St Pete Beach house rental - The Sand Dollar
The Sand Dollar
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

St Pete Beach House Rental Photos and Description
Charming cottage with wood floors, lots of windows, private patio with lush landscaping, screened sunporch and lots of charm. Located just one block from the main shopping and entertainment district. All linens provided.

The Sand Dollar will delight you the moment you arrive. Spacious, private second-story apartment with wood floors and 12 windows! 1-bedroom, 1-bath styled in casual island style and in a secluded location in the heart of Gulfport's Beach & Art District.

The Master bedroom has 4 windows, a large walk-in closet, two dressers, two nightstands, double French doors to the living room and television. The gallery-style kitchen has 3 windows and a separate eating area. Glass-door upper cabinets in the antique built-in hutch.

High ceilings and plentiful windows give this generously proportioned second-floor apartment a very spacious feel. The French doors separate the living room and bedroom. The airy, updated bath has a generous shower. Large, walk-in closet in the bedroom. Movies and books are yours to enjoy during your stay. Microwave, coffee pot, mixer and many, many more kitchen amenities are provided. All kitchen, bath and bed linens are provided as well.

Amenities & Decor: The blue-green-grey kitchen compliments the tropical Bamboo Stalk green covering the living room and bedroom walls. Wicker and rattan furnishings create lush, tropical beach surroundings. Beautiful wood floors. Plentiful tall windows with woven Roman shades. All rooms are well-lit and have ceiling fans along with views outdoors.

Location: Just one and a half blocks from Williams Pier and sunny Gulfport Beach, this lushly landscaped and lit property is private and quiet, yet ideally located in the heart of it all. Come and watch the dolphins play, or the egrets and herons fish. Listen to the call of seagulls or the wild green parrots that frequent the neighborhood.

Located just a short 2 blocks away are restaurants and shops, one of which even has the local post office inside! Gulfport's library is but a few blocks away and if you feel like shopping you can take the City bus service to Tyrone Mall. It stops just two blocks from The Sand Dollar. Try your hand (or feet!) at salsa or ballroom dancing at the converted Gulfport Casino. And still another attraction is Hickman's Theatre, with live plays. Regardless of the time of year you come to visit, you'll find something exciting and fun to do. Weekly farmer's market. Car recommended.

Activities: Visit our website for suggestions for restaurants, parks, beaches, shopping, museumsa and other activities.

Outdoors is a gas grill, Bistro table and chairs as well as Adirondak chairs for relaxing. Comfortable screened sunporch with lots of windowa is perfect for reading and dining. Laundry room with a half bath and private, off-street parking. Accommodations are upstairs, with the bottom space used only for storage.

Golf, tennis, kayaking, swimming and biking are all easily accessible from The Sand Dollar. A perfect location for

your Florida vacation!

Other useful information:

The closest beach is a one-minute walk away. There is a partial view of the water from the screened front porch and from the front yard, however is a one-story house facing a street that is perpendicular to the beach. The house is located in the Waterfront District and you have two allocated parking spaces off the street. No worries about parking during special events such as 4th of July Fireworks which you'll be able to watch from the comfort of the patio or walk to the waterfront. A car isn't required but it is recommended, especially if you're here for more than a few days. The surroundings areas have a lot to offer. The Sand Dollar has free wireless Internet access. Linens are included - bath and kitchen towels and sheets. The house is not wheelchair accessible. Pets are allowed, generally they must be over 1 year old, housebroken, not extremely large and not aggressive personalities. All pets are subject to prior approval. The house is in a quiet neighborhood. Keypad entry. 21 yrs or older. Fenced yard.

More Details
Hide Details

Photographer, traveler, cook, daughter, sister & aunt!

Beth Sexworth purchased this house in 2003

If you see it you will understand! Lots of windows, beautiful wood floors and wide wood trim. Located in the heart of the beach/art district, it is convenient to everything! Gulfport is very charming.

Nice secluded property but within walkable distance to the heart of the Waterfront District.

44 Reviews of Property 160096 in St Pete Beach, Florida

The Sand Dollar - 2 Blks Water, Walk Dine/Shop, WiFi+Pet Friendly Fenced Yard
average rating of 4.8421054 based on 44 reviews
business
The Sand Dollar - 2 Blks Water, Walk Dine/Shop, WiFi+Pet Friendly Fenced Yard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p160096
+1 727 744-1617
St Pete Beach St Petersburg Area
Taipei City
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
?????????,???????,??????!
business
The Sand Dollar - 2 Blks Water, Walk Dine/Shop, WiFi+Pet Friendly Fenced Yard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p160096
+1 727 744-1617
St Pete Beach St Petersburg Area
5

Nice Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The Sand Dollar is in a good location but hard to maneuver parking from the ally. When we had a small problem it was tended to right away. Our stay was pleasant and we would return again sometime.
business
The Sand Dollar - 2 Blks Water, Walk Dine/Shop, WiFi+Pet Friendly Fenced Yard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p160096
+1 727 744-1617
St Pete Beach St Petersburg Area
Zeeland, Michigan
4

Nice quiet getaway

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We just returned from a nice stay at the Sand Dollar- neighborhood is very quiet and relaxed. Enjoyed downtown dinning @ O'Maddys and the Tuesday market is full of unique items to the area. Close to the bay with beautiful sunriuses/sunsets. Due to the weather, we did travel south most days to find warmth- but Gulfport gave us sunshine almost everyday. Nice vaca if you are looking for peace and quiet.
business
The Sand Dollar - 2 Blks Water, Walk Dine/Shop, WiFi+Pet Friendly Fenced Yard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p160096
+1 727 744-1617
St Pete Beach St Petersburg Area
Broadview Hgts, OH
5

