Athens - Sleepy Hollow Lake house rental - Living room with fire place deck BBQ lake view
Living room with fire place deck BBQ lake view
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Athens - Sleepy Hollow Lake House Rental Photos and Description
4 1/2 bedrooms, 2.5 baths, 2 living rooms, sleeps 10

Lovely, comfortable, updated, lakefront home located in a peaceful private lake community in the heart of the Catskill mountains. Two hours north of NYC.. A 2 min. drive to river front restaurants, grocery, farmer's market and ice cream shops. Two decks and a stone patio with comfortable seating overlooking the lake. Stone patio is 30% covered, ideal for rainy days. Stone wall and fireplace in living room. Home has two gas fireplaces. Master bedroom with private bathroom. Central air and each bedroom has individual air conditioned and heat.. The property is located 1 mile from a Hudson River boat launch and hiking trails. 15 minutes away from the famous antiquing area of Warren st. in Hudson. Caves, water parks. Renters can use 5 kayaks, fishing canoe and wireless internet, two swimming pools,4 tennis courts, bocce ball, white sand beach free of charge. Home is equipped with cable TV, wireless Internet, , classic crocquet, foosbal table +.

31 Reviews of Property 164443 in Athens - Sleepy Hollow Lake, New York

Lake front chalet among trees pvt 5 kayaks, fishing canoe WIFI,fire pit, swing.
average rating of 4.709677 based on 31 reviews
business
Lake front chalet among trees pvt 5 kayaks, fishing canoe WIFI,fire pit, swing.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p164443
+1 973 6329014
Athens - Sleepy Hollow Lake Catskills
5

Best location anyone can expect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
I've been to many vacation homes, and this place is far one of the best place we've enjoyed so far. Don't expect any luxurious amenities (and we didn't), however, the location is what makes it perfect. It's literally 1 minute walk away from the lake, and the owner, Aldo, lets you use his kayaks. The lake is close enough that we went out to the lake everyday, and between every meal. If the weather is nice, you can barbecue right outside, which has a lake view to enjoy. There is a fire pit outside for those who must have a camp-fire. If you plan to spend time inside the vacation home for the duration of your trip, this is not a place for you. But if you like outdoor activities, I definitely recommend this place. I look forward to staying at this vacation home in the future.
business
Lake front chalet among trees pvt 5 kayaks, fishing canoe WIFI,fire pit, swing.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p164443
+1 973 6329014
Athens - Sleepy Hollow Lake Catskills
4

Wonderful Family Vacation

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My family really enjoyed our time at Sleepy Hollow Lake. The house was a perfect size and layout for us. The 3 bedrooms upstairs are laid out in such a way that my wife and I were across the living room from my son, daughter-in-law and baby. My daughter was downstairs in her own room.

The house was very clean. The amenities deck, grill, kayaks, view, fire pit, and patio were all perfect. The beach and pool are was easy to get to, clean and enjoyable.

Our only criticisms concerned the beds. The mattress in the master bedroom had a cover on it that made noise when you layed on it or turned over. The bed in the back second bedroom was quite short and small.

Aldo is a pleasure to work with. He was always responsive regardless of how many questions I asked. We would definitely return to this house in the future.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your nice review.
For the next season we will remove the mattress cover and we will buy a new bed for the small room.

Aldo
business
Lake front chalet among trees pvt 5 kayaks, fishing canoe WIFI,fire pit, swing.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p164443
+1 973 6329014
Athens - Sleepy Hollow Lake Catskills
5

Relaxing week

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had one of the most relaxing vacation weeks i can remember. The house was perfect for lounging around, inside or out, and the kayaks we perfect for a quick little trip. The beach was only a few minutes away and was never too crowded.

The house was clean and the AC was fantastic. very happy with it.

I can also attest to the comments about the fireflys. it was simply amazing. i was expecting a few here and there, and that would have been cool, but the trees looked like they were decorated with blinking Christmas lights every night. it was awesome.

