Wimberley house rental - Welcome...Time to kick back and relax.
Welcome...Time to kick back and relax.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Wimberley House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 2 full baths, sleeps 6

Rio Casita (Little River House) is located in the middle of a beautifully wooded acre of land on the pristine Blanco River. The clear, cool, spring fed river is ideal for kicking back, relaxing, and enjoying nature. Drive the short three miles along River Road that flanks the Blanco into Wimberley, and take a shopping spree through some of the most unique shops you will see anywhere.

This is a very romantic spot with plenty of privacy. The kids will love it also. Walk down the easy sloping hill from your back porch and directly into the river. Great swimming and wading and a superior place to enjoy an ice cold adult beverage. It's all here, come and see!

After fun in the sun and river, head back to the house to enjoy all the ammenities: outdoor grill, great backporch for hanging out, gourmet kitchen - everything you need, except the food. When the sun sets the fire flys appear. It is magical to lay in the hammock and watch the swirl around you.

Rental Rates-same year round-no off season : First 2 guests: 195

3 guests 220

4 guests 245

5 guests 270

6 guests 295

Above rates are per night

There is an additional 6% hotel occupancy tax

More Details
Hide Details

My husband and I fell in love with Wimberley. When we found Rio Casita, we just had to purchase it. We love being there and use it as a family get away. We love the quietness, the wild life and the easy pace that this place offers. We are very happy that we can share all of that with you.

Connie purchased this house in 2006

We love being on the water and the Blanco is just right for us and our dogs. Our golden retriever thinks he is in Heaven when he is there.

Relax, relax, relax. Lay in the hammock, pull a chair out into the middle of the river; read; walk; listen to nature or just sit on the back porch. A unique place to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. However, if you demand a little more activity in your life, the Village of Wimberley is just 2 miles down the road.

22 Reviews of Property 162051 in Wimberley, Texas

Beautiful Blanco River Cottage - Rio Casita
average rating of 4.857143 based on 22 reviews
business
Beautiful Blanco River Cottage - Rio Casita
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p162051
+1 5127512761 x 7512761
Wimberley Texas Hill Country
Dickinson, TX
5

Wonderful Time as Usual!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
This was probably our 6th visit to Rio Casita and we already have it reserved again in late October. We love this house and the town of Wimberley. We now consider it our home away from home. It is the most relaxing and enjoyable place to stay and we always hate to leave and look forward to coming back. Wimberley is a great little town with nice little shops and good restaurants (be sure to eat at the Leaning Pear and Marco's). Everyone we have met when visiting here have been very friendly. We usually stay during the week, but if you include a weekend, the market days are a lot of fun, we have driven up and back the same day just for that. We bring our 2 dogs and they love running down to the river and back. We see deer and fire flies at night, and the occasional wild turkey. It does not get any better than this!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Blanco River Cottage - Rio Casita
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p162051
+1 5127512761 x 7512761
Wimberley Texas Hill Country
Arlington, TX
5

The Rain Came!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
Upon our arrival at Rio Casita, the thunder started to rumble and the clouds opened up to some much needed rain! We took it as an omen that this was going to be a wonderful getaway and we weren't disappointed. After the rain cleared, the nights were cool and so enjoyable on the back porch and the dogs loved seeing all the birds, deer and even a random turkey walk by. The rooms are all decorated so nicely, yet comfortable enough to feel like a home away from home. We shopped the Wimberley trade days since it was the first Saturday of the month; get there early though as parking can be a little hectic later in the day. We highly recommend the Cypess Cafe and tried to go to the Leaning Pear but it was just too crowded-oh well, maybe next time. My favorite thing was definitely pulling the chair out into the middle of river and enjoying the cool water flow across my feet. I sat out there for hours reading and soaking up the sunshine.

Thank you Connie and family for sharing your quaint rock home with us; we hope to visit again some day in the not too distant future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review and am so glad you enjoyed your stay. We would love to have you return...especially since you brought us some much needed rain.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Beautiful Blanco River Cottage - Rio Casita
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p162051
+1 5127512761 x 7512761
Wimberley Texas Hill Country
Lufkin, Tx
4

Great Place !!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We thoroughly enjoyed the house during our week here in Wimberley. The house is just perfect and very comfortable in all aspects. Can't wait to come back again and do nothing but watch the deer and the river run !!!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: thank you for the review. We really appreciate it.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Blanco River Cottage - Rio Casita
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p162051
+1 5127512761 x 7512761
Wimberley Texas Hill Country
Houston, TX
5

Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 29, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
Rio Casita was exactly what we were looking for - quiet, relaxing, extremely clean and up to date. Just like a brand new home. They are right when they say all you need to take is food. The fenced yard was perfect for our lab, who also had a great time. The river depth was perfect for him. I love to take pictures and we spent hours just sitting on the back porch taking photos. Wildlife everywhere - especially deer. We felt isolated yet in a few minutes there we were on the square in Wimberly shopping. What fun. We highly recommend Rio Casita and look forward to returning.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Blanco River Cottage - Rio Casita
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p162051
+1 5127512761 x 7512761
Wimberley Texas Hill Country
South Padre Island
5

My Dogs Want To Come Back!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
To heck with the dogs, we want to come back! This is a great house - very inviting, lots of privacy and a great deck to sit out on. Our dogs are inside dogs and only go out for walks so this was a real treat for them to be able to sit outside on the deck and roam in the fenced in area.

When we took them to the river, they were in heaven playing around. Sadie even chased a wild turkey!

We would recommend this place to anyone - elderly, with or without children, girls getaway. You are close but not too close to everything.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Beautiful Blanco River Cottage - Rio Casita
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p162051
+1 5127512761 x 7512761
Wimberley Texas Hill Country
Dickinson, TX
5

We didn't want to leave!

We didn't want to leave!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
We had a wonderful time. The house was confortable and homey. We loved the back covered porch area for sitting in the evenings and watching the deer come out and the fireflies (which I have not seen since I was a kid). Our dogs just loved it and it was perfect for them because the back yard was fenced in. The walk down to the river was great and the river was just right for sitting out in your chairs with your feet in the river. It was peaceful and the water clear. We are already planning our next trip to Wimberley and we will definitely want to return to Rio Casita. Wimberley is a beautiful little town, with nice little shops and good restaurants.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful Blanco River Cottage - Rio Casita
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p162051
+1 5127512761 x 7512761
Wimberley Texas Hill Country
Kingwood, TX
5

So Relaxing!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
"We stayed for a week and it was perfect! The river is perfect for putting chairs in the water and hanging out. We have a toddler, so it was perfect for her. It was very private, so there wasn't alot of river traffic, which was nice. The house had everything we needed. The back porch was cool and comfortable, even in July! We will definitely visit again!"
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Beautiful Blanco River Cottage - Rio Casita
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p162051
+1 5127512761 x 7512761
Wimberley Texas Hill Country
Kingwood, TX
5

So relaxing!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We stayed for a week and it was perfect! The river is perfect for putting chairs in the water and hanging out. We have a toddler, so it was perfect for her. It was very private, so there wasn't alot of river traffic, which was nice. The house had everything we needed. The back porch was cool and comfortable, even in July! We will definitely visit again!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Blanco River Cottage - Rio Casita
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p162051
+1 5127512761 x 7512761
Wimberley Texas Hill Country
Vidor, Texas
5

Can't wait to go back!

Can't wait to go back!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
We really enjoyed staying at Rio Casita. My husband and I, as well as our teenage son, found our 5 days here very relaxing and rejuvenating. You will hear lots of people say that Wimberley has nothing to do, but they are so mistaken. You can definitely do “nothing” if you choose, but the town has lots to offer.
I agree with the previous posts, the river is very low in front of the cabin. (If you want to swim, you should visit the Blue Hole. It is an incredible swimming hole near the Wimberley Square.) However, we enjoyed walking down the river, skipping rocks, and observing the beautiful nature. Plenty of deer were seen all around the house each morning and evening as well as wild turkeys and road runners.
The home has all of the comforts and amenities that you would expect. Furnishings were very tasteful and comfortable. My only complaint would be that the home is advertised as having a washer and dryer; however, you only are given access to them if you stay an entire week.
Do I recommend Rio Casita? YES! We have bragged to our friends and family about how wonderful the vacation was and are looking forward to planning our next stay at Rio Casita.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Beautiful Blanco River Cottage - Rio Casita
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p162051
+1 5127512761 x 7512761
Wimberley Texas Hill Country
League City, TX
4

Nice Getaway

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
We had a nice time. The cabin itself is phenomenal - great shape, clean with all the comforts of home. Our only drawback was the depth of the river. The owner had let us know that it was pretty shallow before we arrived, but we really wanted to give it a shot anyway. We walked the river a quarter of a mile both ways from the cabin and never really got too far above the knees. Directly in front of the cabin property, water is only about calf-length. It was nice to sit in the lawn chairs in the river and cool our feet but we couldn't really enjoy much else...besides the beautiful scenery and nature, which was quite exquisite. It is definitely an excellent choice if you are just coming to relax or if you have small children who don't need deeper water. But we had really hoped to find a swimming hole nearby where we could jump in and play or float on a tube.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/9