Gualala house rental - West deck...you can see (and hear) the ocean
West deck...you can see (and hear) the ocean
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Gualala House Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, 2 baths Maximum 8

Incredible custom built home, designed by Michael Barron-Wikw AIA, lovingly built by Gregg Warner. Above the Gualala River mouth, with a wide variety of views, river, beach, waves crashing on rocks. The house is a wonder of windows and wood, with custom cabinets, tile and granite counter tops. All of this is a short walk to many restaurants, galleries and shops. This is the most well equipped home you will ever stay in. Cooking supplies, DVDs games, CDs, spa robes and toys. This is one of the best whale watching spots on the coast and a birder's paradise. The house a tribute to Green design, Solar electric, tankless water heater, concrete shingle siding, Ecowood Brazilian cherry flooring. You will love this house!

32 Reviews of Property 157882 in Gualala, California

Panoramic Ocean and River Views, Beautiful Craftsman Style Home!
average rating of 5.0 based on 32 reviews
business
Panoramic Ocean and River Views, Beautiful Craftsman Style Home!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157882
+1 707 884-9601
Gualala North Coast California
Memphis, TN, USA
5

A Surprisingly Wonderful Vacation Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2007
We love Northern California. Medocino has been our favorite for years - so we were hesitant when we decided to venture South to Gualala. But, we must admit this place is absolutely a gem. Spectacular Views, Lots of Sunshine, Abundant Wildlife and the quality of this home is tough to beat anywhere.

Like others here, we stay in lots of homes when traveling and traditionally stay in the very best we can find. But, 'Serendipity' is a masterpiece of fine living. Secluded, yet easily accessible to all this area offers. Fine Shopping, Great Massages, Dining, Parks, Canoeing and Beautful Beaches. Wineries are all over the area and you'll love a glass in the relaxing hot-tub, that like the rest of the property is well positioned for privacy and views.

In todays world it's kinda neat to spend some time in a home powered in part by solar energy - and realized you have sacraficed nothing in comfort, and leave feeling a bit smarter in the process.

Ethan Allen furniture, hardwoods, granite and stone...this place is perfect for any length of time, any time of the year.

Lastly...a vacation is hard to forget when you come home refreshed and feeling you had made a great choice. The owners are available, helpful and the perfect hosts - although you may never actually see them. Every detail is perfect and the beds are to die for.

If you like the best - you'll love this place!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Panoramic Ocean and River Views, Beautiful Craftsman Style Home!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157882
+1 707 884-9601
Gualala North Coast California
5

Beautiful And Peaceful Serendipity

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This home was more than we ever expected. Upon Arriving our eyes were immediately drawn to the amazing ocean view. We found the little town Gualala to be tranquil and delightful. The kitchen was laid out very nice, upgraded appliances and enough dishes and pots and pans for most any meal. I do believe the owners have thought of almost everything, you just need to bring your favorite book and dvd's. The beds were comfortable and the home was very quiet and peaceful, you only here the waves of the ocean. I can't say enough about the stunning view, hot tub and all of the wonderful amenities of this home. We would have loved to have spent more time in this lovely home. Our entire trip was great and we can't wait to return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Panoramic Ocean and River Views, Beautiful Craftsman Style Home!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157882
+1 707 884-9601
Gualala North Coast California
5

Serendipity

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Our last minute 4 day stay at Serendipity was simply fantastic. It all came together so harmoniously. This property is even better than the photos and description. There is a gorgeous view from every window. Birds galore. The stars at night awesome from the hot tub. The owner was really helpful and responsive. Kayaking in the river is very peaceful, hiking around the estuary and along the bluffs also great.The only thing wrong was that our stay was far too short for me! Rent it for a week or two, bring your books and sit in the window seats and only leave to get exercise and explore what you can see from your windows and deck. Heaven! Once you get to Serendipity you will never want to leave. I would go back in a heart beat. Thanks so much.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Panoramic Ocean and River Views, Beautiful Craftsman Style Home!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157882
+1 707 884-9601
Gualala North Coast California
California
5

