Union Pier cottage rental - our sunny yellow home
our sunny yellow home
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Union Pier Cottage Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms and loft sleeping space, 2 full bathrooms, sleeps 6-8

This beautiful year round home has over 2000 square feet of exquisite living space and is a short walk to the shores of Lake Michigan. Designed in Frank Lloyd Wright's Prairie Style it features wide open spaces and cozy side rooms. French doors separate living areas and stained glass accents the windows. Step onto one of the decks to enjoy the colorful gardens that surround this half acre private yard. No shortcuts were taken in furnishing the home blending the comfort of Crate and Barrell with treasures from local antique haunts and nearby art galleries. Cozy up on winter evenings with steam shower and wood burning fireplace after cross country skiing or touring local wineries. Fall offers bike trails, apple picking, bonfires and nearby Notre Dame football. Fly a kite or play bocce ball on the beach in the spring and float on a raft or body surf in the lake on a warm summer afternoon. The home is ideal for family time or romantic getaways in any season

Water Sports: While our family enjoys the simple life of sand and water we do recognize that some people like to boat. There is a marina in New Buffalo, 5 miles south of our property that offers docks for your boat. There are jet skis available to rent in Michigan City, Indiana, and the local boating store in New Buffalo rents canoes and kayaks. If you do bring your own small boat you may store it in the dunegrass near the base of the stairs while you are renting. We have some rafts, a kayak, boogie boards and beach toys for your use in our garage.

Off Season or Rainy Day Fun: We are never at a loss for a new art gallery or antique store to explore in Harbor County. The town of Michigan City to the south has a large outlet mall for the shopper in your group. East is Three Oaks, known for its theatre, and north is Bridgman, home to Warren Dunes State Park and the famous 'Tower Hill'. They have well groomed cross country ski trails, marked hiking trails and a toboggan slide in the winter. Apple and fruit farms are dotted throughout the county for berry picking and several area wineries offer tours and tastings. There are massage and day spas in New Buffalo and restaurants for any palate. You'll need more than one trip to the Harbor County area to do it all.

More Details
Hide Details

I grew up in South Bend, Indiana and spent my childhood summers with my family renting various cottages in the Union Pier area. My parents had nine children and wanted an area that allowed for smooth sand walk in to the lake and not too many steps back up to the house at the end of a long day. My life took me to Iowa but I convinced my family that Union Pier was worth the 225 mile drive... one visit and they were sold!

Mary Pat Bay purchased this cottage in 1999

This home offered our family of five children the best of both worlds.. a chance for the children to all be together in the open living room, or enough cozy private areas to get a little distance from siblings when that might be needed... The three girls adore the loft space to spread out their messes (barbies years ago, now clothes and computers) and the boys love the TV room to set up the Wii ( we can close off the french doors and not even hear their chaos :)

The large side yard has been ideal for volleyball and badmitten, bocce, snow forts and even large family parties when my family of origin is able to join us and to revisit their childhood memories as well. With the Gordon beach Inn just up the block my siblings and their families book there and we serve large picnic style meals in the yard for all 50 of us... As many of us as can gather at the home every december 26th to celebrate our white elephant christmas.. 13 years of that tradition so far

9 Reviews of Property 158066 in Union Pier, Michigan

Beautiful Lake Michigan Retreat in Union Pier, Michigan
average rating of 4.888889 based on 9 reviews
business
Beautiful Lake Michigan Retreat in Union Pier, Michigan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p158066
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
Chicago, IL
5

Guestbook Comment

My husband and I spent nearly a week here in October of 2007 and loved it! We enjoyed fires in the big fireplace and cooked several meals in the well-...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2007
  • Stayed: Nov 2007
My husband and I spent nearly a week here in October of 2007 and loved it! We enjoyed fires in the big fireplace and cooked several meals in the well-equipped kitchen. There is also a very nice gas grill. The home is comfy and charming, the yard is big and beautiful, and the area is really cute. It was a short walk (less than five minutes door-to-sand at a slow pace) from the house to the homeowners beach. We had a great time and hope to return again.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Beautiful Lake Michigan Retreat in Union Pier, Michigan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p158066
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
Worth, IL
5

Wow!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
I rented this beautiful home for a family get-together, and I couldn't have chosen a better rental. This home is gorgeous! The many skylights and windows let lots of natural light in, and allow a great view of the surrounding yard. The interior is very nicely decorated in a casual, eclectic way. The beach is just a short walk away. Our only comment would be to upgrade the t.v. to something a little larger, or possibly put another t.v. in the living room. The t.v. in the family room was a little small for a group of six to watch a movie on. We would definitely rent again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Lake Michigan Retreat in Union Pier, Michigan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p158066
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
5

Annual Ladies' Retreat

Annual Ladies' Retreat
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
From the moment we walked through the front door, we knew that we had found the PERFECT place to spend our annual girls' weekend!! The spacious, open floor plan was ideal for gathering to cook, tell stories, play games, laugh, and reminisce. The bedrooms were tastefully decorated and the beds were very comfortable. The large deck was a terrific place to spend a sunny, spring day. The hot tub was such a wonderful, added bonus after a long day of shopping the outlet malls or enjoying the casino. The hot tub was repaired and in perfect working order. The girls have already been commenting that this is where they want to spend next year's retreat! Thank you Mary Pat for sharing your home with us. And thank you & your husband for repairing the hot tub in time for our stay! We will definitely be back!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful Lake Michigan Retreat in Union Pier, Michigan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p158066
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
Sycamore, IL
5

