Crockett house rental - The Gregory is a great home with access to a private pier on a cool lake.
The Gregory is a great home with access to a private pier on a cool lake.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps7
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Crockett House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 2 full baths, sleeps 7, two Master bedrooms.

The Gregory is a full time Vacation Rental, no owners closet or pictures of someone else family. It is used exclusively for rental purposes.

This home has private access to the lake, swim or fish off the private dock. It shares a stairway with Henry's Hideway (one of our other properties) and each has it's own 14'x20' dock as well as a fish cleaning station.

This fine home sits within 150 yards of beautiful Houston County lake near Crockett, TX. This spring fed lake has cool clean water year round and is the perfect lake to fish, boat or swim in. For all the details this well maintained home has to offer visit our web site.

***** Please See Link at Bottom of Page for our Personal Website for More Information and Photos*****

Houston County Lake is a beautiful quiet lake nestled in the woods of East Texas. We consider it one of the areas best kept secrets and think you'll agree.

We live near by and are here to help but will not hinder.

We have many antique shops and one of a kind restaurants. Just take the time to do a little virtual exploring using our website before you arrive. We are eager to help you have a great stay and work hard to keep the home in great condition.

The Home: My wife and I decided to start our Vacation Rental business in 2007. We labored and built the Gregory from scratch.

Of course my building background in Houston was helpful in assuring a well built quality home.

All our homes are built to be full time Vacation homes. You will notice many touches you would only see in expensive custom homes. We consistently receive great and positive reviews and we work hard to keep it that way. Stay with us, you'll be glad you did. Mark & Brenda Copus

More Details
Hide Details

Brenda and I were attracted to East Texas because of its natural beauty. The rolling hills, creeks and heavily forested areas reminded us of our native New England.

When we first visited Houston County Lake we were hooked. We left the hustle and bustle of Spring (Houston) and settled for the small town charm and the prospects of building a Vacation Rental Business.

We built our first home (The Gregory) in 2007. Of course my business had been a life time of owning my own construction/ remodeling company in Houston. We labored on all our homes and were able to build them for much less than market pricing. This gave us the opportunity to rent well built, clean and maintained homes for much less than most any others could.

The Gregory was followed by Awesome View and eventually Creekside. All our homes are used solely for Vacation Rentals.

I was originally born in England and was young when my folks emigrated to Canada and eventually the U.S. with 4 kids in tow. You may notice the English connection with my love of gardening, something I credit my late Mother for instilling in me.

We work hard to provide a clean, comfortable and quality home at an affordable price, we think we do quite well at providing just that! We look forward to providing the same for you, your family and friends.

As always, help is a phone call away.

Mark And Brenda Copus purchased this house in 2009

As mentioned, our love of the area stemmed from its natural beauty and the fantastic spring fed lake Crockett had to offer.

We felt the location between Houston and Dallas would afford many the opportunity of a more central meeting area that seemed to be lacking elsewhere. We also felt the proximity and short drive would attract people for short getaways as well as loner family vacations.

We attract motorcyclist that want to enjoy the twisty country roads with nice elevation changes as well as dirt bikers seeking of road experiences.

We attract, birders, hikers, fisherman, and all sorts of people….perhaps most importantly, we attract families. As parents of 5 children we most enjoy hearing of families “re-bonding” and leaving with big smiles and tales of monster fish being caught.

It’s these moments that make the job of providing homes for vacationing families so much fun.

30 Reviews of Property 163741 in Crockett, Texas

The Gregory, A Beautiful Lake Area Rental with Hot Tub and Private dock.
average rating of 4.9565215 based on 30 reviews
business
The Gregory, A Beautiful Lake Area Rental with Hot Tub and Private dock.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p163741
+1 281-468-4503
Crockett East Texas
5

Peaceful, Beautiful Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
Feb. 19-21 2010
Thank you for the wonderful accommodations. It was such a peaceful & relaxing weekend away. We love your house and can tell you put a lot of time & love into building and decorating it. The hot tub, jacuzzi & decks were great. Everything was comfortable& felt just like home but better. I hope we can return this summer to enjoy the other home and bring our daughter. Thanks again
Jessica & John D. Lufkin, Tx
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
The Gregory, A Beautiful Lake Area Rental with Hot Tub and Private dock.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p163741
+1 281-468-4503
Crockett East Texas
5

Family fun!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We really enjoyed our stay at the Gregory. The house was spacious & very comfortable. The fire pit was wonderful and the horseshoes & basketball entertaining. The kids loved the hot tub, especially since the weather was too chilly to swim in the lake. The docks are beautiful & allowed for easy access to the canoe. Our favorite experience was seeing the deer in the evening. We would definitely go back.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Gregory, A Beautiful Lake Area Rental with Hot Tub and Private dock.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p163741
+1 281-468-4503
Crockett East Texas
Dallas
5

Beautiful accomodations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We truly enjoyed spending the weekend with friends at this lovely home! We live in Dallas and our friends live in Houston, so it was a good place to meet in the middle. We experienced the Peanut Festival, where we managed to buy many things, from furniture to candles to candle and more!

