Los Barriles house rental - The guesthouse and pool
The guesthouse and pool
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Los Barriles House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)+optional 2Br/1bath (sleep 12)

Luxury estate on the sandy beach of Punta Pescadero (point of the fisherman) where the sun shines 350 days per year. Enjoy world-class fishing on the Sea of Cortez where the only waves are generated by the wind. No wind and this is like a lake! No swells, no sea sickness, and no long trips in the boat. One to three hours of fishing with pick up on the beach in front of the house at 8 AM is usually enough to catch your dinner! Want fresh fish or lobster caught that morning without you going fishing, just ask and it will be delivered, and even cooked for you if you wish. Add a two-person guitar background to your dinner by the pool and you will truly feel you are in heaven, the hustle of life has been left behind.

Walk the beach for 'miles' without seeing anyone! No one selling anything, just walk and enjoy undisturbed nature at its best.

The house is finished with travertine floors, marble and granite countertops, marble bathrooms, and slate around the pool with palapa bar. The palapa sitting area on the beach is the place to be with a nice book to read. This is the life!

Griselda will be your maid for your entire stay, washing your dishes and clothes while keeping the property immaculate. Jose Maria is the manager of the property who will also be there every day to look after your needs. Jose Maria speaks fluent English, so no need to worry about language. Just relax and let him worry about your activities.

There are two master bedrooms with queen-sized beds. One has its own private bath and the second shares the full bath with the bunk room where four can sleep. Additional sleeping is possible on the couches or pool lounge chairs.

OPTIONAL rental of the lower floor of the main house with the extra 2 bedrooms and kitchen results in beds for 12 people. Inquire about extra costs and your needs.

**NO ONE will be in the 'main house' when you are in the guesthouse and vice versa. I adjust my trips around when there is a guest.

Bring with you: passport, notorized authorization for any minor children not accompanied by both parents, sunscreen, hats, swimsuits, sunglasses, sandals, light windbreaker (December to March only), get international access for your cell phone before leaving, buy your own liquor and food on your drive from the airport. Order fresh tortillas from the village of Cardonal to be delivered daily (Jose Maria, the house manager and your conscierge, arranges). Do not try to import beef or chicken into mexico. If you wish, you can ask to go to Costco on your way to the property and stock up for a long stay.

Enjoy the property and the beauty of Mexico. You will return 'walking slow, thinking slow, and talking slow' guaranteed!

Keywords: house, guesthouse

More Details
Hide Details

I am a dentist, orthodontic educator, and I live to fish, my number 1 hobby. I found this location by being a private pilot, Punta Pescadero has the #1 paved airstrip in Baja outside of controlled airports.

The Owner purchased this house in 1994

The best fishing in the world, no one selling you anything, the fantastic attitudes of the locals, and of course the airstrip. I do not have a plane anymore, having crashed it in 2001 (no one hurt).

Remote elegance and luxury. Whatever you want, just ask and my house manager will make it happen.

19 Reviews of Property 123766 in Los Barriles, Baja

Estate Guesthouse
average rating of 4.928571 based on 19 reviews
business
Estate Guesthouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p123766vb
Los Barriles East Cape
Bend, Or.
5

AWESOME

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2007
  • Stayed: Jun 2007
This place is a great place to stay. Very, very clean, maintained daily.
Their is a multitude of things to do in a place away from the crowds.
Don, the owner set us up and told us everything we needed, and what to expect. Jose Maria the manager was awesome, and speaks great English. He also picked us up and returned us to the airport! I would recommend this place to anyone who is looking for more of a secluded
non touristy, peaceful vacation.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: This is my first year sharing this property with others and it has been a pleasure. We do "take care of you", not just expecting a guest to jump off the plane and find the true beauty of Baja, Mexico. I love this part of Mexico and others are now finding the same. Thank you for the nice words.
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
Estate Guesthouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p123766vb
Los Barriles East Cape
-
5

Excellent view, weather, accomodations and comfort

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Don - we wanted you to know what a wonderful time we had at your hacienda! Your home is beautiful and the accommodations were excellent. Everything we needed was provided and your property managers Jose Maria and Griselda were very nice and accommodating. We only wish we would have had time to get Jose Maria to play his guitar for us. We sea-kayaked; we had a great dinner in El Cardonal (at Jose Maria's recommendation and he also made our reservation) and saw a HUGE tarantula just walking down our side of the road (after dark) – so my husband stopped and got out to take photos of it; we beach combed – which is some of the best we’ve ever had sans Costa Rica!; watched the sunrises and sunsets from your wonderful place and snorkeled at the pull-off just south of the Punta Pescardero Hotel. It was a quick, but very peaceful 3 days after spending 2 weeks in Cabo. A very nice way to end our vacation. We would recommend to anyone wanting to get away to a relaxing, intimate and safe place. We drove both the 17 k and 11 k roads to your place. The 11 k is about the same time, but is the most direct route - so slow down and be courteous and you won't have any trouble getting there via the beach view drive. Thank you for everything - you left nothing out!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Estate Guesthouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p123766vb
Los Barriles East Cape
Utah
5

Fishing trip Nov 1st-Nov5th

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This was a 5 guys fishing trip for 4 days. Primary goal was fishing.

