Lake Pepin cabin rental - Relax And Enjoy The View In Our New 6-8 Person Hot Tub, Open All Year Round!
Relax And Enjoy The View In Our New 6-8 Person Hot Tub, Open All Year Round!
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps13
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Lake Pepin Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Cabin, 2 Bedrooms + Loft, 2.5+ Baths, (Sleeps 13)

"Lion Downe" cottage, the perfect get-away with all the extras (new large hot tub, free WIFI, satellite, firewood, etc.) , located in the heart of the Rush River Valley, along the scenic Mississippi corridor with brand new large hot tub and expanded deck with unparalleled views of Lake Pepin and the surrounding majestic bluffs.

Stunning log home, as featured in Log Home Living Magazine, is nestled in the bluffs, with breathtaking views of Lake Pepin from every room in the house, and from the large deck. The serenity and cozy feeling is accentuated from the surrounding 40 acres of private majestic hard wood forest. 660 foot of lake frontage, easily accessible from the lake (but not from cottage up in bluffs), with variable sandy beach depending on the season. Located 13 miles downriver of Red Wing, near the Wisconsin Villages of Maiden Rock, Stockholm and Pepin. Just 60 minutes from Minneapolis/St. Paul international airport.

Fishing, hunting, hiking, biking, bird watching and relaxation right out side your back door. Shopping, fine restaurants, and quaint small towns with antiques, arts, crafts, and frequent festivals all within a short, pleasant drive along the lake shore.

Keywords: Cabin, Cottage, Sanctuary, house, home, lake home, hot tub, secluded, private, lakefront, riverfront, view, flat

More Details
Hide Details

I someday hope to retire at Lion Downe Cottage with my wonderful wife, Heather. In the mean time we both work in the Twin Cities and get down to visit as often as possible with our family.

Rob Weinmann purchased this cabin in 2001

We chose to purchase Lion Downe Cottage as it is very close to the Twin Cities, has wonderful quaint towns nearby, great wildlife, fantastic restaurants, countless festivals, and is still one of the best kept secrets for a vacation!

141 Reviews of Property 197314 in Lake Pepin, Wisconsin

40 Acre Wooded Retreat Overlooking Lake Pepin with Lakefront
average rating of 4.8474574 based on 141 reviews
business
40 Acre Wooded Retreat Overlooking Lake Pepin with Lakefront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p197314vb
Lake Pepin Central Wisconsin
Minneapolis
5

Quiet and Romantic Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2009
  • Stayed: Mar 2009
WOW-
My wife and I snuck out of town for a short weekend to celebrate our anniversary. We were hoping for a quiet setting where we could enjoy eachothers company, a bottle of wine and a cozy fire. The cabin provided everything were were looking for and much more. Matter of fact, we enjoyed ourselves so much we contacted the property owner and arranged to stay an additional night.
The cabin was stunning, it reminded me of a gingerbread house, strategically located on the ridge of the bluff top with a perfect view of the Mississippi River/Lake Pepin.
It was very clean and tastefully decorated. We easily found all of the items we needed for our stay and took advantage of a few of the extras we stumbled across like the sound system on the main floor. The large stone fireplace became the focal point of our stay. I like the fact that it was easy to start and there was plenty of dry wood within close reach.
The spring leafless trees provided a panoramic view of water from nearly every window. We took advantage of the warm weather and walked the upper property strolling through the heavily wooded lot, taking in nature at its best. The long driveway and lightly traveled access road were great for taking a walk any time of day- the views of the Rush River Valley were specatular. We caught sight of a few eagles as they made their way around the river valley, soaring in the sky and even landing in a tree very close to the cabin, it was quite the spectacle.
I would recommend this property for a romantic get away, a girls weekend or a guys weekend. There are many great golf courses in the area, fishing, boating or simply sharing time together.
Thanks Rob for sharing this wonderful property, we'll definitely be coming back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: WOW- Thanks for the wonderful review! We pride ourselves in making everything as enjoyable as possible for your stay with us at Lion Downe Cottage.
Helpful votes: 18/18
business
40 Acre Wooded Retreat Overlooking Lake Pepin with Lakefront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p197314vb
Lake Pepin Central Wisconsin
5

Clean, Beautiful & Great Customer Service!!!

