Nosara house rental - View of the front of the house
View of the front of the house
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights
 

Nosara House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms + Bunk Area, 2.5+ Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Hang Ten, Chill Out, Go Native, “Is that a real monkey?”

Casa de Memphis is located in the northern corner of Playa Pelada where the Ostional Wildlife Reserve meets the Pacific Ocean and your front door. While Casa de Memphis is very secluded, it is still convenient to shopping and the other amenities. If you do not mind a troop of monkeys living in the trees above and an array of birds not commonly found in a front yard, this is the place for you. (Some would refer to the location as “Critter Central”.) Beach, wildlife, peace and quiet, and no other people. (Just look over the photos and see for yourself.)

The whole beach is yours as you walk down the beach to one of the finest restaurants in the state of Guanacaste, La Luna. As you walk to La Luna, check out the tidal pools and the marine aquarium left by the tide. Every hour the beach area offers up a new setting as the tide comes in and out. Playa Pelada is the best place to swim of the three beaches in Nosara and kids can't get enough of the tidal pools.

This newly constructed, fully air conditioned beach house has two master bedrooms, each with its own massive bathroom, queen size bed, vaulted ceiling and private walkout balcony. The bigger of the two bedrooms has a bunk bed off to the side carved into its own area. The house is fully furnished and equipped for a party of 6. The houses sits behind a secure gated entrance at the end of the road with secure off street parking. No through traffic as you sit on the front porch and try and figure out what kind of humming bird that is. As of January 2009, the house has high speed, wireless internet.

Casa de Memphis is set up for the weekly renter. Very child friendly with a crib and high chair. (Because of the way the house is constructed it is hard for children to do any real damage, although some have tried.) High Speed Wireless Internet, linens, a full size safe for your valuables(large and small, i.e. laptop computers) that weighs 500 pounds and is bolted to the floor, weekly house cleaning, monkeys, and they are all included at no extra charge. The house is managed by a couple that live just up the hill and are always on hand to answer a question or take care of something. There is even a comprehensive scrap book with loads of information about the house and the area. Everything you need is already there. Beach chairs, towels and much much more.......

Guest of Casa de Memphis I have access to the pool at the Gilded Iguana. Walk down the beach and have breakfast on the beach at Olga's. Walk on a little further and spend the day lounging around the Iguana's pool and waterfall. The bar at the pool is always open and at your service as well as the kitchen for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Tired of cooking? We can arrange for a private chef to do all of the shopping, come to the house and prepare the menu of your choice at a mere fraction of what dinning out would be. This is the best bargain in Nosara and the wife of the owner of the house takes full advantage of this. Imagine, someone comes to the house at 15:00 (3PM), cleans, prepares dinner, cleans up afterwards and departs by 20:00 (8PM). Cost: $25 plus groceries. Tell us what you want and we will make it happen.

NOTE: Nosara, like many other beach communities, is experiencing a building boom. The northern end of Playa Pelada, where the house is located, is the only location free from the early morning construction noise, truck traffic and the associated dust.

Security: Costa Ricans are by nature a very passive people. That said petty theft is an on going issue. Nothing neutralizes this issue more than common since. CdM I & II have alarm systems. No other house available for rent has this level of security.

For more information call us or scroll down just above the photos for the link to the house's website.

Dave Caywood

901-628-8551 (CST)

Keywords: Beach house, Nosara, Costa Rica, Surfing, Playa Pelada, House, vacation rental

More Details
Hide Details

David & Mary Caywood have owned Casa

de Memphis since the year it was built back in 2007. Mary is a professor at the University of Memphis while David flies for FedEx. The management company that looks after the house is owned by Tiffany and Frank and they have a staff of about 20 employees. With Frank being German and David an airline pilot they have come together with the following management program. “Correct it before it breaks. Repair it when it does. Remove it when you can’t.” This attitude alone is one of the reasons why everyone goes away planning their return and the guest comments reflect just that. The one down side to David & Mary’s beach house, it is often booked up well in advance but if you are flexible, they can usually get you in.

BE SURE AND SCROLL DOWN TO SEE THE PHOTOS AND COMMENTS.

Dave Caywood purchased this house in 2007

We were looking to move down to Costa Rica and began the process of looking for a new home. We literally got out a map and started going down the Pacific coast doing a Google search on each and every town on the map. When we saw large scale concrete high rise buildings, the search moved on. Unfortunately, what we were looking for in Costa Rica, was long gone until we happened upon Nosara.

