Beech Mountain house rental
 
  • Bedrooms10
  • Sleeps35
  • 6 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Beech Mountain House Rental Photos and Description
House, 10 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 6 Baths, (Sleeps 26-35)

MAKE YOUR RESERVATIONS NOW! PLANNING A FAMILY REUNION OR GROUP RETREAT FOR THIS YEAR? GET YOUR CHOICE OF DATES BEFORE THEY'RE GONE.

The perfect place for your Summer, Fall or ski season getaway. Enjoy the unhurried pace and cool temperatures during our off season or the winter wonderland that is Beech Mountain during ski season. The town of Beech Mountain is the highest city east of the Mississippi River. Ideal for business and church retreats as well as family reunions or even just time with friends.

4900+ square foot log home in moderately wooded setting located only .9 miles from Beech Mountain Club recreational facilities and 1.9 miles from Ski Beech entrance.

Home's exterior is fieldstone and cedar shake. The Lodge's interior, which is almost exclusively wood, creates rustic atmosphere with modern conveniences. Wood beamed ceilings throughout. Many of the walls are 16'-24' thick hand-hewn logs. Interior materials are recycled from 139 year-old grist mill located in Chatam, Virginia; the 131 year-old Reedy Fork Mill formerly outside Winston-Salem, NC; and, a barn of unknown age and origin.

Living room, dining room, and kitchen floors are hardwood (area rug covers almost all of living room); all halls and bedrooms are carpeted with 62 ounce (62 oz) carpet over eight pound (8 lb) pad; baths are ceramic tiled.

Large living room with over-sized woodburning fireplace (firewood provided). Dining room is 10' x 35' and seats 30 at one sitting. Kitchen has flat-surface stovetop, separate flat-surfaced, 5-burner stove with self-cleaning oven, combination microwave/range hood and two GE refrigerators. Wood deck is 18' x 18' with perimeter bench seating and over-sized commercial gas grill. Ten bedrooms contain 17 full-size beds and 3 queen-size beds, three adult-size bunk beds as well as a queen-size and single size sofa beds.

TV room has 40' flat panel TV with digital cable service, high-speed broadband internet access, VCR/DVD player and surround sound system as well as a queen-size sleeper sofa, which may be used as eleventh bedroom. Third floor hallway has foyer with large window seat, sofa, and 40' flat panel TV with digital cable service and PS3.

Off-street parking for up to eleven or twelve vehicles. SORRY, BUT NO PETS PERMITTED.

Keywords: Huge, Log Home, on ski hill, NC mountains

More Details
Hide Details

The Warthman Family-Kay, John, Jonathan, Josh and his wife, Natalie- own the Lodge. Kay is a long-ago retired nurse, who devoted her time to parenting and now focuses on church related activities. John is a retired real estate property management exec., who oversaw management of 17,000+ apartments, 3,800+ condominiums, 1 million+ square feet of office space and a number of home owner associations in a 30+ year career. Today, he is an instructor and speaker for a number of professional real estate organizations, which allows him to travel widely in both the U.S. and overseas doing professional credentialing courses.

John or Kay Warthman purchased this house in 1979

We bought this home when we lived in Charlotte and our oldest son was just a baby. We had visited the mountains during the summer and fell in love with Beech Mountain. A subsequent ski trip further cemented that feeling. John became aware of the Lodge itself while buying a pair of ski boots in Charlotte. During his preschool years and the summers of his first school years, he lived with his grandparents who lived in 5-bedroom converted stone barn. The Lodge reminded him of those wonderful childhood memories. Because he was in real estate development and management, he thought he could buy it, refurbish it, expand it and add a stone facade to the majority of the house. With the help of his brother Bob, who was a contractor, and some of his talented employees, he worked on the Lodge during weekends for 8 months to bring his vision to fruition.

Initially, we thought that the Lodge would best be operated as a bed and breakfast, but quickly found that the most requests were to rent the entire house by larger groups. So, in our second year of ownership, we converted to whole house rental. In the mid-80's, we moved to Atlanta, where we still reside. So, for a long time now, we've been unable to enjoy the Lodge and its peaceful setting as much as we'd like. Over the 30+ years we've owned and operated the Lodge, we've been privileged to serve many families and groups. Many of them have returned again and again causing us to think of them as extended family. So, we derive pleasure from the enjoyment they experience as well as the relationships we've formed over the years.

