day at the cottage, I asked Delores if she had a light bulb we could use in the master bedroom because the light had gone out -- she said she would change it herself and never did; (3) there was not a single comfortable chair to sit on (notice the photos, which I unfortunately didn't before choosing Chick-a-dee); (4) despite our leaving the cottage in very good condition (we were hardly there because we spent most of our week with family who live in the area), Delores deducted $175 (!!!!) of our security deposit for cleaning -- for the life of me I can't imagine what cleaning person would charge even half that to clean this tiny cottage, particularly since it was in very good condition when we left it. In a nutshell, I would never rent this cottage again and I would advise others looking in Southeastern CT to look at the many other beautiful and comfortable homes before considering Chick-a-dee cottage.
Owner's Response: Meredith neglected to remit deposit and final payments until pressured to do so. As occupancy date was getting near, without receipt of signed rental agreement, we could not confirm reservation. A signed rental agreement is always needed to confirm. The situation never improved. We have never had any guest as disrespectful or dishonest. We weren't sure how to handle her as no one else has ever treated us this way. Mededith's mother Nancy walked through our cottage before Meredith confirmed intent to reserve. Nancy said that she was confident that Meridith and her three children would be comfortable and thought that the cottage was just what she was looking for. I don't see how the furnishings could have been a surprise. I don't understand about replacement of the light bulb. It would have required a ladder and I was more than willing to replace it. When notified of the burned out light bulb I was at the front door of the cottage giving Meredith a beach pass while she stood there wrapped in nothing but a towel. I wasn't sure it was a good time to change a light bulb. I know I wouldn't have been comfortable changing it at that time. I told her that if she let me know when she would be leaving for a few minutes I would come over to change it. We never heard another word. There are several other ceiling lights and a table lamp in that bedroom so we thought that she decided that is was no big deal. We always go out of our way to be helpful and freindly. That was the first and only time I saw Meredith. When Meredith's mother Nancy, who lives in Niantic, came over to look at the cottage I asked why her daughter would want to come to Old Saybrook , a 35 minute drive, and be so far away from her. She stated that no other cottage that her daughter had seen was clean enough or to her standards. We took this as a good sign. So much for what we thought. The cottage was left a mess. She didn't even try to clean up before she left. My husband and I were cleaning for four hours to bring the cottage back to the condition that is was in when Meredith checked in. We don't want to have an addtitional fee for cleaning for the few that won't try. Most guests at least make an attempt. We never just flip over from one guest to another hoping that everyone cleans up. All guests expect and deserve to find a clean living space when they check-in
Helpful votes: 8/9
Did you find this review helpful?