Isla Mujeres house rental - Enchanting Front Entrance at Night
Enchanting Front Entrance at Night
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Isla Mujeres House Rental Photos and Description
Casa Overlooking Ocean, 3 bedrooms, sleeps 4-5 Adults, 6 Maximum

Discover this Modern Mexican House located right on the Ocean of Isla Mujeres. With unobstructed views and sounds of the ocean from every room you are certain to find the perfect sense of peace and relaxation. Enjoy the tranquil ocean breeze, the multiple water features in the home, the fabulous pool and jacuzzi and numerous modern conveniences at your fingertips, including satellite TV, internet and free calls to the US. Enjoy an in-suite massage, a steaming rain shower in an oversized luxury stone bath or a short walk to the beach to collect seashells. Tranquility of Casa Zama awaits you...

Luxurious Modern Oceanfront Villa: Casa Zama is less than half a mile away from a secluded beach that is ideal for photos, shell collecting and just enjoying the sight, smell and feel of the ocean. It is also the location where the world famous turtles hatch their protected eggs during certain months. The moonlight in this area is simply enchanting.

Casa Zama is a short golf cart ride to the larger beach, Playa Norte where sunbathing, swimming and volleyball are just a few activities available. A lively beach bar allows for sipping a cold cerveza on a swinging chair if you are so inclined!

More Details
Hide Details

Mel and Ron Herrman are avid Isla Mujeres enthusiasts and spend most time on the island managing vacation properties, including their own, Casa Zama. Mel is also a yoga instructor, and Ron a certified dive master. They enjoy sharing their island and home with new guests.

Ron or Melanie Herrman purchased this house in 2006

One of the most unique and modern vacation homes on the island, Casa Zama affords guests oceanfront luxury with staff services, security and privacy, and beautiful, tranquil surroundings with a panoramic view of the Caribbean.

This property has a daily staff, and Ron or gabby the managers are available in the event guests have questions or issues as they arise. The staff prepares a daily breakfast and cleans each day as well. You are ensured 100% privacy of a vacation home while also enjoying added amenities such as maid service, breakfast and Bvlgari toiletries.

28 Reviews of Property 158437 in Isla Mujeres, Yucatan / Mayan Riviera

Contemporary Luxury Oceanfront Escape
average rating of 4.7272725 based on 28 reviews
business
Contemporary Luxury Oceanfront Escape
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p158437
+1 512 692-9853
Isla Mujeres Quintana Roo
4

December Get-Away

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Upon arrival we were overly impressed with the views, the house, and the hospitality of Ron (the owner). The pictures really don't do it justice and we all agreed on that. We vacationed there for one week with another couple and really enjoyed it. The pool was a little chilly for December, but that is to be expected and we got in anyways after a few drinks. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars in mainly because of the maid service. They failed to tidy our rooms up for about three days until I mentioned this to Ron. He immediately came over and addressed the problem and it was fixed, minus the part where they never brought up clean towels (minor but annoying). Other than that they made some good breakfasts, but they don't hold a candle to the other restaurants on the island (Mango, Barlito, Rolandi's on sunday) so plan ahead and venture out for breakfast. Maybe they could make you sandwiches for later or pico or guacamole for a snack later. This would be a great option. Nonetheless, this is a great option and we will return someday. We really did love Casa Zama.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Contemporary Luxury Oceanfront Escape
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p158437
+1 512 692-9853
Isla Mujeres Quintana Roo
San Antonio
5

Perfecto

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The moment I walked into Casa Zama my shoulders dropped and the stress of reality vanished. The sight of the ocean beyond the pool, the sound of the ocean and the water fountain, the cool breeze and the soft music playing on the surround sound is enough to bring a tear to anyone’s eye. Pictures can not do this amazing home justice; you have to be there to understand that this is the closest you can get to heaven.

Upon arrival Ron (owner and manager) greeted us at the home and gave us a tour of the house with complete instructions. He also took about 45 min to show us on the map all the best restaurants, activities and must see sites. Ron was always prompt and helpful; he and Melanie even helped me with my surprise marriage proposal.

I made a special surprise marriage proposal to my girlfriend on the cliff overlooking the ocean just behind the house. Ron and Melanie went out of their way to make sure all the events went as scheduled and helped keep the proposal a surprise until the last second. Ron is also a professional photographer and was able to capture the event with spectacular photos. He charged me a very fair price for his work; he played along with the surprise and even had to sneak around a bit. Ron, words can not express my appreciation for all your help.

I have traveled much in my life and have even been to Mexico several times (Cancun/Cozumel and more) but this was the best trip I ever had. What put this trip in the number one spot was Casa Zama. I never want to stay in a hotel again. The privacy and the personal service can not compare to this experience. You sacrifice none of the amenities of home: Wifi, Pool speakers for music, Washer/dryer, Dish Network, and flat panel TVs in bedrooms.

