Roussillon house rental
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps9
  • 5 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Roussillon House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms + Office, 5 Baths, (Sleeps 8-9)

Set amidst the villages, vineyards, and orchards of Provence's renowned Luberon Valley is MAS de la PERDRIX.

As beautiful as it is functional, our newly restored and renovated, 250 year old home is furnished with antiques, original art and comfortable, excellent quality furniture and beds.

The home is situated in an ancient vineyard of 5 acres, with expansive views of the Luberon and Ventoux mountains and the charming village of Roussillon. The home has its own special atmosphere, stylish yet casual in nature.

The living and dining rooms bask in light from two double doors, windows and a skylight. Comfortable, custom-made sofa and arm chairs nestle around a massive fireplace hand-crafted from local stone. (Firewood is provided). An antique armoir houses satellite TV, DVD, and stereo. FREE INTERNATIONAL CALLING and WIRELESS HIGH SPEED INTERNET.

The gourmet kitchen features a 6 burner gas Viking range, custom made cabinets, stone counter tops, a large island with mini refrigerator, full-size dishwasher, and a large double refrigerator.

The kitchen is fully equipped for cooking and entertaining or catering.

MAS de la PERDRIX has four bedrooms and a study (fifth bedroom), each with ensuite bath. Four of the five have a private entrance from the courtyard and pool.

There is a special second floor covered terrace, protected from wind and rain, and fully equipped for serving meals.

The swimming pool is 13 by 4 meters and enjoys the gorgeous views of the Luberon Valley, the ancient ochre cliffs and the village of Roussillon, The private courtyard with fountain, and ancient olive tree features a stone terrace and table and chairs for 8-10.

SAVOR THE PROVENCAL LIFE...

The landscape and light of the south of France influenced and inspired some of the great painters; Van Gogh, Renoir,Matisse, Picasso and Cezanne.

The most beguiling of the Luberon's beautiful, ancient villages stand on high ground and are within 10-30 minutes drive; Gordes, Bonnieux, LaCoste, Menerbes, Saignon, Roussillon.

Discover the delights and pleasures of the local Provencal wines and visit a different local village market everyday featuring locally produced foods, flowers and crafts.

The region is home to some of France's finest restaurants. But perhaps the true glory of Provencal cuisine resides in the many small, family-run restaurants serving a prix-fixe menu with tasty fresh, locally produced ingredients.

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

We are fortunate to have homes in 2 spectacular locations; Boulder, CO and the Luberon Valley in Provence. We created our 'dream house' and enjoy sharing it with guests who are looking for a beautiful home and memorable experiences.

The Owner purchased this house in 2005

After traveling to many areas in France,

we felt that the Luberon Valley in Provence was our 'paradise'. And we found a lovely home that we could renovate to our tastes, and in a perfect location.

We love visiting the ancient hilltop villages and learning of their history. Each village has a market day filled with local produce, cheese, flowers, etc. Restaurants serve local specialities and wines.

14 Reviews of Property 162521 in Roussillon, France

Magnificent Renovated Provencal Home-Private, Tranquil, Views
average rating of 5.0 based on 14 reviews
business
Magnificent Renovated Provencal Home-Private, Tranquil, Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p162521vb
(303) 499-9817 (Colorado, USA)
Roussillon Luberon
Albuquerque, NM
5

Fabulous stay at Mas de la Perdrix

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Mas de la Perdrix is a treasure. The magical transformation from an old building, a barn, to a charming, elegant home set in the serene Provencal hills is stunning. It is comprised of old world rustic charm including the white stone exterior, wood beams - so quintessential of this Provencal region. We loved all the fine architectural touches and especially the juxtaposition of the subtle modern art work and interior settings.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Magnificent Renovated Provencal Home-Private, Tranquil, Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p162521vb
(303) 499-9817 (Colorado, USA)
Roussillon Luberon
5

