Durango townhome rental - Welcome to Fun Central!
Welcome to Fun Central!
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights
 

Durango Townhome Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, 1 half bath, sleeps 8

Extremely sunny and cheerful new townhouse. Durango is so cool you will be glad you stayed in town! End unit with mountain views from every room. It’s a short walk (10 mins) through the historic district to get to the DSNRGG Railroad station and Main St, with its shops and restaurants. There are trail heads just 3 blocks away and a Sonic at the bottom of the trail head for a well-earned root beer float (my favorite) after your hike or bike. By the way, we take pride in operating our townhouse vacation rental as a business, not a hobby. You will receive great service! Our calendar is always up to date, and we employ a professional property manager in town, who handles all deposits and payments. If you have any issues while you are enjoying your stay, you will appreciate having someone near by!

UPDATE: WE now can accommodate 8 with our new sleeper sofa!

UPDATE: New Hi Def TV!!

If you are booking within a couple of weeks of your stay, ask about our last minute deals!!!

GREAT LOCATION, CHEERFUL SPACE: The Sunhouse is located adjacent to the historic district. It's a short stroll through the shady turn-of-century residental neighborhood to downtown, with all it's shops and restaurants. It is also a short walk to the famous Durango & Silverton Narrow Guage Railroad Station, but not so close that you are exposed to the coal smoke at night, as are some closer-in residences. There are mountain views from every room, and sun throughout the day. While the location is central, there is little road noise, as the sunhouse is located in the interior of the development, away from direct road frontage. Across the street, there is wonderful Santa Rita Park and the extensive, paved, Santa Rita Trail, which runs along the river for several miles. Hiking trails start just 3 blocks away, and are perfect for walking, trail running or mountain biking. Don't forget the Sonic Drive-In for a well deserved root beer float (my favorite!) after your exertions.

LARGE FAMILY AREA, QUIET BEDROOMS: On the main floor of the Sunhouse, you will find a spacious kitchen with breakfast bar -with eastern exposure the sun pours in every morning. The kitchen flows into the designer dining room and living room. The owner is a photographer, and there are numerous pictures of the amazing Southwest landscape throughout the house. A desk is provided for your computer needs, with high speed Internet and color printer. There is a queen sleeper sofa in the living room. On the sundeck, there is a gas grill and Adirondack chairs. It's a great place to catch the sunset every night. On the top floor, you find the master suite, with private bathroom. It's furnished with a modern king sized plaform bed and memory foam mattress-incredibly comfortable!! The second bedroom has a queen sized conventional pillow top mattress that's super plush. The third bedroom has a set of twin beds. A bathroom in the hallway serves these two bedrooms.

CONVENIENCE FEATURES & EXTRAS!: The first floor has a two car garage, as well as a washer and dryer for your convenience. THERE IS A PROTECTED, PRIVATE BACKYARD FOR THE KIDDIES. Ample extra parking is immediately adjacent to the Sunhouse for you guests and visitors. We have compiled a handy guide to the area, consisting our our own experience, and that of our guests. It lists our favorite restaurants, day hikes, excursions etc. Feel free to add your comments to the guest register, and we will incorporate your suggestions into the guide.

More Details
Hide Details

17 Reviews of Property 165655 in Durango, Colorado

Sun, Views, and Fabulous In Town Location! Make Memories Here
average rating of 4.7058825 based on 17 reviews
business
Sun, Views, and Fabulous In Town Location! Make Memories Here
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p165655
(954) 465-6122
Durango Southwestern Colorado
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
5

What a great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
I had such a nice time in Durango. Greg and Amy's home was just perfect. It was sunny and very clean with all the amenities one could possibly want. It's an end unit so it was very cozy and warm with bright sunshine streaming in from all directions. It even has a yard which most units don't have. I walked into town in under 10 minutes and didn't even need my car until we took a trip to Great Sand Dunes National Park. I even walked to the grocery store and Farmer's Market! The king bed was really comfortable and there is a washer and dryer there as well. The couch was very comfortable to sit and relax, whether reading or watching television. What else is there to say - a great place to stay and a great town to visit (with many really good restaurants to choose from)! I'll be back and will recommend their place to every one!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sun, Views, and Fabulous In Town Location! Make Memories Here
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p165655
(954) 465-6122
Durango Southwestern Colorado
5

Our Second Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This was our second stay and we enjoyed it as much as the first. Great looking exterior. And the interior had been upgraded, we even had a BBQ grill we didn't have the first time. The condo is very pleasing to the eye and all our needs were provided for. It's Close to everything in Durango. We Took several day trips to Telluride, Silverton and the surrounding mountains. Highly recommended.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Sun, Views, and Fabulous In Town Location! Make Memories Here
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p165655
(954) 465-6122
Durango Southwestern Colorado
5

Fantastic place and fantastic little town

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
I had a great stay in this property and really loved the town of Durango which is within walking distance. The place has all the conveniences you would expect from a modern property and was very well kept. I did some road and mountain biking while there, there are some great rides.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Sun, Views, and Fabulous In Town Location! Make Memories Here
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p165655
(954) 465-6122
Durango Southwestern Colorado
Santa fe new mexico
3

Rental in durango

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
The location was great,being able to walk to the park and the river with two children was great....It just wasn't as clean as I would have liked.....There was lipstick on the glasses in the cabinet.....And the dispensers were empty...I would have cleaned the glass dining table top for guests if there had been some glass cleaner.....that bottle was empty also....
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Dear Barbara,
Thanks for your input. We have always gotten great reviews in cleanliness, so I will address your issues with my cleaning staff right away!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Sun, Views, and Fabulous In Town Location! Make Memories Here
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p165655
(954) 465-6122
Durango Southwestern Colorado
Los Alamos, NM 87544
4

A Good Vacation

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 14, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We were a family of seven, spanning three generations, and the townhome felt spacious. The dining and family room were the center of activities.