Nosara is best described as a perfect mix of human existence in a natural setting. The monkeys do not run from you but stare back. The beach is natural and there are no buildings to be seen and best of all because there are no large scale condominium projects. You basically have the place to yourself and that is why we bought the house where we did.

And the name, Casa de Memphis? It came about as a product of need. As in most of South America, there are no addresses, instead every house has a name. We wanted a name that best described the house and location but they were already taken. Next we wanted a name that gringos could remember. Also take into consideration the fact that people in Nosara do not use there last name and we were quickly referred to as David and Mary from Memphis and in the absence of anything else, Casa de Memphis it became.

Location, Location, Location and the house is the best example of just that. On the beach, by the river, next to the wildlife preserve. Families with children are especially attracted to the house because they are just steps away from the beach, jungle and all of the animals Costa Rica has to offer. The animals are actually best seen from the front porch while sitting in one of the four rocking chairs. Highly addictive, no cure!

48 Reviews of Property 126479 in Nosara, Costa Rica

Don't Walk to the Beach, Casa De Memphis I is on the Beach.
average rating of 4.875 based on 48 reviews
business
Don't Walk to the Beach, Casa De Memphis I is on the Beach.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126479vb
+1 901-628-8551
Nosara Guanacaste
Arkansas
5

Casa de Memphis= five stars+

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2007
  • Stayed: Jun 2007
What a wonderful experience, so much better than we anticipated. My wife and 15 month old son didn't know what to expect as we drove down the potholed roads to what was apparently the middle of the rainforest, when we pulled up to this beautiful house. It is incredible both inside and out, accented with the most beautiful woods you can imagine. It was roomy, clean, and had all of the amenities we could want. In the morning we would go out on our balcony and watch howler monkeys, veriegated squirrels, parrots, parakeets and cotamundis playing in the trees - right there in front of us! The beach is about 200 ft from the house, and on the way to it we would see many multi colored lizards including iguanas, as well as brilliantly orange-colored crabs and hermit crabs scurrying away. We had this beautiful beach all to ourselves, and found so many colorful and uniquely shaped shaped shells. The water was perfect. We found a coconut the first day, and man was it good. At night, we would sit on the front porch and relax with a cigar and beverage, and you could hear the ocean at the perfect volume, better than any Corona commercial. Even though it seems you are miles away from anywhere, the are little pockets carved away in the jungle that have some of the most marvelous resteraunts and bars I have ever seen. They have completely stocked kitchens and bars, and everything is SOOO fresh. Some were upscale with infitiy pool bars, and while at others I kept waitng for Jimmy Buffet to walk up and have a Margarita. At one place, a couple of kinkajou (raccoon family) walked right out of the jungle up to our table, which my son loved. They were all very reasonbly priced. And if total laid back relaxation and fabulous dining isn't enough, we took surfing lessons (the area is famous for its surfing), and went on an incredibley exhilarating zip line canopy tour. So many other psoitives, like the amazingly few biting insects, the sights and sounds, the people, the weather, and the lack of crowds gives this place the perfect mix of relaxation and excitement. Another crummy week in paradise . . .
Nick June 2007
Helpful votes: 12/15
business
Don't Walk to the Beach, Casa De Memphis I is on the Beach.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126479vb
+1 901-628-8551
Nosara Guanacaste
Toronto
4

Couldn't be any closer to the beach

Couldn't be any closer to the beach
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
No frills house with all the basics. Attentive property manager. We love the location. Perfect for two couples. Great value.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children
business
Don't Walk to the Beach, Casa De Memphis I is on the Beach.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126479vb
+1 901-628-8551
Nosara Guanacaste
Where do you live?
4

Nice place to stay, near fun town

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Casa de Memphis was a wonderful place to stay with my family. The beach was a short walk (we learned upon arrival that Costa Rica does not allow houses to be build closer than 300 meters from the ocean), there is a pool next door that we were allowed to use, and the house was beautiful and in great condition. The town of Nosara is very near by and has great surf lessons, restaurants, and shops, but it is not too big.

Two words of caution: The rip tide is strong off the coast of the house. David has information about it in the house. We had three children with us, the youngest 6 years old, and learned quickly that they couldn't go it above their knees. Also, the owners recommended two Coast Rican women who would cook for us. They were lovely and prepared a great meal, but in the end charged is 3x what we were told they would charge. We paid, of course, but didn't (couldn't afford to) ask them to return. Better to find a good Costa Rican place in town for a fraction of the cost.

All in all, it was a great experience, and everyone in my family would love to return. (Zip lining, and surf lesson are a MUST!)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Don't Walk to the Beach, Casa De Memphis I is on the Beach.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126479vb
+1 901-628-8551
Nosara Guanacaste
5

Everything you need for a great vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Spent the 1st week of July 2013 at Casa de Memphis with my wife and 2 children ages 3 & 1. The house is at the northern end of Playa Pelada, a beautiful stretch of beach with a nice swimming area and lots of tide pools. From the front door of the house it is only a 2 minute walk to the beach and about a 10 minute drive to the "downtown" area near Playa Guiones. The 2 bedrooms were good size with comfortable beds, fans and air conditioning, and each with their own bathrooms which were large. The house offers a fully supplied kitchen connected to a good size living room area. Nice porches at the front and back sides of the house with comfortable furniture to sit outside and enjoy the daily visits of the howler monkeys and birds. Additionally, there is a washer and dryer which was very helpful. The house offers good speed wifi and Sky TV.
Dave, the owner, is very knowledgeable about the local area and provides a detailed accounting of many of the area attractions. He is quick to respond and makes the rental process quite easy. Tiffany, the local property manager, was quite helpful in getting us checked in and making sure we had an enjoyable stay
Note: We rented a GPS from Dollar at the Liberia airport (highly recommended accessory from whomever you rent a car from) - Casa de Memphis is preloaded as one of the Nosara sites.
We look forward to staying again soon.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Don't Walk to the Beach, Casa De Memphis I is on the Beach.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126479vb
+1 901-628-8551
Nosara Guanacaste
British Columbia, Canada
5

Vacation paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Case De Memphis was everything we expected. The house and property are in great condition.
I would not travel at the end of the dry season in future travel, as we did this time. I would stay here again if travelling this way. The owners information is current and very helpful.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Don't Walk to the Beach, Casa De Memphis I is on the Beach.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126479vb
+1 901-628-8551
Nosara Guanacaste
Huntington Beach, CA
5

Casa de Memphis 1

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Awesome time at Casa De Memphis 1, great location and quick walk down the beach and you are at the local tico bar and resturant. Fishing was awesome and the neighbors were wonderful at giving us advise and letting us in on the local favorites. Loved it.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Don't Walk to the Beach, Casa De Memphis I is on the Beach.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126479vb
+1 901-628-8551
Nosara Guanacaste
San Carlos, Costa Rica
5

Un lugar espectacular!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Este lugar es sencillamente fantástico!

La casa está decorada de forma muy hermosa, estoy impresionada por la calidad del mantenimiento, la limpieza impecable pero sobre todo, el servicio al cliente, la atención es de primera calidad!!! Uno puede sertirse 100% seguro y tranquilo en este lugar.

Definitivamente, los mejores días que pasamos mi novio y yo en la playa, fueron en Casa de Memphis. Esperamos poder regresar en un futuro y por supuesto, vamos a recomendar este precioso lugar a todas nuestras amistades y familiares.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Translation: This place is just fantastic! The house is decorated in a very beautiful, I am impressed by the quality of maintenance, impeccable cleanliness and above all, customer service, attention is first class! One can sertirse 100% safe and quiet here. Definitely, the best days we spent my boyfriend and I on the beach, were in Memphis House. We hope to return in the future and of course, we will recommend this lovely place to all our friends and family.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Don't Walk to the Beach, Casa De Memphis I is on the Beach.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126479vb
+1 901-628-8551
Nosara Guanacaste
Canada
5

Kids vacation of a lifetime

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
What a beautiful place to relax! Our kids loved being so close to the beach and we loved being able to walk to great restaurants. The kids were amazed at how close the monkeys were to the house and how big the iguanas were. We are from Heredia, so having such a great haven within driving distance is amazing. We are already figuring out dates to come back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
business
Don't Walk to the Beach, Casa De Memphis I is on the Beach.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126479vb
+1 901-628-8551
Nosara Guanacaste
USA
5

Costa Rica at its best

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
I was thrilled to have so many things for me and my friends to do, right in the middle of the remote paradise of Playa Plaeda. Zip lining, four wheeling, hike to the waterfall, walks on both Palaeda and Guiones beaches, swimming in tidal pools, excellent food and a quiet community. The bird watching was amazing, as well as the appearance of holler monkeys and large iguanas. The house is very comfortable!!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Don't Walk to the Beach, Casa De Memphis I is on the Beach.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126479vb
+1 901-628-8551
Nosara Guanacaste
knoxville
5

Great vaca!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
It was a great location for our family! Easy access to the beach!! Close to all
the restaurants!! Beautiful house!! Everything was perfect!! So easy working with the property manager!!
Awesome!!! Will go again!!!!!