Sigatoka house rental - Villa Lomalagi is known as the house with a Million Dollar View
Villa Lomalagi is known as the house with a Million Dollar View
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps14
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Sigatoka House Rental Photos and Description
5 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms, sleeps 12 comfortably plus crib.

Villa 'Lomalagi' (Heavenly in Fijian) as our lovely home is named, sits on top of a ridge line like a dream looking out over panoramic views of the most alluring beautiful blue South Pacific Ocean.

We are situated on the Coral Coast of the main island of Viti Levu & are only 10 mins from Sigatoka Town known as the salad bowl of Fiji & are located between two popular resorts: The 5 star Outrigger & Hideaway Resort & Spa.

This is ultimate privacy along with close & easy access to a number of resorts & some of the best diving, snorkeling and surfing spots (no boat required). Beach access is directly in front of HEAVENSDOOR|FIJI. Our vacation rental home is very affordable for large groups & can accommodate 12 or more guests. HEAVENSDOOR|FIJI is a total cultural experience & gorgeous tropical destination.

Public transport is readily available in Fiji however to enjoy all your activities at your own free will & at lower costs we recommend you rent an All Wheel Drive, SUV or 4WD. Mobile Internet Stick for Laptop & Cell Phone are available.

For more Photos & Guest Information, please visit us at heavensdoorfiji.blogspot.com

More Details
Hide Details

We would like to introduce ourselves, HD|F Fiji Vacation Rental, as a family company founded in 2006, dedicated to promoting Fiji and our Villa “Lomalagi”.

The Owner purchased this house in 2006

Over the years, we gathered the experience and excellent knowledge of Fiji, culture and tradition. We were focusing to promote an amazing Fijian experience from the beginning and Villa Lomalagi, our heavenly home, with exclusive and serene environment, was the treasure we were looking for in the most exceptional place.

More than 50 reviews by our satisfied Guests! We love Fiji and value attention to detail. It is our goal to provide our Staff with the same level of respect, loyalty and professionalism that we provide to our Guests. Our mission: Feeling, Relax flavor, Personalized attention... Our Villa 'Lomalagi' is one of the most popular in this area. We currently satisfy hundreds of guests from USA, Canada, Europe, Australia & New Zealand. We proudly accommodate the Fiji Electricity Authority. Choose us for your accommodation in Fiji and we will make your stay comfortable and unforgettable. We await you! Vinaka!

56 Reviews of Property 163045 in Sigatoka, Melanesia

HEAVENSDOOR|FIJI - Million Dollar View
average rating of 4.627451 based on 56 reviews
business
HEAVENSDOOR|FIJI - Million Dollar View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p163045
Sigatoka Viti Levu
Armidale
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Perfect pretty much sums up our stay at Heaven’sDoor. If you are a resort kind of person, then this place isn’t for you! We are a bit 'anti-resort' as we love to have the freedom to do our own thing, space to spread out, and to experience a bit of variety when we travel. Think of HDF as going to house-sit a friend's awesome house by the beach! We arrived late at night, in a 2WD and did have some issues with the driveway. Scott does indicate that you need a 4WD, and a quick call to Shanista and Jeral at Coastal Rental cars (also highly recommended) in the morning got us sorted with a 4WD quickly. In 4WD the driveway is no bother at all. The views from the house are amazing – breathtaking 180 degree views over the coral coast. There is a comfortable outdoor space to sit and relax with a drink and a book. Even when it was windy and raining the house is well protected from the elements (follow the instructions and SHUT THE WINDOWS during the storms and you will be fine – no leaking whatsoever!). We travelled with a 2.5 and a 5 year old and they simply loved it. We had our own queen bed with an ensuite and very spacious separate dressing room, and our daughters had a queen bed each in a very large room, separated by an ensuite. There was a large living room upstairs with a TV and DVD selection to keep the kids entertained (there is no TV reception but this was not an issue).

When the kids needed their fill of pizzas and pool time, we headed to a resort, but boy it was great to come back to our secluded house with the million dollar view of an afternoon. We went for a few day trips to resorts (Warwick, Hideaway and The Intercontinental - the best!!) as well as the EcoPark, a day trip to Suva, and a few trips to Islands (South Sea Island highly recommended). We shopped in Sigatoka (supermarkets and the fresh food market) as well as once in Suva, and managed to have a good supply to cook many meals ourselves – using the BBQ at HeavensDoor. We also enjoyed dining at the nearby Sunset Strip and also the Wicked Walu at the Warwick. We also had the Fijian Feast prepared (simply delicious) and also had Litia babysit our kids for a night so we could go out. If you are the type of person that prefers self catering and private accommodation, this is the place for you. HDF is a private, secluded piece of paradise with owners who are genuinely interested in their guests. We felt we got to experience a bit more of the ‘real Fiji’ staying here, and will definitely be back!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
HEAVENSDOOR|FIJI - Million Dollar View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p163045
Sigatoka Viti Levu
5

