North Topsail Beach house rental - Front of house faces the Intercoastal Waterway
Front of house faces the Intercoastal Waterway
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps16
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

North Topsail Beach House Rental Photos and Description
6 bedrooms, 6 bathrooms. Sleeps 16 (or see prop. ID #185056 for our 12 BDRM)

Located on the north end of Topsail Island, North Topsail Beach is a barrier island with the Atlantic on one side and the Intra Coastal Waterway on the other. Our home has its' own beach on the ocean. Since North Topsail is primarily residential, the beaches are seldom crowded. In the summer, our weather is usually about 10 degrees cooler than the mainland because of those off shore breezes. Since we are only a 2 minute drive to the bridge to the mainland, grocery and other shopping and restaurants are only about a 7 minute drive. The home was custom built by the owner, who was the general contractor, in 2007. It has been elegantly and tastefully furnished and outfitted.

The views are even more breath taking from the second floor. The great room, kitchen, and dining areas were designed with an open plan to maximize the views. Similarly, the corner fire place, with a 45' flat screen TV/DVD above, is situated for viewing from anywhere in the kitchen or living area. The master king bedroom suite with custom bathroom and private balcony is on the second floor. The half bathroom is also on this floor.

The third floor has the penthouse suite with a queen size bed and full custom bathroom. From your private balcony, you can see down the beach for miles, enjoy a fabulous sunrise or sunset, or watch the sailboats transiting the intracoastal waterway.

This is a fully equipped luxury property. Come stay with us and we know you shall come back again and again.

Please visit our website for pictures and information.

More Details
Hide Details

We're Jim and Paulette McGrath. Jim was the builder and general contractor of our beautiful oceanfront duplex in 2007.

Jim built it much stronger and insulated it much better, for sound reduction and climate extremes, than building codes required.

Paulette McGrath purchased this house in 2007

Jim wanted an oceanfront house ever since he was 10 years old. That was when his parents rented a house on the beach facing the Atlantic Ocean in Long Beach, NY. He fell in love with the sounds of the shore break, the cool breezes, playing in the waves and building sand castles.

About 13 years ago, Jim found Topsail Island. It wasn't as busy as Myrtle Beach or the Outer Banks. But, the quality of the uncrowded sandy beaches and caribbean-like, always changing ocean colors, caught his eye. Also, he liked that the climate was more moderate than the steamy more southern states and the average ocean temperatures were much warmer than the colder northern states.

Thankfully, it is still the same today.

21 Reviews of Property 163979 in North Topsail Beach, North Carolina

SPECIAL! $259 p/n vs. $359. NOW till 5/3/14. Oceanfront. Private beach.
average rating of 5.0 based on 21 reviews
business
SPECIAL! $259 p/n vs. $359. NOW till 5/3/14. Oceanfront. Private beach.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p163979
+1 972 271-5803
North Topsail Beach Topsail Island
5

Beautiful house, beautiful views, beautiful sand!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The pictures don't say enough about the view! My fiance and I were looking for a large house to rent for a small wedding of about 25 people, and we rolled the dice on this house having never been to NC---and we couldn't have been happier! Guests were surprised when they pulled up and we often heard gasps when they got to the top of the second floor stairs and saw the view out the glass doors/deck. It's exceptional! The bedrooms are all large enough and gave us great flexibility in being able to allocate larger bedrooms/bathrooms to larger people (his family has a penchant for being 6'2" or taller and well built, so this was a huge feature!). The dumbwaiter was also amazing, especially for the amount of groceries and other supplies that needed to come through the doors to feed 25 people for a week worth of BBQs. The house location is perfect, because it's a very close distance to groceries, a CVS, etc. It's a slightly longer distance to the local bars, but it turned out that no one ever wanted to leave the house anyway, so it was never a problem! Highly recommended! By the time we left, at least half of the group was talking about coming back next year to rent again! Thank you to Paulette for making our stay as stress-free and simple as possible. She truly is a selling feature for the house rental! If you're thinking of this house, I recommend you go for it.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
SPECIAL! $259 p/n vs. $359. NOW till 5/3/14. Oceanfront. Private beach.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p163979
+1 972 271-5803
North Topsail Beach Topsail Island
5

The Pictures Don't do this House Justice...

