Old Saybrook cottage rental - Chick-A-Dee cottage
Chick-A-Dee cottage
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Old Saybrook Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Sleeps 2-6 (3, 2, or 1 bedroom option). Cottage is set up to accommodate ALL.

Relax and enjoy the sea breezes at our cottage located in a quiet shoreline neighborhood setting with easy access to beaches, boating, restaurants, and shopping. Luxury and comfort combine for the perfect getaway. Enjoy a day in the sand at our private association beaches or travel less than three minutes to sun, swim, walk, or just relax and watch a sunset at two beautiful in-town beach locations.

Boating your pleasure? Bring along your canoe or kayak and launch at our private association ramp and explore our many rivers, creeks, estuaries, and shoreline water areas.

Let's shop! Take a leisurely walk through Essex Center where small enchanting shops abound, located on the Connecticut River less than five minutes away. Outlet shopping is also available within five miles, as well as other local specialty and antique shops where you can hunt for treasures.

With plenty of room to take long walks, run, or bike the possibilities are endless. So come and have fun and enjoy our little part of paradise.

Our cottage has three bedrooms. Cottage can be split into two individual units. Front Section ($130-$216/nt-$700-$1302/wk) has two bedrooms; (1) queen, (1) two twins, and (1) full bath. Back Section ($123-$188/nt-$651-$1106/wk) has one bedroom; (1) queen, and (1) full bath. Each has full kitchen (granite counter tops), living room, dining room, separate driveway for parking, and private patio. Whole cottage ($243-$394/nt-$1351-$2408/wk).

Call for pricing and availability.

More Details
Hide Details

7 Reviews of Property 165850 in Old Saybrook, Connecticut

Cozy Year-Round Beach Cottage / Indian Town Beaches
average rating of 4.571429 based on 7 reviews
business
Cozy Year-Round Beach Cottage / Indian Town Beaches
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p165850
+1 860 388-3158
Old Saybrook Connecticut Shore
Norway
5

Super nice...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Again my stay at the cottage was wonderful. Clean and ready for my arrival. Looking fwd to my next stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Cozy Year-Round Beach Cottage / Indian Town Beaches
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p165850
+1 860 388-3158
Old Saybrook Connecticut Shore
Rochester NY
5

Perfect For Attending Wedding

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
We rented the entire cottage instead of 3 hotels rooms for a wedding that we attended. We loved the cottage. Extremely beautiful and clean with very comfortable beds. We were happy to have the whole cottage as the one bedroom side is roomier and has more space to relax than the 2 bedroom. Owners were great from beginning to end. Loved the patios and bikes, we used both a lot, bikes could use a tune up for next season. Would rent it again if we ever returned to the area without question.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Cozy Year-Round Beach Cottage / Indian Town Beaches
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p165850
+1 860 388-3158
Old Saybrook Connecticut Shore
Columbia, MD
5

Rave review for Chickadee Cottage!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
Four girlfriends and I spent three wonderful nights celebrating a "special" birthday at Chickadee Cottage in late September/early October. We rented both units of the cottage. What a pleasant surprise! Chickadee is beautifully decorated (ala southern France) and well-maintained-- a true gem! The cottage is only .5 mile or so from the beach and close to shopping, sightseeing, etc. Bikes and beach supplies available. Owners live next-door and are very attentive. Excellent resources available in cottage for restaurants, biking, shopping, anything you could possibly need!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Cozy Year-Round Beach Cottage / Indian Town Beaches
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p165850
+1 860 388-3158
Old Saybrook Connecticut Shore
Washington, DC
2