Beautiful house! Excellent views!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Our family of 4 stayed here for 4 nights. Excellent house and very well maintained. There was a slight problem when we got in but that was fixed shortly after our call so very prompt service. No more problems after that. The kitchen is very well stocked. We only had to buy food. There were lots of spices, very good utensils and cooking equipment plus additional items like a fondue set and waffle maker. There were 3 kinds of coffeemakers and a coffee grinder! Basic supplies like paper towels, toilet paper, and napkins were supplied so that was very helpful as well. The views are amazing! And it was quiet. All we could hear were the waves. The path down to the street (back of the house) was a nice touch. The only frustrating thing was that there was no direct access to the beach from there even if we could easily see it. The Gualala Regional Park nearby was excellent as it allowed access to the coastal trail along Sea Ranch which was an easy and beautiful trail. Wonderful house and would highly recommend.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your kind words. We are so lucky to have Cathleen and her crew at Coasting Home as our property managers. We have had very few problems at Serendipity, but when they do occur, Coasting Home has always resolved them quickly, with the least amount of inconvenience to our guests.
I'm glad you enjoyed the beaches and trails. We provide our guests with a Sonoma County Park pass, so that they can enjoy them without having to pay the park fee.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Panoramic Ocean and River Views, Beautiful Craftsman Style Home!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157882
+1 707 884-9601
Gualala North Coast California
Memphis, TN, USA
5

What was once remarkable, is now better than ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We have enjoyed Serendipity, over and over again. And, when the economy slowed down...we stayed closer to home, thinking we would save a few dollars. We'll this year we came back to this remarkable home - where we could spend the entire day lounging on the decks, soaking in the hot tub, mastering a new culinary challenge, kayaking on the river to our left or watching the whales to our right. The point is - we never really saved anything, staying closer to home. Nor do we save staying elsewhere in a hotel that charges for parking, phone service or merely the thought of simply waking up.

When all is said and done, Serendipity offers you as much or as little as you want on a getaway or a full vacation. You can shop til you drop, eat at 5 star restaurants nearby, explore wineries like there's no tomorrow - or you can simply enjoy and rediscover, that time well spent is all about where you spend it and with whom.

Bring the right person[s] with you - because if you don't have the best time, you've had in a long time...it won't be because of the home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Panoramic Ocean and River Views, Beautiful Craftsman Style Home!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157882
+1 707 884-9601
Gualala North Coast California
Colorado, USA
5

Wonderful days at the coast

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We had the opportunity to spend three wonderful nights at Serendipity View in Gualala in early February, 2013. Since moving from California over 40 years ago, we have rarely had the chance to fall asleep listening to the waves as they crash onto the rocks. The high tide of our second morning must have had a storm pushing it, though there was no wind. The waves crashing up and over the sandbar into the river were a joy to watch. The house was designed to take advantage of every view - one bedroom looks over the river, sandbar, and surf - the other straight out into the ocean. The living room looks both ways. I could have just stayed in the window seat all day and watch the sea world beyond. It's a magical place.

We have rented numerous homes and apartments through a variety of booking companies - mostly overseas. We have wonderful memories of many places, but Rick and Teresa's place outshines all of them - every detail has been thought of, everything you think you might need is there. It is really like being in your own house, from the spices in the cupboard, the DVDs in the cabinet, cleaning supplies in the closet - even terry robes and spa towels for the hot tub. Everything was as the pictures show and better.

We wandered up the coast to Mendocino one day, stopping to watch whales along the access road to the Point Arena Lighthouse - we saw a couple of whales at the house, but more up here (this was early February). We went on a recommended low tide walk to "Bowling Ball Beach" - (we had seen similar formations in New Zealand that get more press) - really interesting shore formations - the stone balls that have fallen out of the cliff and rows of cliff-side sedimentary layers flowing into hard rock formations on the beach.

We cooked most of our own meals, but had a great cup of clam chowder at a little deli/market across from the post office in Mendocino. The supermarket in Gualala provides any needed groceries, which is very handy.