Our only wish was rain gutters on the front of the house! It rained all day Saturday, sometimes very hard, and it was impossible to run from the car to the front door without a blast of cold hard rain rolling off the roof on top of your head!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the feedback. We have thought about guttering on the Gregory, unfortunately....or fortunately, we have so many trees the leaves would be a constant problem. We may try a deflector over the front porch to divert water to the side, making entry a little drier, Thanks for the heads up!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
The Gregory, A Beautiful Lake Area Rental with Hot Tub and Private dock.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p163741
+1 281-468-4503
Crockett East Texas
Dickinson texas
4

Frank pannitti

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Very nice home and amenities , we were very pleased with everything we will book again in the future
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Gregory, A Beautiful Lake Area Rental with Hot Tub and Private dock.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p163741
+1 281-468-4503
Crockett East Texas
Friendswood, Texas
5

Great get away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My family and I spent three nights at this house in Crockett at the Houston County Lake area. The house itself is very homey, clean and has everything one would need for a relaxing visit: including comfortable beds, a kitchen with all the utensils, appliances etc. necessary, great decks, hot tub,BBQ and nice landscaping. The area was quiet and well kept, and is conveniently located near the lake and also an easy drive into town. The use of the private lake dock and canoe, basketball court and horseshoes was a bonus! The owners were very accommodating to meet all of our needs and more. I highly recommend this home for a vacation and look forward to another booking soon! We truly enjoyed our visit. Thank you!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Gregory, A Beautiful Lake Area Rental with Hot Tub and Private dock.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p163741
+1 281-468-4503
Crockett East Texas
Cedar Creek, Tx
5

Good Time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Our stay at the Gregory was very enjoyable. We were very surprised that it was so quite and peaceful. No noise at all. The only problem we had is that we could not stay longer. We will definitely be back again.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Gregory, A Beautiful Lake Area Rental with Hot Tub and Private dock.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p163741
+1 281-468-4503
Crockett East Texas
The Woodlands, TX
5

Quiet, fun family time!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We really enjoyed our weekend stay at "The Gregory". The house was comfortable, cozy, clean and beautifully landscaped. Having all of the "at home" amenities of ESPN, wireless internet, washer and dryer, full kitchen helps make vacationing easier. The private access to the lake for the property was amazing and most appreciated. We thoroughly enjoyed paddling around on the canoe and Jon boat and seeing all of the lovely properties on Houston County Lake. This lake and area is truly the best kept secret.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Gregory, A Beautiful Lake Area Rental with Hot Tub and Private dock.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p163741
+1 281-468-4503
Crockett East Texas
DeSoto, Teaxas
5

PEACEFUL, SERENE, BEAUTIFUL EXPERIENCE.....

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Mrs. Brenda and Mr. Mark,
Thank you both for opening up your property to us and making us feel at home.The Gregory House is a beautiful property. Very, very clean and neat. The back yard and patio are beautiful. As well as the hot tub. We had everything we could imagine and more. The house was fabulous. The fishing was great. Thank you again. We will be return guests.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Gregory, A Beautiful Lake Area Rental with Hot Tub and Private dock.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p163741
+1 281-468-4503
Crockett East Texas
Kingwood, TX
5

Looks just like the picture!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We had a very enjoyable time staying at your property in Crockett, Tx. It was a halfway meeting place for us and friends from the Waco area. The accomodations were perfect for the 2 couples. The kitchen was amply supplied for our needs and the family room comfortable for visiting. The house was clean and up to date. The only problem we encountered was a very slow draining tub in the hall bath. The owner was contacted and gave a good, quick response even though we opted not to have someone come to fix it while we were there. We enjoyed shopping in one of the antique stores in town and had a delicious dinner at Tchops. The area where the house is located was good for taking strolls, was near enough to town,but far enough out of town to feel like we were having a "getaway". We had a great experience and would certainly consider renting this VRBO property again in the future!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Gregory, A Beautiful Lake Area Rental with Hot Tub and Private dock.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p163741
+1 281-468-4503
Crockett East Texas
5

Peaceful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Very relaxing and peaceful place. I was, at first, disappointed that it was not as isolated as I thought from the pictures. However, it was very quiet and peaceful. The home is beautiful and although no lake in view, it is close and access to the lake for swimming and fishing are very near! House is very comfortable! Hope to return again and again! Peggy & Tollie