Stone Harbor house rental - Street View of the Laughlin House
Street View of the Laughlin House
 
  • Bedrooms8
  • Sleeps25
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Stone Harbor House Rental Photos and Description
A Uniquely Grand and Historic Island Home 8 Beds & 4.5 Baths (Sleeps 15 – 25)

Completely renovated, updated and redecorated within the past 5 years, the Laughlin House provides all of the modern comforts features, amenities of a newer home, with the classic grandeur of a long-standing colonial home. Set on a quiet street, the home's large backyard is the most enjoyed amenity, allowing for sunbathing, tranquil afternoons reading or amazing outdoor summer meals enjoyed under the gazebo. Additionally, the three kitchens allow ample space for preparing meals or enjoying snacks. Eight bedrooms and three family rooms give large families the chance to vacation without being cramped and crowded. Handicapped accessibility in the rear of the house gives all guests the opportunity to enjoy a vacation just a block and a half from the beach. Fifteen beach tags are generously provided by the family, eliminating one of the additional costs associated with most vacation rentals.

The Laughlin House, Stone Harbor, NJ provides a one of a kind vacation experience for your next family reunion, church retreat, wedding party or family vacation. Our distinctively large home and property is situated only 1.5 blocks from both the beach and the bay and only a short walk from the downtown shopping and restaurant district. Built in 1956, the property has since been remodeled and updated to provide a comfortable and completely enjoyable getaway.

Featuring 8 spacious bedrooms, the house allows 24 people to sleep comfortably in 11 beds or 5 pull-out sofa beds. Each specially decorated bedroom has a cable television and a ceiling fan for those extra warm summer evenings. We ask our guests to provide sheets and towels, but each room has a cozy comforter and extra pillows to making sleeping in even more likely! With 4.5 bathrooms, no one will fight for a spot – even with the largest group.

The Laughlin house boasts some extra-special conveniences you never knew you were missing in your last vacation rental! Three full-size and fully-stocked kitchens allow for large meals to be prepared and served with ease. No need to worry about the expense of eating out every night of your stay- when you can easily pack 3 refrigerators full.

The three large living areas are great for movie night – all have Dolby surround sound and DVD/VHS players. The main living room has a 50” flat screen, so everyone will feel part of the action.

The huge game room amazes guests of all ages – providing fun and challenges with 3 pinball machines, a mega-touch and a full-size arcade game. On the less-techy side of the things, you’ll find tons of board games to set the friendly competition into high gear, no matter who is playing. Wireless internet connections are also available for those who can’t quite disconnect while on vacation.

One of the largest backyards on the island becomes an ideal spot for family meals, game nights or barbecues. There are two fully-furnished patios - one allowing you to escape the heat under its completely covered gazebo, the other is perfect for sun-bathing on comfy reclining lounge chairs. The backyard is also the perfect spot for a party – think intimate wedding reception, bridal or baby shower, birthday party and more. Rose-lined borders and lush green grass set the tone for a beautiful celebration.

You’ll also find our backyard shed stocked with beach chairs, toys and 2 grills. And you haven’t enjoyed a day at the shore without enjoying the luxury of a heated outside shower!

The Laughlin House covers your beach fees, too! 15 beach tags are provided upon arrival at no extra charge.

Plenty of off and on-street parking makes packing and unpacking a breeze and a ramp entrance at the back entrance allows for handicap accessibility.

Open year-round, the Laughlin House offers weekly rates from May through September and weekly and weekend escape packages for the rest of the year. No matter when you visit, you are sure to find amazing activities throughout the county, offering whatever you are looking for in a trip to Stone Harbor.

More Details
Hide Details

The mansion was originally designed by my grandmother Helen V. Laughlin and built by my grandfather John S. Laughlin who moved to Stone Harbor in 1939 and ran a general store on 96th Street from 1939-1984. Helen taugh school on the island and John sat on the town's Board of education for many years.

At the time construction was completed in 1956, the home was the largest residence on the island. My family has over 50 years experience caring for the property and making sure that our guests enjoy the best experience possible during their stay in our home. To that extent, the house continues to this day to be fully occupied each year during the summer season and we enjoy that each year as much as 80% of our guests return guests each year.

Randy Fickett purchased this house in 1956

The mansion was originally designed by my grandmother Helen V. Laughlin and built by my grandfather John S. Laughlin who moved to Stone Harbor in 1939 and ran a general store on 96th Street from 1939-1984. Helen taugh school on the island and John sat on the town's Board of education for many years.

At the time construction was completed in 1956, the home was the largest residence on the island. My family has over 50 years experience caring for the property and making sure that our guests enjoy the best experience possible during their stay in our home. To that extent, the house continues to this day to be fully occupied each year during the summer season and we enjoy that each year as much as 80% of our guests return guests each year.

Stone Harbor has been fortunate enough to have been listed as one of the top 10 beach destinations on the east coast as well as received multiple awards year after year for shopping, recreation and leisure, and fine dining experiences.

- 24 beautifully furnished rooms within a 5000 sq ft living area.

- 8 fully furnished bedrooms & 4.5 bathrooms.