In the middle of a trip to see family, this was a wonderful retreat for us. A huge "thank you" to Rick and Teresa for sharing this beautiful home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Panoramic Ocean and River Views, Beautiful Craftsman Style Home!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157882
+1 707 884-9601
Gualala North Coast California
Lafayette, CA
5

Winter Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
While it was cold in the Bay Area we enjoyed a balmy 3 days on the convergence the Gualala River with the Pacific Ocean at Serendipity. The sound of the waves and the beautiful, luxurious home gave us a peaceful, private getaway to watch the freshwater river merge with the sea. The town is close by and there were several restaurants to choose from. The kitchen is well appointed -- we enjoyed cooking too. This is a lovely place to return regularly,
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Panoramic Ocean and River Views, Beautiful Craftsman Style Home!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157882
+1 707 884-9601
Gualala North Coast California
Santa Rosa
5

Lovely home, A+ views, and a Martha Stewart-stocked kitchen - Prepare for comfort and fun!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
My guy and I stayed two nights and three days at this lovely, lovely home. We cooked, hot tubed, read, and watched the locals -- whales viewable from the large back deck, hawks overhead, a wood pecker working on his tree abode, and wild turkeys sauntering through the garden -- all while enjoying the well appointed yet charming surroundings, which included two gracious/elegant bedrooms (we chose the one nearest the hot tub), an entertainment center with a large screened tv/dvd player, lots of reading material and games, comfortable loungers on the deck, extremely cozy furniture throughout / extensive window seating in the living room which afforded the most stunning views of the Gualala State Park, on full view from this vantage point -- it will knock your socks off!

Like to cook? This is the place for you! Bring your creativity because in this kitchen everything else is stocked, even the cookbooks (really good ones) and all the equipment anyone would ever need to cook a memorable meal. Like to grill? Big bbq out by the hot tub.

We will be back, probably for a week next time, and with another couple, maybe with kids. All ages would enjoy Serendipity because it accommodates so effortlessly and with such style. Prepare to be wowed.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Panoramic Ocean and River Views, Beautiful Craftsman Style Home!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157882
+1 707 884-9601
Gualala North Coast California
San Jose. CA
5

Just what we needed Bueatiful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
My husband and I celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary by getting away for a week in Gualala and staying at the beautiful Serendipity home. I loved it. This little town on the pacific coast was just what I was looking for. Gualala is a beautiful place to get away from the hectic city life and just enjoy all of God's beautiful creations around you. The home we stayed in was perfect. With all the windows through out the house and in every room we know the owners didn't want to waste a moment of that beautiful view. My husband and I even saw a whale from off the deck of the home. We were totally excited. I want to thank them so much for sharing their home with those of us who are not so fortunate to own a second home at such a beautiful place. Also want to mention the house is stocked with everything one could possibly need and more. We are used to taking our family to Lake Tahoe every winter and do have to bring quite a bit with us as we have been going to the same cabin every year and know what they have and do not have and we came to Serendipity with all the types of things we would normally take for our Tahoe trips and found that everything was already there. I would advise those coming to Serendipity to only bring those things you personally can't be without and nothing else as this house probably already has it. If they don't there are a couple of nice little markets that are within a 5-10 minutes walking distance. Also know that most of the area is on cliffs and bluffs so most beaches you visit will require you to walk a little and maybe a bit of climbing but it was well worth it to enjoy these secluded clean beaches. The sunsets are awesome. Be sure you have enough memory on your camera disk as you will get some great pictures. The views here made me look like a professional photographer. I can't say enough about our stay here. I no doubt will be back.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Panoramic Ocean and River Views, Beautiful Craftsman Style Home!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157882
+1 707 884-9601
Gualala North Coast California
5

What a View!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
We stayed at this lovely home Sept 2010. WHAT A VIEW!! The house is great for 2 couples and takes just a short walk to the small town of Gualala. It took 2 days of leisurely driving to get to the house from Portland Oregon. This area is very relaxing and the beach was great for picking up draft wood. Thanks for the use of your great home!! (sorry this took so long to write)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much, Chick and Marlies