Lamoine apartment rental - A cozy seaside getaway
A cozy seaside getaway
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Lamoine Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Two bedrooms, one sleeping alcove, one full bath, sleeps 6

SeaCat's Rest is a modern, kid friendly 1000 sf suite with full cook's kitchen. It looks toward the Maine shore through thirty feet of windows, and comprises the private ocean facing ground level of a large two family home. Step outside and you will be 100 feet from the great North Atlantic with views toward Cadillac Mountain and Acadia National Park. Dig clams on the shore or kayak in the pristine waters between short trips to Bar Harbor or the Park's many attractions. Walk up to our local pond for a refreshing swim or check out Lamoine State Park one mile away. Settle in for the night with all the comforts of home with our full modern granite kitchen and entertainment center. There are two bedrooms, each with queen size beds, plus a new sleeping alcove with a choice of bed sizes.

September-The Other August!: Here on the Downeast coast of Maine, September is slow to yield to the cooling Canadian winds and we often have a full month of sun and warmth after most tourists have gone. This is the season of ripening apples, cranberries waiting to be gathered and the first hints of fall color. Prices are marked down--including ours, but few seasonal restaurants or shops are ready to close for the year.The Acadia Night Sky Festival is a celebration of the unique darkness of our night sky and runs in early September. Bucksport's Annual Medieval Tournament is scheduled for the second Saturday in September at Fort Knox. The quirky MDI Garlic Festival happens in mid September at the Smuggler's Den campground in Southwest Harbor. Though it's a bit of a drive, the Common Ground Country Fair in Unity, Maine is an organic mega-event at the end of September. My favorite fall event is Southwest Harbor's Oktoberfest where all of Maine's craft brewers offer their brews.

More Details
Hide Details

The hosts, Bruce Gillett and Dr. Kathleen Rybarz came from Michigan in 1988 and raised our daughter here in Maine. We love the water, mountains and scenery and take an active interest in gardening, boating, mushrooming and foraging wild foods.

Bruce Gillett purchased this apartment in 1995

We didn't buy this house, we built it! After decades in the building business we designed it just how we wanted it and we feel it is the perfect spot for sharing with small groups who appreciate the water views and access, cleanliness and attention to details.

17 Reviews of Property 161783 in Lamoine, Maine

SeaCat's Rest Oceanside Suite
average rating of 4.882353 based on 17 reviews
business
SeaCat's Rest Oceanside Suite
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p161783
+1 207 664-0069
Lamoine Downeast and Acadia
North Carolina
5

5 Star All the Way !!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Wonderful, clean, like new ground floor apartment with a gorgeous view. Our host was friendly and very helpful while my wife loved the kitchen and the cozy wood burning stove. We plan on returning for an extended trip next year.
business
SeaCat's Rest Oceanside Suite
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p161783
+1 207 664-0069
Lamoine Downeast and Acadia
5

An unforgettable stay.. very nice:)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We really enjoyed the stay and we can confidently say that you have taken every measure to keep the guests happy. Hats off to your thought process.

The house was very clean and all the required things were in place [with instructions to use]. Kids enjoyed reading the books and playing the games.

We look forward to visiting again, and would highly recommend 'Seacat Rest' to anyone planning a visit to Bar Harbor or Acadia, and is also in search of the true beauty and quietness of New England. The location, the cleanliness, and the gracious hosts makes this destination a 5 star rating for anyone lucky enough to book this rental.
Owner's Response: Thanks Raj for your kind words. We enjoyed having you and are glad to host young families. Come back again! Bruce
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
SeaCat's Rest Oceanside Suite
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p161783
+1 207 664-0069
Lamoine Downeast and Acadia
5

An Amazing Adventure!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
As we arrived to our destination from south Florida, we were greeted by our host . Upon entering the apartment that our host had built in the lower half of his house, waiting there was a fresh loaf of artisan bread (that our host had baked) and a bottle of red wine sitting on the beautiful granite countertop. What a welcome! The apartment was immaculate and very comfortable. The kitchen is huge and has all that is needed for a family vacation. The wood floors, cabinets and art deco bathroom were equally as impressive. There was not a thing lacking in amenities. Although we went out for a few meals, it was so relaxing to have our breakfast, then stroll down to the bay (our backyard) to watch for seals as they checked the lobster traps. We had our lobsters one night at home, but also at the pound which our host suggested and no one was disappointed.

Although Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park is a short drive, we were just as happy to stay around the house that fluttered with humming birds, waiting for the bald eagle that made a daily appearance, and watch baby porcupines nesting in a tree. 'The Seacat Rest' is the perfect name due to the solitute and scenic beauty it provided us. The local 'seacats' were friendly and beautiful Maine Coons that visited us regularly and followed as we walked the rocky coast just yards away from the back door.

We visited Ruth and Wimpys twice, once for lunch on the way back from Schoodic Point, and then again for dinner the following night. Their lobster rolls beat all others that we tried. Schoodic Point would have to be the highlight of roadtrips taken, and in our opinion, not to be missed.


