Traverse City cabin rental - Cabin #4/5 have a hot tub on the porch FALL WINTER SPRING ONLY
Cabin #4/5 have a hot tub on the porch FALL WINTER SPRING ONLY
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Traverse City Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Log Cabin for One Couple with Hot Tub - Bath w/shower

Harold's Resort is located off the highway, in the woods, on the lake - a private peninsula - surrounded by water on 3 sides w/7 '1950's' LOG 'housekeeping' Cabins. Extra quiet, private & secluded. Safe for Families, Quiet for Couples. Great for fishing and swimming. Spider Lake is an all sports lake with 459 acres. No wake before 11 am & after 7:30 pm each day ensures the lake is extra quiet in the morning and evening

. Great pontoon boating lake with lots of exploring to do. When you are here, you will feel like you are in the middle of nowhere, but there is easy access to town.. Traverse City that is. Also nearby in the Pere Marquette State Forest you will find: Hiking Trails, Snow Shoeing and X-C Trails, & Mountain Biking Trails. Ranch Rudolf is a short drive away for Horse Back Riding, Canoeing & Tubing on the Boardman River. We do Nightly & Weekend Rentals Sept - June. Weekly Rentals Sat to Sat in the Summer. Let me know what you are looking for... Kathy

Summer Weekly Rental: Bring the family up for some quality time. Bring them to a place that time forgot. Remember going up north to the lake as a child? Well bring your children to the same place. Bring them to a place for some good ole fashion R & R. Bring your favorite board games, books, deck of cards, beach toys and fishing poles. I bet they don't ask for a TV all week... a miracle... After fishing, and swimming and chasing each other around, after dinner and a bonfire with roasted marshmallows and s,mores... they'll hit the hay and never even notice NO TV . Rainy day -- that''s when the games come out... or a trip to town to the Children's Museum - waves of wonder, or just a wet day outside... even if it wasn't raining, they'd be wet ... right ? !!! Rainy days are when the fish bite best... so hopefully you'll get at least one while you are here.

No pets allowed on the property, not even to visit, please and thank you.

Fall Weekends: Come up to the North Woods for a Color Tour Weekend - everywhere you go up here is a 'Color Tour' - cruise the lake on a pontoon boat ( rentals available here ) visit a winery, casino, or fabulous restaurant - we have plenty in the area. Hiking and Mountain Bike Trails nearby for a real color tour thru the Pere Marquette State Forest. This cabin will accommodate one couple, and we have 7 cabins here - and we have other accommodations on Spider Lake for larger groups too. September 13,14,15 Traverse City is hosting it's 4th annual Epicurean Classic - 80 events including: Classes, Demos, Tastings and Dinners. Ask about our 3 night packages that include: 3 nights accommodations for 2 people - a Traverse City Cherry Pie from Grand Traverse Pie Company, 2 tickets to the Tasting Pavilion, your choice of Friday or Saturday 12 noon - 4pm, a Cozy Log Cabin with Fireplace viewable from bed with special linens and comforters and your own private Hot Tub on the Screened in Porch !

Girls Weekend Retreats: Did you know that 'Girls just wanna have fun! ' Well gather up your friends, sisters, mothers and neighbors! and choose either a Scrapbook or Sewing Weekend Retreat! This is where you get to have all the fun, work on a project or take a class and learn something new with all the girls! No cooking, No cleaning, No husbands or kids (bless their hearts!) The work room is open from Friday 2pm til Sunday 2pm - come and go as you please.... Six fabulous meals provided! With Dessert, Treats, Snacks & Beverages. Eight weekends per year to choose from - contact me and I'll set you up!

Under the AMENITIES SECTION; hover over each item for more details. ie... if you hover over A/C - it will say: NONE

Kathy

More Details
Hide Details

We came to Harolds Resort on vacation from San Diego in the Fall of 1989. We fell in Love with Traverse City and Harolds Resort. We moved here in the Spring of 1990, with our son Dieter who was almost 2 years old and 8 1/2 years later our son Hunter was born.