We took a day trip to the Howe caverns one day, which was fantastic, and played 18 holes at a local course that was really cheap.
We have already recommended this house to some of our friends.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your nice review. I am glad you enjoy your time at the lake house.
business
Lake front chalet among trees pvt 5 kayaks, fishing canoe WIFI,fire pit, swing.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p164443
+1 973 6329014
Athens - Sleepy Hollow Lake Catskills
5

Great weekend retreat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Aldo's house is wonderful for a weekend away. We stayed there with three families, including children of various ages. The kids loved the freedom of being able to take the kayaks out on the lake and having five kayaks at once was a huge plus. The weather was very cold to start with, but the house is cosy and has everything you need including lots of space. The kids hung out downstairs playing fuszball and card games while we had the upstairs. When the weather improved, the large deck and BBQ were a hit. We made a side trip to Howe's Cavern which was great when teh weather was lousy. Would recommend Aldo's house to anyone looking for a relaxing weekend with family! He also welcome's well behaved dogs which was a big plus for us!! Our golden retriever loved the lake!
business
Lake front chalet among trees pvt 5 kayaks, fishing canoe WIFI,fire pit, swing.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p164443
+1 973 6329014
Athens - Sleepy Hollow Lake Catskills
5

Great kayaks, bbq and swimming pool!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We had a very good time. We enjoyed a lot of the kayaks, the bbq and the pool. The house was great, but maybe they can improve a few things such as modernize part of the furniture...
It's easy to go from NYC (we went by car), and it is kind of paradise in the middle of the nature. We loved the back of the house with 2 levels to stay with views to the lake. I haven't ever seen such quantity of fireflies in the night, amazing!
We don't have any complaint and we highly recommend his lake house.
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to submit a review.
I am happy that you enjoyed your stay at my vacation home. The location of our house is a unique spot in Sleepy Hollow Lake surrounded by nature.
Also, I appreciate you advising me of the problem with the patio chairs.
Last week we replaced the old chairs with comfortable new chairs.
business
Lake front chalet among trees pvt 5 kayaks, fishing canoe WIFI,fire pit, swing.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p164443
+1 973 6329014
Athens - Sleepy Hollow Lake Catskills
4

Great house on a lake

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Property is exactly as advertised. Right on a lake with great backyard with canoe and fire pit. Open kitchen and dining room makes for an easy and pleasant cooking space.

The BBQ didn't really heat up - the lines were clogged so we just used cooked in the kitchen, which was fine, but I highly recommend that if you want to BBQ outside you get assurances from the owner that either a new grill has been purchased or that it has been fixed.

Overall it was a great experience and we would return.
Owner's Response: Thank you for the valid sugestion. We just purchased a new BBQ. Master Chef and new utensils for our future renters.
New egress window was added to the basement for fire safety, air exchange and to allowed day light inside the room.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lake front chalet among trees pvt 5 kayaks, fishing canoe WIFI,fire pit, swing.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p164443
+1 973 6329014
Athens - Sleepy Hollow Lake Catskills
5

Great weekend get-away for 8 friends and 2 babies!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My friends and I just got back from a restful and fun-filled weekend in Sleepy Hollow Lake. It was a much welcomed, tranquil get-away from the bustle of NYC. Let me highlight a few reasons why. Aldo (the home owner) was extremely responsive leading up to and during our stay at his home. I heard back from him within a few hours of inquiring about the availability of his home. This is a huge plus in my book as many other property owners we contacted didn’t even respond to our inquiries. My friends and I had several questions and Aldo happily and quickly provided us a great amount of detail. We exchanged several emails and calls before our stay.