Beautiful and restful after a hectic week in Paris!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
An amazing place. Updated to five-star hotel quality with a chef's kitchen. Spacious rooms, back-healthy beds and bathrooms with fixtures to die for. Just wandering the grounds, which are kept up meticulously by a gardener, was amazing and so soothing. The owner suggested we contact several local chefs, which we did, and they came and cooked for us. It was very reasonable. Each day, we traveled to another small village, but the privacy in this home is wonderful. I've told all my Utah friends I'll be headed back in a year or so, and having a group of six in this home will be great fun (there were only two of us this time). A big thanks to the owners, their taste and perfectionist upkeep. They truly love their property and it shows. I am grateful they chose to preserve and improve it. I felt like I was in a movie. This part of France is very very secluded. It was a privilege to witness the nearby villages, farm country, town markets, and buy wonderful linens, lavender gifts, pottery and excellent hand crafted knives. FYI, you will need to rent a car. We are in our 60s and there were no physical challenges (but no elevator to upper floor rooms). Biking, hiking would be beautiful. The owners and the property manager all speak English. They are from the USA.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Magnificent Renovated Provencal Home-Private, Tranquil, Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p162521vb
(303) 499-9817 (Colorado, USA)
Roussillon Luberon
Danville, CA, USA
5

Mas de la Perdrix - a Provence Dream House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
I cannot recommend Mas de la Perdrix highly enough! It is absolutely a “Provence Dream House.”

My husband and I rented it with two other couples, and we all loved it. The house looks like a Martha Stewart home — beautifully decorated rooms and French limestone floors, superb kitchen with every dish and cooking utensil you can imagine, luxurious linens and bed coverings, wonderful pieces from Marilyn's art gallery, etc. Plus the patio has a fabulous view and we spent a lot of time outside.

Mas de la Perdrix is very well located for starting the day with getting pastries and then going to nearby villages, many of which we found by reading “The Most Beautiful Villages in Provence” (one of the books in the house).

In addition, I strongly suggest getting Marilyn’s recommendations for chefs to prepare one or more special dinners. We used Chef Ronald and had an extraordinary evening on our last night — the food was just fabulous. And we had another local person deliver a delicious first-night dinner that we heated up (and had enough for two meals).

Lastly, Marilyn and her property manager Tara were extremely helpful and accommodating on every front. Marilyn’s pre-vacation emails with photos of the house, local markets, sites, cafes and restaurant recommendations started us on the trip long before we got there. Plus the binder in the house provides a wide range of very helpful information on what to see, where to eat, directions and other excellent tips.

If I make this all sound over the top, it’s because it was!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Magnificent Renovated Provencal Home-Private, Tranquil, Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p162521vb
(303) 499-9817 (Colorado, USA)
Roussillon Luberon
Corrales,New Mexico,SW,USA
5

Mas de la Perdrix

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
What a beautiful and comfortable place to stay while touting through Luberon !! We love the art, Asian furniture and antiques'

I've especially enjoyed your books and cooking in your fabulous kitchen, but most of all, I love what you've done with the garden. Quel beau jardins! Magnifique !! Your herbs are outstanding-I plan to plant all of them!!

Being in this beautiful home has been the joy of life !!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Magnificent Renovated Provencal Home-Private, Tranquil, Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p162521vb
(303) 499-9817 (Colorado, USA)
Roussillon Luberon
short hills new jersey
5

Mas de la Perdrix

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We are back! Your home was the greatest. Three generastions of our family enjoyed Mas de la Perdrix from start to finish. A memorable time for all of us. Of course the grandkids especially loved the pool as did the adults! The hill towns and markets were a real highlight as we found a new place to explore daily. Those people claiming ther French aree unfriendly should spend some time in the\Luberon Valley. We found the locals to be very friendly and helpful- even with our broken French! We are already missing those morning croissants from the nearby village. Again, thanks for sharing your beautiful home with us.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Magnificent Renovated Provencal Home-Private, Tranquil, Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p162521vb
(303) 499-9817 (Colorado, USA)
Roussillon Luberon
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Birthday Celebration

  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The most amazing place to stay with my family for my 80th birthday.
Have enjoyed every moment in this beautiful home.
One complaint-not long enough!
business
Magnificent Renovated Provencal Home-Private, Tranquil, Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p162521vb
(303) 499-9817 (Colorado, USA)
Roussillon Luberon
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Lovely Sanctuary