Kathy & Rolf Schliess purchased this cabin in 1990

While we were here on vacation in 1989 we were telling the owner how much we loved Traverse City and Harolds Resort and he said - if you love it so much, why don't you buy it ? !! Just seemed like a good fit and an adventure and a great place to raise a family. And we were right.. and now we are GRAND PARENTS of twin boys ! Boy how time flies when you are having fun !

Location, Location, Location... at the end of the road, off the highway, in the woods and on the lake. Surrounded by water on 3 sides. There is just not many places left that can give you the peace, quiet and solitude with easy access to all that downtown Traverse City and the surrounding area have to offer.

65 Reviews of Property 158840 in Traverse City, Michigan

Who Cares about the Weather ?! Log Cabin + Hot Tub + You & Your Sweetie !
average rating of 4.96875 based on 65 reviews
business
Who Cares about the Weather ?! Log Cabin + Hot Tub + You & Your Sweetie !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p158840
+1 2319465219
Traverse City Northern Michigan
Central Michigan
5

Cozy Get-Away!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
This cozy cabin was exactly what we expected after seeing pictures. It was very clean and had a touch of comfort! The towels and flannel sheets smelled so good, an added bonus compared to a hotel's towels and sheets! The fireplace heated the cabin and added to the coziness. We were aprehensive about the hottub since it was under 10 degrees outside. But once we got in, it felt wonderful. To breathe in the cool crisp air while relaxing in a bubbling warm water, it actually warmed us up! The Christmas lights were nice and the view was great! My husband & I really needed this get away to spend some time alone without the interuptions of every day life. We went into Traverse City and ate at Olive Garden which is awlays awesome & we also made a trip to the Turtle Creek Casino. It was a nice casino and I liked that it was not too busy. We played the slots and had many to choose from. We shopped the outlets and mall for a little bit and then we couldn't wait to get back to our cabin! The cabin was close to town yet we were in the country and away form the busy city life! My husband & I enjoyed our stay and can not wait to come back. We may make this a yearly winter break! Many times since we have been home we have referred to the cabin wishing we were there again. Very comfortable, cozy, romantic & relaxing retreat. Thank You!!!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We know some people have to have a "hotel room" - but what a bonus for those who don't !! Having your own little log cabin to "call you home ' is something you willl never know when you stay at a hotel. Having your own private hot tub on your screened in porch, even with single digit temps - is something you can never experience at a "hotel". And as I always say.. the colder and nastier the weather.. the better the hot tub feels ! " Don't wait for the storm to pass, learn to dance in the rain ! " Kathy
business
Who Cares about the Weather ?! Log Cabin + Hot Tub + You & Your Sweetie !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p158840
+1 2319465219
Traverse City Northern Michigan
5

Perfect little cabin in the woods

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
My wife and I would like to thank you for your wonderful hospitality this weekend. We rented cabin 4 and it was wonderful. We celebrated our 2nd anniversary this weekend and it was wonderful. Cozy quaint and very comfy. The fireplace and the hot tub made the weekend. You had everything we needed and everything was well labeled and thought out. It was like we were the only people in the world. Thank you for everything.
Owner's Response: Thank You ! You are very kind. I think that every couple needs an anniversary like this. It does not have to be "on" the actual Wedding Anniversary ... but at least once a year.. you need to get away and feel like you are the only people in the world. You are why I do everything I do and it makes me smile that you appreciated it... ;0) Kathy
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Who Cares about the Weather ?! Log Cabin + Hot Tub + You & Your Sweetie !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p158840
+1 2319465219
Traverse City Northern Michigan
5

Very cozy quiet charming rustic cabin in the woods

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Went to celebrate an anniversary in the dead of winter. It was fun finding this little gem in the woods. Everything you need in one cozy cabin. The best part is the lovely hot tub right outside the door, spent most of our time in there. Also loved having the heated bed as well. Everything was well maintained and clean and in working order. We were greeted with a very nice welcome letter and table set up for a romantic week end. We didn't leave the cabin for anything else just wanted to relax and enjoy each others company with no distractions.
I would definitely recommend Harold's Resort to anybody that wants to get away from all the hustle and bustle of city life.
business
Who Cares about the Weather ?! Log Cabin + Hot Tub + You & Your Sweetie !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p158840
+1 2319465219
Traverse City Northern Michigan
5