The townhome location is close to the center of Durango.

The townhome was clean and every appliance worked properly.

The check out time of 10:00 AM was inconvenient. The time needed to shower, make breakfast, pack personal items, and leave the unit in good condition required an early wake up time.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Sun, Views, and Fabulous In Town Location! Make Memories Here
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p165655
(954) 465-6122
Durango Southwestern Colorado
Southwest, U.S.
5

You'll Love This Place!

You'll Love This Place!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
A beautiful home in a terrific town -- what's not to love?! We had 4 adults and one 2yr-old, and we had plenty of space! The garage held both cars, and the neighborhood was quiet and friendly! The house itself is gorgeous, and you'll want for nothing while you're there! If you're thinking about paying for 2 hotel rooms in Durango--DON'T. Stay here instead...you won't regret it!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Sun, Views, and Fabulous In Town Location! Make Memories Here
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p165655
(954) 465-6122
Durango Southwestern Colorado
Southwest, U.S.
5

You'll Love This Place!

You'll Love This Place!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
A beautiful home in a terrific town -- what's not to love! We had 4 adults and one 2yr-old, and we had plenty of space! The garage held both cars, and the neighborhood was quiet and friendly! The house itself is gorgeous, and you'll want for nothing while you're there! If you're thinking about paying for 2 hotel rooms in Durango--DON'T. Stay here instead...you won't regret it!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sun, Views, and Fabulous In Town Location! Make Memories Here
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p165655
(954) 465-6122
Durango Southwestern Colorado
Minneapolis, Minnesota
5

Excellent condo not far from the historic district

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We were here on a family vacation (6 adults and a 16 month old) and found this to be the perfect place to spend 5 nights while in Durango. The house is exactly as the pictures indicate and is only about 8 blocks from the historic district with almost anything else you need for your stay (drug store, supermarket, liquor store, etc.) not much further. It's located in what appears to be a newer development in a part of town that appeared to be inhabited by college students (since Fort Lewis College isn't far away).

The bedrooms were more than large enough for all of us and the "living" space is a little small for 7 people but none of us ever felt cramped or complained. We also had everything we needed for cooking. My 16 month old daughter really liked the curtains in the living area because it made her feel like she was entering her stage just like Johnny Carson used to do back in the day :)

We had no real issues and would gladly recommend this townhouse to anyone looking for a place in Durango.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Sun, Views, and Fabulous In Town Location! Make Memories Here
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p165655
(954) 465-6122
Durango Southwestern Colorado
Santa Fe, New Mexico
5

WYSWIG, What you see is what you get

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
This condo was exactly as advertised: clean, spacious, conveniently located near Durango's downtown amenities and filled with beautiful photos taken by the photographer owner.

The condo had everything we needed to make a nice home away from home with our two small children. It provided a great base camp from which to base our explorations of the area.

The owner was very responsive and easily contacted and helped facilitate our visit. The unit came with a guidebook composed by the owners with recommendations on activities, dining,etc. which was very helpful.

The only downside at all was that in the height of summer, the condo did get a little warm on the second floor as the temperature sensor was on the first floor, but we weren't around during the day and during the evening, the ceiling fans helped cool it down to a comfortable temperature.

In short, I would recommend the condo to anyone and would love to stay there again, next time we are in Durango.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review and comments. I'm thinking of moving the sensor, but it might have the opposite effect in the winter!
Greg Parker
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Sun, Views, and Fabulous In Town Location! Make Memories Here
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p165655
(954) 465-6122
Durango Southwestern Colorado
Los Lunas, New Mexico
4

Nice Getaway

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
My family and I stayed in the Townhouse over Christmas weekend and we were very pleased with the place. It wasn't quite as close to town as we had hoped, but definitely within walking distance if you don't mind a little hike. My mom and I walked the trail along the river, which was great! The house itself is in very good condition, great pictures on the wall. There were a few kitchen utensils we were missing, but that may have just been because we were cooking a complete Christmas meal. There were A LOT of rules to follow and consequences ($$$) if they were broken, so we were a little nervous having my 2 year old niece in the house. Luckily we didn't have any problems! It would have been more convenient to have more than one key, seeing as we had 6 people staying in the house, and we did have to call for extra pillows and toilet paper. Overall we were very happy with our stay and for the price over Christmas weekend it was very reasonable. Thank you for sharing your home with us!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice review Meghan! As to your suggestion about having another key - sounds good, and I'll take it up with my property manager. There are a few more responsibilities for our guests, especially when compared to a hotel room. It is one of our homes after all. So far (three years) we haven't had to charge anyone for anything, because all our guests, like you, have been awesome! Thanks again.
Helpful votes: 3/3