Ithaca house rental - Cottage in Late Summer
Cottage in Late Summer
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
 

Ithaca House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Mockingbird Cottage is settled in the middle of the Finger Lakes Region in central New York. Our beautiful home has three bedrooms, two bathrooms and sits on 1.3 acres. This house is nestled among mature trees and several meticulously maintained perennial gardens. The property has been professionally landscaped for over ten years and is gorgeous.

On the outside, this house has a fenced in back yard with a deck, Adirondack chairs and picnic table with umbrella. Eating outside on the deck in the summer is one of our favorite things to do. It’s also a great way to stay dry and watch while one of the occasional ten-minute summer storms rolls in and has it raining buckets one minute and the next not a cloud in the sky. There are extensive perennial gardens and beautiful natural stonework.

Our cottage is of moderate dimension, and though it looks small from the outside, it is rather deceiving. With eight rooms and pleasant sense of space, there are essentially three living rooms in this cottage. The first one is more cozy than spacious. The couch is a large sectional and the end chair reclines to a full lay down position. The 27-inch TV and gas fireplace are also in this room. The second living room is quite large and has sliding glass doors that go out to the deck and yard. The third living room, is the smallest of the three. It has a wood-burning fireplace, a love seat and chair. With the fireplace sitting area as the center, the downstairs also has two of the three bedrooms, a bathroom with a small shower (the upstairs bathroom is a full bath), laundry room, and separate entrance to the backyard. The downstairs feels connected, yet separate from the upstairs. In terms of space, and the way it's laid out, the cottage has a feeling of privacy for those who need it while having adequate space for a group to feel connected.

The cottage has hardwood floors, new paint and carpets, one wood-burning fireplace (with plenty of wood provided), one gas fireplace, central vacuum, washer and dryer, living room, dining room, and family room with television, DVD player and a extensive DVD library with over 300 movies. There are lots of unique built-ins throughout the house that add to its cottage-like character. The first-floor bedroom has a queen bed, built-in dresser and sliding glass doors that look out to several acres of soothing pastoral views. The entire house is beautifully furnished in Pottery Barn style and has a library of with several hundred books, including a large selection of cookbooks. Fine linens are provided, accompanied by down comforters.

The Finger Lakes Region is a beautiful area with many lakes. Our cottage is located just five miles southeast of the tip of Cayuga Lake, where you can participate in kayaking, waterskiing, sailing, power boating and water sports. Also, the cottage is about 40 minutes from Greek Peak Ski Resort, several state parks, and dozens of wineries, and just under one hour from Skaneateles Lake. For anyone considering visiting Cornell University, we are only two minutes from the Cornell Vet School, two minutes from East Hill Plaza and six minutes from Cornell’s main campus and Ithaca’s downtown Commons.

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

40 Reviews of Property 163824 in Ithaca, New York

Mockingbird Cottage, Minutes from Cayuga Lake and Cornell
average rating of 4.9 based on 40 reviews
business
Mockingbird Cottage, Minutes from Cayuga Lake and Cornell
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p163824vb
(607) 280-7453
Ithaca Cayuga Lake
Fort Lauderdale, FL
4

Cozy, cozy country house

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This house is adorable! Perfect size for our family with wonderfully comfortable beds and pillows. Nicely updated country house.The kitchen is very well stocked and the house was very clean. Beautiful view out of the back of the house, perfect place to spend with family. Very close to Cornell. I would give this house 4.5 stars but I was not given that option, only reason it's not a 5 is that the tub/shower area needs redoing which I'm sure is on the owners to do list seeing that every other detail has been tended to. We definitely would rent again. Loved it!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Mockingbird Cottage, Minutes from Cayuga Lake and Cornell
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p163824vb
(607) 280-7453
Ithaca Cayuga Lake
Baltimore, Maryland
4