You can fish in front of the house or use provided Kayaks. Water was warm so we also did some snorkeling. Boats picked us up by the hotel or in front of the house. We rented both Super Pangas and Super Cruisers through Jose at the same price we would have paid in Los Barriles

Jose cleaned our fish and had his wife prepare for us - yum.

I use VRBO alot both in and out of the US. And with a doubt this has to be one of the best rentals we have ever had.

Everything is as described in the property description. Jose provided us with above and beyond care and service. From picking us at the airport to arranging for the boats and quads for a day - to delivering dinner each evening prepared by his wife.

Don's communication was quick and very helpful.

House was spotless when we got there and continued to be serviced durning our entire stay.

One note - we did stop to go grocery shopping- this was not necessary as Jose can provide all of food and beverages at store prices- if you want to shop. I would suggest a visit to Costco on your way in if you have time. Otherwise send a list to Jose in advance and everything will be there.

We will definitely be back. Next time will be a family vacation with my kids and grand kids.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Estate Guesthouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p123766vb
Los Barriles East Cape
US
5

Baja Vacation Posada McGann

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Our stay at this house was great, it is a beautiful location, and the house was very clean with all the amenities listed working as described. Jose Maria, the property manager, is an honest, very nice, and very helpful young man. We must say, however, that the house is on the far side from Los Barriles, if you have a “regular” car and not SUV or truck, the “scenic” route is a 45-50 min dirt road trek along cliffs that to my wife and sister was quite scary. Yet, going the “longer” route up and down the mountain broke it up into a 25 min “highway”/25 min dirt road, much easier on the stomach and nerves. Nevertheless, this seclusion makes Punta Pescadero a paradise for those looking to get away from it all. We are all avid fishermen and the location did not disappoint. In front of the house, surf-fishing was excellent. In calm weather, the Triggerfish (1-3 lbs) action was nonstop with a small Johnson silver spoon, landing fish almost every other cast. On our second to last day, the wind picked up and built up a 2-3 foot surf on the beach in front of the house. This made for phenomenal Huachinango (Red Snapper) fishing at sundown; they lurk in the slot between rocks and sand, right up on the beach. We caught 2 snappers in the 10-12 lb range, with many others 1-4 lb. Awesome. We were using light tackle, 2500 class Shimano reels spooled with 15 lb braid, a short (1ft) bimini and a blood knot to a 2-ft 20 lb fluorocarbon leader, 7ft med-act rods. Rapala X-Rap Saltwater Sardine and Olive Green 08 size were deadly. We let everything go, and used closed barbs on all our hooks. A short paddle away on the sea kayaks to the rocks in front of the hotel made for some awesome action as well. Grouper (~20-23 inches), Triggerfish (more than you’d like to catch, seriously), Lookdowns (right up on the rocks 1-2 lbs), and large Needlefish abound. We were using 4000 class Shimano reels with 30 lb braid, bimini to 30 lb fluorocarbon on 8-9 ft med action surf rods. We were most successful with Braid Slammer Blue/Yellow jigs, twitching them right on the bottom, closed barbs and catch and release all. We had at least two very large bites with short runs and lost fish, I imagine LARGE snapper or grouper. We went deep sea fishing with Vicente, although the bite was a little slow for most of the day. We did, however, manage to land and release a White Marlin (maybe 100 lbs), kept a small Dolphin (4-6 lbs), and hooked up with another Marlin for about 5 min before he spit the hook out.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Estate Guesthouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p123766vb
Los Barriles East Cape
San Francisco, CA
5

GREAT family vacation on the Sea of Cortez!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This was a great stay. Jose Maria and his wife were FABULOUS hosts delivering to our door anything we requested (fresh tortillas, shrimp, lobster, birthday flan, paddle boards, horses and ATVs). The guest house was very clean and comfortably accommodated our family of 6 and we loved the poolside patio/bar-b-que area with a view of the Sea of Cortez!!
Don, the owner, was timely in all communication and supplied us with any and all information we could possibly need about the house and surrounding area. Upon his approval, we brought our family pet who enjoyed the kayaking, paddle boarding as much as we did!!! I would recommend this rental to a family looking for a relaxing vacation without the touristy distractions often experienced in Cabo.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Estate Guesthouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p123766vb
Los Barriles East Cape
Washington state
5

