Poipu condo rental - Watch the surf and sunsets from the granite bar and cooktop in your new kitchen.
Watch the surf and sunsets from the granite bar and cooktop in your new kitchen.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 - 10 nights
 

Poipu Condo Rental Photos and Description
Condominium - 2 Bedrooms - 2 Baths - (Sleeps 4)

SEE CALANDER FIRST, then feel free to contact Debi Joy for your ABSOLUTE OCEANFRONT and Beachfront, two bedroom, two bath Condo in this Superior, SUNSET facing CORNER Location.

Where else on Kauai can you be this close to the waves?

An Ultimate Experience is yours if you can find some open dates. Living, Dining, and Bedrooms all with WINDOWS ON THE WAVES and the POIPU COASTLINE.

WHALES, DOLPHIN AND SO MANY SEA TURTLES can be enjoyed in their seasons from your couch!

See photos and comments from our delighted guests!

Tropical breezes caress you as you nearly touch the famous Surf from your covered Lanai. Some of Kauai's best Snorkel, SURF spots, and White Sand Beaches are all right here. Gorgeous lawn borders your view of the waves, lit with romantic Tiki Torches at sunset. Surf Song is Closest to The SAND, just to the West of the lawn for BEACH enjoyment.

Or... Relax and be entertained by it all from the comfort of your Romantic oceanfront retreat.

A dream vacation come true!

More Details
Hide Details

Surf Song Owner Debi Joy loves to sail. Being in Surf Song is like being on a boat.

Nothing is more calming to the soul than listening to the symphony of the surf, nor more entertaining than the moving picture wrapping the South and West facing walls of Surf Song. All the drama of the ocean seems close enough to touch, yet you experience the perfect comforts of home.

I am in stages of remodeling, now featuring an Oceanfront Bedroom with a King sized bed that views the Surf 120 degrees. The new bathroom boasts rainforest marble slab counter and translucent rock tiled flooring and shower. I must have the most romantic property on the island!

Enjoy the glare, UV and heat reduction windows. Your privacy is also enhanced in Surf Song. All for your maximum enjoyment...

Debi Joy purchased this condo in 2002

SURF, SUNSETS and SUNSHINE! All enjoyed from this unit. Guests agree that Surf Song is the 'Best location' within Poipu (SEE REVIEWS) and on the island for proximity to the surf, and famous SUNSETS over the water much of the year, and sunshine. There is really no down season. Surf Song has been booked solid most years.

Stroll to world class restaurants and shopping. The Kukui'ula Village just opened with Hawaii's most revered chef Peter Merriman and our beloved Jean Marie. The range of dining experience will please any palate and budget and the surf shop and bikini boutiques will delight the beach goer. The eco opportunities for exploring this amazing island abound in Poipu.

I raised my children in an oceanfront house near Kuhio Shores. When I couldn't afford it and was forced to sell, 219 came on the market.

Tending admittedly toward a snobbish perspective I wasn't impressed with the exterior; my emotions distant from any thought of purchasing.

Then I walked through the front door...

My jaw dropped as the expanse of the ocean hit my senses, and I was undone. The filtered sunlight illuminated the entire space around me and from every inch the soothing sound of the waves trickling over the mulitcolored reef captured my senses.

The View was far more spectacular than even my own oceanfront home. The words spilled out, 'how much' and I made my very best lifetime investment. I am sharing it with you now, with the intent to keep it in the family, enjoying it in our retirement.

Until then, we just keep improving Surf Song to share with you...

21 Reviews of Property 159444 in Poipu, Hawaii

SPECTACULAR SUNSET FACING OCEANFRONT CORNER SURF/BEACH! SEE PHOTOS & OPEN DATES
average rating of 4.571429 based on 21 reviews
business
SPECTACULAR SUNSET FACING OCEANFRONT CORNER SURF/BEACH! SEE PHOTOS & OPEN DATES
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p159444
+1 +1 8087422569
Poipu Kauai
Beaverton, Oregon
5

Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We walked in the door, turned the corner, saw the view and were speechless. It is amazing. We had 10 glorious days enjoying the breeze, sun, sound of the surf 30 ft from the lanai and people surfing, snorkeling, getting married on the lawn of the restaurant next door and seeing the turtles.