- 4.5 baths plus a heated outside shower.

- 3 separate kitchens - 1 downstairs and 2 private kitchens upstairs.

- 2 separate Laundry rooms

- 1 Included Free Access to our Arcade Gameroom.

- A completely free arcade game room facility.

- Two upstairs sunrooms w/ french balconeys.

- Our large, central livingroom

- Two separate Large-Outdoor Fully furnished patios

- The Evening Patio

- The Sun Patio

- House-wide Intercom System

- Internet Access:

- Telephones:

- In home, 'No waiting' check-In w/ a tour of the home for any last-minute questions.

- Beach Tags included w/ guest agreemnt for replacement.

50 Reviews of Property 135349 in Stone Harbor, New Jersey

Beautiful Island Mansion for Family Gatherings. Sleeps 15 - 25
average rating of 4.9333334 based on 50 reviews
business
Beautiful Island Mansion for Family Gatherings. Sleeps 15 - 25
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135349vb
(484) 410-4696 (Pennsylvania, USA)
Stone Harbor South NJ Shore
PA
5

An Amazing Week in an Amazing House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
I just came home today from a week-long stay at the Laughlin House, and it was the perfect vacation. I went with a group of 21 of my closest friends (and four chaperones) for our senior week. I couldn't have thought up a better house. My friends and I immediately felt at home with the warm decorating and amazing space. The rooms are just big enough without being overwhelming, and the number of bathrooms and kitchens is impressive to say the least (the dishwasher was also taken advantage of). The TVs with cable were a nice touch, and many movies were enjoyed by all of us. The space out back was superb, and we ate many of our meals out around the table in the nice summer air. Also, the location is great! The walk to the beach is super short (and was traveled often), and the walk to get downtown was much shorter than I had anticipated - no problem at all. Everything I think of in reference to our stay is positive, and a major cause of that is the beautiful house we were staying in. I can't thank you enough for the amazing rental - you made it possible for us to create wonderful memories that will be with us for a very long time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Beautiful Island Mansion for Family Gatherings. Sleeps 15 - 25
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135349vb
(484) 410-4696 (Pennsylvania, USA)
Stone Harbor South NJ Shore
Maryland
5

The Perfect Vacation Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Our family has been vacationing in Stone Harbor for 65 years. We have stayed in many, many rental properties over the years.

The Laughlin mansion has been by far, our best experience. I don't know of any other places that change out the bed comforters and spreads to launder them after each tenant leaves. The owners are very open to any suggestions on improving the users experience. Although I have to say they think of everything. So my requests are limited.

We have stayed in this house the past several years and have only great things to say about it! If you are looking for a very spacious house with lots to do, close to the downtown area with plenty of street parking. This is your answer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
business
Beautiful Island Mansion for Family Gatherings. Sleeps 15 - 25
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135349vb
(484) 410-4696 (Pennsylvania, USA)
Stone Harbor South NJ Shore
Clear Spring, Maryland
5

Priceless

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
I can't say enough good things about this property and it's owners. we have been coming the last two years, and will continue as long as we can. The property has enough space for our family reunion at the beach each year, and the grandkids can all bring a friend which they could never do before. There is fun for both young and old in the game room, and time for relaxing in the gazebo outside. we are close to the beach and walking to town, you could not ask for a better property, clean and large. The owners are wonderful to work with and try very hard to accommodate your family situations. we once had a problem with one of the refrigerators, the owner came within a short period and had us up and running. To me that kind of service and compassion is hard to find!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Beautiful Island Mansion for Family Gatherings. Sleeps 15 - 25
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135349vb
(484) 410-4696 (Pennsylvania, USA)
Stone Harbor South NJ Shore
Silver Spring Maryland
5

Fabulous Family Reunion in Stone Harbor

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We had a truly outstanding family reunion in the Laughlin House and couldn't have had a better experience. Randy and his family stocked the house with everything we needed -- from plenty of beds and bathrooms to beach tags for everyone. The location was outstanding -- 7 short blocks to town and 2 blocks to the beach.

After coming to Stone Harbor for many years, we searched long and hard to find a well-maintained rental property that could comfortably accommodate the entire family in one house. This is the ONLY property that met our expectations and we were not disappointed.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Beautiful Island Mansion for Family Gatherings. Sleeps 15 - 25
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135349vb
(484) 410-4696 (Pennsylvania, USA)
Stone Harbor South NJ Shore
3

Laughlin Manor House

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
The Laughlin House was a great vacation leading up to and during the stay. The house was in great condition, there was plenty of room, and it made for a great family reunion. Prior to the return (I use that word lightly) of our security deposit, we would have definitely stayed again next year.

Our treatment after the stay was less than desirable. We confused the checkout times, thinking it was 11 instead of 10. This cost us $135. We left a few pieces of garbage in one can in the kitchen, which was $20 or $30 dollars. A box of cereal in the shelves of one of the three kitchens cost us another $20 or $30. We were basically nickel and dimed for every little detail of a vacation that cost us a significant amount of money. We all felt extremely insulted and taken advantage of. It was like moving out of your first college home and the landlord taking everything that he could.