Absolutely wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My family - 2 teenage boys, my husband and I - rented the casita for Spring Break. It was a very livable property. We were extremely comfortable. The view is fabulous. Though the main house is in front of the casita, the casita still has a wonderful view, and the main house serves to block the pool from the wind. It is really a very nice set up. It feels very private.
What makes this house so special is the people who take care of the house. Jose Maria and his wife, Griselda, made our vacation immensely better. They don't live on the property, but come by each day. Griselda, in addition to cleaning the house each day, runs a little restaurant in the nearby town of Cardonal. She is a fabulous cook. If we didn't feel like going out to eat, Jose Maria would bring dinner to us. 2 special things to mention: I had a 24 hour flu. Griselda made a wonderful chicken and tortilla soup that soon had me feeling better. Also, I had a birthday while we were there and they brought me the most delicious cake.
Jose Maria added so much value to our vacation. He knows everyone locally. We wanted to go ride ATV's, he set us up with brand new ones delivered to the house. He taught our boys how to drive them.They went to see some petroglyphs and had so much fun that we went again on my birthday and rode up to a waterfall. It was great fun. Without Jose Maria, it would not have been as much fun because we wouldn't have known where to go, and we felt very safe with him. He also set us up with someone to go fishing. There are kayaks at the house and we enjoyed paddling them. The water was absolutely flat calm one day and we went out and were soon surrounded by dolphins. I would recommend going out soon after sunrise. The water is calm and, at least in early April, there were dolphins. Nearby restaurants: The hotel has great food, and we didn't think it was unreasonable expensive. Griselda's restaurant in Cardonal is wonderful. Feel free to bring your own beer. In Los Barilles, you absolutely cannot miss eating at Don Crudo's. Rarely have we met anyone with such a passion for, and ability with, food. We ate there 3 times in a row- wonderful restaurant & staff.
Finally, the road in deserves a mention. Jose Maria will pick you up at the airport. We followed him to the grocery store and then to the property. The last 10 miles are so, you might think is a horribly scary practical joke. Just stick with it, you'll get used to it. It's actually fun on an ATV!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Estate Guesthouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p123766vb
Los Barriles East Cape
United States
5

Great experience for all!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
My family really enjoyed our stay here. The owner is great with providing information and has everything well set up to make your stay easy and relaxing. The kids loved the pool which is very warm and clean, solar heated and it works really well. The house managers are wonderful people that will take care of your needs and bring you fresh tortillas and other mexican delights. The second and third bedroom are connected but they do have a separate entrance to the main guesthouse. The road is a bit bumpy in and out of town, but you really do not need to use it much and it is not bad if you have driven off the pavement before. We had a great time and plan on returning again!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Estate Guesthouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p123766vb
Los Barriles East Cape
Minneapolis, MN
4

Beautiful paradise

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We had 6 adults and 2 samll children at the property. The property sits right on the beach so we walked down every day. The pool was not heated so that was dissapointing because it was maybe 70 degrees. Griselda and Jose were amazing...great food, good directions for travelling, very friendly. We saw dolphins, manata rays, seals and turtles during our stay. Only heard the whales at night. Enjoyed being out on the water with a fisherman Jose set us up with.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Estate Guesthouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p123766vb
Los Barriles East Cape
Kansas
5

Excellent Place to Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
My husband and myself are also from Kansas and we were with the
group of ten that stayed in Mr. McGann's rental house and we had
a great time. This was both of our first time fishing exp. of this type
and we enjoyed ourselves alot. The caretaker, Jose Maria, and his
wife were on top of every thing that we needed. The boat captains
were great and had a great deal of patience with us. We had a relaxing time that we both needed, in a beautiful house and a very
beautiful setting. With family and friends it was more than we could
have hoped for. We want to go again, and if we can, we would love
to stay in Mr. McGann's home again and enjoy the great time
that we had. Thank you again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Estate Guesthouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p123766vb
Los Barriles East Cape
Kansas
5

Excellent Experience !!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
This trip was my 4th to the area, but my first time staying at a rental house, rather than at a resort hotel. I do not plan on visiting another resort hotel after experiencing the wonderful place that Mr. McGann has here to offer. I am from Kansas, and enjoy fishing any place I get a chance to give it a try. The fishing in this area of the Baja can be super. In fact, even on the "off days" it is still such an enjoyable experience that it can become very addictive. I am a perfect example of that, due to the fact that my first trip to the area about 5 years ago, was something I considered to be a "once in a lifetime opportunity" for me. Now, after returning 3 times since, and looking forward to many more in the future, I realize that each one of the trips is, in my opinion, sort of a continuation of that first "once in a lifetime experience". Staying at Casa McGann was so much more to my liking than my previous visits to a resort. I enjoyed the privacy of a home, and the flexibility you have with meal times and fishing times, etc. Jose Maria did an excellent job of helping all 10 of us in my group to have the opportunity for a perfect vacation visit. He listens to each person who has anything to say or to ask about, and then lives up to his word on the subject. He organizes the boats and captains, can set up catered meals, have meals prepared and loaded on the boats if you wish, and even does what he can to help anyone with special requests or special needs. His level of integrity is of the highest imaginable, and his personality makes him a joy to be around. The boat captains he provided us with were first rate as well. They go all out to give you the best fishing experience they can each and every day. Sometimes the ocean is more "giving" than other days, but the efforts of the captains was never lacking a bit. I don't have anything at all to complain about or to wish was different about the trip. It was by far the best of my visits to Baja yet, and I plan on returning to this exact place many times in the coming years. Great job everyone, ...Mr. McGann, Jose, The Captains, and the House Keepers / Cleaners. You all made my experience one I hope to both remember and repeat for many years to come.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1