Kailua Kona house rental - Kona Onenalo from the ocean
Kona Onenalo from the ocean
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps7
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 - 14 nights
 

Kailua Kona House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 5-7)

Feel at home in our three bedroom, three bath, luxury oceanfront two story condominium residence with 2000 square feet of living area in a gated oceanfront resort of only 12 free standing residences with an oceanfront pool and spa. High open beam ceilings with two large lanais and ocean view. The main level has one bedroom and one bath, a gourmet kitchen with Koa wood cabinets, dining area, a spacious living room that opens to the lush garden view down the scenic coastline and the main lanai. The top level has two bedroom suites. The large master bedroom has a king bed, TV, looks out to the ocean and has its own separate lanai. Sleeps six. No smoking. Near beaches, golf, shops, restaurants and activities. High Speed Internet!

Located four miles south of Kailua-Kona town along Alii Drive Kona's scenic ocean drive. Kona Onenalo sits on the point of a bay with lush tropical landscaping. Right on a favorite shore diving location or walk to White Sands Beach and Jamisson's by the Sea Restaurant. Near Kahaluu Beach Park, a popular snorkeling beach, and the Kona Country Club golf course. Enjoy sightseeing, water activities or just relax on the lanai.

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

9 Reviews of Property 40565 in Kailua Kona, Hawaii

Oceanfront Home - Kona Onenalo Near White Sands Beach
average rating of 4.4444447 based on 9 reviews
business
Oceanfront Home - Kona Onenalo Near White Sands Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p40565vb
(404) 932 2387 (Georgia, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Santa Barbara, CA
5

Great week in Kona!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My family spent a week at this beautiful spot. It was perfect for our needs; plenty of space, great location, grass, on the water, perfect pool area for sunset viewing. We'd love to come again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Oceanfront Home - Kona Onenalo Near White Sands Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p40565vb
(404) 932 2387 (Georgia, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Redondo Beach, CA
5

Guestbook Comment

In a word, AWESOME! this place offers the best of everything with a nice partial view of the water and a view of the greenery with the utmost privacy ...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2007
  • Stayed: Nov 2007
In a word, AWESOME! this place offers the best of everything with a nice partial view of the water and a view of the greenery with the utmost privacy that anyplace can offer. My Family stayed here during October 2007 and we felt right at home and there is much available at this property (bikes, boggie boards, internet, cable tv and more), The swimming pool is priceless and the location is the best being located so close to so much, I cant wait to book my next stay here again, if you are looking to go on a relaxing vacation with your family then this is the place to stay. The Owner is hands on and easily available through email if and when needed.
Helpful votes: 18/19
business
Oceanfront Home - Kona Onenalo Near White Sands Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p40565vb
(404) 932 2387 (Georgia, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Alberta, Canada
4

Great place for families.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This rental was in a great location, in a gated complex. The listing description and photos were very accurate in fact I didn't think the photos did the grounds or the pool justice. It was a comfortable home for a family to spread out and relax. The house was well supplied with boogie boards, bikes, beach towels, mats,snorkelling equipment, sand toys, beach chairs, even a couple of surf boards for our use. We snorkelled right off the rocks in front of the property daily.The kitchen was well outfitted and we
cooked meals in every night. The close proximity to several beaches, as well as markets and
grocery shopping, made it easy for people to do there own thing.
The owner was very punctual in answering e-mail and any questions we had. His directions and explanation of the workings of the house were clear and easy to follow, we found him to be very accommodating.
For a family traveling with grandchildren or children as we were , I would defiantly recommend this property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Oceanfront Home - Kona Onenalo Near White Sands Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p40565vb
(404) 932 2387 (Georgia, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Calgary,Alberta,Canada
2

Needs serious cleaning, maintenance & gallons of paint!

Needs serious cleaning, maintenance & gallons of paint!
  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This was my 12th visit to Hawaii and definitely the worst place I have ever stayed in! The place is beyond dirty; dead bugs stuck inside fridge, on blinds. Don't move the bath mats or you will see about 6 beetles & maybe cockroaches. The floor inside the shower is sticky - use shower shoes. I actually vacuumed out the dyer as it was filled with sand( not just the lint tray).
When we arrived we put our food just purchased, still in package, from Costco on the counter- tons of ants arrived.
Right before we arrived the ceiling had collapsed into the shower on the main floor. Maintenance came to check on the leak. It's still leaking, just not as severe.
I was suprised by how filthy & rundown this place was considering all the rules set out by the owner. He's very type A. Thought it would be a good thing.
We just arrived from another house on the island ( same price), it was 10x nicer. It wasn't brand new, dated, but well maintained.
We then moved onto a condo which was less than 1/2 this price & again way nicer.
The big Island is considerably less expensive than the others islands & we really thought for the price this place would be nice. But it's a total rundown mess.
I really wish more had reviewed this property.
Maybe I should've paid more attention to the fact that there isn't many reviews & a few mentioned its dated.
I would never ever recommend staying here!
It took at least 3 attempts to get this review posted, so I am wondering if others tried also. The bad needs to be posted with the good.
Owner's Response: My home is thoroughly cleaned prior to a guest's arrival. Unfortunately the guest's issues were of their own making. The teenage daughter took long showers without using the shower curtain flooding the upstairs bathroom, causing the downstairs ceiling to fall in. The guest left the house in a mess, i.e.dirty dishes, soiled towels, unemptied trash, and crumbs on the kitchen counter.