A truly special place which we will return to!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Our first view of the house was late at night and in the rain as we tackled the driveway which we were forewarned about and where the adventure definitely begins! Instructions had been left to help us settle in, including a mobile phone with free local calls to use during our stay.
Next morning we were greeted by the amazing 180 degree views over the reef fringed coast to the ocean,horses grazing the lawns and Sydney the dog saying hello! Scott and crew work tirelessly to maintain the immaculate grounds! Plenty of privacy and room to spread out. Beautiful outdoor space to sit with a drink and admire the view! Lines to hang all our wet towels and clothes after our exciting day trips!!
Scott and Cristina proved themselves wonderful hosts! Even helping find a birthday cake for our sons twenty fifth birthday!
They are very knowledgeable about their slice of Paradise but they also love learning about what their guests discover on their own adventures!The advice about activities and places of interest was invaluable and they were never intrusive. Always available by phone and happy to stay and chat if invited!
We adopted the local Kindy and had fun visiting with books, pencils etc that we had brought from home! Getting into the spirit of local customs and learning how to enjoy and respect their way of life is part of enjoying Fiji and they recognised the effort and treated us as family wherever we went!
The view from the master bedroom is exquisite! I admit I was worried about no blinds or curtains, but when in bed and all you could see and hear were the silhouettes of the palm trees and the wind and waves there was no problem sleeping or with being woken up too early!As Scott points out this is not a resort and please don’t expect resort facilities! Embrace having your own car to explore and it is a real cultural experience! You can pay a tour guide or you can take on the challenge and find the places yourself! Shop at the local fresh markets and supermarkets cheaply or visit lovely local restaurants or any of the 5 resorts close by.
It was also fun to be able to buy and let off fireworks for Dewali festival. Travellers on the road below tooted horns and we revelled in the fun of it all!
This was a holiday to remember, a slice of paradise in a stunning part of a friendly and wonderful country. Resorts were nice to visit but it was so lovely to go back to our own Million Dollar View house to sit with a drink and watch the ocean or the star filled sky!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
HEAVENSDOOR|FIJI - Million Dollar View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p163045
Sigatoka Viti Levu
5

Highly recommended for the "Real Fiji" Experience

Highly recommended for the "Real Fiji" Experience
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Our party of 9 adults and 1 child were in Fiji attending a wedding of our brother/son at one of the top resorts. We chose Heavensdoor as it would accommodate our entire family and was budget conscience. I'm so glad we did! Not only did the villa accommodate us all very comfortably, but we found that had we stayed at one of the larger resorts we would of had a very different experience, one that really would not of shown us what Fiji is really about.
Our first impression of Heavens door was the hill. Yes it is daunting, especially with a rental car packed full of adults and luggage. However, the views make it all worthwhile. We were recommended 4WD vehicles by the owners which we had booked but made it comfortably up in 2WD even with challenging weather conditions. At no time did we feel our safety was compromised.
The views at the villa are amazing, with 180deg Coral coast views. Each morning we were welcomed by sights of the locals fishing and diving, as well as the beautiful waves and gorgeous blue ocean dotted with infrequent boats.
The gardens were immaculate, and are a credit to Scott and the hard working locals he has in his staff.
Our first afternoon at the villa was "weather-challenged" with the first big storm of the season just as we were unloading our luggage. Not only did Scott try to warn us of the impending storm by the handy cell phone that comes with the propoerty but he also personally made sure by coming up the hill and letting us know the ins and outs of the property before the weather hit. We found that the property did not leak as per the bad review in May 2013, and by following the instructions of the owner by closing windows that faced the on coming weather (common sense) no water came into the house.
We found Scotts knowledge of the area of great use, and loved the fact that he was willing to have a chat about all our activities and give us some pointers.
Our Fijian feast was beautiful and tasted wonderful. Having some picky eaters in the group, no one left hungry which is testament to the great flavours and yummy fresh produce. The presentation was beautiful and it was nice to come home to a hot meal after a day of exploring.
As a whole our experience in Fiji was made so much better staying at Villa Lomagi, rather than the western resorts. We were free to experience the local markets, travel to local waterfalls, and generally see what Fiji is all about. HIghly recommended
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
HEAVENSDOOR|FIJI - Million Dollar View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p163045
Sigatoka Viti Levu
4

