Navarre Beach house rental - The Seahorse Retreat on the Santa Rosa Sound.
The Seahorse Retreat on the Santa Rosa Sound.
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps16
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Navarre Beach House Rental Photos and Description
5 bedroom, 5 full bathrooms, 1 half bathroom, sleeps 16

4/26-29 avl.

The Seahorse Retreat is a lovely villa in a tropical setting that is perfect for family reunions or get-togethers with friends. The signature landscape features a palm court, infinity edge swimming pool, large in-ground spa, and beautiful flowering plants that overlooks a private beach, dock, and the Santa Rosa Sound. All amenities are shared with the Palm Breeze Beach House - a similar home we manage that can also be rented together or separately (see listing 182720 on VRBO and 187335 on homeaway). Each home is on 1/2 acre and enclosed by a fence for privacy.

You'll have multiple porches outfitted with comfortable furniture to relax and marvel at the brilliant sunrises and sunsets. Most every room has incredible views of the water with access to a porch.

A Home with Style...: As beautiful the home is on the outside, on the inside every room has been designed in an eclectic West Indies decor that will have you wondering if you've landed on the doorstep of Hemingway's home. The naturalist feel is intentional to connect our guests with the local wildlife and eco-tourist offerings in the area including kayaking, fishing, bird watching, beach combing, biking, or boating. And the seahorses? You'll find them inconspicuously in the decor throughout the house.

We are located on the Santa Rosa Sound 4.5 miles east of Navarre Beach - an easy, quick drive to the Gulf Beaches. We have the best of both worlds, and here's why:

-- Private white-sand beach that is perfect for kids and adults because the Sound is shallow and clear.

-- No red flag days! The emerald water of the Gulf that you see in brochures is for real - on calm days, but if you come during a week of rough surf, you'll be stuck sitting on the sand. At our beach: No rip-tides, drop-offs, rough surf, or jellyfish. Kids can build sandcastles, look for little fish, or crab and fish from our dock. Explore the Sound on a two-person kayak. You can also bring a boat or jet-skis. And...the Sound is a perfect place to try stand-up paddle boarding.

-- Yet ... easy access to Gulf for an afternoon of wave action, deep-sea fishing, biking on the Gulf Islands National Seashore, or other Gulf-based activities. Groceries and restaurants are nearby. So are Destin and Fort Walton Beach.

-- Gorgeous 18x40 infinity-edge pool overlooking Sound (pool is not heated). There is no other pool like this on Navarre Beach! Let your stress melt away in our spa (hint: it's especially relaxing under a sky full of stars!)

-- Beautiful yard with palm trees, flowering bushes, and green grass. Plenty of room to play, explore, or run around.

Our 3,300-sq.ft. home sleeps 16:

- Two spacious masters with king beds and private baths

- Seahorse room with queen bed and shared hall bath

- Kids room (sleeps 5 - one twin over twin and one twin over double bunk) and shared hall bath

- Third floor cupola (via spiral staircase) sleeps 5 (two hanging twin beds, one twin mattress) has full bath at bottom of staircase

- Terrace-level room with queen bed, private bath, access to ground-level patio and hammocks

Other amenities we offer:

- 5 1/2 gorgeous baths with upscale vanities and tile treatments

- Gourmet kitchen with new appliances and lovely granite

- Additional refrigerator on ground level if needed

- Flat screen TVs

- Extensive DVD library

- Wireless Internet

- Pack and play; booster seat; Exersaucer

- Game area with foosball table, board games, puzzles, books, and train table (including trains!) for the little guys (and girls!)

- Gas grill

- Well-stocked kitchen with extras (waffle maker, slow cooker, spice rack, heavy-duty KitchenAid mixer, food processor)

- Ceiling fans throughout

- Hammock and porch swing

- Tandem Kayak,single kayak, and life vests

- Pool toys

- 1000 sq. feet of porches and balconies with prime water views

- Ample parking for 4-5 cars

We're sure you'll agree after viewing the property photos that the home is an ideal spot for a family retreat, a reunion, or even a small wedding (up to 50 guests total; see other requirements below). This home and the one next to it, which sleeps 16, may be available for rental together and are enclosed by a fence for privacy. Both share pool, spa, beach, and dock. Please see listing number 187335 on Homeaway for more details.