We look forward to visiting again, and would highly recommend 'Seacat Rest' to anyone planning a visit to Bar Harbor or Acadia, and is also in search of the true beauty and quietness of New England. The location, the cleanliness, and the gracious hosts makes this destination a 5 star rating for anyone lucky enough to book this rental.
Owner's Response: Thanks Salle and Ron, we enjoyed being your hosts! Thanks also for mentioning Schoodic. We visited there recently and you're right, it's a quiet gem of a place. And with our in-between location, SeaCat's Rest is convenient both to Schoodic and the main part of Acadia National Park.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
SeaCat's Rest Oceanside Suite
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p161783
+1 207 664-0069
Lamoine Downeast and Acadia
5

SeaCat's Rest - The Place to Stay!!!

SeaCat's Rest - The Place to Stay!!!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
The property review was just as described in the listing and we arrived to find a spotlessly clean and well-maintained vacation get away! The owners made us feel right at home with fresh baked bread upon our arrival. The entire house was fully stocked with everything we needed to have this place feel like home rather than guests in a strange place - comfort to the max! Plush couches, a warm fireplace, kitchen utensils galore, a cozy stylish bathroom, washer and dryer, and super homey bedrooms and more....what a treat!

When you aren't relaxing indoors all you have to do is meander outside to the yard or deck chairs for a stunning view of the ocean where you might catch a glimpse of eagles or seals! If you really want some adventure you can take a self-guided kayak trip around the bay right from the owners' private beach front just seconds from your front door. The home is also tucked away down a long quiet driveway, but you also have convenient access to the nearby town of Ellsworth for your shopping or dining needs. Oh, try the Union River Lobster Pot in Ellsworth - fabulous! You're also a short drive to nearby Acadia National Park and the town of Bar Harbor.

The owners were very friendly, welcoming and generous but also extremely respectful of our privacy. If we return to Maine for another vacation we would definitely return to SeaCat's Rest! If you're considering a trip yourself then this is the place to stay!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
SeaCat's Rest Oceanside Suite
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p161783
+1 207 664-0069
Lamoine Downeast and Acadia
5

Purring over Seacat's Rest

Purring over Seacat's Rest
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We totally enjoyed our stay at Seacat's Rest! We love the location, close to some of our favorite haunts in Ellsworth, and the accomodations were wonderful. The apartment is comfortable, spacious and well-appointed, and Bruce has thought of everything you could possibly want or need--far above and beyond what you find in most rental homes. We enjoyed the resident cats who patrolled the property during the day and we had some lovely fall days to enjoy the gorgeous views. We have stayed at many rentals in this area of Maine and never quite found the one we'd like to return to--until this trip! We look forward to coming back. Bruce, we thank you for your hospitality and for a wonderful week.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
SeaCat's Rest Oceanside Suite
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p161783
+1 207 664-0069
Lamoine Downeast and Acadia
5

Sea Cat's Rest

Sea Cat's Rest
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We absolutely loved our stay at SeaCat's Rest. It was peaceful, quiet and beautiful. The owners Bruce and Kathryn have thought of everything. Excellent value, very clean and nicely decorated, Short driving distance to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. I wished we could have stayed longer. A lovely retreat away from the hustle and bustle of Bar Harbor.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
SeaCat's Rest Oceanside Suite
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p161783
+1 207 664-0069
Lamoine Downeast and Acadia
4

Rustic setting between sea & sky

Rustic setting between sea & sky
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Our time at the Sea Cats Rest was just that...completely comfortable . The apartment was stocked with reading material on the area, books and games of all kinds. The furniture was very comfortable and felt just like home. Everything we could have wanted was there, if we needed it. We had a campfire several evenings. The setting is more rustic than your typical hotel, but a welcome escape after a day of swimming or sightseeing. We went to Acadia Park probably 5 times in a week. A local goat farm was interesting. Somesville- a cute place to visit also. Echo Lake the best for swimming and relaxing.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
SeaCat's Rest Oceanside Suite
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p161783
+1 207 664-0069
Lamoine Downeast and Acadia
Salisbury, MD
5

Hidden Gem

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
This apartment was exactly as advertised and more. It was well stocked and very clean and comfortable. The view of Frenchman's Bay was spectacular. We walked the shoreline every day and enjoyed looking for sea glass. The apartment was exactly what we were looking for with access to everything. Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park were only a short drive away. We would certainly stay here again when visiting the area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
SeaCat's Rest Oceanside Suite
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p161783
+1 207 664-0069
Lamoine Downeast and Acadia
Minneapolis, MN
5

A wonderful, restful home-away-from-home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
We stayed at the Seacat's Rest during our recent trip to New England. The owner treated us like family, and the place was immaculately clean and quiet. The full kitchen was an added bonus, and we had everything we needed to cook a lovely dinner one evening. Access to the secluded beach at sunset was another feature that was a beautiful surprise. We hope to return again soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We enjoyed having you, Deb. Now if only more folks would discover May and June in Acadia those sunsets on the beach would be appreciated!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
SeaCat's Rest Oceanside Suite
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p161783
+1 207 664-0069
Lamoine Downeast and Acadia
Reading, MA
5

Great Vacation Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
We had a great vacation last week at SeaCat's Rest. The suite is modern and up to date. There are lots of nice touches like a wood burning stove with fire wood, a good collection of books, wifi and an HD TV. The owners were readily available for any questions we had and had suggestions for places to visit. With a full kitchen we were able to cook some of our meals to save us from buying dinner out every night. Acadia was a pleasant 25 minute drive away. There were plenty of towels and the linens were provided for the bedrooms. You will enjoy your stay.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 2/2