The Pictures Don't do this House Justice...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We were looking for a house with 6 bedrooms for friends/family to come to for a week of fun. After a LOT of research, we decided on the Sunrise side of this property. Upon initial contact with Paulette, she was wonderful to work with. She was prompt and organized with the details and the information that she forwarded to us. After initially planning the trip for a total of 15 guests at the house, Jack and I decided it would be the perfect time to get married. I immediately called and spoke with Paulette about this. She approved the use of the house for the wedding. Paulette responded to each email/phone call/question promptly and we had all documentation in the time frame that she stated to us. We only live 1 1/2 hours away from Topsail and I wanted to look at the house, before-hand, and Paulette and Jim were kind enough to give me a tour on a weekend when they were visiting. On April 11 we finally arrived at the house. When Jack walked into the house, his exact words were, "The pictures on the web don't do this house justice!" and he was REALLY right!! This house has EVERY thing you could ever want! It was like being at home, except BETTER!! The best thing was that linens were included for all 6 bedrooms! Then there is the VIEW of the ocean from the main floor!! It is truly breathtaking!! The kitchen is designed for entertaining, but homey enough to just pad around to whip something up for the family! These owners go the extra mile to make their property special for those staying in it. Each bedroom is roomy, beautifully decorated and makes you want to snuggle down and sleep a little longer. The living room/dining room is cozy with that panoramic view of the Atlantic, with access to decks and walkway to the beach. The "penthouse" bedroom has it's own private deck, with a view of the ocean and the ICW. Two of the bedrooms have private decks with ocean/ICW views also. The last two have access to the lower deck and walkway to the beach. Our beach wedding and reception at this house was PERFECT! Paulette sent out pre-arrival information with interesting things to do in the area, as well as restaraunts. These owners really care about their property AND their guests! I would (and WILL) recommend this house to friends who are looking for a place in N. Topsail. And we will look to return to celebrate our anniversary! Thank you Paulette and Jim for sharing your beautiful home with us! Our wedding was outstanding because it was held in this spectacular house!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
SPECIAL! $259 p/n vs. $359. NOW till 5/3/14. Oceanfront. Private beach.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p163979
+1 972 271-5803
North Topsail Beach Topsail Island
Frazee, Minnesota
5

Minnesotan's LOVED IT!

Minnesotan's LOVED IT!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Absolutely loved this home! Very well kept and the view was absolutely breath taking. The owners were wonderful to work with. We hope to get back there soon, this house that is definately worth the money!
IT WAS AWESOME!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
SPECIAL! $259 p/n vs. $359. NOW till 5/3/14. Oceanfront. Private beach.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p163979
+1 972 271-5803
North Topsail Beach Topsail Island
Georgia
5

One Week in the Surf and Sun

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
A delightful time...relaxing on the decks and walking and playing in the surf. Absolutely beautiful beach location---from the deck watched porpoises entertain for an entire morning. Accommodations were attractive and comfortable and the owner was so, so helpful with directions, ideas, and prompt to answer all phone inquiries. Enjoyed good food at Christopher's; Rick's Bar and Grill; Sears Landing Grill; and Bistro at Just Baked.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers
business
SPECIAL! $259 p/n vs. $359. NOW till 5/3/14. Oceanfront. Private beach.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p163979
+1 972 271-5803
North Topsail Beach Topsail Island
central Maine
5

Dreams do come true.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
Sometimes our expectations are so lofty that reality,once realized,falls short and we are disappointed.How incredibly joyous was I to find that, in this case, the reality exceeded the fantasy !This was the beach house of my dreams !
The atmosphere of this house wraps you in a welcoming sense of "coming home "-even to a new comer . This spacious ,three level-6 bedrooms ,5 1/2 bathrooms ,home has an intimate feeling, though , because of the central grandroom.Looking out through the massive windows at the magnificent Atlantic Ocean-waves rolling onto the beach-took my breath away ! A fireplace in the living room will keep you cozy if you need to take the chill off. The dining area is open and roomy and the double kitchen is amazing ! Making a meal there is a HAPPENING !
We took long walks on an almost desserted beach. We lounged in the sheltered warmth of the porch-toasting our good fortune to have stumbled upon this beautiful home by the sea.Growing up in Maine,I spend as much time as possible on our wonderful coast. I love it there. I am, however, profoundly smitten now by North Topsail and the local area.
Wanting to make every moment the most it could be-we got up before dawn our first morning in Nirvana,made a great pot of coffee and stood watching the eastern sky as the sun rose illuminating the water and revealing the dolfins surfing in the waves,just like the owners described.It was beautiful !
It is a very romantic place -you could make a movie there-oh,yeah,they did ! Nightcaps on the deck of the penthouse level, looking at a star filled sky -what a way to end the day.
This place is a dream come true ! It knocked me out. Paulette was so accomadating and available. The house was spotless. We wanted for nothing ! I can't wait to go back ! See you soon "my " beautiful beach house !
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
SPECIAL! $259 p/n vs. $359. NOW till 5/3/14. Oceanfront. Private beach.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p163979
+1 972 271-5803
North Topsail Beach Topsail Island
Warner Robins, GA, USA
5

Weekend getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
Paulette,

Thank you so much for diligently working with me last week to allow us to stay in your lovely beach home. We had a great weekend with great friends in your very spacious home. I was a big fan of the huge kitchen and we cooked dinner in it every night. The views were amazing with stunning ocean and sound views from any of the numerous decks. The fireplace kept us plenty warm in the colder nights, and the dumb waiter was a great convenience. We will look forward to another stay at your beautiful ocean home!