The house and the area had everything we could ask for. There are 4 rooms that fit 8 adults and two infants (3 months old) comfortably. There is another small “den” in the bottom floor that had a futon which could easily served as a 5th bedroom. The house has cable TV, plenty of board games, kayaks and canoe, croquet, and a fire pit. We really enjoyed the fact the kitchen was well stocked with lots of pot/pans, plates, and serving ware. We did a fair amount of cooking that weekend and took full advantage of the grill. We also liked that there are several eating area options (large dining room area that fits 8 and outdoor deck area). The closest grocery store is Price Chopper in Catskill (20-25 minute drive). It’s huge and the staff were helpful and friendly. We did a seafood boil the last night and they were great in giving us recommendations on what to cook. There’s also a liquor store in the same strip mall and a Walmart not too far away. The wifi especially helped since some of us had spotting phone service in the area. At least we were able to send texts and do internet calls out.

There are also plenty of things to do at Sleepy Hollow Lake. A few of us took the canoe and kayaks out to the main beach and pool area (25-30 minute ride). The beach and pool area are beautiful during sunset. A definite must! For those interested in fishing, this is a great place to do so and you don’t have to venture out too far. The fish were literally jumping out of the lake in the morning (close to the shore from Aldo’s backyard). Additionally, there are a couple of us that are training for a marathon and triathlon. There weren’t many cars on the streets which made our runs easier. However, the path is pretty hilly so you will definitely get a workout.

Our only regret was that we did not book the lake house longer!
Owner's Response: Dear Noilyn,

Thank you for your nice review. My wife and I takes genuine pride in sharing our Summer home with good renters like you.
Every year we do updates in our house thanks to the feedback from each renter.
I want each renter to expect of the house the same that I will expect renting a vacation home for my family.
Hopefully we will see you again next year as per your request.

Thank you again,

Aldo and Susan
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lake front chalet among trees pvt 5 kayaks, fishing canoe WIFI,fire pit, swing.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p164443
+1 973 6329014
Athens - Sleepy Hollow Lake Catskills
5

Sleepy Hollow Lake - Great Weekend Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
The weekend of October 20, 2012, the majority of the members of Men’s Music Group took a trip to stay in a cabin on the lake. This cabin was perfect for our group. It was a beautiful, rustic home which had plenty of beds. There was also quite a bit of privacy. We took advantage of the canoes and kayaks. Every member of our group was able to enjoy the fun of going out on the lake. Even though it was late fall, the water was warm enough that we were able to go out in the water and enjoy that. This was a generally inexpensive weekend as we had access to everything we needed to pull off our retreat. It is close enough to shops and everything you could need, yet far enough away that there is very little traffic and commotion. The house that we rented provided all of the amenities needed for a great stay, and even better memories.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Lake front chalet among trees pvt 5 kayaks, fishing canoe WIFI,fire pit, swing.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p164443
+1 973 6329014
Athens - Sleepy Hollow Lake Catskills
4

Great House for a Weekend Away

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This house was exactly as described and all of the rooms and patio and view from the patio were as depicted in the pictures. We went up there with a group of 8 and very much enjoyed our stay. The house was very clean with all of the basic ammenities accounted for. There were enough kayaks and canoes for the whole group to go out on the lake, which has some beautiful scenic veiws.

The free wi-fi was an added bonus as was the tv/game console downstairs. The house was cool even mid-day. The upstairs deck and livingroom was very roomy and enjoyable. I do wish there was a tv upstairs also to enjoy and we did have trouble locating where to put the garbage so just ended up taking in with us.

I would recommend this stay to another group.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Lake front chalet among trees pvt 5 kayaks, fishing canoe WIFI,fire pit, swing.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p164443
+1 973 6329014
Athens - Sleepy Hollow Lake Catskills
3

Good but for the details

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
The location was excellent and we loved the lake and the canoes. The house worked well for us even though we had a large group. We would recommend some improvement in the details - the place needs new sheets and towels; the furniture is a little beat up and could use some repairs; and the kitchen could use a more thorough clean (it was fine to look at, but most of the dishes etc had a greasy film on them). With a few touchups the place is a real winner.
Helpful votes: 2/2