A very special place; definietly worth it.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Truely an Idyllic spot! We stayed for a week as part of a family reunion, and we all felt so comfortably at home there that to look back at pictures of the house on the website makes me feel like Im looking at my own home, such was the welcoming feeling.
Firstly, yes the views are breathtaking. You will struggle to find better anywhere in Fiji, and enjoying a morning coffee overlooking a 180° coastal vista from such a vantage point was truely special. The house had more than enough room for us, and enough space outside for the kids to play, plus a good selection of movies to keep them entertained when they'd run out of steam.
Our hosts Scott and Kristina found a nice balance between being there for assistance and giving us enough privacy to enjoy our surrounds in our own way, and overall were both incredibly helpful and friendly.
Note it is on steep hill (hence, the Million Dollar Views) and is 10 mins drive out of Sigatoka so definitely get yourself a rental car to give yourself more freedom.
Also the Fiji feast is highly recommended.
Looking forward to another stay.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
HEAVENSDOOR|FIJI - Million Dollar View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p163045
Sigatoka Viti Levu
USA
5

Great Experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our family of four had a wonderful experience here enjoying this part of Fiji. After our long flight we were able to completely relax here enjoying the sunsets, views and the ocean. We stayed a week and really enjoyed the area around Sigatoka, the ocean and the house. The ocean was incredible and we walked down the driveway on most days to snorkel and wade in beautiful reef area. (The drive is steep in parts and a 4WD is necessary if it rains much.) We had two young children aged 9 and 13 and they really enjoyed it here. From playing in the great yard outside, relaxing inside or walking down to the ocean they had a great time. Scott and Cristina have a great place here and were very helpful with details about the surrounding area and Fiji in general. We got to 'talk story' many times and have a few laughs. The Fijian feast was excellent that they prepared as well as all the local food from the market in Sigatoka. The house was setup perfectly and we were very comfortable here. A great place to enjoy the sunsets, views and company of friends and family.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
HEAVENSDOOR|FIJI - Million Dollar View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p163045
Sigatoka Viti Levu
4

Great Holiday

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We were a party of 11 of 4 generations and had a wonderful stay. The house and views are awesome. It worked perfectly. Scott and Christina were so friendly and helpful, couldn't have been better. Their dog Sydney was so gentle and friendly, great with the kids and he enjoyed the scraps. We had the fijian feast which was delicious and there was enough for leftovers the next day. Used the Outrigger for swimming and were welcomed there. We do recommend a 4 wheel drive as it rained one day and our van got stuck going up the drive. Great laugh for all. All in all great place to stay, magnicent views and lovely hosts. Would definetely recommend.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
HEAVENSDOOR|FIJI - Million Dollar View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p163045
Sigatoka Viti Levu
1

Fantastic views! But........

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
........a pretty bad holiday experience!

We stayed in the house during May 2013, & had two families (four adults & four kids).

I will rate this in star quality form from 1 to 5 (1 being bad & 5 being tops).

1 Star

The departure bill. The owner charges for anything & everything he deems suitable. Be very careful of this & extremely mindful of what you use, don’t use & are charged with. This experience alone soured our entire stay as we were charged well & truly above what was used. No doubt the owner will dispute this.

The house leaks like a sieve in the rain. Water pours into the kitchen, along the walkway adjacent to the dining room, & into the downstairs family room near the kid’s beds. The owner does not listen nor believe occupants who witness water flooding in through walls & ceilings. He blames the occupants.

Hot water. Runs out & could no way cater for the number of people it sleeps at any given time. You have to stagger showers & cleaning.

Privacy. Felt as though we were being watched continuously. It was unnerving to see owner walking around house or yard unannounced.

2 Stars

Fijian Feast. Costly, tasted average & looked nothing like the picture. We even had to clean up after the meal. Overpriced, not recommended. Book in at Bedarra Beach Inn restaurant down the road, as meals were half the price, fantastic service & very tasty. Our best dining experience actually.

The driveway (or Hells Path). It’s steep, long & difficult. Heavily corrugated from previous rains & turns muddy with any moisture. If hiring a car, make it a 4WD. Young children do struggle.

3 Stars

The house. Very comfortable & airy when the weather is good (leaks when wet). Nice beds, & reasonably clean. Yard is maintained well & kids loved running around trees.

Scott & Chris’s knowledge of Fijian culture & things to do during your stay. They are knowledgeable people.

4 Start Rating

The Views. But are they worth everything else that I've detailed?

Sydney the dog. The kids loved him!

5 Stars

The Fijians. They are simply lovely people.

Overall rating by me? As the owner rounded our departure bill up, I will round my rating down - 2 Stars! Loved the view but wished we’d had booked in at the Bedarra Beach Inn. Cheaper, warmer atmosphere, pool, good food & better value.

If you are looking for a true Fiji experience, than look elsewhere as this isn’t it.
Owner's Response: Firstly, it has taken sometime & many emails (more than 60 emails prior to your arrival) to come to terms with this review, caught between responding or reacting. We could not believe how disrespectful & rude you were to myself & my wife.
You were happy to use every bit of our knowledge including the Fijian people who you abused their hospitality & good giving nature.