Beautiful Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
My family just spent a full week at this home in Union Pier. It's absolutely lovely, peaceful, and the pictures don't begin to do it justice. The great room with huge harvest table was where we spent most of our time, but the family room in the back of the house was closed off with french doors for the TV watchers. Huge fenced yard, fabulous gardens...everything we had hoped the house would be. There was another review mentioning problems with the hot tub. We found the hot tub to heat up very well and quickly. It is older, and the jets are not as strong, but we enjoyed it none-the-less. The beach is a good couple of streets over from the house and not visible from the house, but we had no difficulty walking back and forth with small children. If you are planning to use the loft for adults, you may want to re-think that. It is only accessed by a very old ladder. Too hard for the adults in our party to get up and down. But for school age kids, or teens, it was just fine. Overall, we'd love to come back again and we had a wonderful, restful trip!!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Lake Michigan Retreat in Union Pier, Michigan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p158066
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
Chicago, IL
4

Birthday Away

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2008
  • Stayed: Nov 2008
We thought the house was gorgeous. There was more than enough room to sleep 10 people (6 in double beds, 1on the futon, 1on the couch, 2 on the twin with the pull out bed) and we enjoyed grilling outside and cozying up to the fire. This is a great location if you are planning on doing a wine tour of the area, as we did. It was too cold to enjoy it, but the beach is only 2 blocks away, a 5 minute walk at most. The yard is huge and well-maintained. The house had everything we needed to cook with, which was great. The only negative was that the house is advertised as having a hot tub, as it does, but it doesn't work properly. We were able to use it, and we enjoyed it, but half of the jets don't work and the tub doesn't fill up all the way. This is mentioned a great deal once you get to the house, but not so much on the homeaway website. Another little thing, If you don't wash and dry the towels you used you get charged a hefty fee. Be warned: it takes a LONG time to dry anything in the dryer. Much longer than usual. We sat around on sunday waiting for towels to dry, not wanting to be charged!! Overall it was a fantastic experience though and we would love to come back. The owner was so kind and willing to accomomdate- she let us stay for just the one night and allowed us to bring my nephew, who just happens to be a pug. :-)
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful Lake Michigan Retreat in Union Pier, Michigan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p158066
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
Chicago, IL
5

Guestbook Comment

Absolutely loved this house. We had a one year old child with us; so we really appreciated the comforts of the home as well as the short walk to the ...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2008
  • Stayed: Sep 2008
Absolutely loved this house. We had a one year old child with us; so we really appreciated the comforts of the home as well as the short walk to the beach. The owner thought of everything in furnishing this house. It's beautiful and very cozy (even on a rainy day).
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Lake Michigan Retreat in Union Pier, Michigan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p158066
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
Rogers Arkansas
5

Women's Annual Get Together

Women's Annual Get Together
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 29, 2008
  • Stayed: May 2008
My college girlfriends and I (6 of us total) leave work and family behind one weekend every year to catch up. We travel from all parts of the country to get together so the location choice is very important. We've done Vegas...we've done Chicago..and everything inbetween. The first weekend in May of 2008 we spent in Union Pier and it is one of our favorite reunions yet!

The description of the house was perfect. The open layout was just what a bunch of gals need to talk from any room in the place! The drive to/from OHare is not bad at all. The communities of Union Pier and nearby New Buffalo were so quaint. We walked to dinner at Timothy's on the corner and enjoyed an amazing meal. We also had great brunch food at Rosies and Thyme...both in New Buffalo. We went to the Round Barn winery and bought some sparkling wine and fruity liqueur to toast later that evening! The private beach is really a short walk away and simply amazing. It's a bit chilly in early May to take a dip, but we all reveled in several walks along the beach....definitely a highlight. The house is in great condition, and the few questions we had, the owners were available and wonderful to work with. We all would not only recommend this home to our friends and family, but we plan on coming back ourselves. Wonderful memories enabled by a picture perfect place to escape.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful Lake Michigan Retreat in Union Pier, Michigan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p158066
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
Not Specified
5

Guestbook Comment

We spent a long weekend at this wonderful home in Union Pier. This was the ideal home for our girls' weekend getaway. We enjoyed the big open a...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2007
  • Stayed: Nov 2007
We spent a long weekend at this wonderful home in Union Pier. This was the ideal home for our girls' weekend getaway. We enjoyed the big open areas where we could all gather to cook, talk, laugh and even dance to our favorite songs. The hot tub was a wonderful escape after a long day of shopping. The beds were very comfortable and the location was ideal. We started each morning with a walk along the beach which was about a block from the house. We had such a wonderful time that we didn't want to leave.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful Lake Michigan Retreat in Union Pier, Michigan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p158066
Union Pier Southwest Michigan
Carmel, IN
5

Guestbook Comment

Spent a wonderful weekend at this private, spacious, comfortable and charming cottage, set in the midst of a lovely English cottage garden. The home ...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2006
  • Stayed: Sep 2006
Spent a wonderful weekend at this private, spacious, comfortable and charming cottage, set in the midst of a lovely English cottage garden. The home is on a quiet street with a gorgeous beach a short walk away. Very well equipped with all the comforts of home ... we loved it and are already planning our return trip!
Helpful votes: 3/3