Rapid River lodge rental - The peaceful lodge along the Rapid River
The peaceful lodge along the Rapid River
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps22
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Rapid River Lodge Rental Photos and Description
5 bedrooms, 4 full baths, sleeps 18+, 5450 sq. ft.+ 40 private acres

Located within the Hiawatha National Forest. Connect with nature, relax, and have fun at this historic lodge, known to locals as the Old Dutch Mill. All under one roof, yet your own personal space. With the open floor plan, there is plenty of space to meet your group's needs. A fabulous place for a family reunion, group of friends, corporate event, a retreat, or a wedding. Rejuvenate and reconnect. A comfortable place where 18 people can gather around a single hand-crafted table or spread out in small groups around 6+ small gathering areas. Children have plenty of room to play. Listen to waterfalls along the 80' deck. Rustic Decor. High ceilings. Large, open kitchen, plus 2 bar and deck areas. A gorgeous natural wood-burning field stone fireplace warms the sitting area. 2 wood-burning stoves. Brand new 73' TV!. Simple bumper pool + foosball. Master bedroom overlooks the Rapid River and has a private deck entrance. Large outdoor fire pit along 1/4 mile of secluded river front

Wireless Internet just added this week! Finally....

Activities near the lodge: Canoeing, tubing along the river, fishing and swimming are all fun activities.

Bike trails: Rapid River Trails (13 miles of trails, just outside the Lodge)

Chip-In's Island Resort Casino: W399 US Highway 2 and 41, Harris, MI (approx. 40 miles)

Kewadin Casino in Manistique off of Hwy 2 (approx. 40 miles East)

Island Casino in Bark River off of Hwy. 2 (approx. 30 miles West)

Pictured Rocks Boat Cruises: 50 minutes (approx. 40 miles) (Munising)

Dog sledding through the Hiawatha National Forest: 1 hour (Wetmore)

Snowmobiling: Enjoy 25,000 miles of trails within the Upper Peninsula, starting from outside the Lodge door!

Upper Taquamenen Falls: 2 1/2 hours (Paradise and Newberry)

Weddings, Groups of 20+, Local Events, Retreats!: SMALL weddings: 60 people or less. We can no longer make exceptions to this in consideration of your comfort, and that of your guests, plus the impact on the Lodge. The Lodge is a home, not a hall. Minimum 1 week Summer booking, 2 nights/3 days bookings during the Spring, Fall and Winter, unless I can attach your stay to an already existing booking.. We provide 10 tables + the head table with 20-30 chairs. You are responsible for your own organizing, cleaning, catering, add. supplies, parking organization. Parking for 10-15 cars at Lodge. Call for details.

We provide supplies (towels, dishware, linens and toilet paper) for groups of 20 or less. 20-60 people? Please bring extra supplies as needed.

January: Cross-country skiing, snowmobiling, winter fun!

February: Ternary Outhouse Races, snowmobiling and more winter fun

April 15-May 15: Apply for your Bear Hunting License; scrapbookers and quilters enjoy your retreats!

Mid-April-May: Turkey Hunting.

Last Saturday in April: Trout season begins (although parts of the Rapid River are open year 'round).

May: Mushroom picking.

June Balloons on the Bay.

July: Summer fun with family- relaxing and enjoying the time together.

August: Upper Peninsula State Fair

September 10 - End of October: Bear Hunting. Outfitter trips.

September 15: Grouse and small game hunting.

October 1-December: Bow-Hunting for Deer.

November 15-November 30: Gun Hunting for deer, Thanksgiving

December: Holiday celebrations

Rapid River + Driving Time + bugs: The Rapid River is a shallow, rocky river which meanders in front of the Lodge, next to the waterfalls. It is a great spot for trout fishing in the Spring. The river connects to Little Bay de Noc/ Lake Michigan, approximately 5 miles downstream. The river fluctuates between 6 inches and 3 feet, depending on the weather. The Lodge is located approximately: *6 hours from Chicago. *7 hours from Detroit. *2 1/2 hours from Mackinac Bridge. *1 3/4 hours from Wisconsin border. *Be careful when using Map-quest. Map-quest takes you to 15th Rd., not S.15 Rd, where the Lodge is located, 6 miles North of Highway 2, 1/2 miles West of U.S. 41, heading North, toward Marquette.

