Bedford house rental - This is a view of one end of the living room, the cupboard holds the tv,dvd
This is a view of one end of the living room, the cupboard holds the tv,dvd
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps9
Minimum Stay nights
 

Bedford House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms will sleep up to 8.

This property, while in the country, is still close to many interesting activities. The house is conveniently located near Johnstown, Altoona, Bedford and State College. The guest house is just 10 minutes off the Pa turnpike and also just 5 minutes off I-99.

There are brochures in the guest house for information on local places to visit. The brochures will direct guests to everything from spa's, shopping, antiques, bike trails, museums, covered bridges, hiking, skiing, and so much more.

I have been a life long antique and folk art collector as well as a shop keeper for over 25 years. The guest house showcases all that I love, antiques, folk art, quality reproductions coupled with my commitment to provide all the comforts of home. One of our guests wrote "the house is a great respite to decompress from the daily grind, sitting on the back porch listening to the birds sing."

This three bedroom house is on a 144 acre farm that is rich with history. The Spring Meadow farm was deeded in 1796 and the earliest owners were Quakers. Some of the Quakers that lived on this farm were involved in the underground railroad. Another interesting fact is just before the civil war President Buchanan would visit here. In the 1880's senator John M. Reynolds bought the farm at a sheriff sale. He had the road paved between the barn and the train station so he would have a smooth horse and buggy ride when he needed to head to Washington. It was the only paved road in the entire county. That is a sampling of the history here.

The guest house is nestled between the 1840's house and the barn. Come sit on the screened in back porch and sip coffee, tea, or drink of choice and enjoy the scenic views and the wildlife (birds, ground hogs, and deer). In the evenings you can grill out on the porch, swing in the hammock,or have a bon-fire. We also provide 2 cannondale bikes for your use. A great place to unwind with all the amenities of home.

We have hosted reunions, birthdays, quiet getaways and even weddings. Rent our Guest House and revisit life in simpler times.

Try a women's weekend! I have had many groups of women who have come and enjoyed a girls weekend. Some shopped, some cooked, some did crafts, some just enjoyed chatting with their friends, some have had a wine tasting party, and some have celebrated birthdays. No matter what they came to do, they all have enjoyed this guest house. Many are planning return visits. You can't go wrong spending a weekend with your girlfriends.

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

12 Reviews of Property 187065 in Bedford, Pennsylvania

A Norman Rockwell setting one hour from State College
average rating of 5.0 based on 12 reviews
business
A Norman Rockwell setting one hour from State College
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187065vb
(814) 839-9120 (Pennsylvania, USA)
Bedford Allegheny Mountains
Annville, PA
5

A Breath of Fresh Air

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
A wonderful respite from a busy life. Very clean, homey, and full of thoughtful amenities. The hammock was a welcome surprise and a great place to read and relax. Thanks for sharing this little slice of heaven.
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words and your lovely review. I am happy you enjoyed your stay at Spring Meadow Guest House. I do hope if you are ever back in the Bedford area that you will consider staying with us again. It was our pleasure hosting your stay.
Liza and Bob Mishler
business
A Norman Rockwell setting one hour from State College
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187065vb
(814) 839-9120 (Pennsylvania, USA)
Bedford Allegheny Mountains
5

family weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The cottage was comfortable and child friendly with a large outdoor area for the children to run around in. We were all sorry to leave after 2 nights. We sincerely hope to visit again. The owners were very pleasant too.
business
A Norman Rockwell setting one hour from State College
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187065vb
(814) 839-9120 (Pennsylvania, USA)
Bedford Allegheny Mountains
5

Peaceful retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 28, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We had a fun and relaxing weekend away from it all in this cozy and inviting home. Everything was as advertised and made our stay and preparations simple. We would recommend the property to anyone and hope to return again.
Owner's Response: Thanks Theresa,
I am so glad you enjoyed our guest house. I hope you do decide to come again. When I have repeat guests it is affirmation that they really did like our place.
business
A Norman Rockwell setting one hour from State College
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187065vb
(814) 839-9120 (Pennsylvania, USA)
Bedford Allegheny Mountains
5

COULD NOT HAVE BEEN BETTER

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We rented the guest house to be close to my nephew's wedding at the Bedford Springs Omni Resort. It was also a reunion of sorts; family from Fl., NH., Vt., NY., MA.
Our accommodations were perfect; Liza and Bob have put everything at hand, made it so comfortable and welcoming that we all wanted to stay longer. We enjoyed the porch, the yard, the firepit (complete with firewood), as well as the house itself. The beds are all comfortable and the rooms charmingly furnished with antiques.
I would recommend this to anyone with the one proviso that all 3 bedrooms are upstairs.
Thank you again, Liza and Bob. Everyone who chooses to stay in the guest house is fortunate.
business
A Norman Rockwell setting one hour from State College
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187065vb
(814) 839-9120 (Pennsylvania, USA)
Bedford Allegheny Mountains
Johnstown, PA
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This was a fantastic place! Highly recommend it! If you are looking for a relaxing country stay, this is the place!
I stayed here for a retreat with a group of ladies. We pretty much just showed up with our food and that was it. This place has everything necessary for relaxing. I can't wait to return again!
Thanks, Lizah!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Amy,
I am so glad your group of friends enjoyed it. I guess the old saying is true
that we often don't know what is in our own back yard. Living only 40 minutes away and discovering the guest house and antique shop just over the mountain. I am glad you found me on the internet and hope I will see many of your group again.
business
A Norman Rockwell setting one hour from State College
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187065vb
(814) 839-9120 (Pennsylvania, USA)
Bedford Allegheny Mountains
Harrisburg, PA
5