As you can see by other reviews, the guest's criticisms are not shared by other guests.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Oceanfront Home - Kona Onenalo Near White Sands Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p40565vb
(404) 932 2387 (Georgia, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Olympia, Washington
5

Paradise for Grandparents, Parents, and Grandchildren

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Kona Onenalo turned out to be great for our family of eight. It was big enough so everyone had comfortable living space with three bathrooms and three bedrooms, but especially the common areas of the living room, kitchen, and the wonderful lanai where we ate all our at-home meals, listening to the surf breaking on the rocks in front of us. We walked to White Sands Beach each day, and it was great for kids and adults. The snorkeling right outside the gate was superb, even though getting in and out of the water was a little tricky. The sunsets from the pool area were a highlight, and the grandkids loved the pool. The owner was most accommodating on everything and responded promptly. The house is close to Pu'uhonua o Honaunau, City of Refuge, and most enjoyable, as was Greenwell Farms Coffee Plantation. Even though Volcano was a much longer drive with little ones, we're all glad we made the effort. The same is true of Hapuna Beach, which the kids enjoyed even more. We'll be back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Oceanfront Home - Kona Onenalo Near White Sands Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p40565vb
(404) 932 2387 (Georgia, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Redmond, WA
5

Wonderful stay at a very special place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We took our two boys and my mother-in-law for 12 days on the big island and had the most wonderful time. This Kona Onenalo house/condo turned out to be a great place - perfect location (just south of town), walking distance to the beach and sitting on the lanai with that view is heaven. Spacious for 5 people and you could easily do 6. There was room on the lawn for our two boys to run around a bit when we weren't at the beach and the pool was chilly but great to have just a few steps away. Kevin was very responsive and organized and Scott who does some maintenance on the property was awesome. We had an issue with the TV (salty/humid air wears them out quickly) and he had it replaced and installed in 24 hours. There's everything you need for your stay - boogie boards, surf boards, snorkel fins, coolers, beach towels, etc. I wavered between Excellent and Good ratings as the cleaning could be a bit better. The floor was pretty dirty but I know that it's REALLY hard to keep it clean with people coming in and out from the beach. Also the kitchen supplies weren't the best and the towels (more the bath towels than beach towels) need replacing. But overall these are minor and I would stay here again given the location, view, and that it has all the beach stuff that you'd normally have to rent/buy/bring. Already dreaming of our next trip! Mohalo!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Oceanfront Home - Kona Onenalo Near White Sands Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p40565vb
(404) 932 2387 (Georgia, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Chimacum, Washington / USA
5

Thanksgiving with the Family

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
The location is ideal. In less than 10 minutes we could saunter over to the Magic Sands beach and enjoy the water. It's a great beach for playing in the water.

There were five of us and the unit is spacious enough that we could all spread out to do our own thing. The deck was a wonderful place to eat and enjoy the view of the beach and the sound of the waves. We cooked several meals in the unit. The supply of pots, pans and cooking utensils was fine. We had to wash the dishes and glasses before using them but once done they were suitable for serving a nice meal.

Having a washer/dryer was a real convenience since we spent so much time in the water. We'll definitely stay here again when visiting the island of Hawaii.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Oceanfront Home - Kona Onenalo Near White Sands Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p40565vb
(404) 932 2387 (Georgia, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

perfect spot in Kona

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We could not have been happier to arrive at this beautiful "condo" (read large, open, Tahitian style house) on a lovely stretch of Ali'i Drive for our vacation in August. We shared the house with friends from Australia who were equally enchanted - and to open the glass doors to the veranda, with views to the ocean waves hitting the lava nearby, gorgeous White Sands beach in the near distance, palm trees and manicured gardens and grass all around in this unique enclave of homes ... it was perfect. High ceilings, large rooms, unique design of kitchen (where we prepared many a meal to eat on the veranda at sunset, after a swim at the beach or pool) and a generously sized living space enabled us to enjoy our vacation thoroughly. We used the cruiser bikes for the 4 mile ride into town (to shop at the farmer's market, have a local ice cream, or sample kava). And we were a short walk from a terrific snorkling area, not to mention a classic little beach. Can't beat it. Hope to be back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Oceanfront Home - Kona Onenalo Near White Sands Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p40565vb
(404) 932 2387 (Georgia, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Sunland, California
4

Kona Onenalo

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
This place was amazing, fit our family perfectly. My only criticism is some need for updating. The kitchen doesnt meet up to claims of it being gourmet, but was sufficient for sure. The location and grounds were incredible, made it great for all our family wanted to do. Ww hope to be back!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2