As much as I wish I could control the bugs, as in any normal cabin experience, there are mosquitoes, ticks, and spiders. We do our best to keep the Lodge as safe as possible. If you take your dog for a walk in the woods, you need to thoroughly check your dog for ticks before you bring her/her back into the lodge.

More Details
Hide Details

13 Reviews of Property 159018 in Rapid River, Michigan

Peaceful, Spacious Lodge w/ Waterfall View - Large groups and families welcome!
average rating of 4.8 based on 13 reviews
business
Peaceful, Spacious Lodge w/ Waterfall View - Large groups and families welcome!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p159018
+1 734-284-5677
Rapid River Upper Peninsula Michigan
Pleasant Ridge, MI, USA
5

Escape Life

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2008
  • Stayed: Jun 2008
My family has enjoyed this wonderful lodge two times now and will continue to return. Eight adults and seven children, two of them infants, managed to survive a week and have a blast! It is an amazing place away from the hectic city life we call normal.

The noise of the river lulls you to sleep and the light show in the midnight sky is amazing. The great kitchen allows for some wonderful meals, should you feel inspired, and the master suite that overlooks the river offers maximum relaxation and romance. There is plenty of room to roam and stretch out. Enjoy bonfires, a read by on the deck, fishing, a kayak ride down the river, cocktails during sunset, volleyball in the side lot- I could go on and on! A truly wonderful place for a family reunion or "big chill" weekend!

The owner was great to deal with and very helpful,the house manager, was equally as nice and helpful when it came to issues such as hot tub maintenance.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 27/27
business
Peaceful, Spacious Lodge w/ Waterfall View - Large groups and families welcome!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p159018
+1 734-284-5677
Rapid River Upper Peninsula Michigan
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

So Awesome!

  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Well it was a year in planning, but our time at the Lodge was so AWESOME, I live near the lodge, but my family from downstate was blown away!! Everyone enjoyed themselves, we had enough room and would like to book it again next year.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Peaceful, Spacious Lodge w/ Waterfall View - Large groups and families welcome!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p159018
+1 734-284-5677
Rapid River Upper Peninsula Michigan
Mt. Pleasant, MI
5

Winter Party Weekend!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This is our third time renting the lodge, and it has been absolutely amazing for all three occasions! First was our wedding in January 2010, then our (slightly delayed :) reception lodging for out-of-town guests in July 2012, and finally in February 2013, we organized and recruited a group of about 20 friends from work, high school, college, etc and had ourselves a winter getaway at the Lodge. It could not have been more wonderful - everyone chipped in for food and their portion of the extremely reasonably-priced winter weekend rate, and we had a great time!

It just so happened that the US Forest Service, Brampton Bike & Ski, and Entrees Etc, were camped out next door at the Rapid River Ski Trail hosting a Winter Trails Day event complete with FREE ski and snowshoe rentals, free soup, cookies, hot cocoa, and cider! Talk about great timing - we were able to outfit our whole group in snowshoes and skis for a Saturday adventure out on the trails!

The Lodge was glorious, as usual. Cara and her staff did a wonderful job being flexible with our arrival and departure times, and the place was warm and cozy when I arrived on Friday afternoon. The caretakers were always available by phone for any questions. The Lodge is just wonderful because of the ability to be spread out in the big "great room" with a group as large as ours, but still being able to have privacy in the separate bedrooms and out in the hot tub on the deck! We played games, and even rigged up a pinata! Sitting out by the river on a crisp winter evening under the stars was unforgettable!

Thanks again to Cara and everyone for making our stay so wonderful! I had several requests to make this an annual event - what a great way to beat the mid-winter blues and catch some fun in between the Holidays and spring break! Great place - everyone is still raving about how beautiful it is at the Lodge and what a great time they had.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Peaceful, Spacious Lodge w/ Waterfall View - Large groups and families welcome!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p159018
+1 734-284-5677
Rapid River Upper Peninsula Michigan
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Fantastic Customer Service

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This place truly does a fantastic job with customer service. The Rapid River Lodge is one of the most beautiful locations I have ever seen, and more affordable than any lodge in the U.P. Cara and her family are great to work with, and I highly recommend going to them for your getaway needs!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Peaceful, Spacious Lodge w/ Waterfall View - Large groups and families welcome!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p159018
+1 734-284-5677
Rapid River Upper Peninsula Michigan
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Beautiful & Comfortable

Beautiful & Comfortable
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Spent a few days at this rental's beautiful lodge in the UP. So comfortable, on a beautiful stream, accommodates large families with room to spare. The dining table alone sits 16 people! It's awesome! Great place to spend relaxing, quiet days.
I forgot to mention the friendliness of Cara and Mark and their staff and willingness to make our stay perfect experience.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Peaceful, Spacious Lodge w/ Waterfall View - Large groups and families welcome!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p159018
+1 734-284-5677
Rapid River Upper Peninsula Michigan
5

Wonderful vacation home!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
When we saw this lodge online, we knew we had to stay here. It was big enough for the ten of us, and the pictures looked nice. I emailed Cara and made a huge request of her before we booked it. Due to some medical issues, my father has to sleep in a recliner, and I did not see one in the pictures of the lodge. She did not hesitate to assure me that she would have one in there for him. When we got to the lodge, we could not believe how beautiful everything was! The pictures online do not do it justice. There was a recliner for my father, just as Cara had promised. On the kitchen table, there was a note along with a net and four bug containers for my kids! It was such a nice personal touch!! We spent the entire first day catching crawdads in the river. My kids used their containers to get a good look at their catch! The back deck is huge, and we loved sitting there listening to the river! There was so much to do at the lodge that we really didn't need to leave! We could not have asked for a more perfect vacation! This lodge was more than we could have ever imagined! The owners went above and beyond to make us comfortable in their home. We greatly appreciate what they did for us, and we will definitely stay here again!! My family highly recommends this lodge! Thanks again!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Peaceful, Spacious Lodge w/ Waterfall View - Large groups and families welcome!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p159018
+1 734-284-5677
Rapid River Upper Peninsula Michigan
5

OUTSTANDING HOME!! (But BEWARE of hot tub...)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
Fabulous vacation home that is great for large groups. We had 10 adults and 7 kids and you would NEVER even know it-so large and open, we were never on top of each other. The river is great-you hear it as soon as you get out of the car. Photos cannot convey the openness you feel as you walk in the home. Cara is wonderful to deal with. Only downside was the hot tub. And I do not want this to ruin my review as we were delighted with the home, but it is a very serious downside. There is a sign posted by the tub warning of hot tub folliculitis. I have never heard of this condition and have been in many many public hot tubs at hotels and spas. Almost all of us were in this hot tub and 95% of us got the rash. We even showered as the warning sign suggested, but it did not make a difference. Very uncomfortable. Hot tub really should be closed up and made not available for guests, as it is not being maintained for bacteria by the caretaker.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: I am so sorry. While we do our best to keep the hot tub adequately maintained, obviously, we fell short with your family. As a consciencious owner, for that I feel horrible. The hot tub was fully drained and cleaned before your visit. We change the filter regularly. We invited the Michigan Health Department out to inspect the tub and to get maintenance advice. He said that the ph levels change constantly. Too many chemicals are actually more of a problem than not enough. I truly wish it was a simple as whether bacteria is present or not. He said that hotels are required to test their pool water 2 times/day. Larger hotels have extensive systems that automatically adjust the chemicals. We are just a working couple who own a beautiful home we love to rent to U.P. visitors.

I feel sad that the hot tub caused such discomfort for your family. I will contact you personally. At times, it's as though we balance the privacy of our guests and maintainence on a tight rope. The privacy you receive is normally one of the benefits of the Lodge versus staying in a hotel. I don't even like to bother our guests to take out the weekly garbage, mow the lawn, etc. as a non-intrusive vacation is very important to me personally.

Taking into account the sporadic hot tub usage, I've learned that the water should ideally be tested each time, before anyone enters the hot tub. Due to the amount of children at the Lodge, I've previously hesitated on leaving the hot tub chemicals readily available. We've always given the test strips + chemicals to guests who have requested them, and are familiar with the required chemical balancing act.

Therefore, your review inspired us to create a new procedure at the Lodge. We will now leave the test strips, with detailed instructions, for guests. We will advise guests to check the water before anyone sits in the hot tub, and adjust the chemicals appropriately. If no one in your group is comfortable doing so, we will be happy to send the caretaker out to the Lodge for a personal tutorial. As is required to maintain your own kitchen dishes at the Lodge, someone in each group must be comfortable adjusting the chemicals, before each use, in order to use the hot tub during your stay. (Daily housekeeping, including linen changes, dishes, and now hot tub chemical adjustment can be arranged, for an additional fee.)

I am truly sorry for the discomfort your family experienced. Thank you for inspiring an improved procedure.
Helpful votes: 11/11
business
Peaceful, Spacious Lodge w/ Waterfall View - Large groups and families welcome!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p159018
+1 734-284-5677
Rapid River Upper Peninsula Michigan
Mt. Pleasant, MI
5

Rapid River Lodge: Winter Wedding 2010

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
This lodge was a beautiful setting for our January 2010 wedding ceremony. My husband and I opted for a small, immediate family-only wedding ceremony at the old "Dutch Mill", and it was the best decision we ever made! Everything was perfect, from the glowing fireplace and beautiful wood interior. We loved the bedroom facing the river, and the fireplace in the bedroom was a great addition for the chilly January nights! Our wedding photos turned out great, and our family was able to share a meal at the impressive dinner table together. We spent two nights at the Lodge following the wedding, and it was nice to have our pets there with us too! Special thanks to the caretakers, Dick and Marci, for all their kindness and hospitality. Their actions speak highly of the Lodge! We plan on hosting a delayed wedding reception there in the summer of 2012, to enjoy the Lodge during the summer months! We will definitely be making an anniversary trip back every now and then to relive that wonderful weekend in 2010 :) Thanks again for everything!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Peaceful, Spacious Lodge w/ Waterfall View - Large groups and families welcome!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p159018
+1 734-284-5677
Rapid River Upper Peninsula Michigan
Bloomington, ILL
4

Fabulous place!!!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
This was a perfect location for our family getaway!! We had 5 families - all adults. There were enough bedrooms and bathrooms for us all, and that was wonderful. You don't get the size of the place from the pictures - it is huge!! It has 6 separate areas to "hang out in" - and that is not including outside areas!! We did jigsaw puzzles, played horseshoes and bocce ball, had campfires and s'mores, read, ate, watched movies (we could not get the satellite dish to work on the main TV - but that was OK) - and all in all, it was fabulous. The kitchen was well appointed - having 2 refrigerators was very nice. Staples are provided, and that is really nice - not having to buy ketchup for one nite's meal is so convenient. We even added to the supply of staples for the next group. Laundry on site was very handy, too. Beds were comfortable, and the place is nicely decorated. Try Jack's in Rapid River for food - the pie is great!! Babycakes Muffins in Marquette, Mi and the Stone House and Hereford and Hops (ribs were wonderful) in Escanaba were also favorites. Easy to find with Cara's directions, and altho it feels remote when you are there, it is easy access and short drive to groceries/towns. We all agreed the place was wonderful, beautiful, and we would all recommend it highly to anyone. We wished we had found it when our kids were little - the river was a great place to catch crawdads!! We all hope to come back someday....
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 11/11
business
Peaceful, Spacious Lodge w/ Waterfall View - Large groups and families welcome!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p159018
+1 734-284-5677
Rapid River Upper Peninsula Michigan
Detroit, MI
5

Wonderful Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
The cabin was much more than I expected! There were 12 in our group, and room for so much more. We enjoyed the mixture of nature and rustic atmosphere combined with the ability to escape mosquitoes in comfort. The furniture and beds were extremely comfortable. The only complaint was the abundance of mosquitoes... we didn't prepare appropriately for that. But, the mosquitoes did nothing to diminish the beautiful time we had. My children still talk about the great time we had. The owners go above and beyond expectations to make sure everyone's needs are met. Great vacation!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 6/6