Gem in the alley!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Surrounding properties could use a little pride, but this place is a comfortable and convenient choice! Restaurants and views are only a few minutes walk. The owners have made a wonderful effort to the attention of all details!
business
The Sand Dollar - 2 Blks Water, Walk Dine/Shop, WiFi+Pet Friendly Fenced Yard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p160096
+1 727 744-1617
St Pete Beach St Petersburg Area
Main, AK
5

Great place to stay!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We have been staying at the Sand Dollar for the past few years and love every minute of it. The neighborhood is quiet, but so close to so many great Gulfport shops, restaurants and events. Plus the parks and water front are only a short walk away.
The "Dollar" is always clean,comfortable and well stocked (towels, bedding, appliances.) Plus having the fenced back yard is great for our dog and for enjoying a private and quiet afternoon sitting in the sun and reading or playing a game.
We look forward to our return each year. And working with Beth and Sally make everything run smoothly. A+
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
The Sand Dollar - 2 Blks Water, Walk Dine/Shop, WiFi+Pet Friendly Fenced Yard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p160096
+1 727 744-1617
St Pete Beach St Petersburg Area
Eastbourne, East Sussex
4

Really relaxing - nice town.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was adequately helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The Sand Dollar is a lovely place with nice big rooms that help you relax. It's down a bit of a back alley with no views to talk of so we didn't feel like sitting outside or using the BBQ in the yard. It's well equipped but a lot of the utensils, towels and linen are a bit tired and spare bed linen would have saved us having to do laundry and ironing during our holiday. It's beautifully laid out and the coffee maker and bikes are nice touches. I punctured a tyre on a bike and informed the owner who sent a hyperlink to a repair shop but there was no other contact even when we left; I wondered if someone might have popped by during a 17 day stay but that's not a big deal. We had a really nice time in the Sand Dollar and found Gulfport to be really laid back and hospitable. O'Maddys rightly gets loads of plaudits the Habana Cafe was also wonderful. Boyd Falls Park and De Soto Park were great trips and we enjoyed a long cycle along Pinellas Trail - what a great use of an old railway line. The whole beachline is awesome.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
The Sand Dollar - 2 Blks Water, Walk Dine/Shop, WiFi+Pet Friendly Fenced Yard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p160096
+1 727 744-1617
St Pete Beach St Petersburg Area
Hamilton, New Jersey
5

Wonderful vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Loved Gulfport and loved The Sand Dollar. Quaint little town with great food and so close to so many activities if you want them.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
The Sand Dollar - 2 Blks Water, Walk Dine/Shop, WiFi+Pet Friendly Fenced Yard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p160096
+1 727 744-1617
St Pete Beach St Petersburg Area
5

Sand Dollar a great find!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We recently stayed at the Sand Dollar for a month and really enjoyed our stay. The kitchen is very well equipped so that you can take advantage of cooking all the great food you find at the local Tues. market. If cooking in is not your thing, Gulf Port has many great restaurants with-in easy walking distance. Great food and a variety of cuisine. We really enjoyed the lovely patio area, a great Inclosed area especially if you bring along you dog! Gulf Port is very pet friendly and there is a nice dog park very near the Sand Dollar. You do have a flight of steps to get to the apt, but we didn't mind. Everything was clean and comfortable, plenty of storage space and nice size closet.great laundry facilities on the lower level. We would definitely return!
Helpful votes: 12/12
business
The Sand Dollar - 2 Blks Water, Walk Dine/Shop, WiFi+Pet Friendly Fenced Yard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p160096
+1 727 744-1617
St Pete Beach St Petersburg Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Truly loved our stay

  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We vacationed here from Minnesota and truly loved our stay!! The town of Gulfport was beautiful and the Sand Dollar was very nice and felt like home. We will definitely visit again and are sad to be leaving. We look forward to coming back in the near future!!

Beaches - Fort DeSoto, Clearwater
Restaurants - Backfin Blue, Red Mesa Restaurant, Frenchy's in Clearwater
Helpful votes: 6/7
business
The Sand Dollar - 2 Blks Water, Walk Dine/Shop, WiFi+Pet Friendly Fenced Yard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p160096
+1 727 744-1617
St Pete Beach St Petersburg Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Love the cottage

  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Don't like the confusing roads of Gulfport & St Pete. We had a wonderful time here. Visited Busch Gardens, Museum of Science & Industry, Florida Aquarium, Zoo, Holocaust Museum, The Pier, and lots of restaurants including Neptune Grill & O'Maddy's. Great food. The Taco Bus in St Pete & Ferg's Sports Bar were some of the best.

Went to Crystal River and swam with the Manatees. Great experience and I highly recommend it. Go with River Ventures in Crystal River. Early morning trip was the best. Ft DeSoto was great - wonderful beach, beautiful water.

Dali Museum was interesting. Treasure Island has a great boardwalk and restaurants for shopping and eating. it is where Bubba Gumps Shrimp Co is. Gulfport is nice & sleepy for the most part. We really enjoyed our stay.

Gulfport & St Pete restaurants

Neptune's
O'Maddy's
Bubba Gump
Wood fired pizza
Ferg's Sports Bar
Frenchy's in Clearwater
Taco Bus
Handmade Ice Cream at Sweet Diva's St Pete
Munch's

Check out the manatee trip. It was the highlight of our vacation!
Helpful votes: 8/8