The setting of the Lodge combined with materials contained within it just give us the feeling of living in another, less hurried, time. However, we still have access to the Beech Mountain Club with its Olympic pool, first-class tennis facilities, breathtaking golf course with views of 3 states and excellent dining. And, it's close by to the Beech Mountain Resort ski slopes. We think it's the perfect combination of yesteryear atmosphere combined with many modern conveniences.

9 Reviews of Property 16269 in Beech Mountain, North Carolina

Huge Comfortable Log Home in North Carolina Mountains!
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 9 reviews
business
Huge Comfortable Log Home in North Carolina Mountains!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p16269vb
(770) 621-9400 (Georgia, USA)
Beech Mountain High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Where do you live?
5

super place for a vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
we had a super time.owner was great!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for both your patronage and kind comments. We'll hope to be of service to you and your family again in the future! john w.
business
Huge Comfortable Log Home in North Carolina Mountains!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p16269vb
(770) 621-9400 (Georgia, USA)
Beech Mountain High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Fort Myers, FL
5

Great place to bring the family for memories!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This was our family's second visit and was not disappointed. We were blessed again with the owner being available, helpful, generous, and is a great example of a HOST. Our family of 26 arrived to enjoy the New Year. When we got there, it was clean, wood outside for the fireplace, and within minutes the kids were running, and playing "Hide n Seek". Every room was unique, with most bedrooms having their bathrooms. The kitchen has all one needs to cook, bake, and prepare needed meals for ones family or group. There is an island, adequate refrigerators, stoves, and shelves. It was a good hang out. The dining room is perfect for the family to serve either buffet or family style. After clean up, a great game room. There is also a piano, and I loved hearing our granddaughters play their favorite songs. Music is healing and brings smiles. The TV room is cozy, and in a perfect location. From the patio doors one sees wildlife so keep your eyes open. We feel so blessed to have found this place, and we have hopes to go up for another visit sometime in the future. If you are planning a trip, this is a good choice.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your ongoing patronage as well as your kind comments. It was a pleasure to have you as returning clients and would be our pleasure to again be of service to you and your family in the future. Until then, john w.
business
Huge Comfortable Log Home in North Carolina Mountains!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p16269vb
(770) 621-9400 (Georgia, USA)
Beech Mountain High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Salt Lake City, UT
5

Wonderful rustic home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The Great Escape Lodge is a charming, rustic home in a beautiful, quiet area on Beech Mountain.

We needed to house a large group of people, and the lodge was perfect for us. We had 31 people sleeping comfortably there (young families with children), and we were feeding 45 at every meal. The dining room is perfect for feeding a large group, and the kitchen, although it seems small, held all the food we needed for the 4 days we were there. It has 2 fridges, 2 stoves, and a large amount of shelf space for storage.

The owner was extremely responsive before, during, and after our trip to any needs that we had. The home is fairly old, but the owner maintains it well. We were not inconvenienced in any way, as the owner let us know what maintenance items were being resolved before we came.

We enjoyed our stay and recommend it to anyone who wants to house a large group of people under one roof. The owner is also acquainted with at least two other home renters within a few homes away from his home to allow for an even larger group to comfortably stay.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Lisa, thanks for your family's patronage as well as your kind comments. It would be our privilege and pleasure to again be of service to you and your family should the occasion arise. You'd then have the opportunity to see the numerous improvements made since your recent stay. Thanks again, john w.
business
Huge Comfortable Log Home in North Carolina Mountains!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p16269vb
(770) 621-9400 (Georgia, USA)
Beech Mountain High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Garner, NC (Wake County), USA
5

