East Sandwich house rental - Front of House
Front of House
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

East Sandwich House Rental Photos and Description
4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, enclose outdoor shower (hot & cold water), sleeps 8

Located just moments from a private East Sandwich Cape Cod Bay beach, this lovely house offers all the comforts of home as well as a fabulous location. A brand new kitchen features granite counters,dishwasher, and an attached screened in porch. A newly renovated open living room, bathroom, den, and two bedrooms complete the first floor. The upstairs offers two bedrooms and a sitting area with views of the surrounding seascape. The front to back master bedroom provides a cathedral ceiling with fan, TV, CD player, king bed, private bath, and a private deck with views to Cape Cod Bay.

Have breakfast on the screened-in porch or enjoy a cocktail on the outside deck. A gas grill is also included.

10 Reviews of Property 159309 in East Sandwich, Massachusetts

Scorton Shores ...170 steps to private beach ... screened in porch..AC/wifi
average rating of 4.6 based on 10 reviews
business
Scorton Shores ...170 steps to private beach ... screened in porch..AC/wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p159309
East Sandwich Cape Cod
NJ
5

Highly recommend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
My family has stayed at this spacious and thoughtfully furnished home twice. Our party consisted of four adults and two kids and we had plenty of space. This house would also be perfect for two families of four. We love the short walk to the kid-friendly bay beach, having lunch on the deck and dinner on the screened in porch. The newly renovated kitchen is very well equipped and there is a big Weber grill in the backyard but Sandwich also has many nice restaurants if you want a break from cooking. We had gorgeous weather when we were there in mid-August yet the private beach was never very crowded. There are plenty of things for adults and kids to do in Sandwich and the surrounding towns. Dealings with the owner were pleasant and easy; our security deposit was returned promptly and in full after both of our stays.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Scorton Shores ...170 steps to private beach ... screened in porch..AC/wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p159309
East Sandwich Cape Cod
Boston
5

Mem Day Weekend Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
A few of my girlfriends and I stayed at this cottage for the memorial day weekend vacation. We all had so much fun, the house is huge, the backyard was perfect for our evening dinners. We sat and talked for hours. It's an easy walk to the beach, which we certainly utilized - day and night.

I would highly recommend this as your home away from home. It's very relaxing and on a quiet street. Perfect for anyone who is looking for a getaway.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Scorton Shores ...170 steps to private beach ... screened in porch..AC/wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p159309
East Sandwich Cape Cod
Enfield, CT
5

What a beautiful location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
In general, Cape Cod is beautiful! We have rented homes in the past and many were not up to the standards that we would expect in such a beautiful place. This rental was finally the exception! At first we were amazed at how well the property was kept outside. It looked as if the owners had really cared about presenting their home well. When we ever saw the inside of this property, it was verified. . . we will never try to rent anywhere else on Cape Cod! The kitchen and bathrooms were extremely clean, all of the bedrooms were well kept and spacious and we LOVED the short walk to the beach. We will definitely be back to Cape Cod, only if we get this rental!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Scorton Shores ...170 steps to private beach ... screened in porch..AC/wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p159309
East Sandwich Cape Cod
Enfield, CT
5

What a beautiful location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
In general, Cape Cod is beautiful! We have rented homes in the past and many were not up to the standards that we would expect in such a beautiful place. This rental was finally the exception! At first we were amazed at how well the property was kept outside. It looked as if the owners had really cared about presenting their home well. When we ever saw the inside of this property, it was verified. . . we will never try to rent anywhere else on Cape Cod! The kitchen and bathrooms were extremely clean, all of the bedrooms were well kept and spacious and we LOVED the short walk to the beach. We will definitely be back to Cape Cod, only if we get this rental!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Scorton Shores ...170 steps to private beach ... screened in porch..AC/wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p159309
East Sandwich Cape Cod
Goochland, VA
5

Can't wait to go back !!!!

Can't wait to go back !!!!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Just came home from the Cape and wish I were still there ! This is our 2nd stay at #159309 and we love our "home away from home" ! Very convenient to the beach and shops along Rt 6A and plenty of restaurants with really great food. Recommend Joe's Lobster down by the canal for ordering steamed lobsters that you can pick up and bring back to the beach house and eat outside on the deck. So much easier that doing it yourself after a great day on the beach. Love the house - plenty of space (even some " get away from the kids " places in the house that I will show you if you invite me to stay a few days with you !!)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Scorton Shores ...170 steps to private beach ... screened in porch..AC/wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p159309
East Sandwich Cape Cod
Malden, MA
5

Perfect summer stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
This rental was the perfect summer getaway, it was like a home away from home. The property is set in a very quiet yet friendly neighborhood. The house itself is very nice and decorated with a very beachy theme. It was also very clean and well maintained, it was spotless upon our arrival. It has very spacious bedrooms and two floors with two bathrooms which was very convenient. We loved the backyard and patio area and took full advantage of the outside shower and grill! The beach was a very short walking distance from the front door and we loved that it was a private beach. The owners were very friendly and more than pleasant to deal with. They also own the nearby Zooquarium where we took our kids on a day outing, which they couldn’t stop talking about. We are looking forward to our next stay at this property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Scorton Shores ...170 steps to private beach ... screened in porch..AC/wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p159309
East Sandwich Cape Cod
Boston, MA
5

stayed here over 4th of July and LOVED IT!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
My family and I have been staying at this cottage for three years now. We stayed at other cottages on the cape that were more expensive than this one and were 3/4 of the size and farther away from the beach! The cottage is really nice, clean, and roomy. We didn't feel cramped at all. The beach is literally steps from the beach, and it's a private beach so it's not overally crowded. The master bedroom/bathroom upstairs is gorgeous- there is even a balcony overlooking the back patio. The family that owns the cottage were super accommodating and pleasant to work with (hence why we rent from them every year!)

