Santa Cruz house rental - Front of house and garden. Side fences and front hedge create garden privacy.
Front of house and garden. Side fences and front hedge create garden privacy.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Santa Cruz House Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom, sleeps 4 (Queen, trundle)

We offer a clean, updated, modern-style, bungalow in a quiet cul-de-sac neighborhood just four and one-half blocks from the beach. Walk through the greenbelt to the beach or continue the walk along picturesque West Cliff Drive to Natural Bridges State Park or the lighthouse and the surfers. Relax in the morning with a cup of coffee on the front porch, gazing at the lush garden. Read a book, paint a picture, journal, let your mind wander. This is the place to unwind from the busy-ness of life.

Don't forget the sunscreen because the Westside is famous for avoiding the fog, especially in the Fall when the days are warm and the nights cool. Barbecue at the end of a beach day and sleep soundly in the well appointed, modern rooms with the faint sound of seals in the distance. We encourage mature renters who respect the full-time residential neighborhood. Couples will love this quiet get-away. We love the relaxed and easy-going area and imagine you will too.

We love our home and are happy to share its comfort with renters. We've furnished the home to be beautiful and practical for people who want that from their rental experience. Our style is modern with clean lines, fashionable furnishings and comforting colors. We surf, take long walks and bike to the beach, all of which is so easy to do from our home.

Barbara purchased this house in 2004

The cul de sac location is great for kids so they can more safely play in the streets. There is a playground a block away and that's a favorite for kids, too. We like the ocean and can hear the distant seals at night from the Boardwalk but are not disturbed by crashing waves.

21 Reviews of Property 162929 in Santa Cruz, California

Serene in Santa Cruz - Relax in Comfort & Style
average rating of 4.75 based on 21 reviews
business
Serene in Santa Cruz - Relax in Comfort & Style
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p162929
415 716-8897
Santa Cruz Santa Cruz County
Moraga
5

Nice bungalow

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2009
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
Very Modern
Short bike ride to the Pier or a healthy walk
Clean living space
Parking
Nice Neighbors
Perfect for family as the price is the same as a hotel but you have the kitchen and washer/dryer
Safeway is 1-2 miles I think
Local Deli is 2-3 blocks away
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Serene in Santa Cruz - Relax in Comfort & Style
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p162929
415 716-8897
Santa Cruz Santa Cruz County
4

Comfortable, cozy cottage has everything you need.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Barbara was easy to work with and very responsive. THe cottage is very well maintained and super clean. I loved the lanscaping and flora. There is plenty of parking on the street even for our daily guests (we had family in the area). Our family of 3 rented over Christmas week and we had our kids from Oakland down for dinners. The dining table easily seats 6 and the kitchen is well stocked with everything you need for cooking a feast for 6. Plenty of towels and paper products supplied as well.
The beds are comfy and there is laundry facilities in the house. Just be aware this is a small cottage. We had to unpack our luggage into the closets and move the luggage out into the laundry/mud room as there is no extra space in the bedrooms. But the living room is spacious and has ample seating.
The neighborhood is quiet and it is a 4 block walk through a little park to the West Cliff drive/ocean.
I would recommend this property!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Serene in Santa Cruz - Relax in Comfort & Style
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p162929
415 716-8897
Santa Cruz Santa Cruz County
Eugene, OR
5

Fabulous!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
First off, I never write reviews of anything, ever. But we had such a wonderful time in this home I just have to!

This home is clean, modern, and the owners thought of everything to make it comfortable. The space is small, but it worked perfectly for my husband, myself and our two sons. We loved the location-- it's a short walk to the beach, a playground and a really nice market. And the owner is so nice! She was genuinely interested in making sure our stay was enjoyable! Which it was, and we can't wait to come back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Serene in Santa Cruz - Relax in Comfort & Style
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p162929
415 716-8897
Santa Cruz Santa Cruz County
5

Serenity cottage is very aptly named

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
We would recommend this quiet, clean, well-appointed little home -away from -home to anyone.
Whenever we would search for something it was readily available and the finishing touches make this comfortable cottage just right for a beach stay.
The neighborhood is quiet and residential, close to the beach and to shopping.
The notes and tips book on the dining room table gave great advice about local sights to see and restaurants.
But my favorite thing of all was the lovely front garden where I could do my tai chi at sunrise to the sound of barking sea lions that hold court on rocks by the lighthousea short walk away.

Our pleasant hostess was available for any questions we had and answered my emails cheerfully and quickly.
We would definitely recommend Serenity Cottage to friends and look forward to revisiting ourselves soon.
Helpful votes: 6/7
business
Serene in Santa Cruz - Relax in Comfort & Style
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p162929
415 716-8897
Santa Cruz Santa Cruz County
4

Santa Cruz

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We enjoyed our stay at Serene in Santa Cruz. It is close to the beautiful West Cliff Drive with the Lighthouse, Municipal Wharf and Boardwalk and a good base to explore both the coast and inland. The house was clean, nicely presented with all the required appliances you would expect and lots of hot water for showering.

Nice touches such as the provision of both beach and bath towels was appreciated and had we wished, there were bikes to ride in the shed. Our lads used the body boards in the surf. In all, a nice place to stay for week and close to a very beautiful part of the northern California coast.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Serene in Santa Cruz - Relax in Comfort & Style
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p162929
415 716-8897
Santa Cruz Santa Cruz County
Sacramento, CA, USA
5

Serene in Santa Cruz

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
Wow...where do I begin? First of all, Barbara Dunne (owner) is such a nice person and made the booking process so simple and easy. Serene was the most perfect get away for my friends and I. The location was perfect, just a short walk to the beach. Not to mention it is super close to the boardwalk, restaurants, etc.