If you’re going to Isla Mujeres you have to stay at CASA ZAMA

Now I’m working on getting us back there for the honeymoon.

Ron and Melanie thanks for the memories that will last a lifetime.
Owner's Response: Dear Eric,
Thank you so much for the kind words, guests like you bring so much joy to us and it was truly our pleasure to help create the perfect proposal and vacation for you and your lovely fiancé. We look forward to seeing you again and it warms our hearts that we could assist in creating lasting memories for your family and friends!

Warmest Regards,
Mel and Ron Herrman
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Contemporary Luxury Oceanfront Escape
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p158437
+1 512 692-9853
Isla Mujeres Quintana Roo
San Antonio
5

Perfection!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The moment I walked into Casa Zama my shoulders dropped and the stress of reality vanished. The sight of the ocean beyond the pool, the sound of the ocean and the water fountain, the cool breeze and the soft music playing on the surround sound is enough to bring a tear to anyone’s eye. Pictures can not do this amazing home justice; you have to be there to understand that this is the closest you can get to heaven.

Upon arrival Ron (owner and manager) greeted us at the home and gave us a tour of the house with complete instructions. He also took about 45 min to show us on the map all the best restaurants, activities and must see sites. Ron was always prompt and helpful; he and Melanie even helped me with my surprise marriage proposal.

I made a special surprise marriage proposal to my girlfriend on the cliff overlooking the ocean just behind the house. Ron and Melanie went out of their way to make sure all the events went as scheduled and helped keep the proposal a surprise until the last second. Ron is also a professional photographer and was able to capture the event with spectacular photos. He charged me a very fair price for his work; he played along with the surprise and even had to sneak around a bit. Ron, words can not express my appreciation for all your help.

I have traveled much in my life and have even been to Mexico several times (Cancun/Cozumel and more) but this was the best trip I ever had. What put this trip in the number one spot was Casa Zama. I never want to stay in a hotel again. The privacy and the personal service can not compare to this experience. You sacrifice none of the amenities of home: Wifi, Pool speakers for music, Washer/dryer, Dish Network, and flat panel TVs in bedrooms.

Now I'm trying to get us back there for the honeymoon.
If you’re going to Isla Mujeres you have to stay at CASA ZAMA

Ron and Melanie thanks for the memories that will last a lifetime.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Contemporary Luxury Oceanfront Escape
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p158437
+1 512 692-9853
Isla Mujeres Quintana Roo
5

Exceptional (on so many levels)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Ever find one of those places you just know you'll visit again? Welcome to Casa Zama. If you're looking for a Dwell Magazine-worthy home in a setting that is truly incomparable, look no further. From our initial contact with Mel, to a wonderful welcome by Ron, complete with restaurant recommendations and a list of do-not-miss destinations, we couldn't have been more pleased with these accommodations and the hospitality of this wonderful couple.

Our family of five spent a week in Casa Zama. The house is a highly functional architectural work of art, with numerous spaces that will appeal to a wide range of personalities. Yes, we were there with a couple of teenagers. Load up on groceries from Chedraui and you're set for lunches and dinners - if you don't want to venture out.

Breakfasts are prepared for you each day. Make sure to order the "comida típica." You will not be disappointed. There's a large gas grill at the house. Ron will coach you on where to buy the best fish. The pool and palapa are beautiful. Walk just a little ways and you're on your own secluded beach. Don't forget your snorkel gear.

Speaking of Ron, he's the MacDaddy of Isla Mujeres. Casa Zama is wired...bring you iPods. Yes, there are speakers poolside. And about that iPod we accidentally left behind? It's being mailed to us next week. See "wonderful couple" comment above. ;-)

We've vacationed in Costa Rica, BVI, all over Florida, and in numerous Mexican resort areas. This one is it. If you truly want to get away and make memories that will last you a lifetime, check in with Melanie and Ron and spend some time in Casa Zama. But please, not during the first week in April.
Owner's Response: Thank you Michael and family. It was such a pleasure to share Casa Zama with such a delightful family, and we welcome you back with open arms. Such a great couple and the sweetest, well mannered kids! It is guests like you that bring us so much joy in sharing our home and our beautiful island! We look so forward to your return! Best Regards from Ron, Mel, the staff, and Jack the dog.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Contemporary Luxury Oceanfront Escape
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p158437
+1 512 692-9853
Isla Mujeres Quintana Roo
Spring, TX
5