Clean, Beautiful & Great Customer Service!!!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Clean, beautiful and great customer service!! What more to say other than we should have stayed the week!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words!!
business
40 Acre Wooded Retreat Overlooking Lake Pepin with Lakefront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p197314vb
Lake Pepin Central Wisconsin
South of the River
5

Our 2nd Stay Here

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We love Lion Downe Cottage. It is the perfect retreat for our small group of girl friends to relax, unwind and laugh. Thank you for the beautiful time away, again! (PS - we'll be back...)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We always strive to exceed our guests expectations and couldn't be happier to have more and more return guests as the years go by. Thank you!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
40 Acre Wooded Retreat Overlooking Lake Pepin with Lakefront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p197314vb
Lake Pepin Central Wisconsin
5

Great Summer Weekend Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My friends and I came to getaway for a weekend and this came with everything we asked for! Beautiful scenic views and we even went paddle boarding by the lake. Loved it! We're hoping to make this a summer tradition :)
Owner's Response: Thank you so very much for your kind words!
business
40 Acre Wooded Retreat Overlooking Lake Pepin with Lakefront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p197314vb
Lake Pepin Central Wisconsin
5

Coolest cabin I've ever been too!

Coolest cabin I've ever been too!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
10 of my friends and I stayed at this cabin for 2 nights. We were all in awe of how cool it was! We loved that it had a hot tub. The first night we wanted to go in, but it wasn't on so Rob sent his friend over to recet it and it was good to go by the next morning. I'd say this place is perfect for young people. There is not much privacy for sleeping except for the master bedroom in the basement. But we will for sure be back! Only a hour and a half drive from the cities, gotta love that!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks! The hot tub is a definite favorite during the colder months, and is open all year! We look forward to hosting you again.

Best
Rob and Heather
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
40 Acre Wooded Retreat Overlooking Lake Pepin with Lakefront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p197314vb
Lake Pepin Central Wisconsin
Minneapolis
5

Girl's weekend

Girl's weekend
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We had stayed at your property once before, about 3yrs ago, and we just had to come back. The cabin is so warm and charming. It has such a great "common-area" with enough room for everyone to be together and laugh and relax. The larger deck and hot tub was a wonderful addition...we arrived early on Friday and it was such a beautiful day we were able to sit out on the deck and have cocktails...and of course enjoy the beautiful scenery. Thanks so much Rob and Heather for opening your home to us and being so very kind and accomodating!!
Owner's Response: We absolutely love returning guests, especially when they notice all of our new additions, updates and improvements! We recently added a very large table that seats 12 comfortably in the dining area which has since become a nice addition to the great room to sit and visit, work on puzzles, play games, etc. Can't wait to host you again sometime!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
40 Acre Wooded Retreat Overlooking Lake Pepin with Lakefront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p197314vb
Lake Pepin Central Wisconsin
Shakopee, MN
5

Very Merry Mary group of Knit/Crochet Gals

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We have stayed at Lione Downe 2 times per year for the last 2-3 years. We have had such a wonderful stay every time we visit and that is what keeps us coming back. The views are amazing and we love the deck and hot tub along with the accommodations inside the home. The beds are amazing to sleep on. Last year we even had a masseuse from RedWing come and provide private massages for those in our group who were interested. Rob and Heather are so wonderful to work with, another reason we will continue to book our semi annual girls retreat for knitting and crocheting.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your wonderful review!!
We have yet to take advantage of the private masseuse from Red Wing but it is definitely on our list! We love visiting all of the local towns, they have so much to offer!
business
40 Acre Wooded Retreat Overlooking Lake Pepin with Lakefront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p197314vb
Lake Pepin Central Wisconsin
Chicago
5

School Trip

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We came up with 8 students for a middle school trip from Chicago. This was a perfect destination to spend a week. The students were in awe at the beauty and comfort of the cabin. The surrounding area is perfect for outdoor education, hiking, and just generally spending time in nature.

I can't recommend this property more highly. It was amazing and the owners were very easy to work with.

Thanks so much.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kind words!
The private 40 acres of dense wooded forrest surrounding Lion Downe Cottage has provided endless hours of fun and adventure for our extended family. We are glad your students were able to enjoy it!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
40 Acre Wooded Retreat Overlooking Lake Pepin with Lakefront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p197314vb
Lake Pepin Central Wisconsin
5

Wonderful Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Outstanding property

Great communication

We hope to be back
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks!
We hope to see you again soon!
business
40 Acre Wooded Retreat Overlooking Lake Pepin with Lakefront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p197314vb
Lake Pepin Central Wisconsin
Minneapolis
5

Company Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We took a small company retreat at Lake Pepin and had an amazing experience. The lodge was absolutely gorgeous. I was a little concerned that there may not be enough room for 12 of us to stay there comfortably, it turned out to be just right! The drive was perfect from the twin cities, the view was incredible and the large kitchen, deck and living room were perfect for making food and hanging out! The owners we great to talk with and gave lots of info! We would absolutely return for another visit!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind note!
We have been fortunate enough to host a few small company retreats, and think it is a great idea and use of the great room. While we used to rarely think of work while at Lion Downe we can't think of a better place to get together, brain storm, relax and have fun while actually accomplishing something!