Santa Fe house rental - Front of house. Parking for 4-6 cars in the private drive leading to the home.
Front of house. Parking for 4-6 cars in the private drive leading to the home.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 - 6 nights
 

Santa Fe House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 5)

Newly renovated by award-winning Design Builder Sharon Woods! Includes a wonderful new kitchen and lovely spacious master bath with tub, shower, and separate sinks. And a new guest bathroom with walk-in shower and onyx basin sink.

Beautiful gardens in the summer with 4 outdoor-living areas where you can enjoy the wonderful New Mexico weather during the day and at night.

Authentic historic adobe built in the 1870s with a newer addition used as studio by the artist and author Judy Chicago. Located in a peaceful private compound on Canyon Road in the heart of the historic east side of Santa Fe on a one-third-acre lot. It is nestled among large trees and presents the best of traditional Santa Fe set in a tranquil one-acre natural setting.

Walk to the galleries on Canyon Road without any parking hassles, since they are right outside of your door! Drop by Geronimo, The Compound, or El Farol for lunch and dinner – only two blocks away... Or continue walking to the Plaza to complete your tour of downtown Santa Fe.

Lush gardens, three water features, large trees, beautiful stone walls and walkways are all part of the landscaping which surrounds the house. Spacious portals and patios offer access to the gardens from the living room, the bedroom suites, and the kitchen.

There are three large outdoor garden areas with chairs, chaises, and tables: the main patio off of the living room, an outdoor dining patio off of the kitchen, and a romantic private spa patio with a Hot Spring spa. And there is even an area on the grounds with a gas fire place circle where you can sit outside by a fire warming yourselves while looking up at the wonderful skies of New Mexico.

The home has been beautifully restored and sleeps five, with two bedrooms, two full bathrooms, and one main floor with a second-story sleeping loft. It has been completely redecorated and has new furnishings and artwork throughout the house, including many special antiques, Native American weavings and pottery, and southwestern pieces.

There is a king bed in the master suite, a queen bed in the guest suite, and a twin bed in the loft. All bedrooms are supplied with high quality linens, down comforters, and down pillows.

There is a large HDTV with a DVD/VCR and stereo in the living room. There are TVs with DVDs and stereos in the master and guest suites. The home is fully equipped with high-speed Internet access, including wireless networking throughout house and grounds, a laser printer, a fax/copier, and unlimited local and long-distance telephone service.

You enter the spacious living room through double French doors. This room features colored concrete floors, vigas, and a classic fireplace. The adjacent dining room is cozy and bright. Sip cocktails, read and relax on the main-garden portal listening to the rock waterfall and viewing the changing light of our beautiful New Mexico skies.

The master suite has a large king bed and vigas with three skylights enabling you to view the stars as you relax and drift off to sleep. Outside of the master suite there is a cozy sitting room and library with vigas, built-in bookshelves, a Kiva fireplace, and French doors that lead to a romantic private spa patio with a Hot Spring spa and an artistic stone water feature. The bookshelves are filled with a comprehensive library of southwestern books covering such topics as travel, maps, art, decorating, gardening, cooking, and local mysteries.

A spiral staircase rises to a bright loft with vigas, two twin beds, and views of the skyline and mountains on the east side of Santa Fe.

The guest suite features an updated bath and a spacious bedroom with a tall four-poster queen bed. French doors lead out to the dining portal and fountain area. Large windows provide beautiful views into the gardens and of the sunrise in the morning.

Cooks will love the kitchen which features tiled counter tops, vigas, and skylights. It is equipped with modern stainless appliances including a microwave. The kitchen opens out to the dining portal with a large rustic table that seats 8.

'Lovely home, great location, beautiful landscaping.'

'The landscaping was fantastic! A lovely home!' M.E.

'The house was wonderful! It exceeded our expectations. Thanks so much for the beautiful property.' K.P.

Permit #:08-00100182

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

Hi! We live and work in Austin, but come to Santa Fe as much as we can. As you can see we love Indian Market. Last year we purchased this beautiful piece which had won best of category. We hope you enjoy our home as much as we do. It is a very special place. Elisbeth and Brett Bachman

Brett Bachman, Owner purchased this house in 2004

We purchased this lovely, peaceful property on Canyon Road so that we could experience the best that the city had to offer, but also so that we could quickly reach the Ski Basin for hiking and Snowshoeing.

We love walking to the galleries and restaurants on Canyon Road in the afternoons and evenings without having to drive in our car and to find parking. And when we get back home it is so quiet and relaxing in our our house and yard, far from the hustle and bustle of Canyon Road and the Plaza.