Awesome cozy cabin on a beautiful, warm lake

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My girlfriend and I stayed at cabin 4 from wed-saturday in mid july and had an overall amazing experience. The weather was awesome and the water was warm everyday. The cabin is perfect for a small family or just two people and the basics are provided. BBQ is perfect for cottage foods and the fire pit and private each are both perfect. It was only a short drive (10 mins) one day to the Traverse City State park which had a very nice beach. We fished on the paddle boat every night and rented kayaks for morning trips around the lakes. Everybody there was so nice and helpful, responded to every request we had. Overall great experience and i wouldnt have changed a thing.
Owner's Response: You can't beat Summertime Up North on the lake ! Spider Lake does warm up nice and quick in he summer compared to "the big lakes". We are not always able to do a partial week in the Summer - normally renting weekly Saturday to Saturday, but this lucky couple took advantage of a cancellation. A row boat is included with each cabin - they called it a paddleboat, but a great way to end the day ! We have a community bon fire pit and sandy beach on our private peninsula - at the end of the road, off the highway, in the woods. They had one of the smaller cabins - we have all sizes here and manage larger private homes - all on Spider Lake - 12 miles SE of downtown Traverse City. Come on up ! Kathy & Rolf
business
Who Cares about the Weather ?! Log Cabin + Hot Tub + You & Your Sweetie !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p158840
+1 2319465219
Traverse City Northern Michigan
5

Perfect Get-Away Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We stayed at this property for 2 nights, April 2013... sorry I cannot indicate specifically which cabin we stayed in (against the review rules), which of course would have made this review more useful... but it was a very cozy little cabin for a romantic weekend getaway! From my first email interaction with Kathy to the last fleeting glance as we left on Monday morning, everything was smooth and carefree. When we arrived the cabin was toasty warm from the gas fireplace, clean, and delightfully set up for us! The [square] hot tub on the screened porch was wonderful with our cold evenings, especially once the twinkle lights surrounding the porch came on, although I would echo another reviewer's comments about the proximity of the next door cabin being a bit of a privacy issue. Be aware there is no television in the cabin, but having read this in another review, we brought our own TV, DVD player and movies, as well as a few games, which proved nice for evening entertainment. We also made a trip into town on Sunday afternoon. The tiny kitchen was quaint, but had everything we needed to cook up the fixings we had brought for a scrumptious breakfast on Sunday morning, and the bed with flannel sheets and down comforter was incredibly comfortable. I read where another reviewer had commented on the shower being very old and kind of icky, which is true, but it was very clean, and really wasn't an issue for us. All in all, a wonderful weekend away... we would highly recommend if you are looking for a peaceful, romantic hideaway weekend that offers many nearby options for sightseeing, shopping, and entertainment... we are already talking about going back!
Owner's Response: Everyone has a story, and we love to hear it.. There is even a journal in each cabin to write your story.
Everyone needs to "get away" - relax, re-charge and re-connect. This is the place to do it. At the end of
the road, off the highway in the woods and on the lake - with beautiful Traverse City just a hop, skip and
and jump away. Seven cabin sit on a private peninsula - surrounded by Spider Lake on 3 sides
with a few open all winter, including this one. Soak in the Hot Tub with the twinkle lights giving off "just
enough" of a glow during the cold dark nights of Winter - and this year April was part of Winter ! The Hot
Tub also is available Spring and Fall. Summer Rentals are Weekly only - Sat to Sat. Traverse City is a
Fabulous place to visit and having your own little Log Cabin to come "home" to each night is the way to go !
Love to have you ! Kathy
business
Who Cares about the Weather ?! Log Cabin + Hot Tub + You & Your Sweetie !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p158840
+1 2319465219
Traverse City Northern Michigan
5

