Mauna Kea house rental - Enjoy fabulous sunsets all year long
Enjoy fabulous sunsets all year long
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Mauna Kea House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps up to 8 adults)

Our beautiful home is located on the original grounds of the famed Mauna Kea Resort, directly above the 8th fairway of Mauna Kea's Robert Trent Jones, Sr. golf course. Constructed in the style of the world class Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, the house is graciously elegant and quiet, private and secluded. Hale Maluhia is located on the ocean (makai) side of the highway and has beautiful ocean and sunset views from all rooms. There are four bedrooms and three bathrooms, including two master suites. Each master suite has a king bed and its own private entrance. The third bedroom has a queen bed, a private garden, and an attached bath. The fourth bedroom has twin beds and a view of the pool and gardens. All rooms are accessed from exterior, covered lanais, which provides a sense of personal space and allows guests to fully experience and appreciate island lifestyle at its best.

Being a guest in our home entitles you to full use of the facilities at both the Mauna Kea Beach Hotel and the Hapuna Prince Hotel for a usage fee.

If you are unfamiliar with the Mauna Kea Resort, please visit the web site. Originally built as a Rock Resort, the property has two world renown golf courses, many fine shops and restaurants, two state of the art fitness centers, spa facilities, two pools, and thirteen tennis courts. The beach, considered to be the best on the Big Island and routinely appearing on lists of the world's most beautiful beaches, is located on picturesque Kauna'oa Bay. Swim and snorkel with turtles, or just enjoy the sunshine. At night, view the cosmos from our hottub.

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

Our family has enjoyed this house for decades. While it is more of a home than a traditional rental, we enjoy sharing this incredible and classic Mauna Kea home with those who appreciate the Mauna Kea and its Hawaiian elegance. All four of our children learned to swim in the pool and one day will teach theirs to swim there as well. We spend as much time here as possible and learn something new about the island on each visit. We hope you choose to experience old Hawaii at our home. Tim and Susan. Piedmont, California

Tim von Herrmann purchased this house in 1987

All of the Big Island is open to you when you stay at our home. Just a few of the activities enjoyed by our guests include: watching the sunset with a Fredrico drink in one hand and your partner's hand in the other; competing in the October Ironman Triathlon; watching hot lava flow into the sea, skiing in January on a 14,000 foot volcano, hiking in the Kohala canyons and on the beaches, shooting par on the Mauna Kea Course... and the list goes on. Something new every visit.

11 Reviews of Property 161369 in Mauna Kea, Hawaii

Hale Maluhia 'Peaceful House'--True Elegance and 4 Bedrooms
average rating of 5.0 based on 11 reviews
business
Hale Maluhia 'Peaceful House'--True Elegance and 4 Bedrooms
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p161369vbi
+ 510-604-4381
Mauna Kea Kohala Coast
Colorado
5

What a beautiful vacation home.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Well we just finished our second vacation stay at the "Peaceful House" and again we were awestruck. You can't believe the views form this home, they are out of this world. We were here with eight people and no one got in anyones way the whole time. We lounged by the pool endlessly. Use of the resort hotels and beaches is an absolute great benefit to staying at this incredible home. Also one of the most important factors for us is cleanliness and this house was immaculate. Very clean, not even a little dust when we got here. We have fallen in love with the "Peaceful House" and will be returning again for sure. The owners were always very helpful in answering any of our questions. I would not only recommend this property to my friends and relatives but brought them with me on this trip. We did the hike outside of Hawi and then had dinner at the Bamboo Rest in Hawi. Wonderful day. Just loved Hapuna Beach.
Thanks to the owners Tim and Sue for opening up their home to us to enjoy, it is really an experience to stay here.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Hale Maluhia 'Peaceful House'--True Elegance and 4 Bedrooms
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p161369vbi
+ 510-604-4381
Mauna Kea Kohala Coast
Long Beach, Ca
5

Wonderful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Our group of 5 adults and 2 children stayed for a wonderful week in this house. It was by far the best rental vacation we have ever had. The house is perfect in very way. It is very clean, well maintained and stocked. The two refrigerators give you plenty of space to store your purchases from Costco (doesn't everyone stop there after getting off the plane!). The views are great with fantastic sunsets that can be admired from the pool, patio or veranda. And the openiness of the house makes you feel like you are outside at all times, even if you are inside. We did have one maintenance issue that was quickly resolved with a phone call to the owner. The amenties at the Muana Kea were a definite plus. The beach is one of the best on the island. And a great place to enjoy a Frederico.............or two. There was only one negative about our visit - we did't stay longer!
We will be back.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Hale Maluhia 'Peaceful House'--True Elegance and 4 Bedrooms
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p161369vbi
+ 510-604-4381
Mauna Kea Kohala Coast
Los Angeles, CA
5

Best vacation home ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We had the pleasure of starting off our summer this year with a one week stay at this beautiful home on the Mauna Kea resort, and it really exceeded our expectations.We were two families, consisting of two couples, two teen boys, and two teen girls, and we could not have been more comfortable.

The home is absolutely lovely - the photos do not do it justice. It was also very clean, and very well stocked with 2 refrigerators, two washers + dryers, bbq and plenty of clean linens and towels. Stop at the local Costco on the way in and stock the fridge - you will LOVE cooking meals in the gourmet kitchen and every type of pan and utensil is available. We ended up eating in even more than we expected to. The pool man came regularly to clean and make sure everything was working properly.

It is really the best of both worlds to have use of a private swimming pool AND access to the Mauna Kea's beach and pool. So great to start off the day with a quick swim and breakfast at home, (which can save you $40 a person), followed by a day of sightseeing and home for a wonderful dinner and bottle of wine on the beautiful outdoor lanai.

The owners were wonderful and did everything to ensure we had a wonderful stay!

We cannot wait to go back!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Hale Maluhia 'Peaceful House'--True Elegance and 4 Bedrooms
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p161369vbi
+ 510-604-4381
Mauna Kea Kohala Coast
San Juan Capistrano, CA
5

Best Ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
This clean, secluded, beautifully decorated, airy, open house is so homey, comfortable, and well-stocked that our grandchildren thought it belonged to us. It was everything promised and more. There are a drawer-full of children's books, a cupboard stocked with games and puzzles for all ages, spices in the pantry, boogie boards and snorkels in the shed, and lots of space for everyone. The views of the fairway and ocean are magnificent and there is plenty of seating indoors and outdoors for island eating.
The owners' and managers' plan is clearly to make a visitors' stay so delightful that they have no choice but to return. Both were were reachable and wonderful. Add to that the option of Mauna Kea Resort amenities--chairs and towels on their crescent, white sand beach, etc.--and this can't be beat.
My husband got gold stars from all our adult kids for finding this place for us!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Hale Maluhia 'Peaceful House'--True Elegance and 4 Bedrooms
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p161369vbi
+ 510-604-4381
Mauna Kea Kohala Coast
Sacramento CA
5

Peaceful House lives up to its name

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
This property lives up to its description. It is elegant, comfortable, and well equipped with everything needed for a wonderful vacation. Our family enjoyed a happy week here, including eating dinner together each night on the lanai while watching the sun set. The owners are professional in their handling of rentals and followed up after we arrived to ensure everything was in order. My husband and I are great fans of the Mauna Kea hotel, but having spent time at this home and at the other property we rented for this trip, will definately consider staying at a house the next time we return rather than in the hotel.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Hale Maluhia 'Peaceful House'--True Elegance and 4 Bedrooms
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p161369vbi
+ 510-604-4381
Mauna Kea Kohala Coast
Reno, NV
5

Fun for everyone!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
We had a fabulous time. Susan and Tim really do their best to make you feel at home. The pictures don't really do the place justice -- it's much more beautiful. The house is very well-appointed and had everything we could have wanted. The saline pool was FANTASTIC! My wife was happy the pool didn't damage her hair and our 8 month old son and loved swimming every day. The beach at the Mauna Kea resort was one of the best, if not THE best, beaches we'd ever been to. Left completely relaxed and recharged. Can't wait to stay again...
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Hale Maluhia 'Peaceful House'--True Elegance and 4 Bedrooms
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p161369vbi
+ 510-604-4381
Mauna Kea Kohala Coast
Belvedere, California
5

Exceeding expectations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
The photos and description of "Peaceful House", while accurate, cannot fully prepare you for the astonishing grace and beauty of the property. Beautiful views of the sunset over the ocean, well-kept garden and pool, exquisite lanai for dinner, cocktails, breakfast, and reading, beautifully furnished interiors, and a kitchen with everything you need for a large family gathering. The owners were readily available to answer any question that came up. We enjoyed the golf, tennis and beach and could not have wished for anything more during our pre-Christmas "present" to the whole family.
Recommended for:  Age 55+
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Hale Maluhia 'Peaceful House'--True Elegance and 4 Bedrooms
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p161369vbi
+ 510-604-4381
Mauna Kea Kohala Coast
seattle
5

The Perfect vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
The owners of this home go out of their way to make sure that the renters love "their Hawaii" as much as they do. The house was in perfect condition, and well appointed for our two families. We have vacationed all over the world together, and this met all of our expectations .
A lovely note from the owners made us feel right at home.
I would highly recommend this property
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Hale Maluhia 'Peaceful House'--True Elegance and 4 Bedrooms
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p161369vbi
+ 510-604-4381
Mauna Kea Kohala Coast
Conifer, CO
5

Magical

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2009
My husband and I celebrated with our children and grandchildren in this beautiful home in a magical place. The accomodations were perfect, but the setting and views were what it's all about. The layout of the house brought the outdoors in, and drew you from the inside out from morning until night. The hottub was a big hit - such a gorgeous setting overlooking the golf course and the ocean and majestic sunsets. The beach at Mauna Kea - one of our favorite places in the world - was our destination most days, but we did manage to fit in some exploration of the big island too. Our whole experience was enhanced by the eagerness of the owners to make our stay easy, comfortable and relaxing. We're already talking about going back to stay there again some day . . .
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Hale Maluhia 'Peaceful House'--True Elegance and 4 Bedrooms
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p161369vbi
+ 510-604-4381
Mauna Kea Kohala Coast
Oakland, Ca
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2009
  • Stayed: Apr 2009
Absolutely Fabulous !! My wife and I spent 5 days at this fantastic luxurious home. The house had everything we could have wnated for our vacation. The pool and hot tub are great. They and the outdoor lanai overlook the golf course and offered spectacular views of the ocean. We were so close we even spotted whales Jumping, all from the breakfast table. The location is so close, you walk to the spectacular Mauna Kea resort beach. The sand is white and soft, the auqua blue water was tons of fun. We snorkled and saw turtles and had a great time. This house was immaculate. We will be back to enjoy the view of the stars while sipping champagne in the hot tub. The owners arranged for a pick up and drop at the airport and gave us great suggestions for exploring. What a great place to vacation.
Helpful votes: 4/4