Wonderful Vacation Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Our family of 12 adults, 3 teenagers, and 1 baby had a wonderful time at the Great Escape Lodge for the week. The spaciousness is unbelievable. You would think with 15 people it might be a bit crowded, but that certainly was not the case - in fact, sometimes we wondered where everybody was when we were all at home! If you are looking for a new, modern, cookie-cutter box of a place, this is not it. It is much better, with its own character. (I had some concern when we first drove up about the size, but that was quickly dispelled as I have noted earlier in this review). It had its quirks, but nothing detracted from our good time. John was very pleasant to talk to (he will call you after your arrival to make sure all is in order and to welcome you - a very nice touch!). [Example: sometime before our arrival, lightning struck the main floor TV, frying it. The 3d floor TV was temporarily moved to the main floor. While we were there, John planned on making a trip from Atlanta (what, 5-6 hours or more one way?) just to bring a replacement. That is what we felt was concern and service.] Finally, John's handling of the rental details - from how to get there to what to do when leaving, and everything in between was very professional and complete. I don't think there was anything that could be considered a "grey" area. We would not hesitate to use this house on any future trips, not do I have any problem with unreservedly recommending it to anyone needed a large place. THANK YOU, WARTHMANS.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Hi again, folks. Thanks for your group's patronage as well as your very kind comments. It would be our privilege and pleasure to again be of service to you and your family should the opportunity arise. You'd then have the opportunity to see a number of improvements made since your recent stay. Or, as I mentioned in another response, you might visit our website at www.greatescapelodge.com and click on the video button after this November. We hope to have an updated video tour illustrating them at that time. Thanks again, john w.
business
Huge Comfortable Log Home in North Carolina Mountains!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p16269vb
(770) 621-9400 (Georgia, USA)
Beech Mountain High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
4

GFI Family Fun & Fellowship

GFI Family Fun & Fellowship
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our family, along w/ 3 other families of friends (w/ a total of 24) enjoyed the Great Escape Lodge immensely during the holiday week of July 4th.
You'll find that it has rustic charm befitting of a mountain ski lodge, and is group and child-friendly. It is very spacious and user-friendly. Our group felt relaxed and comfortable. It does not have a modern or refined or recently remodeled look if that is what you are wanting. All of the rooms are spacious w/ exception of the kitchen (large enough for 3-4 cooks/preparers) and the restrooms (but there are 6 so they were easily sufficient).
The owner is very responsive, kind, and helpful. The Lodge did have a number of maintenance issues during our stay - because it is an old log home, but mostly due to an unusual period of very strong rains daily. Yet again, John was helpful in addressing these concerns to the best of his ability.
The immediate area is very beautiful. I strongy recommend hiking from the cabin where you can stay on the roads or take one of the trails thru the ravines and along the flowing streams. We managed to make some very exciting adventures getting down the mountain and following paths along the stream (beautiful waterfalls) that was flowing at full force due to daily rains.
If you want other local siteseeing w/in an hours drive is the beautiful Grandfather Mountain and Linville Falls.
Our family, and those we vacationed with, would desire to stay at this property again. We wish you the best in your vacationing plans.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Richard, thanks for your group's patronage as well as your kind comments. I'm sorry you experienced the poor (constantly raining weather) you did while there and appreciate your understanding and patience during your stay. It would be our privilege and pleasure to again be of service to you and your group should you again be in the area. You'd then have the opportunity to see the numerous improvements made since your stay. Or, you might visit our website at www.greatescapelodge.com and click on the video button after this November. We hope to have an updated video tour illustrating them at that time. Thanks again, john w.
business
Huge Comfortable Log Home in North Carolina Mountains!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p16269vb
(770) 621-9400 (Georgia, USA)
Beech Mountain High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
mich
5

The GREAT ESCAPE LODGE!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My girlfriend and I started this adventure 6 months prior to our actual vacation, us and her family living in Michigan, and most of my friends and family residing in Florida. We started with a number of loved ones we wanted to invite on our great North Carolina vacation, we had a total of 24 people and the idea we would find someplace in the middle to meet. We had quite a hard time finding one house that could accomadate such a number, we even debated renting two houses in the same vicinity. Then six weeks into our search we found it, " That's the one! ", we both said almost in unison. We had stumbled upon a link to the Great Escape Lodge, we did our research and realized there was plenty to do within an hour of the lodge. Such as: zip lining, white water rafting, Linville Falls, Linville Caverns, entry to the Blue Ridge Parkway, Grand Father Mountain, fishing, lots of golfing, and plenty of local tourist shopping. By the time we arrived we had 4 families and 18 pe le total. The lodge was perfect, it was exactly as described in the web sites, clean, well maintained, the owner is a really nice, helpful man who will not accept being called Mr. W-, but insists on being called by his first name. I would suggest anyone with large vacation plans (group wise), to seriously consider the Great Escape Lodge as your vacation home! It was really nice to not have 17 people hiding in their rooms, or feeling like your on top of one another. We had 17 vacationers, everyone had different agendas, and time frames, and we somehow had too much room! THANKS SO MUCH FOR THE MEMORIES, Mr. J.W.!
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your patronage as well as the kind words, Michelle. It was a pleasure to host you, Josh and your families. We'll hope to have the opportunity to do so again sometime in the future. john w.
business
Huge Comfortable Log Home in North Carolina Mountains!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p16269vb
(770) 621-9400 (Georgia, USA)
Beech Mountain High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Florida
4