Shannon
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
SPECIAL! $259 p/n vs. $359. NOW till 5/3/14. Oceanfront. Private beach.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p163979
+1 972 271-5803
North Topsail Beach Topsail Island
Olathe, Kansas
5

An unforgettable week.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
In mid September my husband and I traveled from Kansas City to stay in this beautiful home. For months we had planned this week for all of our family and closest friends to share our wedding day with us. We rented both sides of the home and it fit all of us perfectly. We had people from the ages of 14 months to 84 years old. The house is amazing, every detail, every personal touch made this house unique. We cooked almost every meal at the house, we spent hours on the beach and enjoyed every moment of it. I still haven't stopped hearing about how much all of my guests enjoyed the house.

My husband and I got married on the beach right outside the house. The white sand beaches and beautiful ocean behind us made for an amazing day.

I wouldn't change a thing about this home and I can't imagine a more beautiful place to vacation again. The owners were a dream to work with, accommodating our every need and answering any questions we had. Our stay was a dream come true and absolutely unforgettable.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
SPECIAL! $259 p/n vs. $359. NOW till 5/3/14. Oceanfront. Private beach.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p163979
+1 972 271-5803
North Topsail Beach Topsail Island
Omaha, NE
5

Our best family vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 22, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
What a blessing it was to stay in Jim and Paulette's gorgeous home. This beautiful home was perfect for our family ( 7 adults, 4 children age 6 and under). From our just home from deployment son to our 15 month old grand daughter the house met our needs perfectly. The lay out of the house worked well for the various age levels and personal needs. We spent most of the time enjoying the beach, making frequent walks to the pier with it's little restaurant and cooking in the wonderfully equipped kitchen. The outside shower and hoses were a huge plus for washing off sand before entering the house. Jim and Paulette have put much thought into making the house convenient and relaxing. The house is extremely clean and they stay on top of keeping it in wonderful condition for each new set of visitors. Jim and Paulette were so easy to work with as our schedule was a moving target with our son's return from deployment. Being able to add on a few extra days was so helpful. We would absolutely recommend this lovely home with it's great access to the beach to family and friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our beach house. We hope you and your family will return for a visit in the near future.
Kindest Regards,
Paulette
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
SPECIAL! $259 p/n vs. $359. NOW till 5/3/14. Oceanfront. Private beach.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p163979
+1 972 271-5803
North Topsail Beach Topsail Island
Garrettsville, OH USA
5

Wish everyday was as perfect as a day spent here!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
This was a spectular vacation on the beach. A truly wonderful way to spend Thanksgiving. The view from the Sunrise Greatroom and main balcony is always enchanting as the ocean reflects the sun, the moon and stars, the changing tides, weather changes, etc. Fabulous accommadations: Beautiful and wellkept rooms. Luxury beds and bedding. Spacious baths. Views from every window. The calming sounds of ocean waves breaking on the shore. Fully-equiped kitchen for cooking w/bar stools for visiting as we cooked. Grilling on the deck is easy. Comfortable furniture. Wonderful fireplace as the weather cooled at night in Nov. It warms the whole living space. We were a small party but I can't wait to come again with other friends. Plenty of room and deck areas for a full house.
We enjoyed walking/running on the beach. Picking up shells and sea glass. The men fished right at ocean's edge. We walked to the pier. The neighbor's flew kites. We watched dolphins and seagulls playing. Fishing boats putting out nets. I made sure to rise early to see the most fantastic sunrises. Coffee in hand, camera by my side it became a favorite part of my day. I sat until I could see the dolphins each morning.
We came to see a couple at Camp Leguene before he ships out to Afghanistan. We were very close to the base. We had Thanksgiving dinner at the Officer's Club, but returned to Sunrise to cook a mini-dinner for leftovers the next day. We dined at Surf City, best southern seafood we've had anywhere. We did a little after-Thanksgiving shopping in nearby areas (but I wanted to be back at the beach after an hour!!!)
We definitely will try to book a time to return next year. The owner was easy to work with. They promptly returned phone calls. Although we did have to call during our stay. Everything was perfect. Thanks for a relaxing get-away after a hectic year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
SPECIAL! $259 p/n vs. $359. NOW till 5/3/14. Oceanfront. Private beach.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p163979
+1 972 271-5803
North Topsail Beach Topsail Island
nc, usa
5

Best Beach Vacation Ever

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
Having never rented a home before for vacationing I wasn't sure what to expect. Well the house was more amazing than we could ever imagine. We stayed on the Sunrise side. It was so cozy, warm, inviting, and the views so spectacular that we only left the house once to eat out and get supplies. (Plan on cooking in so you won't have to leave. The kitchen is fantastic and well equipped.) While we were out our 3.5 year old said,'When are we going back to our house on the beach? I like our house.' Our entire family had such a wonderful restful time, from the 70+ member to the 9month old and all ages in between. The beach location was awesome. It was clean, and nice and quiet. We got to watch the dolphins from the main balcony as our 3.5 year old squealed in complete and utter delight. Really, I can't say enough about the house, it's layout, the thoughtful touches, beautiful decor, warm atmosphere, and location location location. We hope to be back next year or sooner.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2