The king beds were comfortable and the place was clean and neat and well appointed. The pictures do accurately reflect what you get.

Ten days is just not enough to fully enjoy the experience and decompress from life on the mainland.

Its hard to pick a place from a couple of pictures and reviews, but we hit the jackpot on this one and do intend on returning in the future. We toured the island looking for someplace as good and decided the Debi Joy's place is THE best on the south shore.

The sunsets and sunrises are spectacular.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
SPECTACULAR SUNSET FACING OCEANFRONT CORNER SURF/BEACH! SEE PHOTOS & OPEN DATES
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p159444
+1 +1 8087422569
Poipu Kauai
Pasadena, CA
5

Unbelievably stunning - best location in Poipu!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
When we arrived at Kuhio Shores we were simply blown away!! When we opened the doors and saw the actual view we all just stood there in awe and smiled. You literally have the ocean as close as it can possibly get with some of the best surfers in the world tearing up the waves day and night. The place was clean and nicely kept, and the beds were some of the most comfortable I have ever slept on. We also were happily surprised to find beach towels, chairs, a cooler, beach floats and boogie boards in the closet for us to use. The location is ideal as well. The Beach House which has an amazing bar with sunset views is a stones throw away and all of the shops and restaurants are within a mile. I would return here in a heartbeat - it was absolute paradise!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
SPECTACULAR SUNSET FACING OCEANFRONT CORNER SURF/BEACH! SEE PHOTOS & OPEN DATES
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p159444
+1 +1 8087422569
Poipu Kauai
Oregon, WI, USA
5

Best View of Paradise to be Found

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This was out 3rd straight year in the Poipu area. I won't go into the reasons of why to come to Kauai as others have commented on that so I will concentrate on why you should choose this specific property.

First of course is the location right on the water. Get up in the morning and have your coffee on the lanai and watch whales. From the lanai you can watch the sunset along with the many surfers. Or there is nothing better than the sound of the waves lulling you to sleep.

What makes this unit special is being a corner so you have views both south and west which lights up the entire living area. Then the master bedroom can also look out over the water. We had read a complaint of being too close to the Beach House restaurant so the noise was a distraction but we had no problems and was entertained watching the many weddings taking place on their lawn by us.

We also love to be able to walk 100 feet and go snorkeling on one of the best beaches in the Island. The furnishings and appliances are excellent as we did cook in most evenings. This complex is also close to shopping and restaurants but in a quiet section of town.

Lastly, the owner was most accommodating and took care of any and all problems. If you are coming to Poipu then this is the place to be.
business
SPECTACULAR SUNSET FACING OCEANFRONT CORNER SURF/BEACH! SEE PHOTOS & OPEN DATES
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p159444
+1 +1 8087422569
Poipu Kauai
5

amazing property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
the property is located in perfect and beautiful location. the ocean is right on the front yard steps away. right next to the property there is a small corner of beach where you can snorkel and safe enough for small children to roam around and play. we saw sea turtle among other things !! we slept lulled by the sound of the ocean, the sound of the wave crashing, so peaceful. we got to see beautiful sunrise every morning right from the front yard. Poipu and brenecke beach is minutes driving distance away. Two shopping centers with restaurants and grocery shops are near by. The whole area is so beautiful. Kuhio shores is a perfect place to stay in Kauai !!!
business
SPECTACULAR SUNSET FACING OCEANFRONT CORNER SURF/BEACH! SEE PHOTOS & OPEN DATES
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p159444
+1 +1 8087422569
Poipu Kauai
Montana
4