Cozy cabin, great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We loved the place and the cabin. It's a small peninsula all surrounded by the lake, and it's also a bit hilly which make's it nicer. The cabin has room enough for everything you need, and the hot tub is awesome, clean and really well maintained.
The cabin needs some minor updates (insulation, water pipes-iron smell, and shower cabinel) but even though it all makes a great stay. Kathy takes care of your welcome even if she doesn't show up in your cabin, she has already prepared it all for you with even some personalized documents. And a welcome gift, that's great.
During winter the lake was completly frozen so a hike on it was gorgeous for me, I'd never done this before. There is a small island in the lake that you can now walk to it.
And Traverse City and specially the peninsula are great destinations to leave the warmth of the cabin for a while. If you go to yhe peninsula, instead of taking the center road all the way up, take the one on the left (close to the western shore), you will love the route and the houses around.
In short words, a place worth to stay.
Owner's Response: Your own Log Cabin - in the Woods, Off the HIghway, On the Lake - at the end of the road. A Snowy Log Cabin trimmed in Twinkling Icicle Lights, A Warm Fire going, and it's HOT in the HOT TUB... all just waiting for your when you arrive for a Snowy Winter Weekend ! When you are here, you will feel like you are in the middle of nowhere - but easy access to "town" - the Wineries ! The Casinos ! The Restaurants ! The Shopping ! Oh and did I mention - It's HOT in the HOT TUB ? ! See you next time !
business
Who Cares about the Weather ?! Log Cabin + Hot Tub + You & Your Sweetie !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p158840
+1 2319465219
Traverse City Northern Michigan
5

Perfect time away!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Wow, what can I say? This was exactly what was needed after a long semester of teaching and taking classes at Michigan State. The getaway to Traverse City was great, but the highlight was the relaxing time spent at the cabin. The cabin was prepped and ready for us when we arrived and we were able to relax, enjoy the fireplace and of course the hot tub! It was lightly snowing but the hot tub was in a covered porch which made for a unique experience overlooking the private lake. As we were leaving we were already trying to figure out when we could come back!

I cannot recommend this place high enough! Thank you Kathy and Rolf, I look forward to our next stay!
Owner's Response: This couple found out that Harolds Resort and Spider Lake are "Magical" !! They came from halfway around the world to our little piece of heaven... You are Lucky - you are only a few hours drive away.. "when you seek a private peninsula - you don't have to go very far" --and you can quote me on that ! Kathy
business
Who Cares about the Weather ?! Log Cabin + Hot Tub + You & Your Sweetie !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p158840
+1 2319465219
Traverse City Northern Michigan
5

Much needed r n r

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We absolutely loved this little love shack. It was so cute and the kitchen was well supplied with pans and dishes. The beds were super cozy and the hot tub was a fantastic touch. The view was amazing and Kathy was very nice answering all of my questions.
business
Who Cares about the Weather ?! Log Cabin + Hot Tub + You & Your Sweetie !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p158840
+1 2319465219
Traverse City Northern Michigan
Grand Rapids
5

A Poem

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
Time well spent in this Cabin, A hot tub and fireplace, with not much more. but just enough for us to Adore. A tiny little space For lovers to share, A place to escape the pressures of daily despair. The memories that have been created, Will never ever be faded, Even when the icicles melt from our hair. this Cabin is the place to be, We will return, it is foreseen. Thank you Kathy and Rolf for letting us stay Hoping you will let us return again, for another play D & L
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Who Cares about the Weather ?! Log Cabin + Hot Tub + You & Your Sweetie !
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p158840
+1 2319465219
Traverse City Northern Michigan
Toledo, OH
5

Love Shack

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
Just got back from Harold's this past Sunday (2-11/2-13/11). My boyfriend and I wanted to get a way and do something special for Valentine's Day. Well let me tell you, this was the perfect week-end. We didn't see anyone except when we went to the grocery store. The cabin was cozy and quaint and oh so romantic. The hot tub was an added bonus and I do mean bonus. We had a very romantic dinner in the cabin Saturday night. Was so awesome to be outside, in the snow in our robes grilling out. The smell was fantastic. Company even better. I highly recommend Harold's to everyone! Oh and doing naked snow angels and "other" designs in the snow was just so damn fun and silly. We are still giggling about it.!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: When is the last time you grilled out in the snow in your robe? When is the last time you spend all night giggling ? Where else can you do a naked snow angel hot out of the hot tub ? Where can you go away for a few days and feel like a kid again and leave the "crazy city life" behind ? I'll tell you... right here, in the woods, on the lake, off the highway at Harolds Resort !
Helpful votes: 1/1