San Antonio house rental - Casa de Abuela-1923 Craftsman-style Home & Grounds
Casa de Abuela-1923 Craftsman-style Home & Grounds
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

San Antonio House Rental Photos and Description
House - 3 bedrooms/1.5 baths sleeps 6 - 8

Casa de Abuela is an authentic 1923 craftsman-style home north of downtown San Antonio in the up-and-coming Deco District. Because of its charm, it has been used as a setting for the Wounded Warrior Project and commericals. House architectural features include large wrap-around porch, high ceilings, arched windows, butler's pantry, gas fireplace, original oak floors throughout. The house has central AC/ceiling fans and is furnished with attractive, comfortable period pieces.

The grounds are large (.28 acre) and beautifully landscaped with a fenced backyard. They are perfectly suited for weddings, reunions and parties. There are multiple seating areas in both the front and back yards which accomodate large groups of people. There is also ample lawn area for eating, entertaining, etc

24 Reviews of Property 164508 in San Antonio, Texas

Historic Home w/ Lush Gardens; Military Discount
average rating of 4.4583335 based on 24 reviews
business
Historic Home w/ Lush Gardens; Military Discount
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p164508
2103430613
San Antonio Texas
Glenn Heights, TX
5

Geat for family get away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My family and I had a great time. I have three boys ages 5 month, 4 and 8. They love the backyard and the house. It's very spacious and has ahomey feel to it. We were only minutes from Sea World and the River walk. My son asked if we could live there..lol.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So glad you and your family enjoyed your time at Casa de Abuela. Looking forward to having you as our guests again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Historic Home w/ Lush Gardens; Military Discount
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p164508
2103430613
San Antonio Texas
5

Excellent for Family

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 23, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
The house was perfect for a weekend wedding accommodation for the bride's family which included her parents, siblings, and aunt and uncle. It was convenient to the location of the wedding and other attractions. The coziness and decor of the house made it easier to relax and get comfortable while we prepared for the wedding. My parent's loved the palm trees out on the back patio, which reminded them of when they first met and were engaged in Thailand. Thank you for the pleasant accommodations!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: So glad we were able to make your stay in San Antonio enjoyable.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Historic Home w/ Lush Gardens; Military Discount
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p164508
2103430613
San Antonio Texas
Evansville, Indiana
4

Great for a big family

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This is a huge house with a really nice big back yard. Grocery is minutes away. Neighborhood
seemed quite safe. The location is very close to downtown. Riverwalk, shopping, restaurants
& all of downtown San Antonio are just minutes away, yet when you are sitting in the backyard,
it seems like you are in the country. This would be a wonderful place for a big family. The rooms
are spacious and the front wrap around porch is just the place to relax. This is where we spent
our 10th wedding anniversary.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Historic Home w/ Lush Gardens; Military Discount
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p164508
2103430613
San Antonio Texas
Santa Rosa CA
5

Great House and Centrally Located

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
This review is a little late, but I stopped to stay there in the middle of a move out west to attend my son's Air Force graduation. Shirley (the owner) was very accommodation and did everything she said she would. There were no surprised. The house was in great condition and very clean. The house had plenty of kitchen items, towels and internet service. It was very nice to have a garage to park in. I've stayed at many vacation rentals and feel this one is above average. I would stay there again. The neghborhood is an older neighborhood, but felt safe. We had no problems during our 5 days there.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Historic Home w/ Lush Gardens; Military Discount
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p164508
2103430613
San Antonio Texas
5

Beautiful Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We stayed for five nights with two adults and four children between the ages of 3 and 13. The house is in a great historic neighborhood that seems to be up and coming. The house had everything we needed, tons of room, and was very close to parks, an outdoor pool, downtown attractions, groceries, and restaurants. We went to Sea World, the Alamo and riverwalk, El Mercado, and took a trolley tour and, on the last night of our vacation, we asked the big kids what their favorite thing was about the San Antonio trip. They all said, "THE HOUSE!"

It's so much better than staying in two hotel rooms--we were able to drive to all of the things we wanted to see and do and then get away from it all at the end of the day by returning to a beautiful home and yard. The adults enjoyed a glass of wine on the porch in the evenings, the beds were very comfortable, and there were plenty of towels, sheets, dishes, and utensils. Bring a cord for your laptop to plug into the modem.