On another unfortunate note, one night we had one of our coolers, anything with alcohol, and 20 beach badges stolen from the backyard. It was not comforting to know that we could be robbed while sleeping only a few feet inside. We filed a police report, but ultimately nothing happened and we had to buy 20 new badges. It was an unpleasant experience.

Overall, the house is great, but the management is not. I'd be leary of using them again, and if I did I would make a check list of every single detail contained in the lease. They'll charge you for it!
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Beautiful Island Mansion for Family Gatherings. Sleeps 15 - 25
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135349vb
(484) 410-4696 (Pennsylvania, USA)
Stone Harbor South NJ Shore
Baltimore, MD
5

Awesome House! You won't find another like it!

Awesome House! You won't find another like it!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We had a reunion with a group of 20 friends at the Laughlin House for a week starting on Memorial Day. We could not have asked for anything more from the owner, the house, or the town. The house has everything you need and more for accommodating a large group of people. Every room was utilized in some way or another, between the 8 bedrooms, 3 living rooms, 3 kitchens, 2 patios, and the game room. The 3 kitchens especially proved to be very helpful when cooking for a large party and keeping everyone out of the way. I didn't realize that how much people would actually use a game room while on vacation but it definitely got plenty of use, and the main living room was able to comfortably fit all 20 of us even in an intense game of charades. The neighbors were very friendly, and the house is situated in a great location, walking distance from the downtown area, the town grocery store, and the beach. The owner was extremely helpful in answering all of our questions and providing a clean, well-maintained house which exceeded our expectations. We will forever remember our trip together and hope to come back again sometime.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Beautiful Island Mansion for Family Gatherings. Sleeps 15 - 25
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135349vb
(484) 410-4696 (Pennsylvania, USA)
Stone Harbor South NJ Shore
Northern Ireland
5

Family Holiday

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We have just stayed in Laughlin House on a family holiday from Northern Ireland and were delighted to find a home to rent with such a good standard of accommodation that comfortably sleeps so many people. We were visiting relatives in Stone Harbor and the location of Laughlin House was perfect, easily accessible both to the beach and to their home on the bay. There were 18 of us, including a few teenagers and younger children - it was perfect for all. We found the facilities to be excellent. It was especially useful to have 2 laundries and so many bathrooms. The contents of the shed also came in very useful- the beach chairs, beach buggy and the body boards, as well as the BBQ, were all well used! The large back garden was great also. In fact we had no complaints all week as the house was very well maintained and equipped inside and out. The owners were very accessible and we could definitely recommend Laughlin House as a place to stay. We are fully intending to return!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Island Mansion for Family Gatherings. Sleeps 15 - 25
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135349vb
(484) 410-4696 (Pennsylvania, USA)
Stone Harbor South NJ Shore
Baltimore, Maryland
5

Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
This was the first time that my parents and six of the seven brothers and sister with the grandkids were able to spend our vacation together and this house was perfect. We had 13 adults and 10 children and everyone had a fab time. The kids and adults enjoyed the game room, having three kitchens was perfect and backyard was utilized every morning for coffee and every evening for drinks. The teens loved being able to walk to town and beach was just a short distance and absolutely perfect. I can not say enough good things we can not wait to come back next year!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Beautiful Island Mansion for Family Gatherings. Sleeps 15 - 25
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135349vb
(484) 410-4696 (Pennsylvania, USA)
Stone Harbor South NJ Shore
Philadelphia, PA
5

Great rental!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
My husband and I rented the Laughlin House for the week of our wedding for the two of us, our entire wedding party, and their significant others. We could not have been happier with our stay! We loved the location (less then 2 blocks from the beach!), the large back yard, and the game room, and it was obvious that the owners put a lot of time and care into the house. The house is also HUGE, and fit 20 people comfortably. We definitely plan to rent the Laughlin House again at some point for a family or friends reunion!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Beautiful Island Mansion for Family Gatherings. Sleeps 15 - 25
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135349vb
(484) 410-4696 (Pennsylvania, USA)
Stone Harbor South NJ Shore
Philadelphia, PA
5

Great rental!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
My husband and I rented the Laughlin House for the week of our wedding for the two of us, our entire wedding party, and their significant others. We could not have been happier with our stay! We loved the location (less then 2 blocks from the beach!), the large back yard, and the game room, and it was obvious that the owners put a lot of time and care into the house. The house is also HUGE, and fit 20 people comfortably. We definitely plan to rent the Laughlin House again at some point for a family or friends reunion!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks Guys!! Insidently, Congratulations from my family here!

You were really great guests and was glad that your wedding went well! You may also be interested to know that my family has had three seperate weddings here over the years as well so welcome to have joined a pretty exclusive club :-P

Finally, thanks for your help putting away the patio furniture before you left. It helped me out alot! All we ask from our guests is that they appreciate what we try to offer and the work that we put in our the family's long-time home and the help you offered surely showed your appreciation.

Finally, I'm sorry that I never responded back about the charger directly. I did look for it and asked the cleaning staff. However, we never did find it so I assumed you found it once you returned home since I didn't here back.

Good Luck and Take care,

Randy