On Friday afternoons we really enjoy walking down Canyon Road to all of the gallery openings. The Tea House is 1 block away and a perfect place for breakfast, lunch, or an afternoon tea break. And at night, you can walk to some of Santa Fe's best restaurants: Geronimo, El Farol, and The Compound which are 2 to 3 blocks away.

It's a very peaceful and private location that is just a minute or two from Canyon Road. It is beautifully renovated and has been decorated by a great designer who has worked for us for years, with beautiful art and antiques. It has an enclosed outdoor area with a hot tub and fountain which provides a wonderful place for relaxation, rejuvenation, and enjoyment of the sky, both during the day and at night. We just installed a new fire cauldron in the fire ring outside so you can enjoy the night sky as if you are around the campfire!

29 Reviews of Property 131412 in Santa Fe, New Mexico

Newly Renovated!!! Beautiful Gardens!! Lovely Canyon Road Adobe
average rating of 5.0 based on 29 reviews
business
Newly Renovated!!! Beautiful Gardens!! Lovely Canyon Road Adobe
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p131412vb
+1 (512) 431-2193 (Texas, USA)
Santa Fe New Mexico
5

Great location! Comfortable home on Canyon Road

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We had such an enjoyable and relaxing week at this Canyon Road home. A bottle of champagne awaited us upon our arrival, thoughtfully provided by the owner to welcome us. Beginning in the kitchen, we found it to well-equipped an spacious. We loved eating meals in the dining room, sitting by the warming fireplace, and walking along the neighboring roads each morning and afternoon. Spring was in the air and pretty yellow crocuses had popped open in the front yard.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
business
Newly Renovated!!! Beautiful Gardens!! Lovely Canyon Road Adobe
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p131412vb
+1 (512) 431-2193 (Texas, USA)
Santa Fe New Mexico
5

Wonderful Santa Fe Gem!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Wow. What a wonderful vacation I had in Santa Fe over the Christmas break. This home provided the PERFECT trip! I am orginally from Santa Fe and have rented homes for the past 4 years and this one takes the gold!! Definitely the best home we've stayed in. Let me paint the picture: walking up Canyon Road, cider in hand, the smell of pinon..faralitos glowing..coming home..getting a glass of champagne and sitting around the firepit with friends. Or, even better, coming home (exhausted) after skiing and getting in the hot tub--total bliss! The home is so cozy, in the best location ever (on Caynon Road, close to plaza), has a ton of space (which is hard to find in Santa Fe if you are looking to stay in town). Once you are in the house, you just want to stay in; drink wine, sit by the fire, cook. The listing is completely accurate in that the location is great, layout and amenities are true to pictures (wonderful kitchen in the heart of the home). The property was spotless and they even put a Christmas tree up for us upon our arrival! Things to enjoy: The Shed, The Compound, Santacafe. Walk Canyon Road, go hike sun mountain in the summer, head to the flea market for some shopping, invite friends over for dinner (esp if you are there in the summer; enjoy the wonderful outdoor space the home has to offer)! I am 100% renting this house, and only this house, when I come to Santa Fe every year! The owner is also wonderful to work with, a complete professional; and really thought of every detail in this home. Truly cares for it and the experience you have while staying in it!
business
Newly Renovated!!! Beautiful Gardens!! Lovely Canyon Road Adobe
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p131412vb
+1 (512) 431-2193 (Texas, USA)
Santa Fe New Mexico
5

Great escape close to everything

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This home IS as beautiful as it looks in the photos. It is a wonderfully quiet location, yet walking minutes from the amazing art galleries of Canyon Rd. Every space in the house is well planned and inviting, and we made use of it all. The amenities are top notch and for the first time in my experience, not a single thing was broken. The hot tub isn't the biggest or deepest, but all the outdoor spaces are superb. I am already trying to plan my next trip back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers
business
Newly Renovated!!! Beautiful Gardens!! Lovely Canyon Road Adobe
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p131412vb
+1 (512) 431-2193 (Texas, USA)
Santa Fe New Mexico
5