I like how the cottage feels more like a house as opposed to just a small summer residence! I would highly recommend this place!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Scorton Shores ...170 steps to private beach ... screened in porch..AC/wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p159309
East Sandwich Cape Cod
Tolland, CT
5

Family Friendly Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Wonderful location! House was clean and welcoming. We fit two families (with 2 kids each) comfortably in this home. Very family-friendly neighborhood and beach. Perfect for sand castles, catching crabs, and moonlight strolls! Easy to get to other towns on Cape Cod...Hyannis for shopping, Provincetown for whale watching. Would definitely recommend for a relaxing family get-away!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Scorton Shores ...170 steps to private beach ... screened in porch..AC/wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p159309
East Sandwich Cape Cod
Upstate New York
1

Distressing Treatment

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2006
We rented this vacation home for a summer week in 2006. Despite some inconveniences (we arrived to find the main floor bathroom door broken and ended up having to repair it at our own expense, even though the owner had promised upon greeting us on the day of our arrival to have someone come around to repair it; there was also an ancient vacuum that would not work and a lack of basic implements, like a bathroom plunger - which we ended up purchasing and leaving there for them, etc) we did enjoy our stay.

As is our custom, we performed daily upkeep while in the home (making beds, wiping counters, sweeping the kitchen floor etc) and cleaned the home thoroughly before we left - even resorting to sweeping all the carpets with a broom, when the vacuum wouldn't work.

However, two weeks after coming home we were perturbed at having to contact the owners to question why we hadn't yet received return of our security deposit, which we had mailed, as per the contract, in a separate check. A week later, we received only a *partial* return of our deposit, with a letter claiming that we had left the home in a state needing "extra, extra" cleaning. These charges included a claim that furniture in the living room had been moved and not placed back, the carpet left sandy/dirty, the kitchen floor, counters, and stove requiring "extra, extra" cleaning, and the refrigerator left dirty with food in it!

Accumulation of such "dirt" in the kitchen would be truly miraculous, since we cooked in it exactly twice during our stay - once to boil pasta and once to heat soup. We made coffee and toast in the mornings, but all cooked meals were taken at restaurants, as is our habit while on vacation. I personally cleaned the stove after both limited uses and wiped the counters daily. The refrigerator was completely emptied and scrubbed w/Clorox wipes before we left.There was no mop available to do the kitchen floor, but we swept it daily.

Further research with our banking institution revealed that the owner had cashed the security deposit check at the same time that the check for the remaining rent balance was cashed BEFORE WE'D EVEN COMPLETED OUR STAY. Why the need for separate checks, if both were to be cashed at once? Why even cash a security deposit, unless a walk-through AFTER a guest leaves reveals a need for reimbursement? I have rarely felt as insulted as I did after this experience. It was a very disappointing conclusion to what had been a lovely week on the Cape.
Owner's Response: It is amazing that four years after this party’s stay they decide to make their feelings known and are obviously still fixated on the loss of a small portion of the deposit. It is clearly stated in the cleaning portion of the rental agreement that if extra cleaning is required, we have the right to withhold returning all or part of the deposit. When a party vacates the property, it is our policy to walk through the property with our house cleaner and assess any damage or extra cleaning that needs to be done. After this party left, we were amazed at how much cleaning would be necessary to provide the next group of tenants with the same immaculately clean house that we had provided for these particular renters. In our twenty years of renting this was the only occasion that we had to keep a small portion of the cleaning deposit because of the condition that the property was left in by these renters. Since we take great pride in keeping an immaculately clean house, all cleaning supplies and equipment are provided including a vacuum (which at this time was a Kenmore Whispertone 5.4), a plunger and a mop. Also, someone did show up the next day to fix the doorknob on the door (it was missing one screw), we could not enter because no one was home. We contacted these renters by phone and they assured us that they could fix it themselves, and that it wouldn’t be a problem.

Since this party stayed at our cottage (again, four years ago) the downstairs has been completely renovated. At the time of their check-in, these renters expressed to us how much they loved the property and even said it was like a palace compared to other places that they have stayed, and then proceeded to complain about these places. After reading their review, I am lead to believe that this is what they like to do.

Contractually we have 30 days to return a deposit, and we require two checks for bookkeeping purposes. We feel that that our reputation of professionalism and integrity speaks for itself, and in our twenty years of renting we have never had to keep a portion of the cleaning deposit, with the exception of these renters. We also rent to families that return year after year, and many of our renters refer our property to others looking for a cape rental.
Helpful votes: 1/4
business
Scorton Shores ...170 steps to private beach ... screened in porch..AC/wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p159309
East Sandwich Cape Cod
Weymouth, Ma
5

Great place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
House was great, location very close to the beach.
Very family friendly, would recommend.
Helpful votes: 5/7