Nice house in a good location

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We enjoyed The Mockingbird Cottage on our three day stay, and would stay there again if our travels take us to Ithaca again. This older home has plenty of character and space. The kitchen is well equiped for most anything we cooked, and the pots, pans and dishes are a cut above what you would find in most vacation rentals. The video and book library are extensive. We watched a movie each night we stayed there and figured out the tv and disc player easily. We had a bit of a problem with the heat but Tim came fairly quickly when we called for help. The back yard is a beautful and peaceful place to read a book in good weather. Proximity to town is good, and even closer to Cornell.
It's a bit hard to find the first time as the address is hidden by the foilage. It was a bit odd that the towels sets didn't include any washcloths, but that was just a minor inconvenience.
The information binder had plenty of info on the area, but it would be better if the cottage info was separate for those checking in and out of the cottage. I had to find the message on my email for check out procedures.
It's great that they allow dogs on occasion even though we didin't travel with ours we apppreciate places that cater to dog owners.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mockingbird Cottage, Minutes from Cayuga Lake and Cornell
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p163824vb
(607) 280-7453
Ithaca Cayuga Lake
Cape Coral
5

Great Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My family of 5 stayed for 4 nights and really enjoyed the cottage. Upon arrival the A/C was on and the house had a welcoming feel and smell. Three separate living areas made it nice when we wanted different activities but not ready for bed. Clean, comfortable and the yard and grounds were beautiful. 5 minutes from grocery store and 10 from downtown Ithaca. Great quiet neighborhood, cool kitchen and nice supply of coffee and teas, ready for cooking and relaxing. 3 nice bedrooms with comfy beds and pillows. Huge shower downstairs! Thanks for letting us share your cottage. Mark
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mockingbird Cottage, Minutes from Cayuga Lake and Cornell
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p163824vb
(607) 280-7453
Ithaca Cayuga Lake
Pawcatuck CT
5

Base Camp for Cornell Reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Three vet school classmates gathered for our 30th reunion. For years, we had been saying we should get together, and we finally did! Although it rained on Friday and Saturday, the house was a great place to catch up, drinking wine and staying in our pjs until noon! Sunday was a gorgeous day and so we enjoyed the deck and gardens. Well equipped house, very comfortable, beautiful grounds and centrally located near grocery store and campus-perfect place for a gathering.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Mockingbird Cottage, Minutes from Cayuga Lake and Cornell
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p163824vb
(607) 280-7453
Ithaca Cayuga Lake
Baltimore
5

Fabulous cottage in Ithaca

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We rented the cottage for my daughter's Ithaca College graduation. We hosted a luncheon at the house. Beautiful view of large back yard with patio and deck. People were able to move from the deck where we had drinks to the patio where we placed the food. The kitchen functions very easily for two cooks prepping the food. The owner suggested places to rent tables and chairs which worked out perfectly. Parking off a nearby side road was ample. Several of my daughter's friends told me it was their best experience of their graduation.

The cottage was clean and is very cozy. The beds are comfortable and the living room is a perfect place to hang out. The photos accurately describe the house but the back yard is more lovely than they show. The owners were very responsive when we called about things. They are also very nice. The grill was missing but was replaced by a brand new propane one in time for our party. I highly recommend this house.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Mockingbird Cottage, Minutes from Cayuga Lake and Cornell
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p163824vb
(607) 280-7453
Ithaca Cayuga Lake
Pelham, NY
5

Another Fabulous Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 31, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Sue and Tim are such amazing hosts that they moved out of their own home so that we'd have a great place to stay during Cornell graduation weekend! We'd stayed in the cottage in the past and found it delightful and far exceeding our expectations, but it was booked during the days we needed it. (Note to Cornell parents: book your graduation weekend at least two years in advance, three if possible!). So Sue and Tim offered their own home -- so beautifully decorated and with such comfortable beds that I'm scrambling to find the exact same one for our own bedroom. They really do go above and beyond for their guests. Highly recommended!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Mockingbird Cottage, Minutes from Cayuga Lake and Cornell
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p163824vb
(607) 280-7453
Ithaca Cayuga Lake
NYC
4

Comfy Cottage witha few quirks

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We loved this place, but there were a few quirks. The bottom floor was quite chillier than the rest of the house, but nothing some blankets (which were provided) couldn't fix. There were a large amount of ants in the kitchen, but if the food was off the counters, it was okay. The teas, coffees, detergents,and other touches we're wonderful. The yard was beautiful. You could hear everything in the house though, so when anyone was sleeping, you had to be very quiet. Overall, we had a nice stay.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind review and we are glad that you loved our cottage and the grounds, and found it to have all the extra touches you appreciated.