Would never rent here again

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
I stayed at Chick-a-dee Cottage in July 2011 for a week. The only positive was that the house was clean. The negatives were many: (1) Delores was unfriendly, both on the phone and via email before we arrived, and in person while we were there; (2) On the second day at the cottage, I asked Delores if she had a light bulb we could use in the master bedroom because the light had gone out -- she said she would change it herself and never did; (3) there was not a single comfortable chair to sit on (notice the photos, which I unfortunately didn't before choosing Chick-a-dee); (4) despite our leaving the cottage in very good condition (we were hardly there because we spent most of our week with family who live in the area), Delores deducted $175 (!!!!) of our security deposit for cleaning -- for the life of me I can't imagine what cleaning person would charge even half that to clean this tiny cottage, particularly since it was in very good condition when we left it. In a nutshell, I would never rent this cottage again and I would advise others looking in Southeastern CT to look at the many other beautiful and comfortable homes before considering Chick-a-dee cottage.
Owner's Response: Meredith neglected to remit deposit and final payments until pressured to do so. As occupancy date was getting near, without receipt of signed rental agreement, we could not confirm reservation. A signed rental agreement is always needed to confirm. The situation never improved. We have never had any guest as disrespectful or dishonest. We weren't sure how to handle her as no one else has ever treated us this way. Mededith's mother Nancy walked through our cottage before Meredith confirmed intent to reserve. Nancy said that she was confident that Meridith and her three children would be comfortable and thought that the cottage was just what she was looking for. I don't see how the furnishings could have been a surprise. I don't understand about replacement of the light bulb. It would have required a ladder and I was more than willing to replace it. When notified of the burned out light bulb I was at the front door of the cottage giving Meredith a beach pass while she stood there wrapped in nothing but a towel. I wasn't sure it was a good time to change a light bulb. I know I wouldn't have been comfortable changing it at that time. I told her that if she let me know when she would be leaving for a few minutes I would come over to change it. We never heard another word. There are several other ceiling lights and a table lamp in that bedroom so we thought that she decided that is was no big deal. We always go out of our way to be helpful and freindly. That was the first and only time I saw Meredith. When Meredith's mother Nancy, who lives in Niantic, came over to look at the cottage I asked why her daughter would want to come to Old Saybrook , a 35 minute drive, and be so far away from her. She stated that no other cottage that her daughter had seen was clean enough or to her standards. We took this as a good sign. So much for what we thought. The cottage was left a mess. She didn't even try to clean up before she left. My husband and I were cleaning for four hours to bring the cottage back to the condition that is was in when Meredith checked in. We don't want to have an addtitional fee for cleaning for the few that won't try. Most guests at least make an attempt. We never just flip over from one guest to another hoping that everyone cleans up. All guests expect and deserve to find a clean living space when they check-in
Helpful votes: 10/11
business
Cozy Year-Round Beach Cottage / Indian Town Beaches
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p165850
+1 860 388-3158
Old Saybrook Connecticut Shore
5

Even Prettier than the Pictures!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
We stayed in the 2BR unit for one week in the summer of 2009. The cottage is adorable, well decorated and spotlessly clean, and the owners' attention to detail was evident throughout. The owners were easy to work with and went out of their way to ensure that our stay was comfortable. Highly recommended.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Cozy Year-Round Beach Cottage / Indian Town Beaches
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p165850
+1 860 388-3158
Old Saybrook Connecticut Shore
Santa Barbara, CA
5

Fabulous spot for R&R

Fabulous spot for R&R
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
We stayed 2 nights in the back part (1BR) of the Cottage. Our hosts were very pleasant and accommodating. The period decor inside the unit was so beautiful and the complete & modern kitchen was a nice bonus. Everything was spotless! The porch and gardens were well manicured and inviting. We would stay at this property again and offer a whole-hearted recommendation for others considering staying here.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Cozy Year-Round Beach Cottage / Indian Town Beaches
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p165850
+1 860 388-3158
Old Saybrook Connecticut Shore
Cohasset, Ma
5

Relaxing Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2009
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
This house is lovely, tastefully done--owner's live next door,
extremely friendly. Working with them was great--it was
like staying at a friends house.

Old Saybrook is a great town, much to do, even off season.

The four of us had a great weekend, we''ll be back!!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6