Puako house rental - Imagine yourself relaxing here with a good book and a tall cool beverage
Imagine yourself relaxing here with a good book and a tall cool beverage
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay nights
 

Puako House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

A leisurely stroll through artistic etched glass doors welcome you into the spacious great room of Ohana Hale, one of Puako's premiere oceanfront homes. Stunning Brazilian teak hardwood floors throughout the home, combined with top-of-the-line appliances and Hawaiiana d├ęcor make this an ideal island vacation home. Plentiful oceanside sliders not only bring the sunlight and the sea breezes to you, but open up the tropical view for your pleasure. Cleverly designed to afford maximum privacy, this Puako home has three ocean side suites, each with a full bath.

Not only does this home provide a spacious, modern setting but the loving purchase of comfortable and beautiful furnishings give it a feel of home-away-from-home. The kitchen is a chef's dream with every small appliance and handy gadget a cook could need. My favorite spot is the large oceanside covered lanai, where a good book, a tall cool beverage, and the sights and sounds of the sea are all the companions one could desire. For those who must work, high-speed wireless Internet access is provided as well as a fax machine and work space, just off the kitchen. The office also has a trundle bed that is perfect for two youngsters or a single adult.

This home is managed on behalf of the owners, by Mary Fox, R(B) 2 Papayas, LLC. Mary holds an active real estate broker's license in the State of Hawaii.

Keywords: oceanfront home, 3 bedroom home, Puako home, 3 bedroom oceanfront home, beach house, beach home, Puako

More Details
Hide Details

Aloha, I am Mary Fox, R (B) and owner of 2 Papayas, LLC. I manage this wonderful Puako home on behalf of the Owners. I would love to help you and your family find the perfect home for your stay on the Big Island. I am a Puako resident, myself, so I am available to greet you upon arrival, answer any questions you may have, or attend to any concerns or requests that may arise during your stay. Until we meet in Paradise....

14 Reviews of Property 165799 in Puako, Hawaii

'Fantastic' per recent guest/3 oceanfront suites
average rating of 5.0 based on 14 reviews
business
'Fantastic' per recent guest/3 oceanfront suites
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p165799vb
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
5

Gorgeous Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Totally comfortable, beautifully decorated and very well equipped from the kitchen on down to the Tommy Bahama beach chairs!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers
business
'Fantastic' per recent guest/3 oceanfront suites
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p165799vb
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
-
5

Absolute Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
I stayed at this amazing house in Puako for a little over a week, and it was absolutely perfect. The house is enormous, and right on the shore, with turtles lazing around the rocks and the sound of waves gently crashing on the shore. The house was spotless -- clearly the owners take excellent care of the their home -- and it showed in every little detail. The beds were large and comfortable; ample bath and beach towels and clean linens. The kitchen is huge and very well equipped. The outdoor BBQ was perfect for locally caught fresh fish from Da Fish House in nearby Kawaihae Harbor. This house exceeded my expectations, and was a perfect retreat for a luxurious and relaxing week of sun and surf. I look forward to coming back and will definitely stay in this property again, and recommend it to others. You will not be disappointed. Mahalo!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Fantastic' per recent guest/3 oceanfront suites
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p165799vb
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
5

Fantastic Week 2/16 - 2/23/13

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We stayed in this wonderful house for a week with our 2 adult sons and their wives. The house was perfect for our 3 couples. Every couple had their own space, and every room had its own fabulous 180 degree view of the water. The experience was first rate, from arrival (met at the house with fresh fruit, coffee, and wine at 8:00 on a Saturday night) to the unexpected mid-week housekeeping service, to the prompt return of our damage deposit. The house was immaculate (looked just like the photos) and all of the kitchen appliances and furnishings were high quality. Covered parking was a bonus.

The only thing that could have made our stay better would have been less wind, but unfortunately no one could control that.