But while we know this is a special place, don't take our word for it. See our online guestbook to see what vacationers have to say. To find out if this home is available for the dates you desire, see link for calendar: We update it daily.

When you rent our homes, we provide lots of local info including suggestions of places to visit/tour, restaurants we recommend, and local tips.

To see additional photos, please send us an email, and we will be happy to show many more pictures of our house, including panoramic views.

More Details
Hide Details

28 Reviews of Property 164976 in Navarre Beach, Florida

Exquisite Navarre Home on Sound, great amenities! 4/26-4/29 avl
average rating of 4.851852 based on 28 reviews
business
Exquisite Navarre Home on Sound, great amenities! 4/26-4/29 avl
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p164976
+1 6783333356
Navarre Beach Florida Panhandle
Three Hills, Alberta , Canada
5

Better than expected

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We had a great time at Navarre Home on Sound with abundance of room and very clean . The view is spectacular and it was a great blessing being so near the water. The house was beautiful and well furnished. We praise God that we had the opportunity to visit for a week .
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Exquisite Navarre Home on Sound, great amenities! 4/26-4/29 avl
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p164976
+1 6783333356
Navarre Beach Florida Panhandle
5

Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We just returned yesterday after a week in this beautiful home. All our kids and grandkids under one roof was priceless. Everything, and I mean everything, you need is here. We have rented many places and the kitchen here was stocked with any utensil you could think of. An extra refrigerator downstairs was great for all the drinks. In fact we only left twice, grocery shopping and out to eat at McGuire's Pub in Destin (which is awesome). The kids enjoyed Navarre and Destin beaches and souvenir shopping. The families that were staying in the home next door were great and the kids often swam together. The pictures of the home do not do it justice, it is even better or had a water volleyball game. We only had two questions and they were answered within hours with no problems at all. The owners were great to work with. There were four separate families and we all had out own space and the balconies overlooking the water were breathless. We would highly recommend this home for a great family vacation!
Owner's Response: Georgette,

Thank you for your complimentary review and for sharing your experience. It is gratifying to know when guests have a great time at the property!
We hope to see you again in the future!

Elizabeth
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Exquisite Navarre Home on Sound, great amenities! 4/26-4/29 avl
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p164976
+1 6783333356
Navarre Beach Florida Panhandle
Owensboro Kentucky
5

Family vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
The home was perfect for our needs with a family of 13. Enough room for everyone to find their own space. The pool and hot tub were clean and in good working order. The home owners were always just an e-mail away and returned answers to any questions or concerns we may have had. The accomodations were as described in the description of the property. Beutiful setting and view of the water. Kids old and young enjoyed the kayaking and fishing. We brought so many things that we could have left at home like beach chairs, beach toys, fishing equipment, pool toys, pack and play, just to mention a few. All in all we would recommend this property to anyone and have already done so. As soon as we recover from a week with 4 grandchildred we will probably do it again in the future.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Todd and Connie,
Thanks for your generous review - we're glad you stayed with us and hope you can come back again!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Exquisite Navarre Home on Sound, great amenities! 4/26-4/29 avl
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p164976
+1 6783333356
Navarre Beach Florida Panhandle
Houston, Texas
4

Beautiful Views and Spacious Home with Great Potential for Excellence!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
This home is very inviting, has lovely views and provided a spacious house for our party of 8. Overall, our time at Seahorse was a solid four star good experience. We have stayed before in VRBO's that were not typical rentals but second homes to the owners. It is our hope our review which we have thoughtfully considered for months will be taken as constructive.

The photos and the listing description are accurate with the exception of statement "everything you could expect in a tropical resort - only more exclusive". Guests are provided a detailed five page 32 item document of policies and procedures and are asked to act as caretaker with trash pickup, propane refills if empty, among other things. Some items seemed absurd to put into print. Obviously, the owners have had issues with many items that are detailed in the document and reinforced in emails, rental agreement, etc. We all agreed it must be terribly hard for the owners to rent their second home they lovingly built from the ground up to upwards of 18 people at a time in a 3300sft home.

The owner was responsive and the house is maintained in a good not excellent fashion. On our stay, the property was clean with the exception of the kitchen area (oven, cupboard under the sink, pantry and applicances). We cleaned up the area and notified the owner that discussing these issues with her cleaning crew would be helpful for future guests.