Other reviewers have noted that there is a small cottage in the back that comes with the rental--the property manager lives in the cottage now, so it is not used by guests anymore.

We loved our stay and would definitely recommend "Grandma's House" to anyone looking for a vacation rental in San Antonio!
Owner's Response: So glad you had a great stay. Thanks for the wonderful feedback.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Historic Home w/ Lush Gardens; Military Discount
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p164508
2103430613
San Antonio Texas
Las Vegas NV
5

Gramma's house ROCKS!

Gramma's house ROCKS!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
We spent a week with my 3 adult children, my son's girlfriend, son in law, ex-wife and young son, my brother and a family friend and had an absolute blast. Indeed, the front porch is great for people watching, the back yard offered room for BBQ, picture taking, great conversation for my extended family and our guests. The servants quarters accommodated my ex and her son perfectly as the boy really enjoyed the loft. Halloween night was exceptionally fun with all the visitors. There have been reviews that the neighborhood is "sketchy." It’s just an older neighborhood that doesn't have a HOA dictating everything. It just has... character. Enjoy... we surely did.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Historic Home w/ Lush Gardens; Military Discount
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p164508
2103430613
San Antonio Texas
Bastrop, TX
5

Awesome vacation experience!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We spent three nights at Casa de Abuela...June 19-22, 2011, and couldn't have asked for a more charming place to stay. The house and cottage easily slept 4 adults and 7 children and provided plenty of space for all. We also liked the fact that we could take our small dogs, who investigated the back yard thoroughly, and enjoyed time on the front porch also.

I think the four adults liked the front porch more than anything...we spent every morning out there enjoying our coffee and watching the neighborhood wake up. The kids loved seeing the various birds that visited, and liked taking the dogs for a walk on Mulberry St.

This was a trip with our son's family, so it was grandparent/grandkids time, and we spent most of it away from the house. My daughter-in-law and I both wished that we had booked an extra day just to enjoy the house.

Thank you so much for an excellent place to stay! When we need a lot of space again, we'll definitely be back!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Historic Home w/ Lush Gardens; Military Discount
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p164508
2103430613
San Antonio Texas
Smyrna, TN
5

PERFECT FOR LACKLAND BMT GRADUATION

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
My son graduated BMT at the end of April & this was THE perfect location for friends/family. He enjoyed the comfort of a home so much! It was a true pleasure dealing with the owner, I couldn't imagine having a better experience. The house was wonderful!! It was equipped with everything we could possibly want. We grilled steaks and cooked in another night, and had everything we needed. We brought my son's dog as a surprise, & she was very happy in the large yard. I will address older reviews: we had no complaints and there were no bugs at all. Also, after dealing with Shirley, I can't believe anybody would have an issue with her, she is fair and straight up. It is a very old home, but that only adds to the character. The neighborhood was sketchy, but we were greeted by many of the neighbors & felt safe. We had a great time at Grandma's House & would recommend it for any large group. It is not a hotel, so know what you want before you rent a home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for all the wonderful feedback. I'll look forward to having you as my guests again.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Historic Home w/ Lush Gardens; Military Discount
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p164508
2103430613
San Antonio Texas
Topeka, Kansas
5

Perfect Location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
This house is wonderful, very well maintained and spotless! The sheets were the highest thread count I have ever slept on, and they were ALL of that quality. We could have used more towels, and I was tempted to buy some wine glasses to donate...not many pots and pans to choose from, but we got by. I have to also say that I did not see one insect the entire time we were there, I feel compelled to include this in view of one of the very critical reviews from the past several months. I also found the owner to be extremely welcoming, especially in her pet policy, as we did have a last minute request in this regard. Thank you so much, we will stay with you again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review. I'm so glad you enjoyed all the wonderful things that I love about Casa de Abuela. And I just went out and bought some new wine glasses!
business
Historic Home w/ Lush Gardens; Military Discount
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p164508
2103430613
San Antonio Texas
Beaumont, California
5

Worked Great

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
This house was just perfect. It had all we needed for the weekend. Tons of room for me and my kids.Yard was large enough to be outside and enjoy it. Everyone had a bed and there own space. I would come back again if it was available.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1