The lanai is absolutely wonderful for gathering to enjoy morning coffee and breakfast while looking for whales and turtles, and for watching each glorious sunset - and for all the time in between, for that matter. We saw lots of whales, turtles, and even a few dolphins without having to leave the lanai at all. If the water had been calmer, the snorkeling in front of the house would have been better. As it was, the wind made the water a bit too choppy for safe snorkeling. The waterfront is lava and coral, but sandy beaches are less than 10 minutes away. Hapuna Beach is beautiful, but the lesser-known "69s Beach" is closer and had fewer people. "69s" worked well for us, because it was also more protected from the wind.

Puako is a great little community. Not many people, but a stunning setting - quiet, but close to many activities in the area. We did an ATV trip on the Kohala coast, a helicopter tour of the island out of the Kona airport, a sunset dinner cruise out of the Waikoloa Resort on A-Bay, and a hike through the petroglyph park at Mauna Lani. We also took a short side trip to a brew pub in Waimea. In between there was plenty of time for walks and watching wildlife.

I can't say enough good things about the great communication and service we received from Mary and Robbie at 2 Papayas. They were very helpful at every step of the process, from booking through checkout. We would love to return some day. We stayed our second week in a similar house on Maui, but the level of service we received there did not compare to how we were treated in Puako. I highly recommend this property for anyone who wants a luxurious and awesome location on the Big Island.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
'Fantastic' per recent guest/3 oceanfront suites
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p165799vb
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
nevada city, california
5

You Just Can't Beat It

You Just Can't Beat It
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
While this was my first time on the big island, I have stayed at many homes on both Kauai and Maui. This home is superb. Located on a quiet street in Puako, north of Kona, you have a 180 degree view of the ocean and Maui in the distance. The home is completely up to date with lush landscaping that creates an unique sense of privacy. The house is quite large with three substantial master bedrooms,(the upstairs master has its own separate lanai), an additional office room, ample kitchen, living and dining room and a separate laundry room. The downstairs lanai extends the entire length of the house allowing us to lounge and dine there in comfort. Every space in the house is well equipped. The house is situated to allow you to walk to excellent snorkeling or just sit on the lanai and watch the whales frolic beyond the breakers or the sea turtle explore the tide pools in front of the house. It is about a five minute drive to wonderful sandy beaches and boarding opportunities. With the absence of any street traffic, you truly feel that you are living in your own paradise. As Kona is the sunny side of the big island of Hawaii, you can endlessly bask in the sun with the trade winds blowing. I look forward to my next visit to this peaceful paradise.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
'Fantastic' per recent guest/3 oceanfront suites
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p165799vb
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
Berkeley, CA
5

A little piece of heaven!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
What can I say...OMG! The house is beautiful. The views are incomparable. The whole situation of the house is just wonderful. It is located on the beach side of the one dead end street of Puako. We sat on the oceanfront lanai to watch the whales, turtles, gorgeous sunsets and more. Walk off the lanai to the beach to find tide pool creatures, swim, snorkel, kayak, turtles... Take a hike from the house to the petroglyph field. Short drive to other beaches. No need to eat out if you like to cook. Gourmet kitchen is well stocked with quality pans, knives, utensils, spices. Go to the local fish store, "da Fish House" in nearby Kawaihae to buy the freshest local fish to grill. Nearby produce stand sells papayas, mangos, giant avocados, greens. We ate every meal on the lovely huge lanai. If you are going to the Big Island, you must stay here.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
'Fantastic' per recent guest/3 oceanfront suites
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p165799vb
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
california
5

Karen

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
What a lovely week! Sitting out on the lanai and gazing across the water to watch the humpback whales breaching, I could feel my stress melt away. The house is spacious and clean, the beds comfy, and the kitchen great for cooking healthy meals. Step out on the beach to discover sea turtles and petroglyphs on the rocks, and stroll down the road to swim in the crystaline water with beautiful snorkeling. Thank you for a piece of paradise. I can't wait to return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
'Fantastic' per recent guest/3 oceanfront suites
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p165799vb
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
Berkeley, CA
5