  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
"A lovely sanctuary, a place out of time!"
Merci mille fois!
business
Magnificent Renovated Provencal Home-Private, Tranquil, Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p162521vb
(303) 499-9817 (Colorado, USA)
Roussillon Luberon
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Mas de la Perdrix est Fantastique

  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Coming from Busy and noisy Manhattan, spending a week in this house was paradise! A delight for all senses: looking at the beautiful vistas; listening to the cicadas, birdsong and trickling water of the fountain; smelling the air perfumed with honeysuckle and tasting the region's bounty in wine and produce (not to mention the daily intake of delicious breads and croissants!!)
We hope to come back again!
business
Magnificent Renovated Provencal Home-Private, Tranquil, Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p162521vb
(303) 499-9817 (Colorado, USA)
Roussillon Luberon
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Can't Wait for our Return Trip!

Can't Wait for our Return Trip!
  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
"In late September 2013, our friends from around the country met in the most idyllic private home in the Luberon Valley. From the pictures, we knew it was going to be lovely, but the pictures can't begin to describe the elegant and immaculate home-it has the luxury feel of a 5 star hotel, yet the charm and comfort of a real home.
The rustic Provencal lifestyle is a great joy but so is WIFI, the dishwasher, microwave, Viking Stove and multiple refrigerators, modern plumbing and fixtures and electricity.
The private entrance to the home is through an electronic gate into a well-landscaped garden and pool area. If you have any local difficulties or language problems during your stay, it's a great comfort to know that Tara, the multilingual house manager, is always available and delighted to help with anything.
We had a wonderful week exploring the region and cuisine. We feel fortunate to have had the beauty of Mas de la Perdrix as our daily base, a paradise and so perfectly centered in the most ideal location.
Our group of 7 friends spent most of the time outside, cooking/sharing the kitchen and at the grand tables, inside and out.
We loved all the lovely surrounding towns where we went to the markets every day. Some days it was hard to decide to leave Mas de la Perdrix. Can't wait for the return trip!"
business
Magnificent Renovated Provencal Home-Private, Tranquil, Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p162521vb
(303) 499-9817 (Colorado, USA)
Roussillon Luberon
New York
5

Superb Experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
The house itself is exquisite: an old farmhouse that has been completely renovated with every modern convenience, while still retaining the classic Provencal charm. The kitchen is magnificent; even the private chef arranged by the house manager was impressed with its appliances, layout and variety of cookware and servingware. The kitchen has counter space for two to have a meal or coffee, is adjacent to an indoor dining room that seats 8 comfortably, and to an outdoor terrace that also seats 8-10 comfortably. There is yet another dining area, on an upstairs covered terrace, that also seats 8-10 comfortably (in case it rains, which it did not). The furnishings and bedding are in excellent condition and are quite comfortable. There are two downstairs bedrooms (one accessible by a separate exterior entrance, the other beyond the kitchen), two upstairs bedrooms accessible by different sets of stairs, and an office with a very comfortable sleeper sofa. Each bedroom has a charming, fully modern bathroom. The house remained cool at night even without air conditioning, and was built so that opening a few windows even slightly produced a nice cooling breeze. The house is situated perfectly, in a tiny hamlet that hardly shows up on the map, but which is a very short drive to a number of beautiful hill towns (my 12 year-old daughter and I were able to ride the bikes at the house to several of the towns, and there are more challenging routes available as well, most of which have no or very little automobile traffic). As spectacular as the house and setting were, they were overshadowed by the owners and house manager (a transplanted American fluent in French). Well before we traveled, the owners provided us with a "housebook" containing everything from the days of the week that farmers' markets were open in each little surrounding town, to the best boulangeries and patisseries, to instructions for operating the washer, dryer and wifi (which worked very well). The house manager was completely unobtrusive -- we saw her only on check-in and check-out, but she assisted us with instructions for all the essentials at the house, provided a number of staples waiting for us on arrival (milk, cheese, amazing bread, tapenades, etc.), made dinner reservations for us, and was always available if we needed her. We had a wonderful stay, and even if the house had been only half as lovely, we would stay there again simply because the owners were a dream to deal with.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1