Zamazing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We visited the week of Valentine's Day. Ron started our trip by making me a hero and having an incredible flower arrangement delivered to the house while my wife was in the shower. Ron and Mel
were very helpful and answered all of our questions and pointed out on a map things we should do
and see. Millie spoiled us everyday with great food and Gabby took care of our golf cart and seemed
to just appear when you might need something. Always felt safe and secure at the house. The setting could not be more picturesque. Would love to return with another couple. It's almost too much to enjoy with just two people. Don't miss the seafood linguini at Da Luisa.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Contemporary Luxury Oceanfront Escape
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p158437
+1 512 692-9853
Isla Mujeres Quintana Roo
Nashville
5

Casa Zama is Casa AMAZING!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My husband and I have travelled all over and I rent through VRBO whenever I can because I am not a fan of hotel rooms. We have never had a bad experience or have been duped. I will admit that part of me hesitated renting this house because I couldn't believe that we were going to get SUCH a fabulous home for our annual Girlie Weekend. This was my third trip to Isla, but the first time renting an actual house. We had originally rented the house for six of us, but over time, it dropped to four.

From the get-go, Mel was extremely easy to work with and was always prompt and kind when answering my inane questions. I sent her a small list of groceries to have in the fridge when she got there, and she offered to arrange for a golf cart. We didn’t take advantage of it at the time, but we should have. Lesson learned.

Ron was at the house when we arrived. He took the time to walk us through every part of the house, and explain things like the television and the speaker system, etc. To be honest, we were way too wound up and were all slack-jawed because of the surroundings. Yes, the house is REALLY that amazing.

The photos are an accurate depiction of the home. The house is pristine, thanks to Millie and her daughter. There was so much space for the four of us to go off by ourselves and hang out. Having all of the North American conveniences such as free calls to the US and Canada, and Dish Network on-site was great. On previous trips to Isla, we have always gone off and explored and eaten every meal out. This time, we had difficulty leaving the house. Millie came by every morning and fixed amazing breakfasts for us. We also paid for her to make us dinner on our last night in Isla. She made an array of stuffed poblanos with grilled lobster, pork and cheese, and cheese. The meal was unbelievably delicious. We had Nirit Ben David come and give us Shiatsu massages on the patio by the pool. Had we known how good she was, we would have had her come every day. We would have been broke, but it would have been worth it.

We are definitely planning on booking the house again for next year’s Girlie Weekend. I think I will be ready to bring my family here in another year. I just need my 8-year-old daughter to be a little older and not be tempted to jump off the roof and into the pool.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Contemporary Luxury Oceanfront Escape
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p158437
+1 512 692-9853
Isla Mujeres Quintana Roo
Fort Worth, Texas
5

Paradise..

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Our family just returned from Casa Zama yesterday. We spent 5 unbelievable days in this beautiful home. Wish we could have stayed longer! Words can not express how awesome this property is! We had no issues with anything. It was the best family vacation ever!!!! Loved Ron, Gabby and Millie! Can not wait to return! What amazing memories!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Contemporary Luxury Oceanfront Escape
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p158437
+1 512 692-9853
Isla Mujeres Quintana Roo
Brooklyn, NY
5

Quiet Retreat with every amendity possible!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
My husband and I arrived on Saturday, Sept 8th and was greeted by Ron. Ron was the most kind and friendly person you could ever meet. He is happy, extremely kind and great to talk too. He gave us a tour of his beautiful home and had a map prepared for us pointing out all of the best food spots and tours to do.

The house was so peaceful and quiet. The pool was just amazing and the views are to die for. My husband and I were sitting in the dining room area when we saw a school of dolphins playing in the water. What an amazing sight!

Every morning I would go onto my bedroom terrace and see the same guy walking his dogs by day 2 we got to know the neighbors and people on the island. It was as if we have lived there all our lives.

The staff was lovely and made a delicious breakfast for us almost every day. I wish we could have stayed longer but we're already planning our next trip to casa zama!

Thank you Ron and Mel. Hope you have fun on your trip in NY! Send us an email...we'll send you to some of the best food spots here in NY/Brooklyn.

Thanks again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Contemporary Luxury Oceanfront Escape
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p158437
+1 512 692-9853
Isla Mujeres Quintana Roo
San Francisco
5

Simply Amazing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
I rented this house for 2 weeks with girlfriends/family. We loved it and can't wait to come back. The house is breathtaking. Ron and Mel are great hosts. I recommend renting a golf cart to get around. I am not sure this would be a great place for small children because of the slippery floors and open stairs.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Contemporary Luxury Oceanfront Escape
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p158437
+1 512 692-9853
Isla Mujeres Quintana Roo
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Helpful Staff

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
I just wanted to say thank you for allowing us to rent your home. Gabby and Mili were both very helpful.

We had a great time in Isla Mujeres and look forward to returning in the future. Thank you again!
Helpful votes: 2/3