Final bill: As per web site & welcome letter.
Cell/Internet: You paid FJ$22 recharge which is set up for your arrival convenience.
Fijian Feast: You paid for 4 adults plus 1 extra adult for 4 children.
Washing: You paid FJ$10 per load (honesty system).
Extra guest: Which you did ask for free however paid AU$30 per night (no cleaning, no 20% tax)

Lastly, this review is only your reaction to being charged for damages in the house which you refused & did not pay!!!

We have experienced water coming in the house during cyclonic conditions on a previous occasion & hopefully have fixed the problem. New screens were installed approx 12 mths ago & was found that the screens were screwed to the outside of the windows covering the weep holes which have now been re drilled & cleared.

However, if you do not close the windows prior to a storm (after been given notice) of course you are going to experience more water problems & have the owner appear unannounced to tell you to do so during the storm.

We have not experienced a hotwater problem in the past as we are on solar hot water with electric thermostat back up. Be considerate of one another & use some common sense???
Also to assist so that this situation does not arise & to save water, your welcome letter asks that you boil your hot water for washing dishes.

The Fijian Feast on our web site was for a birthday celebration for 16 people so yes I agree it will look a little different for 5 adults.
Your Fijian Feast was made with the children in mind as requested, not many spices & no chilli however the meal comes with Indian Dahl & fresh chillis so you can spice it up!

Our villa is always exceptionally clean, very comfortable, very spacious with large bedrooms & amazing one of artwork in every room of the house. The grounds are full of lush tropical fauna with an array of coconut trees & palms.

We always recommend renting a 4WD, SUV or ALL WHEEL DRIVE when visiting Fiji, particularly for your driving safety & negotiating the driveway to Heavensdoor when wet.

Sydney our dog: Says a lot about the owners ?
Helpful votes: 6/10
business
HEAVENSDOOR|FIJI - Million Dollar View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p163045
Sigatoka Viti Levu
Washington Two, MI USA
5

FamilyMoon

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Our wedding party moved here to celebrate a Family Moon. 2 sets of in laws, one set of newlyweds, siblings and friends for a party of 12. It was wonderful. Plenty of room for everyone. Scott was very helpful and Kristina created a wonderful Fijian dinner for us. The area was beautiful, we snorkeled, hiked to a waterfall, took a day long boat trip to another island. The ability to use the surroundings resorts is a real bonus for the days that you just want to lounge by the pool. We couldn't have dreamed of a better spot.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
HEAVENSDOOR|FIJI - Million Dollar View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p163045
Sigatoka Viti Levu
australia
5

A Trip into Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
This was our first family holiday overseas and we preferred to stay in a large spacious house away from the resorts. We have 3 boys - 13, 10 and 6 years respectively and they absolutely loved it. We hired a 4WD from the airport which we needed for the driveaway and when we drove off the beaten track. I would recommend checking the size first as we ended up with a 3 door Suzuki Jimmy which was a little cramped with our luggage. Scott and Cristina were such lovely hosts and really made our stay very memorable. We had the fijian feast for our son's birthday which was absolutely delicious and Cristina bought an Indian sweet as an extra for him to try - yummy. Driving in Fiji was very easy and safe and it was great to be able to run to the rhythm of our own schedule. Having 24 hour security on the property was very comforting if we needed anything.There are so many things to do: island day trips, river safari which includes a kava ceremony and embracing the local culture, snorkelling in our own private bay, visits to the local waterfall, kula eco sanctuary, Natadola beach, drinking from the freshly cut coconuts on the property by Imosi the list goes on and our 1 regret whilst staying in Fiji was we didn't book long enough. The combination of eating in for breakfast and most lunches and then going out for dinners really worked for our family. Food shopping in Sigatoka was an interesting experience. The house was very spacious and the beds very comfortable and the views spectacular!! The photos my husband took with his new camera were just amazing. We are already planning our holiday for next time..........
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
HEAVENSDOOR|FIJI - Million Dollar View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p163045
Sigatoka Viti Levu
Perth WA
5

We will be bak

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
My friends and I stayed at Heavensdoor in September 2012 it was a bit windy in Fiji for our stay which was unfortunate, but having such a wonderful, beautiful, peaceful base to come back to, the wind did not matter. Scott was so interesting to talk to, he has such an intimate knowledge of the beautiful island and its people I could have asked a million questions, his wife, Cristina, cooked us a sensational Fijian dinner which all of us could not get enough of. The house is very secluded with a million dollar view and everyone one of the 5 bedrooms are just lovely, we spent the majority of our time on the front patio, the most wonderful spot to overlook beautiful bays and palm trees and sip wine.
I would recommend staying at Heavensdoor to anybody, it is the only way to spend time in Fiji, thank you so much Scott and Cristina we will be back!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8