House Perfect for College Reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We are a group of seven retired teachers who went to college together and have remained friends for over 40 years. Our current home states are Michigan, Ohio, PA, and Maryland. We choose Spring Meadow Guest House for our third reunion because of the inviting pictures on the VRBO website and its proximity to the PA Turnpike. The rooms were exactly as pictured online. The guest house turned out to be as perfect as we had hoped. We spent many hours on the screened in porch which overlooks a huge meadow when we were not antiquing in Bedford, touring the covered bridges in the countryside, or eating at local restaurants. I recommend The Bird's Nest Cafe, Jean Bonnet Tavern, the tavern at Bedford Springs Inn as well as a first floor walking tour, and a new farm to table restaurant called Horn O Plenty. The guest house was very clean and well maintained, the bedrooms cozy, beds comfortable, linens soft. We were fortunate to have arrived as the heat in central PA was departing and we slept with windows open to hear the countryside sounds and feel the breezes. Liza was an informative hostess, willing to answer our many questions and give suggestions if needed AND......LIza's antique shop on the property should not be missed. Our whole group was thrilled with the accomodations. The house is just right for a family with the three bedrooms and pull out sofa or a group reuniting for a long weekend as we did.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I am so glad your group of friends enjoyed themselves in our guest house. We work very hard to make our guests comfortable while here and encourage them to see and enjoy what Bedford county has to offer. Your group did that and shared good times with good friends. It doesn't get better than that. Please come again.
business
A Norman Rockwell setting one hour from State College
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187065vb
(814) 839-9120 (Pennsylvania, USA)
Bedford Allegheny Mountains
5

Rug hooking weekend..WE LOVE THIS PLACE!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
A group of us discovered this little gem last year and it is our new tradition...bringing friends together from far-flung places. Liza is a superb hostess. She has literally though of everything, just bring yourselves and the food you want to eat. The guest house is immediately a sanctuary, comfortable, clean, peaceful, well appointed. The views are serene and beautiful. We have visited in unseasonable weather but we look forward to coming back when we can take advantage of the wonderful back porch and campfire area. For a little diversion, all you need to do is walk across the yard for some fantastic shopping and great antiques. Highly recommended by some high maintenance women! :)
Owner's Response: It is my pleasure to host this gathering of friends. They gather for fun, laughter, food, conversation and rug hooking. They exude a good time when they are here. It is wonderful for me to have repeat guests because it tells me they really enjoyed their stay. It also is quite fun for me when I have house guests that truly appreciate the decor of antiques, folk art and reproductions. I am looking forward to your next stay. Thank you Liza
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
A Norman Rockwell setting one hour from State College
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187065vb
(814) 839-9120 (Pennsylvania, USA)
Bedford Allegheny Mountains
Allison Park, PA
5

Just the vacation we needed

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
After an extremely hectic beginning to the summer, our family needed a quiet place to relax and spend some time together. This was the perfect place! I admit to being nervous about it - we had never rented a home before and wasn't sure if we would end up in something less than desirable. But, this was fantastic! The house was immaculate and the furnishings were great. We loved playing frisbee in the huge back yard, and sat on the porch playing games at night. We had modern conveniences like TV and Internet, but didn't use them much because there was so much else to do. Hosts are great, location is nice (a little close to the road, but didn't create too much noise. We have already recommended this location to our friends. You won't regret your decision to spend time here.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
A Norman Rockwell setting one hour from State College
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187065vb
(814) 839-9120 (Pennsylvania, USA)
Bedford Allegheny Mountains
Bergenfield, NJ
5

Completely agree, it's the best house I ever rented.

Completely agree, it's the best house I ever rented.
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
We were doing college visits and only stayed one night at Spring Meadow, but wish we could have stayed longer. It's a wonderfully relaxing, spotlessly clean, accommodating guest house in a beautiful bucolic setting. It feels like your very own place in the country. The owners have thought of everything you could possibly need and were very friendly. This place definitely has a special charm, much more so in person than is captured in the pictures. There is a great gift shop on the property as well, (it was totally decked out for Christmas when we were there). One note, google maps puts it at 1.5 miles from Penn State, but we made it there in an hour. Even the drive from Bedford to State College was perfect! Highly recommended...we'll definitly go back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
A Norman Rockwell setting one hour from State College
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187065vb
(814) 839-9120 (Pennsylvania, USA)
Bedford Allegheny Mountains
Cuyahoga Falls, OH
5

Absolutely incredible vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Six adults and one toddler stayed at this location during the hottest week of the Summer and were more than comfortable! This was our second visit to Spring Meadow Guest House and each year it continues to amaze us with all of the thought and detail that go into this location. The owners are incredible and have great recommendations for outings etc. The pictures posted on this website do not do the property justice - when you walk into the home you are amazed at the details and decor!!! The property is impeccably clean and spacious - I could not recommend a property more!!!! During our stay we ventured into downtown Bedford for shopping and out into the country to find various antique shops - but this guest house even has an antique shop on the same property! The toddler had fun at the swimming beach at the state park just a few minutes away as well as running free on the acres of property at the guest house. Great place for anyone to vacation!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2