Great Escape Lodge

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
The Great Escape Lodge is a wonderful place to stay for large groups and families. It is very kid friendly as it is not too formal and there is really nothing for small children to break. The homeowner John was very friendly and available 24/7 for any questions or anything you needed. We had about 22 ppl and never felt like we were on top of each other... enough space for everyone! I had only a couple of minor things that I think could be improved upon. The beds all have the plastic on them from when they were purchased and almost every morning I woke up sleeping on plastic, not the best way to wake up. The sheets constantly slip off of the bed. There was also some problem with the water pressure that had not been fixed and we had to go to the downstairs bathroom to get any pressure for showers. The other issue was no basic supplies are provided such as salt or pepper, hand soap, toilet paper, etc... it's not that big of a deal, but tedious to deal with. We also had to purchase sleds for the kids; would have been nice if the property provided them. With that being said... all in all we had a wonderful time and I would reccomend this property for a stay. The price is great and I was happy to pay a little less than other properties and just deal with the few small issues than spend more money on lodging... this left more money for skiing!!
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks Tiffany for your kind words. The low water pressure issue was a first for us. We are on Town of Beech Mountain water and sewer. We long ago had a pressure reducing valve installed on the water line because of unusually high pressure. Last year, we had a city-mandated cutoff installed where the water enters our property. Either this group or the one preceding it had children playing in the area of the cutoff. Somehow, the children caused the cutoff to close enough to significantly reduce the flow rate causing the low pressure situation. When the cause of the problem was located, the issue was resolved quickly. We do not provide supplies beyond initial (Charmin) toilet paper and paper toweling. As part of our informational packet, we provide a suggested packing list specifying which items are provided and which should be brought. Unfortunately, because this group was a last moment rental, that list was not provided to them until the day before arrival. We used to provide plastic sleds for renters each season, but consistently had damage or loss to such a great extent that renters at the end of the season would have few, if any. For that reason, we no longer provide them at all.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Huge Comfortable Log Home in North Carolina Mountains!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p16269vb
(770) 621-9400 (Georgia, USA)
Beech Mountain High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Lacey, WA
5

Wonderful Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
I rented the Great Escape Lodge for a family reunion after Christmas 2010 while still deployed in Iraq. Didn't know if we would have 15 or 30 people attending. John was a wonderful person to work with and made the entire rental process very easy-even from thousands of miles away. Ended up with 20 family members ranging from 5 to 75 yrs of age. The lodge had rooms for everyone and easily accommodated everyone's needs despite us arriving in what was then a huge (and very cold) snowstorm. Conveniently located near both Beech and Sugar Mt's with access to the local grocery store we lacked for nothing and it was easy to get our full dose of skiing. We lacked for nothing and had a wonderful time. I highly recommend the Great Escape Lodge.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Colonel, thank you for your patronage, kind comments and service to our country. john w.
Helpful votes: 7/8
business
Huge Comfortable Log Home in North Carolina Mountains!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p16269vb
(770) 621-9400 (Georgia, USA)
Beech Mountain High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Henderson,NC
5

We love this house.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
Thanksgiving with snow showers or the middle of July, this is a great house! The number of people that it can hold comfortably is amazing. Everything that is needed for feeding a large group can be found in the kitchen and the dining area can seat them all at once. Everyday different activities can be found in the area or you can just sit on the deck reading a book while deer walk by below. My only problem with this house was that we missed booking it several years ago for Thanksgiving and ended up renting a large fairly new home with all of the extras. That will never happen again! Everyone really missed this large rambling home that has tons of character and charm. The owner is amazing when it comes to checking in to make sure everything is in top shape and that your group is happy. Sorry about Thanksgiving, it's mine :)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kind remarks as well as your ongoing patronage. We look forward to being of service to you again in the future.
Helpful votes: 9/10