I got the best sleep of my life in the queen sized bed. The mattress, blankets and pillows were so soft that I fell asleep within seconds. I also made sure to take a nap the next day because the bed was so comfortable!

Serene is maintained down to the smallest detail. Everything is so clean. The fresh flowers in the dining room and bathroom added just the right touch to make us feel welcome.

We enjoyed using the kitchen to make dinner one of the nights. We watched movies and did manicures/pedicures. It really felt like home. There couldn't have been a better setting for our 'girls weekend'.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks, Lauren! We enjoyed sharing our home with you and your friends. Glad you liked it as much as we do! Come back soon. :-)
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Serene in Santa Cruz - Relax in Comfort & Style
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p162929
415 716-8897
Santa Cruz Santa Cruz County
New York City
4

Great rental

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
Very comfortable, clean and hypo-allergenic
Well decorated and stocked with all your needs
Nice and helpful owners
Friendly neighbors
Well located with easy access to the water

I had a very enjoyable stay here!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Serene in Santa Cruz - Relax in Comfort & Style
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p162929
415 716-8897
Santa Cruz Santa Cruz County
Panama City Beach, Florida USA
5

Surfing in Serenity......

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
After a long flight from the Gulf of Mexico, my family navigated the streets of Santa Cruz to Serenity. We have stayed at most of the local resorts and hotels in the past with VERY mixed results. Deciding to take chance with a private home on this trip turned out to be a wise choice!! We were initially concerned with the square footage due to our two active boys and massive amount of luggage; but after strolling through the fragrant garden and entering Serenity, we quickly realized that we had scored an amazing home for our stay. The owners have thought out every inch of space, and the thoughtful attention to detail and spaces made Serenity generous enough for the four of us with room to spare!! Immaculate, well maintained, beautifully furnished, its an EXCELLENT location as a base camp to explore the area. The beds were comfy and the linens were lush and in perfect condition. The owners were very easy to work with and communicated with us promptly; and even had a great book of information for us about the area. After a 15 mile hike at nearby Wilder Ranch, it was truly 'serene' to return to this sweet surfer friendly sanctuary to catch our breath and enjoy the fragrant plants and flowers in the garden. The boys even had room to scooter and play catch outside. The quiet neighborhood setting was absolutely perfect for our troop! There's plenty of hustle & bustle at the nearby Pier and Boardwalk if you want to people watch- then return home to this quiet retreat. I took in a yoga class that was within walking distance; as well as a phenomenal bakery and several wine tasting stores and grocery store. The well appointed kitchen made meal preparation easy. My son and I borrowed the bikes from the large shed for a memorable ride to the Boardwalk. An avid surfer, my husband caught some waves with his brother's surfboard. He was stoked that one of the bikes had a surf rack which saved him time getting to the beach to catch a swell at Steamer Lane. If Steamers was too crowded, we had the choice of several epic breaks close by. The photos were excellent; this home far exceeded our expectations. There are some things that you can't capture in a photograph:) Since we have family in Santa Cruz, this will be our 'go-to' choice for future trips!! LOVED it!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Serene in Santa Cruz - Relax in Comfort & Style
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p162929
415 716-8897
Santa Cruz Santa Cruz County
Stanford, CA
5

Beautiful Home - Comfortable, Convenient - Value

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
I spent a wonderful half-week here with my parents who were in town visiting from New York. We all felt very comfortable, and took great pleasure making and sharing breakfast together on our lazy mornings.

A few blocks from the house to the ocean, the jogging path along West End Drive is spectacular. The many views of the ocean are breath-taking.

The house was perfectly clean when we arrived. The neighborhood was quiet, and the neighbors all very friendly.

We drove to the beach each day, since we had so much stuff. And it was a quick drive to Cowell Redwoods State Park.

We took the 5 minute drive into town each night to get dinner at several different spots: Johnny's Harborside for Scallops; La Posta for Italian food; and Crow's Nest for fish. And we had a really excellent lunch at Walnut Ave Cafe.

We ended each day back in the family room, eating ice cream and watching TV. We all agreed that the home had exceeded our expectations based on the photographs online. There was plenty of light in every room, especially the larger than expected family room.

Barbara was very friendly, and made the rental very simple. Absolutely no problems.

It certainly is 'Five-stars for the price' - everything was new and clean, was exactly as pictured (if not better), as well as Barbara's friendliness. In the end, we were sad to leave, and thought enviously about whoever was next to stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Serene in Santa Cruz - Relax in Comfort & Style
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p162929
415 716-8897
Santa Cruz Santa Cruz County
Santa Cruz
5

Charmant! Charming!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Nous avons passé quelques jours absolument magique à Santa Cruz . Nous avons logé dans la maison "Serene" qui porte très bien son nom. La maison est confortable, accueillante et très agréable à vivre. Il y a un BBQ, des vélos, des "buggy board". La qualité de vie est tellement meilleur qu'à l'hôtel et pour un prix nettement plus attractif!
Serene is a wonderful and a charming house: you feel at home right away. It's just next to the ocean and is very quiet. The house is clean, conveignant, there is every thing you need: a BBQ, bicycles, buggy-board. It is so much nicer then a hotel and cheaper... Thank you Barbara for letting us stay at your home.
Nathalie from Switzerland
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6