Loveliest Home Away from Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We've rented a lot of homes, but this one stands out as one of the homeiest and beautiful of the lot. It is quiet, luxurious and spacious, beautifully appointed, does not feel like a rental - the recent remodel was thoughtfully done, not over the top or over designed. The separation and flow from one side of the house to the other has a great feeling, and every space is cozy/inviting. Just a block up from the last galleries on Canyon Road, the location is great, if you want to be near them, or continue meandering downtown. Located in a compound, it has it's own outside area, feels and is private. The owners are most kind and generous, very clear and helpful. Geronimo's a couple blocks away, was delicious and special for dinner, Pangea's, downtown, had great, healthy breakfasts (long lines, though). Walking around the neighborhood off of Canyon was fun, and it was good to see Desert Son, an old time leather goods store with more unique items than the standard fare.. still on Canyon. Lovely home away from home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Newly Renovated!!! Beautiful Gardens!! Lovely Canyon Road Adobe
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p131412vb
+1 (512) 431-2193 (Texas, USA)
Santa Fe New Mexico
Los Angeles
5

Great place for a get away to Santa Fe!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This place has all the comforts of home, except better. It is an excellent mix of old, new, and comfortable. The house is well appointed inside and out and obviously loved by its owners. I would recommend this place to the most demanding of visitors. The main thing you look for in a place to spend the night is a comfortable bed, and this place has two of them, which is very rare. It is a nice walk to the center of town and there are very fine restaurants within a couple of blocks down Canyon, but the kitchen is so nice, you may want to just stay home and cook. I recommend this place completely!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Newly Renovated!!! Beautiful Gardens!! Lovely Canyon Road Adobe
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p131412vb
+1 (512) 431-2193 (Texas, USA)
Santa Fe New Mexico
Boulder, CO, USA
5

Great Location Private Oasis Luxury Accommodations and Amenities

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My partner and I enjoyed a fabulous Labor Day weekend stay at this lovely home. The location is ideally located right on Canyon Road and close to the 100's of gallery's and many fabulous Restaurants just blocks away and an easy walk to the Plaza.

The home is in a very private and quiet set off from the road. The gardens and outdoor spaces are beautifully landscaped and lovely. It is beautifully decorated and furnished throughout in a very charming and authentic Santa Fe Adobe style. Lovely outdoor fountains and a private hot tub area. We appreciated the many wonderful features of the home from the well stocked and appointed kitchen to the fabulous collection of Southwestern Art books.

The owners were very accommodating and a pleasure to interact with. This is a very special home and will provide all visitors with a very unique and authentic Santa Fe experience. I highly recommend it. A delightful find and we will be back again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Newly Renovated!!! Beautiful Gardens!! Lovely Canyon Road Adobe
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p131412vb
+1 (512) 431-2193 (Texas, USA)
Santa Fe New Mexico
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We really enjoyed our stay at this beautiful home. The photos are exactly representative of the property. Everything was very well-maintained and clean. The location is excellent. The property is surprisingly quiet and spacious given it central location. The homeowner is very helpful and straightforward.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Newly Renovated!!! Beautiful Gardens!! Lovely Canyon Road Adobe
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p131412vb
+1 (512) 431-2193 (Texas, USA)
Santa Fe New Mexico
Little Rock, AR, USA
5

Vacation getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Home was beautiful and inviting for our group of 5. Great area of town to wander to take in art galleries. Easy access to all parts of the city. Instructions for all aspects of the home (entertainment electronics, lighting, water features, heating, internet) were clear and well written. Spent much time relaxing on the gorgeously maintained grounds. Can't take a bad picture in the Santa Fe area. Great weather too! Would love to return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Newly Renovated!!! Beautiful Gardens!! Lovely Canyon Road Adobe
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p131412vb
+1 (512) 431-2193 (Texas, USA)
Santa Fe New Mexico
Little Rock, AR, USA
5

Vacation getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Home was beautiful and inviting for our group of 5. Great area of town to wander to take in art galleries. Easy access to all parts of the city. Instructions for all aspects of the home (entertainment electronics, lighting, water features, heating, internet) were clear and well written. Spent much time relaxing on the gorgeously maintained grounds. Can't take a bad picture in the Santa Fe area. Great weather too! Would love to return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Newly Renovated!!! Beautiful Gardens!! Lovely Canyon Road Adobe
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p131412vb
+1 (512) 431-2193 (Texas, USA)
Santa Fe New Mexico
Little Rock, AR, USA
5

Vacation getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Home was beautiful and inviting for our group of 5. Great area of town to wander to take in art galleries. Easy access to all parts of the city. Instructions for all aspects of the home (entertainment electronics, lighting, water features, heating, internet) were clear and well written. Spent much time relaxing on the gorgeously maintained grounds. Can't take a bad picture in the Santa Fe area. Great weather too! Would love to return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway