Edwards house rental - Peaceful Trout Lake
Peaceful Trout Lake
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Edwards House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, sleeps 8-10, lakefront

A perfect house for your classic Adirondack lake family vacation. We are now accepting reservations for Summer 2014. Swim, fish, sunbathe and boat all day. Relax around the campfire at night. Our house sits on the north shore of the lake, giving it a spectacular, length of lake view, southern exposure (sun all day) and a sandy bottom (no weeds or drop-offs). Trout Lake is rated one of the most pristine lakes in New York State with outstanding fishing.

Winter is a great time for a romantic weekend get away, family/friend reunion or school break. The beauty of winter is on full display, with the lake providing opportunities for skating, skiing, ice fishing (great way to catch a Lake Trout) snowmobiling (additional, dedicated trails nearby) and moonlit walks (and if you’re lucky, perhaps the Northern Lights). Inquire regarding special rates.

This four season home was built in 1997 and is in excellent condition. The front of the house faces the lake and includes a covered porch to enjoy the view and listen to the loons. The back of the house has property that overlooks a protected bay. Most of the rooms have water views, including an enclosed, three season side porch with a “pub table” and chairs. The back yard is big enough for family fun.

A three bedroom, two bath house with an open floor plan, all rooms are decorated in the Adirondack style. The kitchen is fully equipped and features an island for extra counter space. Enjoy a family meal around the large country style dining room table. There is a first floor master bedroom with a queen bed and sliding glass doors that open to the lake. The master bedroom also includes a full bath, making this house easily accessible for individuals with mobility issues. One upstairs bedroom has a queen bed. The other upstairs bedroom has two twins and a bunk bed; a perfect room for the kids, or a second family. There is a full bath on the second floor as well. Additionally, a pull-out queen sofa in the living room and a double futon in the three season porch provides extra sleeping space if needed.

The house is located on a peninsula, giving it water access for swimming and fishing from the front, and a sheltered bay in the rear of the property including a slip for your own boat (by arrangement). Included with our house: a fishing boat with outboard motor, trolling motor and fish-finder, canoe, paddle boat, kayak, satellite TV, WiFi internet connection, sand box, gas grill and fire pit all ready for your use. Firewood is included. Home has a drilled well (rather than lake water), and is equipped with a dishwasher and washer and dryer (no piles of laundry to do after your vacation). All linens and towels are provided. Just pack your clothes and food and come enjoy a vacation you will never forget!

In 2012 the lake’s boat launch was closed to the public, making the lake, in essence, a private lake. A deep, clean, clear spring-fed lake (making it an excellent trout habitat) the large, main part of the lake facilitates water skiing, tubing and sailing, while the many islands and bays provided sheltered waterways for canoeing and kayaking. Medium in size, the lake warms quickly in the spring, reaches at water temperature of 80 degrees by mid-summer, is easily navigated by the novice boater. A stunningly beautiful lake, modest weekend activity on the water gives way to great quiet and serenity during the week. You won’t believe how few people there are with whom you’ll share the lake.

For larger parties (18 to 20) this house may be rented with the neighboring house (owned by my son). Please visit http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p180968 for more information, and contact me about possibilities.

Four Seasons of Fun.

In Autumn, come view the glorious fall foliage which rings the lake, or make a day trip to the high-peaks region of the Adirondack Park (about an hour’s drive time). The home has satellite TV and is the perfect spot for a football weekend with old friends. Spacious dining area and modern kitchen make this a great alternative for your Thanksgiving or Holiday family gathering (with dishwasher to boot!). A newly installed gas fireplace/stove creates a warm and cozy place to enjoy nature, one’s family or some simple peace and quiet

Spring comes slowly to the North Country. We all wait with eager anticipation for “ice out,” and the arrival of buds on the trees and the running of the sap. Trout Season opens, regionally, on April 1st. However, special NYS DEC fishing regulations allow early angling on Trout Lake; with the still cold water temperatures, this is the best time to fish for Lake Trout (my next door neighbor and son, “Rev. Mike,” a licensed NYS Fishing Guide, caught a 17 pound, 39 inch laker 25 feet from shore in about 15 feet of water).

Late Spring/Early Summer is the absolute best fishing time. Long, sunny days warm the water and bring the Rainbow Trout to the surface. Even in May the brave can enjoy a brisk swim. Come June, the water is quite warm enough for swimming and water activities. At this time of year the lake itself is stunningly quiet; a perfect time for kayaking.

Bugs. When considering a northern forest or Adirondack vacation, one must always be mindful of a frank consideration of “bugs.” Situated out on a point, away from dense woods and typically enjoying a lake breeze, Loon Lodge is mercifully (mostly) free from pesky mosquitos and black flies. We do have a 7 to 10 day hatch of black flies and some mosquitos in the Spring. However, the balance of the summer is almost bug free, with the occasional evening mosquito. In five years, we have never had to use any bug repellent (really!).

More Details
Hide Details

26 Reviews of Property 160595 in Edwards, New York

Exceptional Private Four Season House on Quiet Adirondack Lake
average rating of 5.0 based on 26 reviews
business
Exceptional Private Four Season House on Quiet Adirondack Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p160595
+1 (716) 574-9146
Edwards Adirondacks
5

Great Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My wife, three daughters and four grandkids rented this property in August 2013 and had a wonderful time. Calling it a "camp" does not do it justice. It is a beautifully maintained lake house with all the amenities of home, albeit with a scenic lakefront setting. We had use of 2 kayaks, a canoe and a fishing boat, There are also toys and a lakefront sandbox for the kids. The owner's son, who has the camp next door, helped tremendously in making this a memorable vacation.He let us use a small paddle boat that my 5 year old granddaughter loved to paddle around. He also was kind enough to show me the best spots on the lake to fish , the best tackle to use, took the kids tubing, and provided kindling when we needed it to make samores in the evening. .The owner and family are very considerate and easy to work with, and are genuinely interested in ensuring an enjoyable vacation, I recommend this property highly.
Owner's Response: We are very pleased that you enjoyed our house. Thank you for sharing your vacation experience.
Nancy, Michael and Family
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Exceptional Private Four Season House on Quiet Adirondack Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p160595
+1 (716) 574-9146
Edwards Adirondacks
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

The Perfect Home Away From Home

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Our Family spent a wonderful week at this lovely home for our daughter's graduation from St. Lawrence. The house is so absolutely clean, comfortable and well equipped, even for a crowd! Trout Lake is so peaceful and beautiful, and what a treat to have all the boats, (kayak, canoe, peddle & fishing boat) available to us. Nancy and her Family couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating from our very first inquiry and throughout our stay. We truly felt like guests and not just "tenants". We were so pleased to have found such a perfect home away from home for our graduation/family vacation, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this home to others.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Exceptional Private Four Season House on Quiet Adirondack Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p160595
+1 (716) 574-9146
Edwards Adirondacks
5

Winter Wonderland in the Adirondacks

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
My husband and our two teenagers spent a wonderful winter weekend at this cottage on Trout Lake and we couldn't have been happier. The house is beautiful, clean, and comfortable, and so close to the lake you can almost touch it. The view is spectacular. We hiked, went cross-country skiing on the frozen lake, and enjoyed the beautiful winter scenery. I highly recommend this pretty cottage in winter or summer if you want to get away from it all. You won't be disappointed. (Jennifer, West Deptford, NJ)
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Exceptional Private Four Season House on Quiet Adirondack Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p160595
+1 (716) 574-9146
Edwards Adirondacks
5

Winter Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Our family recently stayed at this beautiful house for a winter get-away. The house was warm and cozy and we eagerly settled in to enjoy the lake in winter. Cross-country skiing and ice fishing are just two of the activities that were available for us to enjoy. The kitchen had any equipment needed to make our meals and there was plenty of space for our family for sleeping and relaxing. One of the best parts was waking up and seeing the peaceful lake right outside the bedroom window. We would eagerly rent this house again for a winter retreat.
business
Exceptional Private Four Season House on Quiet Adirondack Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p160595
+1 (716) 574-9146
Edwards Adirondacks
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Don't Want To Leave

Don't Want To Leave
  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
From Guest Book:

"This house is amazing. I honestly don't want to leave! The house is beautiful! Rev. Mike took me tubing with his family and my dad and I fishing to show us some good spots. We ended up catching a few keepers. The view is un-real. Loved this vacation! - Deanna (Brooklyn, NY)
business
Exceptional Private Four Season House on Quiet Adirondack Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p160595
+1 (716) 574-9146
Edwards Adirondacks
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Love The Cottage

  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
From Guest Book:

"We love the cottage! All three families had a wonderful time. We enjoyed waking up and having coffee on the porch, swimming, boating, late night campfires and catching frogs and turtles. Everyone was very helpful and the cottage was spotless. The kids loved the fishing and tubing. Thanks for a great vacation!" (Rochester, NY)
business
Exceptional Private Four Season House on Quiet Adirondack Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p160595
+1 (716) 574-9146
Edwards Adirondacks
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

A Great Relaxing Vacation

  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
From Guest Book:

"What a great relaxing vacation. The kids enjoyed hours of fishing (thanks to the help of Rev. Mike), swimming, boating, rock jumping and tubing (again, thanks to Rev. Mike). Love the house - warm and inviting!! Nancy made us feel very welcome and was very pleasant to talk to! We would love to come back again soon." (Bainbridge, NY)
business
Exceptional Private Four Season House on Quiet Adirondack Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p160595
+1 (716) 574-9146
Edwards Adirondacks
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

The Best Weekend

  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
From Guest Book:

"We decided last minute to book a cabin for Father's Day weekend in the Adirondacks and we are so glad we came across this home and location! We had the best weekend! Beautiful, clean home and amazing property. We loved discovering the sandy beach down the lake a bit, and loved canoeing, kayaking, paddle boating, sun bathing, grilling and swimming! Thank you for such a great place to recommend to all our friends!" - Steve (Syracuse, NY)
business
Exceptional Private Four Season House on Quiet Adirondack Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p160595
+1 (716) 574-9146
Edwards Adirondacks
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Perfect For Our Family

  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
From Guest Book:

"What a great week here at Trout Lake. The house and setting were perfect for our family. The kids really enjoyed the sandbox, paddle boat, kayaks, swimming out to and playing on the raft, fishing, etc. The adults enjoyed the quiet, peaceful setting, a well stocked house that felt like a home instead of a rental, Rev. Mike and Lind who went out of their way to ensure we got the most out of our time here, and star-gazing at night - saw multiple shooting stars! All the best!" - Dan, Donna and family (Clifton Park, NY)
business
Exceptional Private Four Season House on Quiet Adirondack Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p160595
+1 (716) 574-9146
Edwards Adirondacks
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

What A Great Decision

  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
From Guest Book:

"Decided to do a lake vacation instead of beach for my birthday this year, and what a great decision that was! This home and it's location is very special. We enjoyed hiking, kayaking, swimming, tubing, fishing (first time for the girls) and some great dining at the 1844 House. We hope to return next year. P.S. Special thanks to Reverend Mike and Linda!" - Sara and Abe