Great view and location, nice condo

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
First I have to say we LOVE Kauai. This was our first visit to any of the islands and we had an amazing time with our teenage boys. More beautiful than I could imagine. All contact I had previous to our trip with the owners was good, but our trip started with the cleaning lady was there when we arrived, at the check in time we were told. But we waited out on lanai and that was fine. We enjoyed the view. Once she left we found that it still didnt seem clean, maybe she felt rushed since we were there, so I emailed the owner and she had someone come back the next day with new linens and pillows. Even the new pillows werent very good (if you can fold a pillow in half and it stays like that, its time for new pillows and I didnt feel like it was still very clean) The pictures are true but very staged with flowers, etc and the pics have more in the condo than is actually there so that was alittle deceiving. The surf is right out the sliding door so its VERY loud if you're not use to it.(although beautiful!) The Beach House next door is very loud if they have an event, (like one other comment said) for example, there was a DJ there our first night so it was hard to sleep since all the windows have to stay open for a summer breeze. The beds were great. Really liked the general location. Owners quick to help. A welcome basket would be a nice touch for the amount you pay, maybe local flowers/goodies/brochures/ideas on where to eat, etc. Was nice to have beach stuff available. Met our neighbors and saw the condo next door and it was less per night, not much different inside, maybe one less window looking out since we had the corner view, not sure if ours was worth the price difference. (their kitchen was more updated, bdrms had en-suite baths, but we had a w/d, they didnt) All in all a good place to stay, thought it could have been cleaner/updated pictures would be more realistic. Things we did and recommend: HoloHolo snorkel trip, Kalamaku Luau, snorkeling at Ke'e Beach and the North Shore(beautiful there, have lunch in Hanalai Bay), rental gear from Boss Frogs, snorkel at Poipu Beach, boogie board at Brennecks Beach and beachside deli for lunch, Poipu farmers market on Mondays great place for local goods, Koloa fish market lunch plate, YUM!!, Puka Dog, Olympic Cafe in Kapaa, JoJos Ice on the way to the Canyon, which was amazing to see. loved the layed back atmosphere of the island...relax and enjoy! Mahalo Kauai, we hope to visit you again
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
SPECTACULAR SUNSET FACING OCEANFRONT CORNER SURF/BEACH! SEE PHOTOS & OPEN DATES
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p159444
+1 +1 8087422569
Poipu Kauai
5

Wonderful Honeymoon!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 21, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My husband and I had a wonderful time on our Kauai honeymoon! Debi Joy's condo is perfectly located and has an incredible view. I was elated to wake up our first morning and see the beautiful Pacific right from our comfy bed! We watched the surfers, snorkelers and sea turtles from our lanai every evening and enjoyed multiple dinners at The Beach House restaurant, which is right next door. We certainly did not have the noise issue that a previous reviewer did. We are already planning our next visit to Kauai!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
SPECTACULAR SUNSET FACING OCEANFRONT CORNER SURF/BEACH! SEE PHOTOS & OPEN DATES
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p159444
+1 +1 8087422569
Poipu Kauai
Phoenix AZ
3

Problems in Paradise

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: May 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This is a wonderful condo just as the reviews and photos show. The perfection is marred by the presence of The Beach House Restaurant just underneath the western facing windows. Every day while we stayed here there was something noisy going on there. If it wasn't the loud music blasting for a wedding on the lawn, it was the loud cackling of drunken diners from inside the open-air restaurant at bedtime. All year we looked forward to falling asleep to the sound of the crashing surf. My husband was able to, but I'm a light sleeper and I wore earplugs because the noises from next door were louder than the waves. For the 5-Star price of the unit, one would expect silence--at least at bedtime. The noise was so intrusive that some nights we had to close windows and blare the TV to hear the TV over the ruckus. I don't know why we are the only ones to post a review about this, or perhaps negative reviews have been removed by the owners.
Owner's Response: "Marred Perfection"? Not allowed :) We desire that our guests will enjoy every second of their stay.
It is so correct that guests report often that All they can hear is the surf. Never have we heard verbally, and certainly not in writing, that noise was a problem for a guest; and we hope... never again. Certainly, a few remedies would have made these guests very content and we only wish they had called us. Please view photos to see the "wonderful condo just as the reviews and photos show". Note in the photos that the BH lights tiki torches on its lawn carpet enhancing the forground of your coastline view.
The situation: There was an Unusual combination of circumstance for a few days.
1. Rare onshore wind in place of our typical Trade Breezes that are known to blow 87% of the year. The trades kindly blow sound away sfrom us. It makes sense that a wedding on the lawn during these 3 days would be louder than otherwise experienced.
2. The bigger surf comes south for the next 6 months. The short transition period causes less dramatic surf before the big waves come. Our "crashing surf"may not cover the laughing for a few hours while the tide is low.
3. Time change. A sunset wedding, though short, feels late when both, the sun is setting later, and the guest is not adjusted to HI time. 7 felt like 10 for this guest.
Note: I just talked with the owner of the BH. He is "very sensitive to noise" and courteous. His "latest reservation is 8, 8:30" and the west facing restaurants back section (still a distance from Kuhio Shores) "is closed first" as a goal. Music is typically only associated with weddings and they at sunset and are not frequent. All this explains how rarely anything is heard from Surf Song except surf.
Note: We do not and cannot "remove" negative reviews. Our guests repeatedly say Surf Song is better than they could have imagined and give us 5 stars if they comment. We love sharing something that gifts people with such an amazing experience.
Guests, please call us with any issue so we can do all we can to help you enjoy. The small thing doesn't need to grow and "marr" what could be close to ..."perfection".
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
SPECTACULAR SUNSET FACING OCEANFRONT CORNER SURF/BEACH! SEE PHOTOS & OPEN DATES
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p159444
+1 +1 8087422569
Poipu Kauai
Portland, OR
5

Wonderful rental - highly recommended

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This unit is exactly as described and pictured in the photos. It is very clean and the beds are exceptionally comfortable. It is right on the surf and we enjoyed watching surfers, whales, turtles from the lanai. Good snorkeling just steps from the condo. Beach House restaurant next door was a nice advantage. Couldn't ask for a better location for enjoying the surf and sunsets and we hope to rent again soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
SPECTACULAR SUNSET FACING OCEANFRONT CORNER SURF/BEACH! SEE PHOTOS & OPEN DATES
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p159444
+1 +1 8087422569
Poipu Kauai
San Rafael, CA, USA
5

Beautiful and full-featured

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
A typical day for us at surf song: Wake up to turtles feeding below us, watch whales spouting and diving from the living room, go to the little bay next door for some morning snorkeling, head out for body surfing, boogie boarding, or sight seeing, come home to a spectacular sunset, and either cook a nice dinner in the fully-equipped kitchen or go to a nice restaurant in the area.

Not only is the condo beautiful with incredible views, but it had everything we needed and more. The washer and dryer, dishwasher, and two bathrooms made everything extremely convenient.

We did have a little adversity. My poor wife got food poisoning and was out of commission for a couple days, but she actually felt fortunate for being laid up in such a fantastic place. My only reservation is that I like a firm mattress and these were too soft for me. But they're very high quality and wouldn't bother most people.

I can't recommend this place enough.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
SPECTACULAR SUNSET FACING OCEANFRONT CORNER SURF/BEACH! SEE PHOTOS & OPEN DATES
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p159444
+1 +1 8087422569
Poipu Kauai
Mercer Island, WA
2

What a view! However, the owners may not abide by contract.

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2012
We spent 2 weeks at this condo with a close up view of surfers, snorkelers & turtles feeding. My husband repeatedly praised me for finding such perfect accommodations. We did miss a swimming beach & pool, but the view made up for it. We could hardly wait to return.
Since we had such a good time & we were pleased with the unit, I immediately rebooked it. I entered into a written contract in May 2012 to rent this unit for up to 5 guests, as before, for the period of 16 days in May 2013. In December 2012 the owners collected the 1st installment per the contract. After that, relying upon the contract, I purchased 3 nonrefundable airline tickets.
To make a long story short, out of the blue, I received an email stating that the owners could no longer accommodate more than 4 guests. They decided that the living room is too small to be used as a bed room (so removed the sofa bed). When I asked questions about my written contract right for up to 5 staying in the unit, my reservation was abruptly canceled without notice. The size of the living room can easily accommodate someone sleeping on the couch, a rollaway bed or an air mattress on the floor.
Based upon what happened to me, even though the unit itself was very nice, I would have reservations putting control of my family vacation in the hands of these owners.
Owner's Response: This guest wrote a glowing 5-star review of her stay in our condo in May, 2012. Recently she pulled that review and replaced it with this one. We always try to treat our clients with respect, while at the same time making sure our accommodations are adequate for their needs. We are disappointed that this client chose to disparage us because we could not accommodate the 5 adults she wanted to squeeze into the 2 bedroom unit. The unit is designed for from 2 to 4 adults plus a small child. We carefully explained the limitations of the unit, and her husband understood, and contracted with us to bring only 3 adults. However, she chose to cancel, and we immediately refunded her funds in full.
Helpful votes: 10/10