In that your review is the first we've had that didn't earn us all five stars, we wanted to take the time to respond to the concerns you did have. We are saddened to learn that you felt a chill on the lower floor. It's something that we could have addressed quickly if you had let us know while you were there. We suspect that perhaps you didn’t realize the lower floor is heated by baseboards with controls separate from the upper floor thermostats. In lieu of the extra blanket, a turn of a dial could have warmed you up, and there is the downstairs fireplace, if happened to be up for a fire). Also, we apologize for any discomfort that may have been caused by the visiting ants. That issue has been resolved, though unfortunately it’s something most rural homes must face each spring. Thanks for keeping food items away as you mentioned; it helps.

We hope that you will return to our cottage when the opportunity arises, and if you do and happen to encounter any issues, please call us and we will do our best to make things right for you. We live within short walking distance of the cottage literally 3 houses away and we wp;' and can usually respond right away. Your comfort is a priority for us and we are happy to quickly remedy any problems, such as the chill downstairs, etc., if you let us know of your needs.

Kindly Suzanne and "Timothy
business
Mockingbird Cottage, Minutes from Cayuga Lake and Cornell
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p163824vb
(607) 280-7453
Ithaca Cayuga Lake
Columbus, OH
5

Comfortable rental for a family!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This was our first time renting a home. After our stay at the Mockingbird Cottage we are hooked!

We stayed at the cottage with our two young children and my older mother while visiting our niece at Cornell. The home accommodated both age groups very well and we had plenty of space for even more people if needed. We were able to put the girls down for bed and still socialize in one of the house's 3 living rooms. Our daughters loved the circular floor plan on the first floor. (tip: if you are traveling with small children bring a gate for the top of the stairs that go down to the lower level where the other bedrooms are.) Having the option of the kitchen was a lifesaver! Our daughters are picky eaters and I have food allergies. We found the kitchen to be well equipped.(Tip2: bring a cabinet lock for under the sink.) Even though the home is older it was well decorated and comfortable. My mother commented that the home was like being a friends home. It was very clean and well decorated but not uncomfortably so. The bathrooms are small but do the job fine. My mother got a kick out of the downstairs shower! The water may be well water but is drinkable and was fine to bathe in.The wireless internet gave us a little trouble but if we just unplugged the router and then back in it worked fine. The owners were very easy to contact and were quick to respond to our concerns.

The home is as advertised, even though it is out in the country a bit(look for the privacy fence out front) it is less than 10 minutes from Cornell. Even though we were there in the winter we still enjoyed the area. One morning we saw seven deer in the backyard! We loved having dinner at AGAVA! It's just around the corner from the rental. It has locally sourced food and a Gluten- free menu! It truly was a relaxing getaway in a home away from home! We look forward to coming again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Mockingbird Cottage, Minutes from Cayuga Lake and Cornell
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p163824vb
(607) 280-7453
Ithaca Cayuga Lake
Carteret, NJ
5

Like Being Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Having rented numerous places throughout the US - this by far was the most comfortable and homey. It was very convenient for us to visit our nephew in Ithaca College. The kitchen was fully equipped and very well stocked, requiring the need to purchase very little. The number of dvd's, cd's, and books were overwhelming. The best way to describe this house is "like being at home". Owners were delightful to work with, and their recommendations are spot on. We especially loved The Antlers and Boat Yard. Will definitely be our first choice on future trips to Ithaca. Thank you for sharing your wonderful place with us.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Mockingbird Cottage, Minutes from Cayuga Lake and Cornell
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p163824vb
(607) 280-7453
Ithaca Cayuga Lake
Little Falls, NY
5

Mother of the groom

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
The leaves were at peak, the sun was shining & we enjoyed the wedding of our son. All of our destinations were easy to travel to. We had everything we needed at the cottage to make our stay comfortable. We hope to return at some point to enjoy more time relaxing and enjoying more of the Ithaca scenery!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway