La Ribera El Borne apartment rental - 2 balconies and free high-speed fibre optic internet (WIFI + cable) at 100mbps.
2 balconies and free high-speed fibre optic internet (WIFI + cable) at 100mbps.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

La Ribera El Borne Apartment Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, 1 bathroom, sleeps 6

This stunning apartment is located in the beautiful El Born district of Barcelona’s Historic Centre known as Ciutat Vella.

It is on the doorstep of the Chocolate Museum, the City Park and the magnificent Picasso Museum. It is a 5-minute walk from the beautiful palm-fringed marina and the cathedral, a 10 minute walk from the Ramblas, and just 15 minutes on foot from the beaches that led to Barcelona being crowned Nº1 Beach City in the World 2013 - 2014 by National Geographic Magazine.

The apartment has a floor area of 90m2 and provides real home from home comfort and every luxury to make your holiday accommodation extra special with high speed fibre optic internet at 100mbps, duck down duvets in winter, a Nespresso coffee machine and a home cinema system.

It is spacious with open plan areas in the living room & kitchen/dining room. It has high vaulted ceilings with exposed wooden beams and French windows leading out onto little wrought iron balconies.

It has a telephone, an IPOD docking station, a breakfast bar, a split-level bathroom with glass wall partitions and a separate walk-in shower. It even has a secret door!

The apartment recently featured on Spanish TV. Scroll down to the end of the page to watch the full 6-minute report.

'We selected the apartment based on the description and reviews and everything exceeded expectation'. Lorraine R. 2013.

More Details
Hide Details

Hello there! The first thing I should probably tell you is that I came here on holiday for 2 weeks in 1988 and stayed! I guess the sun, the cuisine, the cultural variety and outdoor lifestyle all had something to do with it. The fact is I’ve never stopped savouring the things I love here. I moved from Valencia to Barcelona in 2000 and have worked throughout that time as a teacher and translator as well as a property manager now too of course! My life is busy and diverse and also involves making regular trips back to Scotland, where I was born. I think I’m really lucky to live between two such beautiful places and I guess I love the contrast and diversity of my lifestyle. Nevertheless, be warned! If my own experience is anything to go by and you do decide to come here on holiday, you may end up staying longer than you bargained for!!

Kay Davidson purchased this apartment in 2003

Quite simply – it was love at first sight and the first and last apartment I looked at. I often walk through the gorgeous winding alleyways of the Born with their myriad boutiques and terrace cafés bathed in sunlight before heading back to the apartment and sitting in the peace and quiet of the living room, soaking up the beauty of it all and thinking, yes! This is the essence of what I love here! The Born has become even more charming and beautiful since I bought the apartment in 2003 and I think that if I could come back to Barcelona now and see it all again as if it were the first time, I think it's exactly this apartment in this part of town that I would hope to find. But that particular pleasure, if you decide to come, will be all yours!

Firstly I would say it's the location. It’s right in the middle of the most historic, beautiful and happening area of the city with the benefit of being nestled in a quiet pedestrian-only side street, which is a 15 minute walk from the beach. Then, the apartment itself has the perfect contrast that’s so distinctive to Barcelona of seamlessly blending the old with the new; design without compromising on comfort. Having the award-winning Hoffman bakery and café (best croissants I have ever tasted) just around the corner may also have something to do with it though! Or it might be the proximity to Cal Pep (delicious seafood) or Bar Pla (delicious everything)! Most likely though it's a combination of all of these things but the best thing of all is coming in through the front door after a day out, closing it behind you and experiencing the exquisite dichotomy of feeling at home in a foreign land.

34 Reviews of Property 15898 in La Ribera El Borne, Spain

BARCELONA LUXURY *** FABULOUS LOCATION*** HISTORIC CENTRE - GREAT REVIEWS
average rating of 4.970588 based on 34 reviews
business
BARCELONA LUXURY *** FABULOUS LOCATION*** HISTORIC CENTRE - GREAT REVIEWS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p15898
+34 (0) 649 39 89 44
La Ribera El Borne Ciutat Vella
Where do you live?
5

you can't beat the location

you can't beat the location
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
This apartment was beautiful! Firstly, Rafael met us at 0100 due to our late flight, even though he had to wake up early the next day. Kay was just as attentive and sweet. The apartment was clean and comfortable, and we were welcomed by a bottle of chilled champagne on the kitchen table. We could walk to most all of the tourist sites from the apartment. Right outside our door was the Santa Maria Del Mar church where we heard Mozart's Requiem on our first night in town. The Picasso museum is just outside the door and you are surrounded by tapas bars on every corner. Should I be fortunate enough to return to Barcelona, I will be booking Kay and Rafael's place!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for choosing our apartment Betsy. I hope that Rufus Wainwright song, which first made you curious about Barcelona, will trigger wonderful memories of your stay here whenever you hear it again. Thanks again. Kay.
business
BARCELONA LUXURY *** FABULOUS LOCATION*** HISTORIC CENTRE - GREAT REVIEWS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p15898
+34 (0) 649 39 89 44
La Ribera El Borne Ciutat Vella
5

Perfect Apartment in a Perfect Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Perfect Apartment in a Perfect Location

My husband and I stayed for 5 days in Kay’s beautiful apartment. This is definitely one of the best Vacation Rentals we have experienced.

The attention to detail is evident the moment you set foot in the door. Kay has gone out of her way to make this a comfortable, home-like environment for visitors to Barcelona. It is clean, well appointed and very comfortable, including an entertainment centre with a good selection of DVD’s and CDs for your enjoyment.

The beds and linen are outstanding. Kay provides you with a binder that outlines everything you need to know about the apartment and the surrounding area. A cell phone is provided for your use while in Barcelona.

In my opinion the location in the Born district of Barcelona is one of the best you can have as a tourist. You can walk everywhere with restaurants, cafes, museums and great shopping at your door.

I would highly recommend this apartment to anyone visiting Barcelona who wants a perfect apartment in a perfect location.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Wow! Thanks very much for taking the time to write this great review. We are delighted to hear you were happy with everything and will continue to work hard to ensure that anyone coming to the apartment on the strength of your review (and the others!) leaves feeling satisfied too.
business
BARCELONA LUXURY *** FABULOUS LOCATION*** HISTORIC CENTRE - GREAT REVIEWS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p15898
+34 (0) 649 39 89 44
La Ribera El Borne Ciutat Vella
NC, USA
5

Wonderful apartment, helpful owners

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Little to add to what appears in other reviews. The location was magnificent, and the apartment immaculate. The beds were beyond hotel quality, and there was no street noise. We ate mostly tapas, and carried some things back to the apartment to eat too, especially the Hoffman croissants. So much to see in our first trip to Barcelona. There were more stairs than we thought there would be for first floor, but one adjusts. The responsiveness and helpfulness of Kay and Rafael cannot be over-stressed.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at our apartment. It is extremely rewarding to receive positive feedback and we would like to thank you very much for allowing us to be your hosts during your Barcelona vacation. I hope if you ever decide to come back to Barcelona you will visit the apartment again. Thanks for coming and for being such thoughtful guests. All the best. Kay.
business
BARCELONA LUXURY *** FABULOUS LOCATION*** HISTORIC CENTRE - GREAT REVIEWS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p15898
+34 (0) 649 39 89 44
La Ribera El Borne Ciutat Vella
Vernon Hills, IL - near Chicago
5

Quaint, Clean, Fantastics location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
I just hadn't gotten around to reviewing this place.. So when a friend asked for a recommendation, I immediately thought our stay here.

This is a great apartment - clean, well appointed, and comfortable. Location, location, location - you really can't get any better. If this wasn't enough, Kay was the perfect host - she was prompt with her replies and made staying at this place really comfortable.

Whenever we make it back to Barcelona, we will be thinking of staying here again!
Owner's Response: Hello Bhavan! Thanks so much for recommending us to your friend and for visiting our webpage again to leave a review. We've been busy tweaking the apartment for the new season. You know, touching up the paintwork and carrying out some minor repairs to make sure everything is just right for the coming season. That's the boring bit of running a rental apartment!! The best bit is meeting people like you and watching faces light up as we show you round. Reading such generous comments as the ones you've made here is the icing on the cake. Thanks so much and hope to see you in Barcelona again. Kay.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
BARCELONA LUXURY *** FABULOUS LOCATION*** HISTORIC CENTRE - GREAT REVIEWS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p15898
+34 (0) 649 39 89 44
La Ribera El Borne Ciutat Vella
Webster Groves, MO
5

Perfect Place to Stay in the Heart of Barcelona

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My husband and daughters reserved this apartment in July 2013 for a one week stay over New Year's Eve. From the start, Kay was attentive, informative, and responsive to our needs and questions. She made booking our stay for our first out of the country travel so easy. Once booked, she continued to help us with information and maps of the surrounding area.

When we arrived, we met with her husband who took us through the apartment, explaining everything, answering all my questions and sharing his favorite sights and restaurants. As he was taking us around the apartment, I started to tear up. You book on line and you never quite know what you are going to get. This apartment is amazing. It was immaculate, FULLY stocked, incredibly well lit, furniture beautiful and fun, walls painted warm, comforting colors and more. Kay had placed an apple on each of our pillows. I know it is a small thing, but when you are on week two out of the country for the first time, it is the small things that make all the difference. On the table there was a bottle of champagne with four glasses on a tray with a doily! Okay, back to fully stocked. There was a bottled water and milk in the fridge for us, a container of coffee, sugar, tea...all complimentary. And a french press as well. If you wanted espresso, there was a Nespresso machine for a small fee...totally worth it. And back to immaculate -- I mean immaculate....every corner, every nook, every cranny. You can read more on the listing for all the other details like TV, DVD player, books, etc.

Now for the area. What a wonderfully perfect area for us. Right next to the Picasso Museum, and a short walk to Las Ramblas (though there was so much shopping at our doorstep that we didn't have to go to Las Ramblas). And it had the best restaurants and tapas right outside our doors.

If you are thinking of booking an apartment in Barcelona, you found it with Kay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I am really touched by your review Kelly, not just because of what you've said but by the depth of it and the detail you've gone into. Your satisfaction is definitely what it's all about from our point of view and to read something like this and know that we hit the spot is deeply satisfying and encouraging. Thanks for coming and for this incredible vote of confidence. Kay.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
BARCELONA LUXURY *** FABULOUS LOCATION*** HISTORIC CENTRE - GREAT REVIEWS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p15898
+34 (0) 649 39 89 44
La Ribera El Borne Ciutat Vella
NYC
5

Fantastic Apartment, Great Location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
I’m so glad my friend and I chose Kay’s apartment for our stay in Barcelona. Not only was the apartment as gorgeous in person as it was in pictures, but it’s in a great location. The El Born district is fun, lively, and within walking distance of everywhere we wanted to go (Las Ramblas, the port, the beaches, the Picasso Museum).

Kay and her team were able to work around our flight schedule for meeting and then handing back the keys, and even arranged a cab for us departing. It was a great experience-thank you!!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: It's just great to get feedback like this. Thanks a million for coming to stay and for writing this review. It can't be easy to choose just one apartment from the list! It means a lot to know you were satisfied with your choice and feel like telling others about it. Thank you so much. Kay.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
BARCELONA LUXURY *** FABULOUS LOCATION*** HISTORIC CENTRE - GREAT REVIEWS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p15898
+34 (0) 649 39 89 44
La Ribera El Borne Ciutat Vella
5

Great Apartment, Great Location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Four of us stayed in this apartment for 2 weeks and enjoyed every minute! This was my first time doing a home rental so I was a little bit nervous but Kay made everything really easy! The apartment had everything that you would need and is very clean and modern. It is in a great location, within walking distance of almost every main sight and the neighbourhood is very lively with lots of bars, restaurants and shops and a little square where lots of locals hang out in the evenings. If I ever go back to Barcelona I would definitely stay here again!
Owner's Response: Thanks Sam! Glad you enjoyed your stay and you were happy with your choice of apartment. It's great to know you would like to come back. In the meantime, all the best! Kay.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
BARCELONA LUXURY *** FABULOUS LOCATION*** HISTORIC CENTRE - GREAT REVIEWS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p15898
+34 (0) 649 39 89 44
La Ribera El Borne Ciutat Vella
5

Excellent

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We stayed here for 3 nights, it is a lovely apartment, thoughtfully and tastefully decorated - really well appointed - thoroughly recommended
Excellent location, very kind and helpful landlady - Kay
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review Ysanne and for entrusting us with your accommodation needs. Your satisfaction is what it's all about and it's such a pleasure to get feedback like this. Sincere thanks. Kay.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
BARCELONA LUXURY *** FABULOUS LOCATION*** HISTORIC CENTRE - GREAT REVIEWS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p15898
+34 (0) 649 39 89 44
La Ribera El Borne Ciutat Vella
5

Lovely Apartment and Beautifully Appointed!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We had a wonderful stay at your lovely apartment! Fantastic location,
close to so many wonderful restaurants and shops. Kay was so very
helpful with all our needs. This apartment was beautifully appointed
with everything you could possibly want or need. Beds were very comfortable. We would highly recommend this apartment!
Thank you Kay, you provide everything a traveler to Barcelona
could want in a home away from home!
Owner's Response: Thanks for your very kind and appreciative comments Patricia. I'm delighted to know you were happy with your choice of apartment. It was a true pleasure to be your host in Barcelona. Thanks to you both for taking such good care of the apartment during your stay and I hope that if you ever come back to Barcelona we might have the chance to meet again. Very best wishes. Kay.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
BARCELONA LUXURY *** FABULOUS LOCATION*** HISTORIC CENTRE - GREAT REVIEWS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p15898
+34 (0) 649 39 89 44
La Ribera El Borne Ciutat Vella
5

What an amazing place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
we had an amazing trip to Barcelona staying in the best apartment. We selected the apartment based on the description and reviews and everything exceeded expectation. Kay made booking and pre holiday planning very easy and we were armed with lots of helpful info. The apartment is clean and comfortable with all mod cons and has the bonus of being in the very best area in Barcelona.
From the apartment it is possible to walk everywhere from Gaudis cathedral to the zoo for the kids. The Picasso museum is just round the corner and lunch at the marina is a nice treat. The shops are great and there are loads of fantastic places to eat. In fact the only thing I can't comment on is the cooker as I didn't use it once!!
This apartment is definitely to be recommended and I hope we will get the opportunity to visit again soon.
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a great review Lorraine. We work hard to make sure your stay will be everything you had hoped for and it's so satisfying to know that you felt you had made the best choice and had come to the best part of town. Come again soon! Kay.
Helpful votes: 3/3