The owner asked us on our vacation to wait at the home for a dishwasher repairman. We thought this was presumptious to ask of vacationing families and she gave us procedures on how to operate the dishwasher in a different way. In addition, the owner was understanding when our 15 year old laid down one evening on his bed and the bed frame of an attractive iron bed broke. We were pleased the owner did not hold us repsonsible for something that looked like it had been fixed in the past.

The Stereo/TV System has detailed instructions that are quite confusing that had two grown men in fits our entire stay. This is something that should be simplified ASAP.

This property has EXCELLENT potential if an on-site managment firm is employed to take care of things to create that "tropical resort only more exclusive" ambiance that the out of state owners want to provide guests.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thank you for your thoughtful comments. We appreciate hearing from guests, and often we rely on them to let us know what works and what doesn't so we can correct things if necessary. We agree the statement on our listing, "everything you could expect in a tropical resort - only more exclusive" may not be the best description, and we have rewritten it on the site. Exclusivity perhaps implies that the property has a staff to attend to a guests' needs, which is not the case. Instead it is an upscale home in a beautiful setting, but guests are asked to treat it with respect and hopefully as they would their own home. This includes wheeling the trash to the curb, replacing propane if needed (guests are reimbursed), and following basic check-out instructions.
The information document the guest is referring to includes instructions for how to operate such items as the spa and electronics, as well as days of trash pickup, housekeeping information, where supplies are kept, etc. It is no different than many other vacation rental properties which include a notebook of info about the home. We find it is best to spell everything out so guests can refer to the information rather than feel they have to call us.
We did think we had a dishwasher problem and in trying to be proactive we notified the guest before she checked in and asked if she would be at the home at a certain time for a repairman. It ended up the repair needed was minor and the dishwasher operated fine without it. We are able to work around that if a guest is not there or does not want to be bothered.
We agree the TV/stereo was complicated, and have taken steps to make it easier. There's a balance between providing amenities such as flat-screen TVs, DVDs, outdoor speaker system and surround sound and making everything easy for anyone to operate.
We have owned several vacation properties and have used management companies twice but found that we are able to manage it better. In fact, we have received comments from guests who stayed in our property under a company and then when we managed it ourselves and felt the experience was better without the company. An on-site firm would not be practical at these properties as we do not have a guest house for a manager, and most likely it would make guests feel uncomfortable. We are hands-on with our guests, as well as our cleaners, landscapers, pool service, pest control, HVAC, etc. We also make many visits to the property throughout the year.
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Exquisite Navarre Home on Sound, great amenities! 4/26-4/29 avl
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p164976
+1 6783333356
Navarre Beach Florida Panhandle
Easton, MD
5

Delightful stay, beautiful home, knock-out views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
We rented this perfect get-away to accommodate a large group of friends and family for a long weekend while we celebrated our son's "winging" in the Pensacola area. The house is designed with ample space both inside and out for social time and also provides privacy and comfort in its well-planned layout of bedrooms and baths. We had 12 in our party and everyone was delighted with the beautiful views over the sound, the pool and hot tub, kayak, shady lawn areas and well-appointed porches. The furniture and decor are of excellent quality. This house is gem by the sea.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Exquisite Navarre Home on Sound, great amenities! 4/26-4/29 avl
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p164976
+1 6783333356
Navarre Beach Florida Panhandle
Richmond, KY, USA
5

Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Thank you so much for allowing us to stay in your beautiful home. We had 12 family members vacationing there and had ample room for everyone. We loved the pool and also the privacy of the beach with a fishing pier in our back yard! The view from the back porch was awesome!
The house was beautifully decorated, very clean and had every amenity we could possibly want. We had good communication with the owner and she was very helpful to answer any questions we had and to recommend places to visit and eat. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to make their vacation a memorable one.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Exquisite Navarre Home on Sound, great amenities! 4/26-4/29 avl
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p164976
+1 6783333356
Navarre Beach Florida Panhandle
5

Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We spent a week in August at the Seahorse retreat with our family of 17, grandparents, parents, teenagers, kids and one infant. We had a wonderful time. The sound was perfect for the little ones to play in the sand and not worry about under-tow or big waves. It was also perfect for Kayaking (we brought two of our own kayaks, but the home had two in the garage) and we did spot a few dolphin. The pool and spa were nice and the big kids enjoyed sleeping in the "tower". This was a lovely home and plenty of room for all of us. We brought our bay boat and had it docked there the entire time. Destin, Ft. Walton, and Navarre are only a few minutes up the road if you prefer the Gulf waters. We did not notice the highway noise at all, but thought the artillary sounds from the Air Force base in the evenings was neat. The Spaid's were very attentive and had new pots and pans delivered while we were there. We had some trouble with the internet access but if that is the least of your worries on vacation, then you are doing pretty well! We would definately recommend this to vacationing families.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Exquisite Navarre Home on Sound, great amenities! 4/26-4/29 avl
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p164976
+1 6783333356
Navarre Beach Florida Panhandle
Atlanta
5

loved it!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
Our family reunion...this was the perfect place for my family to unwind and reconnect. The best part was how clean the house was and I loved the flavor of the upscale beach decor! The house was large enough to sleep all of our guests and we had room to spread out and not feel on top of each other. The pool was very unique with an infinity edge and a separate hot tub. The owners were very accommodating to our needs and shared with us their favorite places to sight see and dine in the area. I would definitely come back again and next time, we will stay a little longer!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Exquisite Navarre Home on Sound, great amenities! 4/26-4/29 avl
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p164976
+1 6783333356
Navarre Beach Florida Panhandle
Texas
3

May 2011

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
House and location were great and as described EXCEPT televisions in both master bedrooms did not work the whole week we were there. Crab pot was rusted out with no rope. Sheets and towels were gross and kitchenware was flimsy and sparse.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We always try to go above and beyond to make sure all our guests enjoy the home and amenities, and this group appeared to be pleased the numerous times we communicated with them during their visit. Thus, we were surprised and disappointed to learn through this review that they didn't enjoy a five-star experience. Before guests check-in, we ask them to let us know if anything is amiss so we can address it.

Our guests did notify us of trouble they were having with two televisions, one older and one a fairly new flat-panel television. That same day, after being unable to fix the problem, we purchased two new flat-screen TVs. However, we were reassured that the non-working TVs were not an issue because there are several other televisions in the home. They explained that they were on vacation and not really watching television anyway. The new TVs were supposed to arrive in two days, but the online retailer did not deliver them as quickly as promised.

Sometimes we call in repair people to correct an issue that ends up being user education. For example, these guests notified us that our oven was not working properly. We called a GE technician who came out the next day only to tell us that nothing was wrong with the oven; the guest was simply not used to cooking on an electric range (for our part, we incurred a $79 service charge).

In regards to the comment about "gross" linens, this is a bit of an over exaggeration. It would suggest that our linens were unclean. We have a professional cleaning crew who cleans the home and washes the linens before every visit. When we find linens that have become worn, we replace them. To date, we have not had other guests make the same comment. However, we would have been happy to change them out for her if we had been made aware of the concern.

As for "sparse" kitchenware, we supply perfectly good utensils and dinnerware for 16-18 people, plus some high-end appliances for those who like to cook, such as a heavy-duty KitchenAid mixer, food processor, and blender.

The crab trap is not an amenity we provide or advertise but has been left by another guest. It is at the end of the dock and has its home in the salty sea water, which does make things rusty. A nearby Walmart sells $2 crab traps for the casual crabbing adventure.

We're glad they did enjoy everything else about the home and area!
Helpful votes: 6/7
business
Exquisite Navarre Home on Sound, great amenities! 4/26-4/29 avl
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p164976
+1 6783333356
Navarre Beach Florida Panhandle
Arlington, Texas, USA
5

Perfect Family Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We stayed here last August for a week and had the time of our lives. We had 5 children of various ages, and 6 adults. We had PLENTY of space for everyone. We enjoyed kayaking right out the back door and even saw dolphins swim near us in the sound. We had a great time in Navarre and in Ft. Walton Beach. The water park was a blast and everyone must make the trip to Seaside (the city used in the Truman Show movie) and buy cupcakes out of the airstream trailor. They were amazing. The house was beautiful, well maintained, clean, roomy, and a perfect place to have quality time with your peeps!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1