Magical stay in paradise!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
I've stayed at the big island before in a hotel in Waikaloa, but this is where I'll be returning with my family and friends from now on! I had the opportunity to stay here with a group of friends, and our stay couldn't have been any lovelier! The house, situated on the Oceanside of Puako Beach road, has the most amazing views and access to the beautiful ocean, teeming with sea life. We whale watched without binoculars, witnessing countless whales, at least a dozen green sea turtles live at the lava lagoons just off the property, feeding and sunning themselves on the lava rock pools. At low tide, you can wade out and observe the natural tide pools, sun on the beach on lounge chairs, take a walk to observe the local petroglyphs,, snorkel... When the tide is high, we observed surfers enjoying the waves. A variety of beautiful local beaches are close by to experience a slight change of scenery if needed, but so many days we were content staying on the lanai that makes up the entirety of the back of the house. The house itself, fully furnished kitchen and three master bedroom suites (2 downstairs, 1 upstairs) , exquisitley and comfortably decorated and furnished with everything we needed for our week's stay. I can hardly wait for our return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Fantastic' per recent guest/3 oceanfront suites
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p165799vb
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
Edmond, Oklahoma and Big Island, HI
5

Puako Beachfront

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
I have stayed in Puako now for 6 years in a row; both in the summer and winter, 4 times at Wailea Bay and twice on Puako Beach Dr.. All houses have been beachfront; some a bit larger and some 1 room smaller. This house has by far the best ocean view; 180 degrees from the porch; and from each of the 3 bedrooms, which is unusual and fantastic. With foliage and flowers on the sides of the property; you feel very secluded. The property is far enough away from the public beach access that you see very few people; there is ample sandy beach in front for lounging, plus a large shade tree that is perfect for when you've had enough of the sun. My mother came with us and is 85; and just like most properties on this part of Puako, access to the water can be tricky walking thru the lava. But I think older kids and teenagers would really love this area, with the protected pools for exploring and snorkling. Having Jack in the ohana on site was nice and he was very helpful with questions about the house and the area in general. The kitchen has everything; much better equipped than the other 3 houses we have stayed in; and the beach chairs are quality. The house is really a good location; 2/3 rds of the way down Puako Beach Dr. so that it is quiet but not too close to Puniau Public beach. It is also a short walk to Mauna Lani , and the petroglyphs. I was there during the winter, and the surf outside was large on some days, which made for some excellent boogie-boarding, which I still enjoy. But the pools are protected and the kids can still enjoy the water inside without being in danger. Mary and Robbie were helpful and professional as usual. This place has made it to #1 on my list for "Beachfront on Puako Beach Dr."
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Fantastic' per recent guest/3 oceanfront suites
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p165799vb
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
Hilo,Hawaii
5

A Little Bit Of Heaven On Earth!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
The sound of the waves lapping the shore, the turtles bobbing their heads up to say aloha, the sheer feeling of peace and utter relaxation are all here in this amazing beachfront home.
In every room, island elegance and comfort happily coexist. The feeling on arrival is that one is entering a home which is well-appointed, exceptionally well- maintained, artful, and extremely welcoming. The kitchen is spacious, the bedrooms are lovely, with very comfortable beds.
A terrific snorkel beach just a short walk away, Whale watching from your bed, gorgeous sunsets from the lanai - all these features combine to create the genuine feeling of "ahhhhhh."
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Fantastic' per recent guest/3 oceanfront suites
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p165799vb
(808) 882-1366 (Hawaii, USA)
Puako Kohala Coast
Tuolumne, California/USA
5

Our Week In Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We came by this lovely residence quite by chance. We intended to stay at a resort facility, but after logging onto VRBO, this ocean side home caught our attention. So glad we changed direction! We were a group of seven, ages 28 - 82. This home offered ultimate comfort for all of us. Perched on the edge of the Pacific, the sounds of the sea lulled us to sleep each night. Sea Turtles galore, all basking on the lava beds right in front of us. Very quiet and clean. Walking trails nearby. Several beaches a short car ride away - we even chose to walk at times. Market within walking distance and a FRESH fish hut a 15 minute drive. Worth the drive! A fully equipped kitchen -- a joy to cook in!!! We prepared local fish, fresh out of the ocean and onto the BBQ. Nothing could be better than that. We are definitely returning!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2